No proper shopping centers in Ireland!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

In Berlin they have the right idea when it comes to shopping centres. Most of them are in or beside train stations.
    Tails142 wrote: »
    Ilac Shopping Centre

Unless things have changed a lot since I was in Dublin that place is a bloody kip !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭DjFlin

Oh and I have been to Poland, I wouldn't go boasting about your infrastructure just yet....

Why not?

I lived in Poland for 4 years. The buses run on time, the trams run on time, snow doesn't shut the country down for weeks. When my sister broke her arm there, she was seen within an hour of getting to the hospital. Why my dad snapped his Achilles tendon here he was waiting in A&E for hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭IrishEyes19

Having done my main shopping in galway till I moved for studying, I have to say I love Galway city for shopping tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭inkwell

imitation wrote: »
    Seems like the same old why isn't there a General Hospital/International Airport/Subway/Shopping center/some other facility in my small town/city story.

To be honest though, I would take Galway every time over some city with a "decent" shopping center, just spend some time in the midlands in the UK where there is nothing but miles of housing estates, industrial parks and then some sainburys/tescos/halfords. Repeat ad nausem. Getting stuff off the internet or the bus to Dublin is a small price to pay to live in an a City with a soul.

I agree, I very much appreciate charm of Galway, but I don't like travelling too much and one inocennt shopping center somewhere in the subburb wouldnt ruin it I think..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

DjFlin wrote: »
    Why not?

I lived in Poland for 4 years. The buses run on time, the trams run on time, snow doesn't shut the country down for weeks. When my sister broke her arm there, she was seen within an hour of getting to the hospital. Why my dad snapped his Achilles tendon here he was waiting in A&E for hours.

Poland is the most Orwellian country in Europe. Dull, grey, depressing

D1stant wrote: »
    Poland is the most Orwellian country in Europe. Dull, grey, depressing

I have to disagree. I found it to be a beautiful country. Have you even been?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

inkwell wrote: »
    In Poland where I come from in average city there is few centers like this one :

http://galeriabaltycka.pl/en/doc_firma_e.html
    That's no shopping center...that's a space station

Also I have eh, a "shoppig center" in my bedroom, Polish wimmins only. PM for directions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭jc84

Why there are no big proper shopping centers in Ireland? Maybe there is one or two in Dublin (dont know wasnt shopping there), but I live in Galway.. and two be honest its disaster here.
    There is a thread about some new restaurant near some shoppig center in Galway (Tesco one) and somebody called it "the biggest in west".
    I am just very surpised, because there is only Tesco, Penneys, 2eu shop, Supermacs, Eason and few other small shops.
    In Poland where I come from in average city there is few centers like this one :

-its huge, few storey and hundreds of good brand's shops.
    This all in country were average salary is 500eu per month! :confused:
    I think if they would build shops like this in here they would have many customers and lots of people would get job's!
    Why there is nothing like it here? Ireland is not a poor country!

i was shocked too when i first moved here from london, the shopping centres here are tiny, even in dublin although not as bad as the rest of the country, not that many high end stores here either, i can't see how people call 50 stores a shopping centre

this is a shopping centre

http://uk.westfield.com/london/stores/ and http://www.metrocentre-gateshead.co.uk/

jc84 wrote: »
    i was shocked too when i first moved here from london, the shopping centres here are tiny, even in dublin although not as bad as the rest of the country, not that many high end stores here either, i can't see how people call 50 stores a shopping centre

http://uk.westfield.com/london/stores/ and http://www.metrocentre-gateshead.co.uk/

As someone pointed out before. Ireland has a low population, and isn't know as a shopping destination. Thats why we dont have big shopping centres.

I have to disagree. I found it to be a beautiful country. Have you even been?

I have been a few times with work and on holidays. Parts of it are beautiful yes. But the people I found to be very downtrodden and depressed. The sadness seemed everywhere. I travel around Europe a lot and you really notice the difference when you go to EE.

Hmm Impressive. Not. As far as Im concerned the UK can shove their shopping centres up their arses

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

charlemont wrote: »
    Wake up and smell the coffee, lads. Have any of ye not copped it yet ??
    you're not saying the op might be a bit of a wind up are you???? I'm shocked.:D

I have been a few times with work and on holidays. Parts of it are beautiful yes. But the people I found to be very downtrodden and depressed. The sadness seemed everywhere. I travel around Europe a lot and you really notice the difference when you go to EE.

Well, when I was living there I was 12-16 years old. So I'm sure we saw different generations of people.
    I suppose the older generation cant be blamed for seeming that way, considering what they've been through. The young generation however are significantly more optimistic.

Best shopping centre in the world as far as I'm concerned, is this one. Its called the Stary Browar (Pronounced BroVar), which translates as Old Brewery. I just love the idea of a brewery being turned into a shopping center. They also have an amazing sandwich shop

Well, when I was living there I was 12-16 years old. So I'm sure we saw different generations of people.
    I suppose the older generation cant be blamed for seeming that way, considering what they've been through. The young generation however are significantly more optimistic.

Best shopping centre in the world as far as I'm concerned, is this one. Its called the Stary Browar (Pronounced BroVar), which translates as Old Brewery. I just love the idea of a brewery being turned into a shopping center. They also have an amazing sandwich shop

Fair enough. I'd vote for the Grand Bazaar in Istanbul. 100s of small shops. Not a Starbucks in sight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

You'd love the Swan Shopping Centre in Rathmines :o

http://www.swan.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,082 ✭✭✭sheesh

I too once went to country that had a smaller population density than the one I grew up in and noticed that things like the size of shops were different than those that were in my home country. I mentioned it on a local forum and they explained why this was the case.

I, of course, ignored their explanations and told them they were racist.

Fair enough. I'd vote for the Grand Bazaar in Istanbul. 100s of small shops. Not a Starbucks in sight

But surely theres an Insomnia? :pac:

I've only ever seen the inside of Istanbul's airport. Incidentally, they're not too big on people who sing the song "Istanbul" :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Why there are no big proper shopping centers in Ireland? Maybe there is one or two in Dublin (dont know wasnt shopping there), but I live in Galway.. and two be honest its disaster here.
    There is a thread about some new restaurant near some shoppig center in Galway (Tesco one) and somebody called it "the biggest in west".
    I am just very surpised, because there is only Tesco, Penneys, 2eu shop, Supermacs, Eason and few other small shops.

-its huge, few storey and hundreds of good brand's shops.
    This all in country were average salary is 500eu per month! :confused:
    I think if they would build shops like this in here they would have many customers and lots of people would get job's!
    Why there is nothing like it here? Ireland is not a poor country!

It's a major drawback alright!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Cú Giobach

There is a great shopping centre in Galway, it is called the city centre, and it is by many orders of magnitude more of a pleasure to stroll around in, than one of those depressing fluorescent light lit sterile halls people seem to be obsessed with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 483 ✭✭baltimore sun

u left Gdansk for Galway????
    Jestęs szalony? :p

I'd move there in a heartbeat, although Sopot's where the party's at at night, gdansk's a bit quiet in the evenings

u left Gdansk for Galway????
    Jestęs szalony? :p

I'd move there in a heartbeat, although Sopot's where the party's at at night, gdansk's a bit quiet in the evenings

I had no choice unfortunately, I mean there always is some choice, but I didnt want miserable life.

-too some other poster who said,people in Poland are sad and its depressing - its hard to be cheerful if you have to live for 500eu a month! :pac: (and that would be good for some people)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,537 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

i f**king hate shopping centres but the op must be op must be living in another galway, galway has the eyre square centre with over 60 shops http://www.eyresquarecentre.com/ and the galway shopping centre has been there on the headford road since i was a small kid, thats got nearly 60 shops http://galwaysc.com/

a shopping centre with 200-300 shops wouldn't work in a city like galway

at lol at people telling him to move from galway to dublin where the cost of living is at least 50% more

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭LondonIrish90

Bluewater & Lakeside >>> Westfield. The only problem with them is the number of Kent and Essex young people who roam without purpose and generally get in the way.

Plus the traffic which basically locks down the roads on a saturday afternoon in the area. Too close together for the roads to handle efficiently at times.

rossie1977 wrote: »
    i f**king hate shopping centres but the op must be op must be living in another galway, galway has the eyre square centre with over 60 shops http://www.eyresquarecentre.com/ and the galway shopping centre has been there on the headford road since i was a small kid, thats got nearly 60 shops http://galwaysc.com/

a shopping centre with 200-300 shops wouldn't work in a city like galway

at lol at people telling him to move from galway to dublin where the cost of living is at least 50% more

There are shops for grannies or teenagers ufortunately. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

-too some other poster who said,people in Poland are sad and its depressing - its hard to be cheerful if you have to live for 500eu a month!

Don't worry about it boss. There's a lot of people around with their heads up their asses when it comes to money and surviving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Take Dundrum. Just.... take it.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭moonflower

There are shops for grannies or teenagers ufortunately. :rolleyes:

Chain stores like Vero Moda, A-Wear, Penneys, Brown Thomas, Wallis and Dorothy Perkins have clothes to suit women (assuming you're a woman) who are somewhere between being 'grannies or teenagers', imo. What is it you're looking for that you can't buy in Galway? If you can't find anything you like why not go shopping in Dublin or online?

Galway really isn't big enough to have a big shopping centre. As it is there's loads of vacant premises around town and in the GSC and ESC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

If you need a large shopping centre that bad then I suggest relocating to the east coast were the majority of the population reside - plenty of them to be found.

Connacht is by far the least populated province in Ireland - no need for such large establishments.

http://www.blanchardstowncentre.ie/

http://www.liffeyvalley.ie/

http://www.dundrum.ie/

http://www.pavilions.ie/

http://www.jervis.ie/

http://www.thesquare.ie/

http://www.ilac.ie/

http://www.stephensgreen.com/

http://www.nutgroveshoppingcentre.ie/

http://www.northsideshoppingcentre.ie/index.html

http://www.omnipark.ie/

http://www.stillorgan-sc.ie/home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

Cresent Shopping Centre in Dooradoyle Limerick is only 1h 40 mins drive from you, i suggest you head there and stop your cribbin.

cruiser178 wrote: »
    Cresent Shopping Centre in Dooradoyle Limerick is only 1h 40 mins drive from you, i suggest you head there and stop your cribbin.

What makes you think I wasn't there? and sorry, I am ot going to drive 2 hours for shoes.. :D and dont know what cribbin means :pac: