If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Most generous thing you've seen people do

• 08-08-2011 11:51PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 352 ✭✭

Reading the stingiest thread, it got me thinking about the most generous things that you have witnessed people do... Well?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

One night when I was about 11, two scummers tried to rob my bike, just as they were about to get away, I saw a jogger. I called for him to help me. He ran over and the two feckers legged it. I never got to thank him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

Once, in my old place of work (an internet cafe), some scummer grabbed a girl's handbag from under her chair. A woman saw it and yelled at him. As he ran out the door, two customers jumped up off their chairs and legged it after him. He dropped the bag and kept going. Sound lads for going after him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,653 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Young chap on the radio a few years back, cant remember the exact details, but he had been chatting to a shopkeeper about how he could no longer go to Australia on his trip of a lifetime as his savings had been stolen/been spent on a sick relative/something along those lines.

A man overheard him talking and followed him outside, wrote him a cheque for thousands on the spot and told him to enjoy it.

Such a good story when I heard it, so good in fact I cannot remember half of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭noxqs

The Irish state handing over billions of tax payers money to FF cronies.

I think that's the most generous thing anyone has ever done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭joshrogan

I gave an old man 2 euro so he could afford credit to phone somone, he didn't even say thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

joshrogan wrote: »
    I gave an old man 2 euro so he could afford credit to phone somone, he didn't even say thanks.

Isnt €5 the minimum credit you can buy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,672 ✭✭✭ScummyMan

noxqs wrote: »
    The Irish state handing over billions of tax payers money to FF cronies.

I think that's the most generous thing anyone has ever done.

Was wondering how long that would take.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 352 ✭✭Goldenegg

My house was broken into years ago and I walked in on the guy. Anyway, long story short, (I'm a woman) I chased him out of the house and a woman cycling past and a man walking copped on that something was wrong. They rang the guards and followed the skank, stopping him from getting into taxis. Guards caught him an arrested him!

Prove that there are decent people out there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 352 ✭✭Goldenegg

Max Power1 wrote: »

He probably meant he gave him €2 towards his credit

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

was on the train today playing with a really cool parker pen when i saw a kid looking at it with amazement,i gave it to him,he loved it,now i miss my pen.

bic are crap :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭20260622

Max Power1 wrote: »

Maybe he only had €3 so needed the other €2?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,055 ✭✭✭Ficheall

When I was in the Philippines with the better half we got a taxi to the port to get a ferry to one of the other islands, but left a shopping bag (just a couple of shirts) in the taxi. After we'd been queueing for half an hour waiting for tickets (no exaggeration - it took us about two hours to get through the entire process) I receive a tap on the shoulder - it was the taxi driver with the bag. I thanked him profusely and forced a couple of notes into his hand as he left.
    I later realised that they'd been worth about 40 cent.

And that is the most generous thing I have ever done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

That George Bush fella bringing democracy to millions of people in the middle east.

And they didn't even ask for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,945 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

just to head off the usual funsters

"I generously give woman a piece of my sweet sweet lovin'"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭Haruki

Last year queuing in spar, shop about to close for the night, women and her daughter standing in front of me trying to to exchange items (coke, chocolate) she claimed she bought earlier in the day from the shop for milk and bread, i could tell it was a money issue and she was quite embarrassed but the cashier (probably rightly) was having none of it and by now she was pretty much begging him, it was heartbreaking, especially with the child. I ask her to step aside and offered quietly to pay for the milk and bread and without saying a word she just nodded her head and burst into tears. I know her face from the area and would have never thought she would be in this type of predicament, i suppose that's the way it is.
    It's not much, but i thought that was quite generous........of me:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

Niall Quinn dividing the profits of his testimonial between Crumlin Childrens Hospital and some other hospital in Manchester, nobody would have batted an eyelid if he had kept it all for himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭Happyzebra

A foreign national lady (non EU) with whom i used to work with was very generous when the boss and other workers used to treat her like she was a lesser human being because she was was here on a work visa. She was better educated than all of us but they worked her like a dog and she was paid the least. Her response... Work harder and be even more respectful towards them because she believed that eventually they would see the error of their ways.

That place sure gave me a lesson in human nature.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,656 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Was going for a surf about a month ago and two paragliders landed near the beach. Their car was all the way back at the top of the hill where they took off from. THey were going to try and hitch up to get it, I let them take my van instead while I went for a surf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Tordelback

Several decades ago, when I was still just about a teenager, I found myself in Bradford the weekend before Christmas, having travelled there from points north to catch a 'plane home. The journey had taken way longer than expected and cost way more, it was unbelievably bad weather and I was down to my last 10 pounds.

I had been counting on a train to the airport, but there wasn't one, so I wandered out into the city looking for a bus. Somebody pointed me to a bus, which ended up taking me to Leeds, not the airport. Another query and I was back in Bradford, it was very late, it was sleeting heavily, I was soaked through and very close to broke. I asked at a taxi rank, and they quoted me 30 quid (or something similarly daft) to the airport. I tried to find a tourist office, even a booth in the train station, but they were all closed.

In desperation I walked into a posh hotel, thinking they might know about airport connections. I asked at the desk, and either the girl didn't know, or she didn't like the look of the hairy yob dripping on the carpet.

As I turned to leave, an Irish voice said: "so what part of Dublin are you from?". It was one of those old uniformed doormen guys, who'd overheard my accent. I told him, and he said he was originally from Raheny. I told him my Dad was from Raheny, we talked a bit, and he asked me where I was trying to get to tonight. He confirmed that I was out of luck for buses, but said he'd check with the taxi companies to see if he could get a better price - and ushered me over to an armchair by a fire in the foyer to wait. A few moments later he was back, and told me that a guy the hotel used regularly would take me to the airport for 20 quid. I thanked him, but said I had less than half that. He said he'd try again, and went off. A pot of tea and some biscuits appeared while I waited, my clothes steaming in front of the fire. I said I couldn't afford them, the girl who brought them said not to worry, it was sorted.

I'd finished a miraculous cup and was finally getting warm and wondering what the hell I was going to do next, with my flight only two hours away by now, when the doorman reappeared to tell me there was a taxi for me. I told him there was no way I could afford it, and he said he'd sorted it. I was gobsmacked. I offered him the cash I had, he refused. I asked for his address so I could send him the money when I got home, he refused. He just said "we have to look after each other when we're away from home", and showed me to the cab door. A few hours later I was on my way home for Christmas, instead of sleeping in some wet Bradford doorway as I'd been imagining.

I've never forgotten the shock of that kindness, and ever since I've always made it a point to try to help tourists in trouble, which has meant me getting taken for a fool more than once, but I don't really care. Like the man says.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭kingtut

Tordelback wrote: »
    Several decades ago, when I was still just about a teenager, I found myself in Bradford the weekend before Christmas, having travelled there from points north to catch a 'plane home. The journey had taken way longer than expected and cost way more, it was unbelievably bad weather and I was down to my last 10 pounds.

I had been counting on a train to the airport, but there wasn't one, so I wandered out into the city looking for a bus. Somebody pointed me to a bus, which ended up taking me to Leeds, not the airport. Another query and I was back in Bradford, it was very late, it was sleeting heavily, I was soaked through and very close to broke. I asked at a taxi rank, and they quoted me 30 quid (or something similarly daft) to the airport. I tried to find a tourist office, even a booth in the train station, but they were all closed.

In desperation I walked into a posh hotel, thinking they might know about airport connections. I asked at the desk, and either the girl didn't know, or she didn't like the look of the hairy yob dripping on the carpet.

As I turned to leave, an Irish voice said: "so what part of Dublin are you from?". It was one of those old uniformed doormen guys, who'd overheard my accent. I told him, and he said he was originally from Raheny. I told him my Dad was from Raheny, we talked a bit, and he asked me where I was trying to get to tonight. He confirmed that I was out of luck for buses, but said he'd check with the taxi companies to see if he could get a better price - and ushered me over to an armchair by a fire in the foyer to wait. A few moments later he was back, and told me that a guy the hotel used regularly would take me to the airport for 20 quid. I thanked him, but said I had less than half that. He said he'd try again, and went off. A pot of tea and some biscuits appeared while I waited, my clothes steaming in front of the fire. I said I couldn't afford them, the girl who brought them said not to worry, it was sorted.

I'd finished a miraculous cup and was finally getting warm and wondering what the hell I was going to do next, with my flight only two hours away by now, when the doorman reappeared to tell me there was a taxi for me. I told him there was no way I could afford it, and he said he'd sorted it. I was gobsmacked. I offered him the cash I had, he refused. I asked for his address so I could send him the money when I got home, he refused. He just said "we have to look after each other when we're away from home", and showed me to the cab door. A few hours later I was on my way home for Christmas, instead of sleeping in some wet Bradford doorway as I'd been imagining.

I've never forgotten the shock of that kindness, and ever since I've always made it a point to try to help tourists in trouble, which has meant me getting taken for a fool more than once, but I don't really care. Like the man says.

I'm a bloke and that almost brought a tear to my eye :(:o

There are decent people in the world after all, it's just a shame that it is the occasional bad story that puts someone off helping a stranger :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭joshrogan

Goldenegg wrote: »
    He probably meant he gave him €2 towards his credit
    This.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

some girl gave me a generous blow job once

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 28,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

In KFC with my little fella on his 10th birthday. Had done the cinema and present thing and were heading home after. Two youngs lads walk in and up to the counter. They put down €2 and ask for an ice cream. Get their ice cream then sit down and start to share. They were only 11 or 12.

Anyway my young lad gets up, takes out €20 of his birthday money and goes up to the till. Hands over money and gets his change then comes back and sits with us. 3 minutes later the girl behind the counter brings out a tray of food (the kids meals with the toys) and brings it to the two young lads. She talks to the young lads and then points to my fella.

The two young lads get up come over and thank my little fella for the food. When they left i asked him what he done (as if it wasn't already obvious). He told me he didn't like to see anyone not able to afford some food, and he had plenty so he wanted to share. I'm sure it made more sense in his head, but out of the mouth of babes.

Couldn't be prouder of him.:)
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,315 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

There was a guy at a bus stop who needed the fare for a bus that was leaving from about half a mile away in 5 minutes and an old lady helped him out.
    I feel really sorry for that guy, at least twice a week he seems to end up running late for his bus and in the same place running late.

I also saw someone give an English woman on O'Connell St. a tenner for a bus to Mullingar. I know it was to Mullingar because the poor woman has needed the same thing at least 15 times in the last 2 years because she does be coming from having a miscarriage in the Mater. Just like the first guy I mentioned, she always goes to the same place to find a kind soul to help her out.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

My parents went to India about five years ago and traveled around a bit. They befriended a rickshaw driver who offered to guide them around Cochin/Kochi for a few days, they even had dinner at his home with his family.

Since then we've exchanged letters and phone calls with the family, sending the kids pens/pencils/books at birthdays and Christmas. From time to time they send us some spices or fabric. The eldest daughter had always said how she wanted to come to Ireland to be a nurse and visit her "auntie and uncle". She graduated school this year and unfortunately didn't make it into college. She told my dad she had started saving to do a course to become a flight attendant, 13,000 rupees, or €200. The next day my dad went to the bank and transfered her the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

I like this thread. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭simonmln

We live fairly close to the airport. One day I got home from somewhere, and my father for whatever reason had been up in the airport. He had got talking to two Eastern European tourists who had ran out of money, but still had 2 days until there flight home. They had nowhere to go so they were planning on staying in the airport and winging it.

He was having none of it though, so he let them stay with us, 5 minutes away, gave them a room for the nights, food and everything they needed. Dropped them back for their flight then.

My dad isnt exactly an openly emotional guy so it was pretty cool to see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Tubsandtiles

Two years ago there was young French bagpackers stopped a little bit away from my house trying to cook soup and food with a little stove on the ground, my dad invited them in to use the cooker and gave them more food etc. Nice people, I think things like this are the reason other countries say we are a friendly nation even do we can be very ignorant at times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭RedXIV

Watched my dad come and go, day in, day out into a job he hated for 30 years to support his family. He was stationed in a village on his own for over a year meaning he was on call for everything. He's been stabbed, attacked, seen things I don't even want to know about, all because he wanted to provide for us. He retired this year and told me how much he had hated the job and I never knew till then.

I know its different times and all but to work at something you hate for 30 years is still mindboggling for someone who has yet to hit 25 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Not exactly a big one, but it made me smile inside. Last weekend I was sitting in a bistro round the corner from me. A homeless guy (not your typical alco/druggie head, just an oldish guy down on his luck) was walking by and asked the people eating outside if they had any spare change. One of the guys who was in the middle of his meal stood up and brought him inside. Asked him to pick anything from the menu and he paid for it. About 15 mins later an oldish woman was trying to parallel park her car outside, she was all over the place. Same guy gets up, offers to help her and parks the car. Very few people like him around these days.