Do you remember collecting your LC results?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

5 years ago. Walked in, petrified. One of my teachers had previously told me that it was almost impossible to get an A in Irish, let alone an A1 and another had told me I'd fail Chemistry even if I did pass because I was completely inept.

Got my results, including an A1 in Hons Irish, A2 in Hons English and a C2 in Chem (the rest of my results were Bs and one C1), walked up to my Chem teacher (she was a wagon) and said 'Hey, I passed!' She started to be all smiley and congratulate me until I cut across her and said - 'You bitch,' then left the school, delighted with myself. Went on the lash that night, to this day I still cannot remember what we did, where we went, how many lads I got stuck into or how I got home! Good times :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭tightropetom

jarlath's?? the year of the cracking football team from there!!

Yeah, we had 6 good years - saw 4 Hogan Cup finals (5 if you include the replay in 1990), they won it in 1994. I didn't play or anything but what a great time to be a supporter... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Elba101

Got my results then we all went to the beach and jumped in the sea with our clothes on. Went home got showered and changed and then went to the pub. The entire year was there. Great craic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭jimbobaloobob

LyndaMcL wrote: »
    Went on the lash that night, to this day I still cannot remember what we did, where we went, how many lads I got stuck into or how I got home! Good times :p

What fighting? I wonder how many of them rememeber aswell
    :p Tá mé agus agus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,943 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

Yeah, we had 6 good years - saw 4 Hogan Cup finals (5 if you include the replay in 1990), they won it in 1994. I didn't play or anything but what a great time to be a supporter... :)

i was at the final in 94, it was on in longford after we were beaten in the semi finals. michael donnellan scored one of the best goals i've ever seen in GAA in that match against maghera. was a class feckin team ye had!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

Yep, went with a friend of mine and I was terrified. It was 2002 so a good while ago now. We got the envelopes and drove away and parked somewhere and then opened them together. We then swopped and counted each others points. We both did really well and I can still remember the sense of relief.

He drove me home and as we pulled up my mum came running out of the house, she'd been watching and was so worried. As soon as she saw my face we knew it was ok. I went out that night and had a great night - I had the little yellow docket you get in my pocket and loads of bouncers asked us if it was our LC night and if they could see my results so I showed them!

I thought it was so important at the time and I guess it is somewhat important, as it dictates where your life goes for a little bit but it's not the be all and end all. If I'd ended up doing something else in college I'd still have a degree, that's all that mattered over the last few years at work for me. That I have A degree, not what it is in or what class of degree it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,165 ✭✭✭enda1

8 Years ago, though I checked online cause I was on holidays.

Also counted wrong even though I did well in maths :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭The Scientician

Yeah, I remember it well, 11 year ago, cos one of the hard lads in my class was bawling his eyes out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

2005, 6 years ago. Remember it pretty well up until the drinking. I mainly remember the hoards of girls from my year, screaming and cackling, jumping up and down and hugging, and breaking into hysterical fits of crying. Good times.

I was out this morning with my brother who got his results today, at my old school. It was a weird feeling being back there. Felt like I'd gone back 6 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭weefarmer

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    91 or 92 - collected results, got locked, went home to bed for a few hours and went out and got locked again. Good times.

Exactly what I did in 2005 lol, and still made work the next day!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

2001, borrowed the car and drove in and got them. Did better than my brother had done a couple of years previously, so result :)
    Oh and went to college which was probvably the best few years of my life and I finally am working in pretty much the area I want to be in so good things stemmed from the results for me. Though if I got slightly different reults I would have went in a different direction though I'm sure I would have been happy with that as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭Spacedog

1999 - moved to mixed VEC school for last year from the CBS boys school.

Got 10 points short of course I wanted, and was bummed out, saw ex for first time since we broke up after exams. all friends got points they wanted though, and I was so happy for them, and didn't regret slacking off for that year, had way too much fun. Hot girl who my ex was mad jealous of gave me a huge hug after she opened her results.

Went for some beers with the lads from the CBS.

Went to Dorans that night.

Repeated the year while working nights, only to do 20 points better, and to see my course fall by 30 points in 2000 anyway...

Didn't like the course and transferred to an AQA IT course by Christmas, where i got the same qualification in half the time + 1 year work exp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

Yeah though it was only 4 years ago so hard not to, I just walked up and opened them in the school...was gutted I missed my course by 15 points and there were teachers re-adding them up for me to confirm. But I got an A1 in English and nobody else did and I was far from the teacher's favourites who would have been expected to get that and got B's instead..petty but that totally cheered me up. Anyway my points had little bearing on my course choice in the end, I got 500 and the second choice coruse was only 350 or something. I think a few of us went for a meal and then drank in my house..I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭fro9etb8j5qsl2

Principal gave me the wrong date for collecting them and seeing as I was working my arse off a few hundred miles from home with a load of auld ones for the summer, I never copped it. Arrived up to a locked school after travelling the whole way up to collect them. Eventually managed to get them over the phone from the principal. In his words, they were the best results anyone in the school had ever gotten and they had a little celebration and all planned for me and couldn't figure out why I hadn't showed up to collect them the day before. Went out on the piss and got bollixed without all the hassle of full nightclubs and teenagers puking on the streets. I'd imagine my little brown envelope is still locked in that safe right now gathering dust :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

If I could go back and re-do any day in my life it would probably be LC result day...I was such a little sh*t! I didn't study that hard but got pretty good results. I was 10 points short of the course I wanted but I had already resigned myself to the fact that I was going to repeat. Started drinking at about midday and we were planning on going all day. My mam rang me a few times trying to get me to come home for a while and have something to eat to line my stomach but I got really drunk and started blaming her for putting me under too much pressure and for me not getting the points I wanted! I was such a bitch to her :( Ended up having to get brought home at 10 that night by my friend's dad. When I got up to my room there was a congratulations card and a teddy from my mam. I felt awful :o She wouldn't talk to me for days!

I ended up getting the course I wanted, the points came down. Dropped out after the first term. Started a new course the following year. Dropped out after a year.

Good luck to LC students today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭HoggyRS

Only 3 years ago, seems like way longer. I did the leaving cert in one of these stupid grind school in Cork at the behest of my parents who thought i'd do ****e in my old school surrounded by my friends! Ended up getting 375 and I was delighted. I had spent the year failing pretty much every exam I took, being told to do pass English/French/Geography/Business(ended up staying in honours for them all), and discussing what i'd do when I failed the LC! Twas nice laughing in my business teachers face after getting a b1 in honours after she told me do ordinary or i'd fail!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭ILikeBananas

Yup, turned out to be one of the best days of my life :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,303 ✭✭✭✭Tauriel

2008 was when I got mine. Turned up at the school at the time the results were supposed to be out and told to get lost for another two hours because our school didn't want to give them out yet.

Back then I was really disappointed with my results but considering that I am studying what I wanted to do in college now and where some of the people I went to school with ended up, I didn't do to bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Zilch

Yep. Best day of my life. So much fun. School unifrom shirt signed by tons of friends. So much excitement about what happens next. A guy gave me a ride home on his nifty 50 and the sun was belting down and I'd no helmet. That evening I went around to all the uncle and aunts as if it was my Confirmation day. A really favourite memory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

syklops wrote: »
    Also 2002, and I dont remember it being a scorcher, but I do remember it being warm. I got the bus to limerick and walked out to the school which took about 45 mins. A classmate and her mother passed me on the way in their car, and she told me later that she saw me, and was going to offer me a lift, but then sort of forgot.

Were the results an important factor in where I am now? Not really. I had already decided what I wanted to do, and that got me here, and I am happy where I am now.

Another 02 member,the world cup was on that year so during exams we would miss out on the soccer,same year or slightly earlier the teachers decided to strike over their pay which backlash from public as the leaving cert was coming up soon,im not sure if they got their increase but the country started to take off so most classmates went onto building sites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 mcc85

yup 2003, i was working that day so i got my mother to drop me in to school at lunch time, i knew they'd be terrible so i didnt mind, my mother on the other hand wasnt so impressed, i was one of the last ones to collect mine so they were left in an envelope for me, didnt bother opening them till later that day. about 260 points

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

Nope left after the inter cert

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭eirn

It was 2003. I was pretty nervous. My mother drove me to school. I met the principal, put my hand out for the envelope, but he rushed out with it, to congratulate my mother! (still have no idea why he though it was all down to her).

I stood there dumbfounded for a minute, then had a chat with my friends, almost everyone did better than expected. He eventually came back in with my results, and it was a great feeling to know the whole thing was over! I'd do any exam (inc. the driving test!) before I would do the leaving again.

At the time I felt the results were the most important thing in the world, but I know now that I could still have ended up with the same job through a different route even if I didn't get my first choice course. Whatever is for you won't go by you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,813 ✭✭✭TPD

I woke up at 12 or so and checked online. I don't think they sent out the results though, I don't have them at the house. Rang somebody in school to see how everyone was getting on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Considering it was only four hours ago... yes I remember it vividly :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

1992. I went to boarding school so I had to ring up the school to get them. Then I went and played a game of golf with my Mam. So pretty much one of the most boring days ever.

I don't think they 'got me where I am' though, I only have myself to blame for that - the results themselves were pretty good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭FinnLizzy

In 2010, I spent the preceding week at Sziget in Budapest. The Leaving Cert was the last thing on my mind! I was getting wrecked!

Anyways, me and 5 other Leaving Certs were in the hotel lobby (there was about 20 the day before) waiting for taxis to the airport. We were an hour ahead of Ireland and couldn't access them online til about 1pm.

My friend got 425 points in a text from his mum. He was delighted and I had high hops for myself as I did as much study as he did.

I got a text saying I got 405. I didn't know what to think or if the course I wanted to do would accept me (later I find out I needed 415).

Anyways, I managed to get home for the last hour of results night. I was sober but managed to supprise my OH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Considering it was only four hours ago... yes I remember it vividly :p

So eh... Party at your gaff?

How did ya do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

NothingMan wrote: »
    So eh... Party at your gaff?

How did ya do?
    That's the third time i've heard that pun today >_<

I got 555.
    Pleased with my A1 in English considering I disliked the exam.

Disappointed with my A2 in Engineering considering I put in a huge amount of work in to my project and did a brilliant theory exam. I'll be getting it rechecked. Those ten points between an A2 and an A1 are desperately needed at the moment.

Disappointed with my B2 in Business considering I got an A1 in the Mock despite having taught myself the subject without any outside assistance. Definitely getting it rechecked.

Amazed that I got a B2 in Maths considering Paper 1 was a total write off.

Astounded that the nonsensical drivel I wrote for both my Irish papers and the fictional answers I wrote for my aural exam earned me a C2.

And last but not least, pleased with my A1s in Biology and Chemistry and my B1 in French.

Now it's the tantalising wait until the offers come out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

I got 555.

Now it's the tantalising wait until the offers come out.

Tantalising? 555 points, you've nothing to worry about except maybe medicine in Trinity and even then!

Fair play to you. Obviously put in the work. Best of luck with whatever ya do in college.