Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you go out with someone who had been to prison?

• 17-08-2011 11:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭annascott

We all try to appear accepting and non-judgemental, but would any of you go out with someone who had been to prison?

I wouldn't. Even if it was for a non violent crime, it would be most likely that the person would be unemployable and without prospects...

What are your views?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

I would, but then, the only requirements I have for a prospective date at this stage are a pulse and bare consciousness. :pac:

Oooh it's funny 'cos it's true..... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

They probably wouldn't even be a virgin either. . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

annascott wrote: »
    We all try to appear accepting and non-judgemental, but would any of you go out with someone who had been to prison?

I wouldn't. Even if it was for a non violent crime, it would be most likely that the person would be unemployable and without prospects...

What are your views?
    I've been to prison. I wouldn't touch your judgemental self with a barge pole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,983 ✭✭✭Tea_Bag

now I ain't saying she's a gold digger...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Definatly not - ever seen the ruffians that are in the Prison forum. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

What are your views?
    Gold digger much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭annascott

Sorry, did not mean to offend anyone. I just meant that it might effect mortgages etc...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

depends what they did tbh

Kojak wrote: »

With your username I wouldn't expect you to be consorting with those you put in in the first place. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

We all try to appear accepting and non-judgemental

Au contraire.

I think you might have stumbled onto the wrong forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭DundalkDuffman

Had been, possibly. Still in, definitely. Though there is always the danger of the break out / pop in.

Kojak wrote: »

There's a prison forum?:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

How does it make someone a gold digger if their ideal partner has limited prospects with work and travel?
    Anyways, a life of crime done well can mean much more money than the state sanctioned route.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

Johro wrote: »
    I've been to prison. I wouldn't touch your judgemental self with a barge pole.
    For wha???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Is she hot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

There's a prison forum?:eek:

Yeah, its here

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=335

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

It depends on the crime.

Murder - No.
    War Crimes - No.
    Gang Crimes - Perhaps if reformed.
    Political activism - Yes.
    Cooking Meth - (If they looked like Jessie from breaking bad then yes.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Eroticfishcake

Yup everyone knows bads guys are hot ;) Now it does depend on what type of badness!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭inkwell

Sorry, did not mean to offend anyone. I just meant that it might effect mortgages etc...

Do you think about future mortgages when dating somebody for first time? Thats SAD!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

No, as they wouldn't be allowed to travel to certain countries. And I like travelling.

Also, Mam and Dad would not be impressed!

Shabazz Mohammad
    Mohammad_Shabazz8.jpg Mohammad_Shabazz3.jpg Mohammad_Shabazz2.jpg
    icon_pl.gif icon_email.gif
    Birth Date:
    February 6, 1958
    Release Date:
    Convicted Of:
    Armed Bank Robbery
    Sexual Orientation:
    Straight
    Wants To Write To:
    Women Only
    Seeks:
    Romance, Friendship
    I'm looking for a woman with morals, principles, and with a great sense of right and wrong! I'm hoping for a state of true female friendship, trust and intimacy. A suitable match -- that would lead to a blissful union!! I'm looking for someone to share my life with; a drama free and peaceful life: to join me on my 15 acres of S.C. Land. I'm searching for someone special to propose to! What I offer: I'm 6'1", 200 lbs., childless, disease and drug free, very health conscious. I do not play the field, nor head games. I'm sincere, compassionate, sensitive and strong -- with no bad vices/habits. I do not believe in physical/verbal abuse. I view women as glass vessels (precious gifts from God). I'm the type of man that loves to keep my mate happy, smiling, and feeling good!! I aim to take care of all of my lady's economic needs, physical desires, and emotional urges. From my lady I'm eager to learn, eager to please, and eager to be helpful and romantically obliging. I'm the type of man who displays my affection. I enjoy kissing my lady before I leave home and immediately upon returning. I love giving massages to help my mate relax. I'm very generous. Love to drape my lady in fashionable gear, jewelry and fragrances. I love to communicate with my mate! Love to hug and cuddle. I put God first in my life, then my lady -- but I have a deep abiding love for my mother and thus maintain a close relationship with her. Some of my God-given talents are: I'm bilingual -- speak English and Spanish. Author (will start a publishing company upon my release). Lecturer, I am blessed behind a podium giving public lectures on any subject. (Will sell DVD's off the WWW). Jazz Musician (Tenor Saxophone). Ex-businessman and future entrepreneur. My goal is to become a millionaire (lawfully) within two years of release (God willing). There are still some good men behind bars who treat women like stars. If you want to meet a good man with old school values, write to me. You won't be disappointed!!!
    Shabazz Mohammad #14064-053
    FCI Atlanta
    PO Box 150160
    Atlanta, GA 30315

Print me a letter
    Send me an email

Nice selection of "inmate pals" from California..

http://www.convictpenpals.com/prison_pen_pals_main.html :rolleyes:

I can only feel sorry for them and its hard to blame they still try to be happy. It's not often someone goes to prison aften growing up in a happy- normal family... These are broken lifes ad they were usually punished twice- by society,life circumstances (and thats whats usually led to crime) and them by law.. I am not saying they shouldnt and I am not saying they're innocent, but thats usually the way it is..

For wha???
    This'll make ya laugh. Years ago, I borrowed a Honda 50 from a mate to go down to the shops with. I got stopped by a guard and asked about licence,tax and insurance. I had none of these, just my youthful good looks and sunny outlook on life, which counted for nothing. What didn't help is that the brakes weren't great, and I kinda drove over his foot a bit.. Well he did stand there like an eejit with his arm out motioning me to stop while he could see me furiously pulling on a bit of twine attached to the rear brake.
    This wasn't why I went to prison though.
    I heard no more from the guards until one day two of them came to my rented house to question me about my neighbours, who had a fairly dodgy reputation, petty thievery mostly, so I'd heard, which I didn't care about, I just paid them rent.
    They kept asking me questions about them which I couldn't answer, told me they'd drop the bike charges if I talked, and when I still had no information I could see them becoming convinced I was just a liar, and they told me so, also that I was only a 'fuckin alien'. :p
    I'm Dutch ya see.
    Anyways, they left fairly p!ssed off, and next day I got a summons to go to court on a motoring charge, nearly six months after the event. In court, the judge called it 'joyriding' (:D:D:D) because, not wanting to get my mate in trouble for having no insurance and lending me the bike I had said I took the bike without his consent, said 'Would you do this in your own country?' , I thought it irrelevant and said 'Well actually, back home they would've given me an on the spot fine and sent me on my way, they don't believe in wasting court time', and I got sentenced to a month in Mountjoy. Slightly harsh.
    On top of this, our local rag had a half page on it with the headline 'Dutchman stole bike'.
    I did two weeks in Mountjoy and one in the 'training unit'.
    It's an experience.;)
    So no, I didn't kill anyone, but apparently I'd be a terrible prospect for some people. These are the breaks. ..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

This'll make ya laugh. Years ago, I borrowed a Honda 50 from a mate to go down to the shops with. I got stopped by a guard and asked about licence,tax and insurance. I had none of these, just my youthful good looks and sunny outlook on life, which counted for nothing. What didn't help is that the brakes weren't great, and I kinda drove over his foot a bit.. Well he did stand there like an eejit with his arm out motioning me to stop while he could see me furiously pulling on a bit of twine attached to the rear brake.
    I heard no more from the guards until one day two of them came to my rented house to question me about my neighbours, who had a fairly dodgy reputation, petty thievery mostly, so I'd heard, which I didn't care about, I just paid them rent.
    They kept asking me questions about them which I couldn't answer, told me they'd drop the bike charges if I talked, and when I still had no information I could see them becoming convinced I was just a liar, and they told me so, also that I was only a 'fuckin alien'. :p
    I'm Dutch ya see.
    Anyways, they left fairly p!ssed off, and next day I got a summons to go to court on a motoring charge, nearly six months after the event. In court, the judge called it 'joyriding' (:D:D:D) because, not wanting to get my mate in trouble for having no insurance and lending me the bike I had said I took the bike without his consent, said 'Would you do this in your own country?' , I thought it irrelevant and said 'Well actually, back home they would've given me an on the spot fine and sent me on my way, they don't believe in wasting court time', and I got sentenced to a month in Mountjoy. Slightly harsh.
    On top of this, our local rag had a half page on it with the headline 'Dutchman stole bike'.
    It's an experience.;)
    So no, I didn't kill anyone, but apparently I'd be a terrible prospect for some people. These are the breaks. ..

sorry to hear that johro, fcuked up country altogether :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

inkwell wrote: »

I'm going to be completely honest, some of those fellahs look like very nice people. One of them looks like a neighbour of mine who moved away a few years ago, too...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

What are your views?

It would depend on the crime, if the murdered or raped someone then no.
    I would not judge everyone that has been to prison. People can make mistakes it does not necessarily mean they are unemployable.

sorry to hear that johro, fcuked up country altogether :/
    It was a long time ago. Late eighties. I like it here. The government's sh!t, and so are most governing bodies but Irish people are sound.

I'm Dutch ya see.
    It's an experience.;)

Mia culpa etc. :rolleyes: Sorry you had a horrible time and were victimised by xenophobic garda and court. You are obviously one of the exceptions, There are always exceptions.

I'm Dutch ya see.
    It's an experience.;)

You'd get a decent short story out of that! :D If twas me I'd probably have spent the two weeks in the Joy smiling at what I'd said to the judge, fair play!! :)

Mia culpa etc. :rolleyes: Sorry you had a horrible time and were victimised by xenophobic garda and court. You are obviously one of the exceptions, There are always exceptions.
    ;) I was a bit harsh myself in previous post. Just saying things aren't always as they seem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

johro for president.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

have you changed your mind? would you give someone a chance if they were in prison for a minor crime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

I don't think I could have a criminal like that representing me. You give up your right to this sort of thing when you commit such *cough* despicable crimes. He's not even Irish!

Say it don't spray it. :D

I hear the money's good.:p
    I think ya have to be Irish though. I'm not shelling out the 950 euro for citizenship. No way sir. I don't want it that much.
    Have a go yerself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Vague question is vague. "Being in prison"? Doesn't bother me in the slightest on its own. What did you do to deserve it? Obviously if you assaulted, murdered, or mugged someone that would put me off, but the prison time itself? No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

would be crime dependant

drugs : yeah
    any form of violent crime against men : no
    political lark : unless its for lefty hippy stuff then yeah sure
    fraud : perfect match id say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

if it was for not paying the TV Licence. I would marry them on the spot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Its "affect". You do know that education also affects (haha!) employment prospects too right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

What are your views?

I agree completely.
    They don't put regular people in prison most of the time. Generally its only the scum and I wouldn't take the risk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Siuin

inkwell wrote: »

"I'm a single, caring, easygoing, open-minded young man with lots of love and compassion in my heart for humanity and all things created by God."
    -- Crime: Capital murder. On Death Row.

???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

Interesting question. How do you introduce the subject.....

ie.... btw before we start chatting i have been to prision so you might not want to go out with me.

it depends on what they went to prison for and how long ago it was but tbh i imagine its not something you will know about until you actually talk to them and get to know them by this time you might be hooked...

As for prospects..... You make your own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Didn't we have a thread like this before where someone found out their BF was on crimeline?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭tfitzgerald

If I liked them enough yes I would also everyone make mistakes

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,738 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

These are the breaks. ..

Now, if only you'd started off by saying that when the cop saw you pulling on the twine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

I hear the money's good.:p
    I think ya have to be Irish though. I'm not shelling out the 950 euro for citizenship. No way sir. I don't want it that much.
    Have a go yerself.

Silly dutchman Tallaght people arent trusted :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭baldbear

Yes if the crime wasn't serious. I know 3 people who were in jail. All decent people.

But I wouldn't be too impressed if the sister started dating Larry Murphy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Does my basement where I keep the wimmins count as a prison? If so i would say yes.