Ya startin'?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭gonedrinking

Zen65 wrote: »
    Perhaps this would work if you are over a certain age. It's unlikely to work if you're in your early 20's ..... I suspect :)

Be at peace,

Z

In that case just fall to the ground and pretend you're having a seizure. You could let your mate know to say in those circumstances something like "quick someone get his medication, its in his jacket pocket!" :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

If someone wanted to fight me I wouldn't fight them. These people need to learn that they can't have everything they want.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Big headbut works wonders I find, if there is a group of them try and talk your way outta it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Zen65

In that case just fall to the ground and pretend you're having a seizure. You could let your mate know to say in those circumstances something like "quick someone get his medication, its in his jacket pocket!" :pac:

That's very innovative! I may include this tip the next time I teach a self-defence course............ or maybe not :)

Be at peace,

Z

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Topper Harley

"No, it's in his back pocket." ;)

The trick is though, not to overact, such as falling to your knees, clutching your chest with one had, reaching for the sky with the other and screaming "Ooh! Oh, that hurts! Ow! Oh, is there no relief??"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭MonTheBiffy

I've heard plenty of people say go for the crazy eye approach. Show em you're a nutter by staring like a mean mo-fo. But you gotta be prepared to back it up in case they call your bluff, then you really got get crazy

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

"ya startin?!"
    "yeah"
    "ah bud i'm only buzzing off ya"

anyone who starts,****'s it when you call their bluff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭elchupanebrey

After a night out I was offering everyone that passed a chip, being a bit of a nuisance but only for the craic. Then a hard lad of about 18 walks by.

"would you like a chip"
    "how would you like the chips in your face"
    Then I got the chips in my face.

Funny now but I was raging at the time, he deserved a clip but didn't get it. I did hold up against a wall by the neck and warn him as to his future conduct as his mates tried to free him. Lucky for me none of them decided to hit me:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,433 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

I'd run like fuck if it was just me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Words are just words, i've had all kinds of **** said to me. They were gonna stab me, shoot me etc etc.

Never really bothered me. When someone gets mouthy i just generate a bit of space between me and them, let them mouth off and they normally just go away. If they want to throw a punch i'll punch them back and we'll see who is still standing afterwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

One of my friends punched me before when he was pissed...but I didn't swing back...just diffused the situation and we got back to having a good time...

Said sorry to me repetadly for like 2 weeks and thanks for not kicking his head in....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭leggo

After a night out I was offering everyone that passed a chip, being a bit of a nuisance but only for the craic. Then a hard lad of about 18 walks by.

"would you like a chip"
    Then I got the chips in my face.

Funny now but I was raging at the time, he deserved a clip but didn't get it. I did hold up against a wall by the neck and warn him as to his future conduct as his mates tried to free him. Lucky for me none of them decided to hit me:o

Wait...so you offered him the chip first?

If that's the case, no offence or anything, but it sounds like you were the one trying to show off to your mates and got what you deserved.

If not, yeah he's a dick. Carry on!

leggo wrote: »
    Wait...so you offered him the chip first?

If that's the case, no offence or anything, but it sounds like you were the one trying to show off to your mates and got what you deserved.

If not, yeah he's a dick. Carry on!

I don't think by offering a chip he really got what he deserved, he was just having some friendly fun. If on the other hand, he'd been throwing chips at people after saying it, then he would have deserved what he got.

I'm sure it would have been funny to watch the whole thing unfold though.
    "Want a chip?" :)
    *smudge* :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭Viral Vector

Walk away to live another day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

1) Memorise their face
    2) Walk away
    3) Wait a few weeks
    4) Find them and maul them with a wrench

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

B_Fanatic wrote: »
    I guy was chasing someone I know with a metal pogo stick, and me being unable to throw a punch, simply stepped in front of him. Got a punch to the face.

Bouncer's are scumbags :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Fremen

B_Fanatic wrote: »
    ... guy was chasing someone I know with a metal pogo stick...

Wait.... d'ya mean he was pogo-ing after him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭elchupanebrey

I don't think by offering a chip he really got what he deserved, he was just having some friendly fun. If on the other hand, he'd been throwing chips at people after saying it, then he would have deserved what he got.

Haha that's pretty much what happened,wasn't throwing chips or being abusive, or trying to impress anyone, just messing around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭leggo

Haha agreed I'd love to be a spectator. If your man was an 18-year old hardman though, as the dude posted it, why did he expect him to respond to this friendly fun with anything less? Sounds like he was being cheeky and ironic by "being friendly to the poor uneducated skanger" and got what was coming. It winds me up if I'm walking home and some drunk with his mates tries to pass random comments at me as 'banter'.

Ah well, funny story and a lesson learned for him I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Maybe he already had one on his shoulder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Laisurg

It depends on the situation really, there's a few different scenarios, some guy that's had way too much to drink barely able to stand and wants to start a row, you can usually just tell him to piss off and push your way past him.
    If it's a fight that you can't win such as 4 blokes starting on ya I've always favored hitting one of them in the nose then pegging it.
    You can avoid a fight with a one guy by himself a lot of the time, better to avoid fights whenever possible to avoid trouble with the guards and such and being banned from night clubs and there's always the chance that the bloke is stupid enough to pull out a knife and use it as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

Laisurg wrote: »
    It depends on the situation really, there's a few different scenarios, some guy that's had way too much to drink barely able to stand and wants to start a row, you can usually just tell him to piss off and push your way past him.
    If it's a fight that you can't win such as 4 blokes starting on ya I've always favored hitting one of them in the nose then pegging it.
    You can avoid a fight with a one guy by himself a lot of the time, better to avoid fights whenever possible to avoid trouble with the guards and such and being banned from night clubs and there's always the chance that the bloke is stupid enough to pull out a knife and use it as well.

why would you hit it and then peg it :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭B_Fanatic

Fremen wrote: »
    Wait.... d'ya mean he was pogo-ing after him?

Haha, no. He ended up throwing it at him before I stood in. It hit the guitar (BRAND NEW) on his back and broke it, although if the guitar wasn't there it would have hit his neck... God knows what would have happened then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭MonTheBiffy

What kind of situation results in a man chasing a guitarist and throwing a pogo stick at him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Andy-Pandy

Look into there eyes and laugh in there face. Works every time. Make it look like you would relish them hitting you, so that you would then have an excuse to batter them. Im pretty well built and look like i could handle myself (i havnt punched someone in ten years, and that was because i walked around a corner in temple bar and found a friend being mugged, i ended up breaking a finger), but in reality im a wuss.

What kind of situation results in a man chasing a guitarist and throwing a pogo stick at him?

Now there's something you don't see everyday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

EDIT: Okay I'm also gonna add what would you do if someone hit you? Just to add a little intrigue

Sue them :D

johngalway wrote: »
    Sue them :D

Or prosecute them ... or persecute them. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

CJC999 wrote: »
    It has happened to me a few times and what i've done each time is put my hands in my pocket and say to them that i'm not going to fight like some knacker and that if they want to take the cowardly approach and hit someone with their hands in their pockets then go ahead. It worked every time except once when the cowardly prick actually hit me and ran, but i caught him and knocked fcuk out of him. They all happened years ago, i dont think i'd even entertain anyone anymore and simply walk away.

Happened to someone I know on a night!

Some drunk guy started him,he said feck off,and put his hands in his pockets, citing the same method as above. The guy jump on him and wrestled him to the ground with my mates hands still in his pockets which he couldn't get free to defend himself!

When my other mate seen this he dragged the drunk guy off, while my other mate jumped to his feet and started kicking the drunk guys legs out of anger, while a Garda Van pulled around the corner.

The Gardai see 2 guys "beating" the **** out of this one guy and arrest my 2 mates.

Luckily on-lookers told the Gardai what happened and they were let on their way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,593 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

"Ya startin'" is a rhetorical question I think.