Would you go out with someone who had been to prison?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Johro wrote: »
    This'll make ya laugh. Years ago, I borrowed a Honda 50 from a mate to go down to the shops with. I got stopped by a guard and asked about licence,tax and insurance. I had none of these, just my youthful good looks and sunny outlook on life, which counted for nothing. What didn't help is that the brakes weren't great, and I kinda drove over his foot a bit.. Well he did stand there like an eejit with his arm out motioning me to stop while he could see me furiously pulling on a bit of twine attached to the rear brake.
    This wasn't why I went to prison though.
    I heard no more from the guards until one day two of them came to my rented house to question me about my neighbours, who had a fairly dodgy reputation, petty thievery mostly, so I'd heard, which I didn't care about, I just paid them rent.
    They kept asking me questions about them which I couldn't answer, told me they'd drop the bike charges if I talked, and when I still had no information I could see them becoming convinced I was just a liar, and they told me so, also that I was only a 'fuckin alien'. :p
    I'm Dutch ya see.
    Anyways, they left fairly p!ssed off, and next day I got a summons to go to court on a motoring charge, nearly six months after the event. In court, the judge called it 'joyriding' (:D:D:D) because, not wanting to get my mate in trouble for having no insurance and lending me the bike I had said I took the bike without his consent, said 'Would you do this in your own country?' , I thought it irrelevant and said 'Well actually, back home they would've given me an on the spot fine and sent me on my way, they don't believe in wasting court time', and I got sentenced to a month in Mountjoy. Slightly harsh.
    On top of this, our local rag had a half page on it with the headline 'Dutchman stole bike'.
    I did two weeks in Mountjoy and one in the 'training unit'.
    It's an experience.;)
    So no, I didn't kill anyone, but apparently I'd be a terrible prospect for some people. These are the breaks. ..

You'd get a decent short story out of that! :D If twas me I'd probably have spent the two weeks in the Joy smiling at what I'd said to the judge, fair play!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

annascott wrote: »
    Mia culpa etc. :rolleyes: Sorry you had a horrible time and were victimised by xenophobic garda and court. You are obviously one of the exceptions, There are always exceptions.
    ;) I was a bit harsh myself in previous post. Just saying things aren't always as they seem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

johro for president.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Mia culpa etc. :rolleyes: Sorry you had a horrible time and were victimised by xenophobic garda and court. You are obviously one of the exceptions, There are always exceptions.

have you changed your mind? would you give someone a chance if they were in prison for a minor crime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

I don't think I could have a criminal like that representing me. You give up your right to this sort of thing when you commit such *cough* despicable crimes. He's not even Irish!

Say it don't spray it. :D

I hear the money's good.:p
    I think ya have to be Irish though. I'm not shelling out the 950 euro for citizenship. No way sir. I don't want it that much.
    Have a go yerself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Vague question is vague. "Being in prison"? Doesn't bother me in the slightest on its own. What did you do to deserve it? Obviously if you assaulted, murdered, or mugged someone that would put me off, but the prison time itself? No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,242 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

would be crime dependant

drugs : yeah
    any form of violent crime against men : no
    political lark : unless its for lefty hippy stuff then yeah sure
    fraud : perfect match id say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

if it was for not paying the TV Licence. I would marry them on the spot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Sorry, did not mean to offend anyone. I just meant that it might effect mortgages etc...

Its "affect". You do know that education also affects (haha!) employment prospects too right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

We all try to appear accepting and non-judgemental, but would any of you go out with someone who had been to prison?

I wouldn't. Even if it was for a non violent crime, it would be most likely that the person would be unemployable and without prospects...

What are your views?

I agree completely.
    They don't put regular people in prison most of the time. Generally its only the scum and I wouldn't take the risk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Siuin

inkwell wrote: »
    Nice selection of "inmate pals" from California..

http://www.convictpenpals.com/prison_pen_pals_main.html :rolleyes:
    "I'm a single, caring, easygoing, open-minded young man with lots of love and compassion in my heart for humanity and all things created by God."
    -- Crime: Capital murder. On Death Row.

???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

Interesting question. How do you introduce the subject.....

ie.... btw before we start chatting i have been to prision so you might not want to go out with me.

it depends on what they went to prison for and how long ago it was but tbh i imagine its not something you will know about until you actually talk to them and get to know them by this time you might be hooked...

As for prospects..... You make your own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Didn't we have a thread like this before where someone found out their BF was on crimeline?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭tfitzgerald

If I liked them enough yes I would also everyone make mistakes

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

These are the breaks. ..

Now, if only you'd started off by saying that when the cop saw you pulling on the twine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

I hear the money's good.:p
    I think ya have to be Irish though. I'm not shelling out the 950 euro for citizenship. No way sir. I don't want it that much.
    Have a go yerself.

Silly dutchman Tallaght people arent trusted :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,665 ✭✭✭baldbear

Yes if the crime wasn't serious. I know 3 people who were in jail. All decent people.

But I wouldn't be too impressed if the sister started dating Larry Murphy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Does my basement where I keep the wimmins count as a prison? If so i would say yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Does my basement where I keep the wimmins count as a prison? If so i would say yes.

Does it have a well in it??

(I'm starting to see a pattern here..)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,451 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

I want to marry Padraig Nally for the very reason he was in prison.

He's a hero.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭stateofflux

i could'nt as i want my honeymoon in vegas....and im not goin on my own

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Larianne wrote: »
    Does it have a well in it??

(I'm starting to see a pattern here..)

You can see it if you want. I actually need a hand moving some furniture. Since the arm break its been hard to function.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭blaze1

"Look at her. She's a criminal..... Criminals are hot"

Agent Simmons, Transformers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I've been to prison. I wouldn't touch your judgemental self with a barge pole.

Let's not be hasty.

Not even to use it as a beating implement?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

I'm writing to BOTH Scissor Sisters at the moment in the hope of dating either of them when they get out.
    (I hope they don't discover it's me writing to them both though)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭annascott

Jumpy wrote: »
    Its "affect". You do know that education also affects (haha!) employment prospects too right?

Oh the shame! All I had for a defense was tiredness. Thought I was going to have to hang up my Grammar Nazi boots, but then I found this...

http://www.yourdictionary.com/grammar-rules/affect-effect-grammar.html

The jury is out...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭annascott

Didn't we have a thread like this before where someone found out their BF was on crimeline?