Do you remember collecting your LC results?

• 17-08-2011 09:39AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭jimbobaloobob

Driving home earlier i saw some petrified and some giddy leaving cert result students awaiting their college to open to get results, got me thinking as i sat at the lights about my experience back then.

1994 and it was a lovely sunny day, i was working in a campsite and couldnt care less about collecting my results.

Eventually under pressure from the family i went and got them around 3pm. It was a nice feeling to realise you'd passed and that this was the beginning of something different.

I remember cycling home from the school that day thinking about what the world had in store for me. 17 years on its been good so far and not all connected with the results of that day.

Where were you for your results? Has it been a important factor in what you do now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Yup. 2002, went in the morning first thing and it was clear blue skies and a scorcher of a day afterwards. Were they an important factor in where I am now? Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

91 or 92 - collected results, got locked, went home to bed for a few hours and went out and got locked again. Good times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

no.i don't remember a thing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

Ten long years ago! Spent the afternoon with my family being happy, then went on the p!ss for a couple of days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

Waiting outside the classroom to get the results, getting 10 points more than my buddy (we were always slagging each other in the run up), my other buddy holding out his hand to the principal and then as he went to shake it giving him the finger (dumb, immature but hilarious in my book) then going on the lash in my friends shed until we went to the pub. I was under no pressure I knew I did alright and that I only needed max 200 points for my course (Who the fu*k wants to do pharma chem)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

Ooh 1986 - strolled down around lunchtime with a couple of mates and got our little brown envelopes! :D
    Got a B in Honours French much to the surprise of my French teacher! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭RedXIV

Yup, 2005, 350 students outside the school, Was there with 3 of my mates, Principal shook my hand, one mate showed me everything, other showed me nothing, didn't want to pry, have a feeling he was embarrassed, then we went looking for a pub open at half 9 and spent the rest of the day drinking....fantastic day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Quackles

Yes. Principal congratulated me on how well I did, I counted points wrong and had a heart attack, thought principal had pretty low standards if he thought that was a good result. Made flippant remark to classmate on how I had of course counted them right, maths was the only subject I DID do well in :rolleyes: Then proceeded to eat hat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭Uncle Mclovin

Our rather stupid principle gave me the wrong results. My heart sunk when I saw the results which was a couple of D's with a few stars beside them. I then looked at the front of the envelope and saw that I had another lads results who had the same second name as me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭- bo -

Summer 2005. Got results, have no recollection what I did all afternoon/evening. Went on the rip that night, for some reason on the way home I took a detour with 5 mates. We all went to my grandparents' place (had a key) and all kipped there. To this day my grandparents still don't even know how many of us there was. They sneaked out early the next morning and then 3 of us got on one of those giddy hungover buzzes and sat there all morning watching the God channel on Sky.

don't really remember

don't know that it was an "important factor", got what i wanted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭newbee22

2005, I also counted my points up wrong, nearly had a minor heart attack!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Aodan83

Yup, went up to Dublin and was getting them off the website. One of the lads got a phone call from his brother who picked his up when we were on the bus. Was fine all day, until a few more lads started getting similar phone calls. Was on the computer looking it up when my sister rang me and I half told her to fook off and hung up. Was quite nervous. Did fairly well though and went to see Muse that night. Good times!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,943 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

yes. 1996 and 1997.

repeating is always an option. and coincidentally, the best year i had at school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭tightropetom

I got mine in 1994 (and 1995 :D). I went to boarding school so was obviously at home when they came out. We used to ring the school and they could (would) give us the results over the phone and we'd collect them officially later.

Nervous as bejaysus both times!!! Tough having someone read out the results over the phone to you.

Each time, of course, I thumbed into town and got the bus to Tuam for the obligatory night out (even though I didn't drink at that stage - silly me)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Siuin

Yep, got 515 and was the only one there crying XD Looking back, it's just one big facepalm, but in fairness, I had a cousin in my class who got 800 and a brother back home who'd gotten 560- ah!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,448 ✭✭✭✭joes girls

Yep, i remember, went to the pub to meet up with everyone, they had already got their results, i wasn't in a hurry to get mine, thought a fail was all i had to look forward to so just wanted to drink, did go up before the school closed, and i did do fairly good. Will always remember ringing my dad to tell him, i was so proud!!!

Today i'm ****ting a brick, waiting on the phone to ring, it's my daughters turn, if she don't ring soon, i will be sick .........i think i need Xanax!!!

Good luck to all the parents that are sitting like me, waiting on the phone to ring!!!:)

(if she heads to the pub, without telling me i will flippin kill her)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,742 ✭✭✭Faolchu

yep remember being told to repeat by the headmaster of the school. not recommended mind, but told. I told him i'd think about it and if i did i sure as hell wouldnt do it at his school. he told me I'd amount to nothing if i didnt repeat :rolleyes: so just told him to **** himself.

one of us was wrong, i'm pretty sure it wasnt me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,943 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

I got mine in 1994 (and 1995 :D). I went to boarding school so was obviously at home when they came out. We used to ring the school and they could (would) give us the results over the phone and we'd collect them officially later.

Nervous as bejaysus both times!!! Tough having someone read out the results over the phone to you.

Each time, of course, I thumbed into town and got the bus to Tuam for the obligatory night out (even though I didn't drink at that stage - silly me)

jarlath's?? the year of the cracking football team from there!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

prinz wrote: »
    Yup. 2002, went in the morning first thing and it was clear blue skies and a scorcher of a day afterwards. Were they an important factor in where I am now? Yes.

Also 2002, and I dont remember it being a scorcher, but I do remember it being warm. I got the bus to limerick and walked out to the school which took about 45 mins. A classmate and her mother passed me on the way in their car, and she told me later that she saw me, and was going to offer me a lift, but then sort of forgot.

Were the results an important factor in where I am now? Not really. I had already decided what I wanted to do, and that got me here, and I am happy where I am now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

2005- was gutted at the time, ran back to my parents' car in tears and told them to bring me home. nobody told me the time that it's really not the be all and end all and that there would always be a way into what I wanted to do....

Yep, 1999, was a nice day, wasn't overly worried as I didn't need many points for the course I wanted. Bit sad looking back on it, one of the lads was killed in an accident a few months later, the leaving cert day was the last day I spent a good bit of time with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,419 ✭✭✭✭jokettle

2005, sick with nerves. Got my results from the principal (the nosy git stood at my shoulder and looked at them too), and I was pretty happy with everything except history which was rechecked and bumped up 3 grades :D

Started crying as soon as I left the building, my poor mum waiting for me in the car thought I'd failed something :o It was just the buildup and release of nerves! I was delighted with my results :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,590 ✭✭✭theteal

2001, had a couple of dutchies the night before and crashed on one of the lads couch. Went around to the school at about 11ish, I think there 3 other lads in total there at the time. I got marginally above what I needed but nothing spectacular, so happy enough.

Spoke to a couple of teachers and all they were interested in was the soccer final we lost on penos 2 days before the LC started

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

2003. Was a nice day. Headed up with some friends and there was a few others about. Got our results in the envelopes and the teachers had our points worked out in the office so they let us know that without us having to try figure it out ourselves. I got 295. Not great but considering I never opened a book and often just didn't bother going in (I was not a rebel, in fact I was quite a nerd, just an apathetic nerd) I was pretty happy.

I remember my ex got 280 or some such and was really pissed off at me because she worked her ass off while I coasted through and got better than her. My B1 in honours music was my best result.

Spent a few hours hanging around the park sharing our results and hanging out with others. Then went for a few pints then into town, Major Toms I believe, that night. Good times...

Got accepted to a course in IADT on about the bajillionth round. I got accepted a week after college started, missed all induction week. Up to that point I had not planned on going to college. Glad I did though. Had a good time, met my best friend and got a technical job out of it, even if it was pretty basic, I've progressed from there.

Anyone worrying over today, don't. It will all work out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Did well and was happy.

Think I also engaged in some youthful vandalistic high-jinks in the school for old times sake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

I was in Spain so got them over the automated phone line in the morning, hungover as a dog from the night before. It wasn't a nice experience waiting for each result to be read out.

Luckily I was handed a glass of champagne soon after to get me back on track.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

16 years ago :eek: I got 475 I think. It was about 5 points over what I had first on my CAO form, so I was happy with that. Having said that, I would also happily have done my second choice course, which was only 280 points or something!

I opened them with two best friends sitting on the grass outside the school, a spot that's normally forbidden to go. I know I was supposed to feel excited and nervous but I really didn't care that much. But like most 17 year olds I pretended anyway :p My parents were very happy with their first born, but then middle child came along a couple of years later and beat me by about 100 points. Then child number 3 did extra subjects and got top marks in all :rolleyes:

Went to Henry's (in Cork) that night and had a fantastic night, although I didn't start drinking when I went out at that time.

My boyfriend failed his LC spectacularly, but he's still ok :) It's not the defining moment of most lives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

8 years ago,wasnt expecting great results as I wasnt interested in college,turns out got some decent results started drinking at around 4 at one house moved on to another to watch chelsea play got more drink and some chipper and overdone it,crashed on me mates couch to recover and boozed again:Dfollowed by a random walk with mates:confused:think it was more chipper lol,went home early to ring the girl I was mad for.....only for her to break my heart the next day......ah well