So, been broken into lately? Burglaries boom?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭CorkMan

I don't like to on the front of the Cork Indepenent (a free paper in Cork) the "Gold For Money" advert is on the front in the bottom right hand corner and at the back taking up a full page. The women is holding a big wad of notes in the add (with a gold watch on). It makes me mad that they are pushing those ads during these times.

Buying gold off people in trouble for less than half price I imagine. I am not sure if the shops don't take stolen stuff from scumbags, in the ad they said ID is required. Might be a bit naive of me to think they don't take stolen gold, but i'm not sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭CorkMan

people who have their properties visible on google street view should contact google to remove their properties,ive heard this another tool the thief's use.

Bur the burglars might think that house is well off then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

Had a scummer try it at the weekend. He is now enjoying his new home six feet underground at the bottom of my garden and his body is gonna stay there unless the dog digs up any of his bones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Most of this thread on estates and towns but it's even more widespreasd in rural areas

You have many elderly people living on their own in bungalows
    And head to a car boot sale and you'll find tools and equipment stolen from farms.
    Tractors get stolen and whipped up to Northern Ireland but that's gangs more then opportunistic burglars of course
    Lots are buying quad bikes these days, a fantastic thing to have on a farm and go around to your distant fields. But you can't own a quad bike without the scum having a go at stealing it
    And lastly tanks of diesel on farms.

Nothing a blast of a shotgun wouldn't solve

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

When did i ever say i robbed anyone you parcel?
    And what is "Yannow"?
    Crazy Horse, you really can't read mate. Never said you robbed anyone-nip down to the literacy classes for a few months and then have a re-read. Yannow is a river in Bosnia. Parcel??????????????????????????? Yeah, whatever. I'll be nice and put that down to tourettes or whatever ails ya.:)
    on topic, I spend a lot of time securing commercial buildings after break-ins, and the amount of those taking place is getting silly. Any parked up truck seems to be a target, and the thieves take the diesel from the tanks and rob the batteries for the lead. They are also very organised and efficent, so its not just random opportunistic scumbags. Agree totally with Wibbs on the dog front, get one, they are the surest deterrent going.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I've been lucky enough not to be broken into but I hope that the extra security precautions have paid off which has brought this about.
    (Window locks, alarms, sensors, cameras, sensor lights, reinforced doors, double/triple locks, etc. Front and back on house and garden)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

CorkMan wrote: »
    Buying gold off people in trouble for less than half price I imagine. I am not sure if the shops don't take stolen stuff from scumbags, in the ad they said ID is required. Might be a bit naive of me to think they don't take stolen gold, but i'm not sure.
    Well given that the scum now specifically target gold while leaving other stuff they traditionally went for I'd draw my own conclusions on that score...

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭bigneacy

I think those cash for gold shops have a lot to answer for. My parent's house down the country was burgled a couple of weeks ago by two young knackers from Tallaght. They drilled open one the the windows, and took all the gold jewellery. Nothing else was taken. Not even the silver jewellery.

A floor safe would cost less than €100 and will prevent this sort of crime.

But sure there's no point in getting the pitchforks and going after the cash for gold shops. Not all of them are the same, in fact some of them are crying out for regulation, to weed out the bad apples. The industry is being brought to the spotlight in a very negative fashion by a few unscrupulous outlets. The bigger chains have very stringent ID process's. The pawn shops and money shops are worse. They couldn't care less about KYC.

Cash4gold and gold robbery is the most visible of all, because it is so heavily advertised and any paper is dying to jump on any story. Commercial burglary is rising much faster than domestic break-ins. Ordinary decent criminals are no more - the scum are getting desperate - dole is going down and drug price is going up (:pac:) I believe it's have-a-go burglars becoming more and more commonplace and in turn they are becoming career criminals, or more likely - adding to their criminal CV. They see that they can get a quick buck out of gold so they go for that. If they didn't rob the gold, they'd be no less likely to break in. They are still going to steal - its just what they are stealing that's changing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭constantg

bigneacy wrote: »

How much is an alsatian?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭gaz wac

woke last night at 2.30 to find a "bloke" standing at the top of the stair's !!! jumped up screaming " get the fook, ill kill ya" while grabing the small fire extinguisher at the side of my bed...got two feet and noticed it was her bathrobe, hanging at the back of the door :o she didnt even wake up !!!

Parents house got robbed years ago. I think its one of those things where if you get caught out once, you really go over board to make sure it dosent happen again...horrible thing to happen !:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Biggins wrote: »
    I've been lucky enough not to be broken into but I hope that the extra security precautions have paid off which has brought this about.
    (Window locks, alarms, sensors, cameras, sensor lights, reinforced doors, double/triple locks, etc. Front and back on house and garden)
    Sounds like you have better security than Mountjoy :D:D

MrsD007 wrote: »
    Sounds like you have better security than Mountjoy :D:D
    Better safe than sorry.
    First thing I did when I moved in was also bought fire extinguishers, fire blankets, fire alarms, etc.
    The glass on the back door has also wire thin wire mesh running through it.

(Makes sense too in the long run money-wise, it all helps to keep house insurance quotes down - your seen as a lesser risk)

If they do finally get in, they face weapons, knives and a heavy baseball bat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭flas

xzanti wrote: »
    4.5K worth of materials stolen from a building site in Howth last night/this morning.. My OH at the loss :mad:

Dirty pikey bastards.

i would advise your oh to go to some of the markets on all over the place over the weekend, this is more than likely where the equipment is gone, and for anyone who thinks its not pc i dont care but it the stuff will be getting sold from beside a hi-ace van with some lad calling everyone who goes by "boss"... does he have any of the i.d. codes that come with all these machines? if he does then he should bring them along with him, if he sees something that looks like its his he should check out the codes on the machinery, they are usually welded onto a hidden place on the machines, and if it has been tried to be filed off then the machines have been stolen anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

Defiantly on the up! And I live in an area of tallaght where there has been many robberies on the estate, I do feel worried about going to sleep sometimes, If I got robbed I would lose everything and I live week to week how would I replace my things.

More important than my things would be my own safety, dunno what I can do Ive seen a few houses with the Garda stickers on the window, good idea? I've got an alarm system though

But my advice would be just be so careful who you tell when you're going away, I don't know many people who have been broken into but three of them told someone they were going on their holidays, another person lived with their wife, after she passed away their house was broken into.. so just be careful even if you trust the person you tell they might not think and say it to someone else who mentions it to someone else..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Siuin

The closest I've been to getting broken in to was when a drunk man ran around the back garden, tried to get in the back door, then passed out on the patio :S

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Biggins wrote: »
    Better safe than sorry.
    First thing I did when I moved in was also bought fire extinguishers, fire blankets, fire alarms, etc.
    The glass on the back door has also wire thin wire mesh running through it.

(Makes sense too in the long run money-wise, it all helps to keep house insurance quotes down - your seen as a lesser risk)

If they do finally get in, they face weapons, knives and a heavy baseball bat.
    Fair play to you Biggins, you remind me of my husband a bit. He is very security conscious too, he arranged for a very good security system to be fitted in our house with panic buttons in the rooms etc. The only thing that worries me about some people who are very security conscious is they often don't think about the fire safety implications, you are more likely to need to escape from your house than be burguled apparently.

...The only thing that worries me about some people who are very security conscious is they often don't think about the fire safety implications, you are more likely to need to escape from your house than be burguled apparently.
    True maybe.
    There should always be something close to hand in each room, that if the worst came to the worst, you can pick it up and break glass.
    Throw a towel (or something better) over the broken shards at the bottom of the frame and if really necessary, jump out onto a previously thrown out bedspread or multiple cushions, padding, whatever.
    ...And when you land, if your lucky enough, bend the knees and roll to your side (hands/arms fully outstretched, palms facing downwards to absorb some of the shock) to break-fall and soften the blow to the system.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

The only thing that worries me about some people who are very security conscious is they often don't think about the fire safety implications, you are more likely to need to escape from your house than be burguled apparently.
    I'd really doubt that M. OK it's just from persona experience, but I know a lot of people who have been burgled, but only one that needed to escape a house fire and even then it was a minor one.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭Finnbar01

I think those cash for gold shops have a lot to answer for. My parent's house down the country was burgled a couple of weeks ago by two young knackers from Tallaght. They drilled open one the the windows, and took all the gold jewellery. Nothing else was taken. Not even the silver jewellery.

Peopel have being stealing gold for decades. Way before the cash for gold outlets took off.

Let's blame the scum who carry out these burglars and leave it at that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭The_Thing

Around the time that Padraig Nally did us all a favour a Hiace full of travellers drove up a country laneway towards a farmhouse belonging to someone I know. They were stopped by one of the two owners who asked what they were doing, the owner's brother - who was unaware of the travellers - was in a nearby field at the time and just happened to fire off two rounds from his shotgun at the same time as his brother was speaking to them. Upon hearing the shots the driver set a new landspeed record for Hiaces as it departed the scene :D

Finnbar01 wrote: »
    Peopel have being stealing gold for decades. Way before the cash for gold outlets took off.
    Yes but the focus has certainly changed and that is down to the cash for gold wallahs. If there was such stringent ID checking and all that how come the scum are particularly targeting gold in robberies nowadays?
    Oh I blame the scum F. But along with the scum I blame those who buy stuff from them. If there was no market for their thefts there would be a lot less theft in the first place. Back in the day when people would buy a "cut price" videoplayer or car stereo in a pub, I thought of them as scummy too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭MysticalRain

bigneacy wrote: »
    True. But there is also the risk of the burglers trashing the house as well if they can't get what they want. Plus the cost of a damaged window to replace.
    But sure there's no point in getting the pitchforks and going after the cash for gold shops. Not all of them are the same, in fact some of them are crying out for regulation, to weed out the bad apples. The industry is being brought to the spotlight in a very negative fashion by a few unscrupulous outlets. The bigger chains have very stringent ID process's. The pawn shops and money shops are worse. They couldn't care less about KYC.
    Funny how that guards we spoke to don't seem to think that. They told us that gold robberies have been up since the recession and the main reason for it is the cash for gold shops. At the very least, they are creating a much bigger market for this sort of thing, and making it easier for criminals to launder the proceeds of their work. I think we all know that ID processes aren't worth a damn anyway when it comes to criminals with any degree of sophistication.

Cash4gold and gold robbery is the most visible of all, because it is so heavily advertised and any paper is dying to jump on any story. Commercial burglary is rising much faster than domestic break-ins. Ordinary decent criminals are no more - the scum are getting desperate - dole is going down and drug price is going up (:pac:) I believe it's have-a-go burglars becoming more and more commonplace and in turn they are becoming career criminals, or more likely - adding to their criminal CV. They see that they can get a quick buck out of gold so they go for that. If they didn't rob the gold, they'd be no less likely to break in. They are still going to steal - its just what they are stealing that's changing.

Most comsumer goods are not worth robbing nowadays. They are basically commodity items that are worth feck all second hand anyway. Maybe some desperate junkies will take that sort of stuff. But not the professional criminals who can do the math and work out the cost and benefits of what to steal. The guys who robbed my parents house didn't even bother taking the laptops left in the house, or even the silver jewellery my parents had. All the wanted was gold, and nothing else. So I really don't see what there is to debate here.

Finnbar01 wrote: »

No doubt you'll still hold that view when you have 16,000 euro worth of gold jewellery stolen from your house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

Just back from hols.

We used the missus's car.

Mine was left in front of the house in an estate for the last week, unlocked!:eek:

No problem. It wasn't touched.:)

Mind you, it isn't a posh car....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

Just back from hols.

We used the missus's car.

Mine was left in front of the house in an estate for the last week, unlocked!:eek:

No problem. It wasn't touched.:)

Mind you, it isn't a posh car....
    just the luck of the draw. Got back into Dublin airport, headed for car in LTCP, feckin drivers window stoved in and stereo gone. Car park wallahs said"oh yeah, thats happening a lot lately". Didn't seem out of the ordinary at all for them. Spa's who did it took a pair of work boots as well???? What kind of gobsh1te robs a lidl stereo and a pair of manky workboots? Despit the hassle, I kinda laughed at the thought of them trying to fence the "loot". If, unlike me, you drove a nice motor with a good stereo, this would be a real p1sser to come home from holidays to. So, the official carparks at Dub. Airport are far from a secure place to leave your motah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭constantg

No doubt you'll still hold that view when you have 16,000 euro worth of gold jewellery stolen from your house.

Look, no offence here, but leaving 16 grands worth of anything lying around (even inside a locked house) is asking for trouble. If there was that much there, it should have been in a bank vault safety deposit. If you had a 16 grand car you'd be careful where you parked it and damned sure you locked it, alarmed it and otherwise secure it, especially if you'd heard about an increased incidence of theft of aforementioned 16 grand cars.....

Solnskaya wrote: »
    So, the official carparks at Dub. Airport are far from a secure place to leave your motah.
    I've heard similar. Now of course our experiences may not represent reality on the ground but...

If it is a bad place to leave a car that tells you how brazen of fcuking stupid scum are when you consider how heavy the security is in an airport. Or should be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,983 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Haven't been broken into yet but give it time. I say this cause I live in a rented house which just looks ready to be broken into...no alarm...no locks on any of the bedrooms...easy enough to sidle up and look in the window to see if anyone's in.

Plenty of burglaries around the area last year though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,816 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Neighbour spotted a traveller parked in my driveway today , walking around peering into each window. When confronted, he told neighbour that he had owners permission to gather some scrap. Description and his people carrier details now with Gardai.

constantg wrote: »
    Look, no offence here, but leaving 16 grands worth of anything lying around (even inside a locked house) is asking for trouble. If there was that much there, it should have been in a bank vault safety deposit. If you had a 16 grand car you'd be careful where you parked it and damned sure you locked it, alarmed it and otherwise secure it, especially if you'd heard about an increased incidence of theft of aforementioned 16 grand cars.....

If it had been my own house, it would have fully secured. Not that I own any jewellery myself anyway. Also, most normal people don't keep jewellery in a bank vault because they actually like to wear it when they want to.

But of course that's beside the point being made about the cash for gold parasites.