The good things about Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 MerryLegs

The taytos! And the chippers. The craic in the pubs and the old people i love their stories about the 'good auld days' :D The way that no matter where you are you more than likely always see some countryside. The scenery is beautiful, the hurling! I love the way when watching a match in a pub, say a big game, that everyone is constantly chanting and roaring at the telly and when theres a score we nearly lift the roof :D And who said theres better atmosphere in the stadiums? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭Daniel S

mikemac wrote: »
    Last time I drove through Ennis it was the early hours just as the pubs were closed and all the drunks were flagging me down
    I'm not a taxi :confused:
    Waving and saluting is good but Ennis folk take it a bit too far

Ah good things, the strange spellings around the place
    Is it Lahinch or Lehinch, there are signs for both? I doubt the council even know.

If you tell me what car is your's I'll stop waving. :D

And it's Lahinch. The other way is so stupid it deserves a shlap. Also, anyone who writes it as L.A.hinch is beyond... em... I can't think of a word suitable :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Kerry folk?
    So inquisitive

Stop the car to ask a walker for directions and they'll want to know why. And what's your surname. Ah, are you related to the Murphy's of Listowel? And where have you come from? Grand day for driving

You'd get less questions from the gardaí :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

Kerry folk?
    So inquisitive

Stop the car to ask a walker for directions and they'll want to know why. And what's your surname. Ah, are you related to the Murphy's of Listowel? And where have you come from? Grand day for driving

The best is two Kerry people who meet like this and both are trying to find out as much as possible about the other while revealing as little as possible about themselves!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭delonglad

Irish food, Irish adoptations of world food.
    Irish cheese (Cheese on mainland europe is crap)
    The people
    The sessions
    Simply going for a spin and seeing beauty like this!

delonglad wrote: »
    Irish food, Irish adoptations of world food.
    The people
    The sessions
    Simply going for a spin and seeing beauty like this!

Chicken balls and chips anyone?:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

Kerry folk?
    So inquisitive

Yep, totally true. We (BF and I) were on a break in Kerry a few years and we were stopped by an aul fella on the road-sheep farmer I think- as we drove slowly along and he wanted to know all about us, where we were from etc.
    We didn't mind though. Nice to meet the locals :)

I like chatting with older people. And ya never know, that person might not have spoken to another soul that day bar the postman, especially in rural areas where loneliness and isolation can be a problem for the elderly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭born2bwild

Oh, in addition to Rory Gallagher, the League of Ireland and relative lack of pollution, there's the varieties of Hiberno-English that you can hear around the country - I like how English is spoken here.

I'd have to add Christy Moore to my list too.

5 things, then. You can take the rest and put it into the 'Things to hate about Ireland' thread.

??????

born2bwild wrote: »
    there's the varieties of Hiberno-English that you can hear around the country - I like how English is spoken here.

Glad to hear it

Sure that does be the way I do be doing it ;)

Sligo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,979 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

jezus, theres a lot of dutch and swiss and french and italian cheese makers that might disagree!

Anyhow, I'd put Irish meat as the one of the best things the country has to offer.
    Its hard to beat a steak from a grass fed cow. IN comparison, on the continent the cattle never see a field, they are locked up in a shed and fed cereals and whatnot and the resulting steak is a white tasteless piece of cr@p.

And Irish salty butter. You don't realise how good that is till you try the cr@p they have abroad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,845 ✭✭✭py2006

Greentopia wrote: »
    No deadly creatures that want to maim or kill you

Eh, have you ever met an Irish woman? :confused:

jezus, theres a lot of dutch and swiss and french and italian cheese makers that might disagree!

Anyhow, I'd put Irish meat as the one of the best things the country has to offer.
    Its hard to beat a steak from a grass fed cow. IN comparison, on the continent the cattle never see a field, they are locked up in a shed and fed cereals and whatnot and the resulting steak is a white tasteless piece of cr@p.

And Irish salty butter. You don't realise how good that is till you try the cr@p they have abroad.

agree 100% I've never had a decent steak off a cow raised on coco pops;)

Also Irish Wolfhounds, legends amongst dogs

py2006 wrote: »
    Eh, have you ever met an Irish woman? :confused:

Well considering I am one... :mad: :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

??????

I think he might mean Irish 'cheddar'. ;)

So true. I lived in Sweden and their butter, while acceptable, was literally a pale comparison to our rich Irish butter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭Daniel S

So true. I lived in Sweden and their butter, while acceptable, was literally a pale comparison to our rich Irish butter.
    Like Dairygold? Which hasn't the word butter anywhere on the box... :D

mtb_kng wrote: »
    Like Dairygold? Which hasn't the word butter anywhere on the box... :D

Dairygold?? god no, Kerrygold creamery, or better still home made Irish country butter that my Mum gets at home.
    On soda bread or schpuds...gorgeous :)

Sorry, back again. In addition to Rory Gallagher, League of Ireland, Christy Moore, no pollution and Hiberno English....

Eastern European Laydays! I love this country.

Nah, Galtee cheese triangles :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Irish Mother cooking christmas dinner. I love eating myself stupid on Xmas day in my Ma's house.

There's nowhere else in the world I'd rather be than sitting at the table trying to cram that last roast shpud down the throat before waddling into the living room to watch a crappy matinee.

During Championship season the main street in the village gets spray painted

UP <your county>

and
    DOES US PROUD <insert the names of the two local boyos on the county panel>

Can't say I've seen soccer supporters in England or even Ireland writing on the streets

And it's realy well done, large clear writing, there for months

Bet it confuses the tourists with limited English :D

Irish Mother cooking christmas dinner. I love eating myself stupid on Xmas day in my Ma's house.

There's nowhere else in the world I'd rather be than sitting at the table trying to cram that last roast shpud down the throat before waddling into the living room to watch a crappy matinee.
    Lucky you. My ma can't cook. I thought dinner was a form of punishment until I left home.

??????

Honest to god lads, there is a right few of us over here now and the look we all get at Dublin airport when we bring over a bag load of cheese is crazy. Some people have been searched in Schipol it does be hilarious. We have tried every cheese going even the expensive ones and its all dirt. Mostly Belgian stuff over here in dutchland(purposely spelled it like that).

Agree with the butter too!

Sure you can't even make a ham, cheese and onion samich over here out of the stuff they call cheese :p

??????

Honest to god lads, there is a right few of us over here now and the look we all get at Dublin airport when we bring over a bag load of cheese is crazy. Some people have been searched in Schipol it does be hilarious. We have tried every cheese going even the expensive ones and its all dirt. Mostly Belgian stuff over here in dutchland(purposely spelled it like that).

Agree with the butter too!

Sure you can't even make a ham, cheese and onion samich over here out of the stuff they call cheese :p

Honest to god lads, there is a right few of us over here now and the look we all get at Dublin airport when we bring over a bag load of cheese is crazy. Some people have been searched in Schipol it does be hilarious. We have tried every cheese going even the expensive ones and its all dirt.

Dirt?? aah here! I know we all have different tastes but to write all European cheeses off like that is a bit much.
    Have you tried Brie (turkey and melted brie sammich is lovely), Gorgonzola-rich but lovely in a sauce, Emmental, Manchego, Gruyere, Danish blue, Parmesan...? I could go on, all delicious cheeses.

Having said that I'm sitting here having a cup of tae with 2 slices of soda bread with loads of butter and Lidl's extra mature cheddar on them :D
    I don't think there's a cheese I've met I didn't like.
    Oh wait! I tell a lie-cottage cheese! blech! :mad: the red headed stepchild of the cheese world!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭jay-me

Sweets, crisps, bread, cereals and Guinness are always crap in other European cities I have been to! And the little things like boards.ie which is very communal in comparison to other sites I have seen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,979 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

the low tax/ statutory deductions in Ireland is good (abeit completly unsustainable for a bankrupt country)

I'd have 600 euro a month in the pocket extra if I still lived in Ireland rather than Germany

And the cost of living isnt so different all things considered.
    Public transport, new regime car tax, petrol all the same. Housing if anything cheaper in Ireland, both rental and purchase. Standard booze in a non fancy pub much the same nowadays, and spirits definitely cheaper in Ireland. Flights abroad from Ireland with ryanair/ aer lingus are a bargain compared to big hubs like Paris, Frankfurt or Munich where the old airlines still routinely charge silly money. Groceries are much of a muchness. Lidl is pretty much the same everywhere, and big supermarkets in Ireland and the continent just make up their prices randomly so no difference there either!!
    And second hand cars in Ireland are cheaper than Germany at least so another cost of living factor in FAVOUR of Ireland.

In short, Ireland is brill aside from the weather and waiting lists for health treatment!

and the low tax probably the best thing about the place, if only ye knew how lucky you are!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Jimmy Two Times

A drive through the Lough Inagh Valley, a few beers with your mates in the local, Championship Sundays,the view from the second green in Rosses Point, the fact that everyone wants to chat to you when you're in the USA ( despite their own tenuous Irish connections ),Bruxelles.