Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So, been broken into lately? Burglaries boom?

• 11-08-2011 7:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭

Any of ye noticed that there seems to be a lot of burglaries latley? Two people at work this week already told me they got broken into and their stuff nicked, in areas(rural)where previously this was unheard of. Some poor unfortunates also tried to burglarise a neighbour of ours, luckily they managed to escape relatively unharmed although their vehicle was sadly thrashed and had to be towed on a truck to the scrappies-the burglars van that is, not the neighbours. Apparently the burglars are well on their way to a full recovery after their unfortunate experience. But, theft from peoples homes seems to be getting very common. Whatcher reckon AH, is burglaries on the up? Been burgaled? Know how to spell burgaled(its a bit of a puzzler for me anyway, this the right way?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,144 ✭✭✭✭Cicero

Solnskaya wrote: »
    Any of ye noticed that there seems to be a lot of burglaries latley?

You at home right now?

*just asking*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 passion

its the whole gold for money thing. said it when it started and still believe it. handful of your sentimentals is nothing to scum but will get enough of for their next fix. oh and they'll take everything they can along the way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

I think it's the idiots who use Facebook places.

"Suchandsuch is currently out of his\her house..........please come and rob him/her".

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,630 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

If anyone tries burglarising me, they have a wolf to get passed in the kitchen (literally) then me. I have a fetish for burglars and I'm a nympho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,046 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

chin_grin wrote: »

"Suchandsuch is currently out of his\her house..........please come and rob him/her".

So they're being robbed by their friends?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

its usually addicts looking for cash/gold/electrical equipment for their fix.

Sometimes its people use children for robberies as the guards haven't much power to prosecute them.

Most disgusting reality if there someone dies in a parish they usually know what time to strike the empty house at.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭knird evol

You can't be burglarised if you live in a cardboard box.

HA HA HA!
    Fuck you Burglars :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

Keep a spare kettle in bedroom, bring to the boil, remove lid, wait at top of stairs ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Two kids outside the flat a few weeks ago trying to steal my bike.
    Neighbour chased them off and informed me, fair play

I was up watching TV and it's about five metres from my couch to the bike outside, can't believe I didn't hear them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I had a ride-on lawnmower and strimmer robbed from the shed a few weeks ago. Lawnmower was brand new too =(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

mostly seems to be happening in daylight hours and the perps are very brazen-in one case where the house was on a quiet country road, when a neighbour was passing and looked in, one of the burglars gave a big friendly wave, like they were just visiting or ok to be there. In another case, they just smashed the whole back door off its hinges and emptied the contents almost entirely. I know for a fact that diesel theft is through the roof at the moment, and theft from premises(commercial)is waay up, but are burglaries way up as well?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

L'prof wrote: »
    So they're being robbed by their friends?

Yeah..............<checks to see who's out>. Right, I'm off!

marcsignal wrote: »
    Keep a spare kettle in bedroom, bring to the boil, remove lid, wait at top of stairs ;)
    sounds both quick and practical-top tip. "Hang on a minute lads, it's nearly boiled, just two more minutes and you're fecked" probably works best if you don't watch it while it's getting to the boil though.:D

Leave your car keys in the ignition

Last place the scum would think to look

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

I have all my valuables in a batcave, in a safe that nobody knows the code to..... Not even me!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

House got robbed a while back ..the ba$tards even $hit in a stew i had on the cooker

I had to throw half of it out.................:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

pebbles21 wrote: »
    House got robbed a while back ..the ba$tards even $hit in a stew i had on the cooker

I had to throw half of it out.................:mad:

Ew... stew...

Wait, you ate the other half? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

House broken into and car stolen in February last. I was so angry. I'd love to crucify the b@stards if I could

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

Had a car stolen last year,

A house I was living in got broken into and ransacked last year also,

My current car was broken into a few weeks ago (along with 12 other cars in the same small town on the one night)

God help the bastard that tries to break into my homeplace if Im here when they do it,

Ive plenty of payback to dish out! :mad:

God help the bastard that tries to break into my homeplace if Im here when they do it,

Ive plenty of payback to dish out! :mad:

Though then you'll be the one who ends up in court,
    Irish justice :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭Back Prince

your allowed to defend if they go upstairs though aren't you ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

mikemac wrote: »

Not if he 'fell' *repeatedly while trying to run away ;)
    your allowed to defend if they go upstairs though aren't you ??

I live in a bungalow, and I wouldnt be waiting for them to go up the staighre, shoot first ask questions later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

I've seen Home Alone a few times so I'm well prepared to deal with Joe Pesci intruders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Though then you'll be the one who ends up in court

Not if they hide the body/ies well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Might be difficult to prove that the burglar repeatedly ran head first into my hurley and then fell onto a set off kitchen knives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

Mothers neighbour broken into last week and the feckers came back the next night knocked on the front door and offered to sell her back the wedding ring they nicked for a 1000 euro :mad:. It's not just junkies you know a lot of it is people who can't make ends meet because of the high cost of living and lack of jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭questionmark?

Mothers neighbour broken into last week and the feckers came back the next night knocked on the front door and offered to sell her back the wedding ring they nicked for a 1000 euro :mad:. It's not just junkies you know a lot of it is people who can't make ends meet because of the high cost of living and lack of jobs.

Because thats an excuse. That comment is some the ****e I'm listening to on some of the media from "do gooders" over here in the UK in regards to the riots :rolleyes:

Oh poor Johnny is only a teaching assistant he had to go burn down a shop and rob it while he was at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭snickerpuss

Aunt and uncle had their house broken into at 3pm last Saturday in a busy housing estate in Dublin. Their house faces onto a green opposite a local shopping centre and they broke in through the locked front window, can't believe they weren't seen. Weirdly they didn't really take anything just threw everything around in kitchen and bedroom, ignoring laptops etc. Bizarre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

Hasn't happened to me, thank heavens, but anecdotally know of quite a few places that have been burgled of late :mad:

always reckoned burglars were and are the lowest of the low. If you are a big bad gangsta, go rob a bank or jack a truck. Why rob from ordinary people just getting along with their lives? The lads who broke into my neighbours last week only just escaped with their lives-more by their luck than any concern for them. They had a nice night walking through a swamp to get away from the posse that descended on them and their transport was literally ripped to pieces. There was no guff from the guards about their rights and the fact they were fired on repeatedly, there are benefits to having hardy neighbours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

It's not just junkies you know a lot of it is people who can't make ends meet because of the high cost of living and lack of jobs.
    Yeah, most people on the dole are forced to supplement it with a little burglary. FFS would you ever listen to yourself.

Aunt and uncle had their house broken into at 3pm last Saturday in a busy housing estate in Dublin. Their house faces onto a green opposite a local shopping centre and they broke in through the locked front window, can't believe they weren't seen. Weirdly they didn't really take anything just threw everything around in kitchen and bedroom, ignoring laptops etc. Bizarre.

No money for the laptops by all accounts, gold and smart phones are the main targets.

id cut them up with the chainsaw *if they don't knick it of course.

hmmm wrote: »
    Yeah, most people on the dole are forced to supplement it with a little burglary. FFS would you ever listen to yourself.
    What the hell are you on about?

Those lads with the charity leaflets are around in the early hours before dawn.
    Walking around apartment blocks and up people's driveways.

Sure it's the old "my cat was in your garden" excuse when you challenge them only they'll say they are collecting bags.

There are a few thieves among them, scoping out properties.
    And leaving the leaflets sticking out the postbox and checking if they are disturbed is a sure way to check if people are on holidays

What the hell are you on about?
    errr, new to reading are we?:) Stats being what they are, there has to be a few burglars on boards? Or ex-burglars? WTF is your justification for ruining somone elses home just cos you need to get a few bob? Maybe grow a pair and go earn your money? Yannow, by working? As in sweat, job, bit of pride etc? Or one day you might burgularise someone who would happily spend the next year or two looking for you to return the favour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 435 ✭✭tweedledee

Ahh but the Gov will tell you that crime is all down,that everything in Ireland is rosey!!!CSO says so,it must be true!!!!!!!
    Everybody knows the figures "released" by the CSO have been massaged by the Gov before we get to see em.
    Lots of my mates are Gardai and all of em will tell you that they have never been soo busy especially with house crime, larceny,car theft and public order offences.
    Gov won't release exact figures due to the lack of Garda recruitment.:mad:

people who have their properties visible on google street view should contact google to remove their properties,ive heard this another tool the thief's use.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

tweedledee wrote: »

Lots of my mates are Gardai and all of em will tell you that they have never been soo busy especially with house crime, larceny,car theft and public order offences.

I knew it was the gards, can't trust 'em.

squod wrote: »
    I knew it was the gards, can't trust 'em.
    warped, but very funny:D sharp, aint ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

Been Broken into Twice

I'd gladly take a fcuking shotgun to their heads given a chance, and I mean that with all sincerity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

you can protect yourself and your property with reasonable force. about time that law was changed last year.

but some burglars have guns so unless you have a gun your screwed basically. and also every single burglar will be carrying a screwdriver so there is a good possibility you could get stabbed if you try to confront them, in which case why I have a machete handy just in case, thats not a knife this is a knife.

but in most cases most burglars would just run away if they heard you shouting at them, but the ones that are armed probably would not.

for people that are out most of the time just get an alarm installed and it will save all the hastle of being burgled. or a dog.

a few years ago I was awoken from sleep with the noise of a small window being broken in the far room so i hopped up turned on the lights and ran like forest Gump out the back brandishing a meat cleaver and I never seen anyone run so fast in my life also this guy jumped over a huge wall so fast i couldn't believe it lol it's amazing what a burglar can do when their life is in danger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,273 ✭✭✭flas

Have heard of it happening a lot from down where my girlfriends parents live, rural area, all farmers around the area. think the burglars are bit stupid being honest, these farmers would think nothing of firing a few rounds of a shot gun at them if they were trying to rob their house or their neighbours house!

remember years ago when was living at home, in a town, woke up for school and these travellers had gone on a bit of a theiving spree in our estate, they had my brothers weights bench and all the weights taken out of the shed and all lined up ready to go, a few bikes all ready to be taken aswell, bbq's, basically everything they could resell at markets or that, old elderly neighbour heard them and turned on her upstairs light and looking out the window with phone in her hand, gardai caught them, dirty fu£ks!

also got my bike stolen when i was younger, was when them bikes with the suspensions came out first, I got a bright orange one, only one other one in the whole town and I knew your man with the other one, seen this fella cycling my bike on the way to training one evening, parking it up and going into a pub with bike chained up outside, my manager was a detective, when i got up to training i said it to him, he got on his phone and drove me down, i was sitting in his car, another garda car pulled up, went in got your man and got my bike back! he was caught with the bike, got nothing done to him, but i got my bike back!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Security lights. Alarm. Arm it at night or whenever you leave the house. Take out your double glazing and silicon seal the window panels in. Install a floor safe. Less than 100 quid installed if you're anyway handy. Get a big dog. two of them even better. Go to the dog pound and you'll find any amount of dogs in need of a good home and family and they will return this favour. Let them into the house at night. Good company and one helluva handy alarm and if big enough... Back up with kitchen knife and plastic sheeting. A cut price lidl petrol chainsaw works a charm too. Enough scum have seen Scarface...

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

Fair play to you Wibbs. Couldn't agree with you more. Have two sheep dogs at home and believe me, you will not pass the older one, and if you do, you won't be leaving with both your shoes or your pants unripped.

Also have one of them "night lights" that come on when it gets dark. Not the big sodium lamps, but the white ones. Great when going out in the yard after dark because you're not rooting around with a flashlight and I think it makes it harder for someone to come in at night and act the pr1ck as they will "in the spotlight" so to speak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭constantg

Has anyone noticed that scumbags are not only more inclined to burgal, but also to case places far more openly? I'm renting a room on O'Connell Ave and one day myself and housemates were sitting in front room and some scobe stuck his head in window for a look and fecked off when he was asked WTF he thought he was doing!

Now if you're not familiar with the area, the houses are all set back from the road about 30 feet, have railings and narrow gates and are usually quiet!

Very, very ballsy move!

Solnskaya wrote: »
    errr, new to reading are we?:) Stats being what they are, there has to be a few burglars on boards? Or ex-burglars? WTF is your justification for ruining somone elses home just cos you need to get a few bob? Maybe grow a pair and go earn your money? Yannow, by working? As in sweat, job, bit of pride etc? Or one day you might burgularise someone who would happily spend the next year or two looking for you to return the favour.
    When did i ever say i robbed anyone you parcel?
    And what is "Yannow"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,299 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

Padraig Nally for President

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Wibbs wrote: »
    .. Back up with kitchen knife and plastic sheeting. A cut price lidl petrol chainsaw works a charm too. Enough scum have seen Scarface...

I keep one of these yokes under me bed for security.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Monkey_Pirate

chin_grin wrote: »

If you think about it, all they would have to do is make a facebook profile with pilfered pictures of a gorgeous woman/man, add everyone in the area they're looking to rob (most people will add back out of pure flattery and stupidity), and wait for the "Holidays for 2 weeks, yippee" posts.

...not that I've ever done this :pac: