Gardai acquitted....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 646 ✭✭✭end a eknny

There you go now end a. kenny you got your wish today with two Gardai being found guilty. I told you that anyone who assaults without justification will be dealt with fairly by the courts and jury system.
    my wish would be for an intelligent, fair and honest police force. that wouldnt find themselves in this situation in the first place

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Bosco boy

There you go now end a. kenny you got your wish today with two Gardai being found guilty. I told you that anyone who assaults without justification will be dealt with fairly by the courts and jury system.
    my wish would be for an intelligent, fair and honest police force. that wouldnt find themselves in this situation in the first place

Wish it for yourself first! If our police force had predjuices like you do you'd have something to complain about!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭usernamegoes

and you have evidence to this how?

It was adduced before the court and was largely unchallenged by the defense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 229 ✭✭0O7

i wonder what all the people who were saying "they didnt get convicted because they were guards" are saying now? proven wrong id say

0O7 wrote: »
    i wonder what all the people who were saying "they didnt get convicted because they were guards" are saying now? proven wrong id say
    by what

by what

the 2 guards getting convicted???

well i suppose its hard to argue against a camera even when your colleague does turn it away. the gardai and judical sytem have little enough respect. without becoming a complete joke

I know little about that Wexford case but my issue with the verdict in the Dublin case was not that they were acquitted because they were police per se but perhaps the jury thought the beating was deserved.

The Wexford case the victim was not, shall we say, of a similar character to the victims in the Dublin case.

I know little about that Wexford case but my issue with the verdict in the Dublin case was not that they were acquitted because they were police per se but perhaps the jury thought the beating was deserved.

The Wexford case the victim was not, shall we say, of a similar character to the victims in the Dublin case.

a ya, but it goes to show, if the evidence is there and there is no reasonable doubt, they will be convicted..
    twas in waterford :p

a ya, but it goes to show, if the evidence is there and there is no reasonable doubt, they will be convicted..
    twas in waterford :p

I stand corrected on the location.

But your other statement is a non sequitur with reference to what I have said.

well i suppose its hard to argue against a camera even when your colleague does turn it away. the gardai and judical sytem have little enough respect. without becoming a complete joke

in your opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Bosco boy wrote: »
    in your opinion

I reckon he feels he did not get justice and is still sore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 JEINKINS12

Yes, you know little of the 'Wexford' (Waterford) case and even less about how the Jury in the Dublin case reached their not guilty verdict. Your hypothesis is pure conjecture and guess work and it is quite apparent that you would only have been satisified with unanimous guilty verdicts all round, FACT is they were found not guilty. Move on and get over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭archer22

Surprised the Gardai did not claim that the cctv camera was of bad character and did not like the Gardai :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

archer22 wrote: »
    Surprised the Gardai did not claim that the cctv camera was of bad character and did not like the Gardai :D.

Like anyone we know ?

you dont know much about the case but you seem to know about the victim??? tell us about the victim??? is this just a guess that he was not "of similer character" or is it fact????

Like anyone we know ?
    I assume most of the people you know are Gardai and that you are refering to the term bad character.....right?

No they are not Gardai at all but i don't see the necessity of people like you always being on their backs either. If they are in the wrong like in Waterford and are convicted i back up that conviction so therefore i am being consistent in my anti crime views. You ask yourself the same question as to me you seem to find fault all the time and can't appear to see both sides of anything.

I bet that if you had a problem and needed help you would run to them to get it.

No they are not Gardai at all but i don't see the necessity of people like you always being on their backs either. If they are in the wrong like in Waterford and are convicted i back up that conviction so therefore i am being consistent in my anti crime views. You ask yourself the same question as to me you seem to find fault all the time and can't appear to see both sides of anything.

I bet that if you had a problem and needed help you would run to them to get it.
    regarding your last statement you would lose that bet.I would not waste my time as they are utterly USELESS.All I see them doing is lazing around killing time or flashing their badges to intimidate business people into giving them freebies.Shower of worthless Bums and scroungers.

All I see them doing is lazing around killing time

thats all you see them doing? did you ever think that they do other things when your not there???

you're not there when they are at fatal crashes,different types of deaths, domestics,
    regarding your last statement you would lose that bet.I would not waste my time as they are utterly USELESS.

bet when you hear a noise down stairs some night or see somebody breaking into your car, you be afraid to go out and i wonder who you will expect to do it???

regarding your last statement you would lose that bet.I would not waste my time as they are utterly USELESS.All I see them doing is lazing around killing time or flashing their badges to intimidate business people into giving them freebies.Shower of worthless Bums and scroungers.

You sound like a really nice person who is contibuting to society, only joking!

thats all you see them doing? did you ever think that they do other things when your not there???

you're not there when they are at fatal crashes,different types of deaths, domestics,

bet when you hear a noise down stairs some night or see somebody breaking into your car, you be afraid to go out and i wonder who you will expect to do it???
    do you have a list of where your next stand up gigs are. i would be in the front row. thats pure comedy genius

i dont get it?? is this you not being able to disagree with my post, and just saying something stupid for the sake of it?

maybe if you say something like "I disagree with your post but i dont know why and cant argue with it" ??

:P

a na on a serious note, i think its true...

i think his next one is in mountjoy!

Says all i needed to know about you, sad individual.

JEINKINS12 wrote: »
    Yes, you know little of the 'Wexford' (Waterford) case and even less about how the Jury in the Dublin case reached their not guilty verdict. Your hypothesis is pure conjecture and guess work and it is quite apparent that you would only have been satisified with unanimous guilty verdicts all round, FACT is they were found not guilty. Move on and get over it.

My hypothesis on the jury's decision in the Dublin case is based upon my assessment of the evidence adduced before the court in that trial and the decision I would have come to had I been on that jury. I have no way of knowing the rationale of the jury and nor do you, but I did hear all the evidence they heard and you did not as far as I know.

Who is disputing the fact that they were found not guilty?

you dont know much about the case but you seem to know about the victim??? tell us about the victim??? is this just a guess that he was not "of similer character" or is it fact????

The character I was referring to, and it is why I phrased it like I did i.e. "shall we say", is that of criminal reputation.

The victims in the Dublin case both had convictions and were "well known to the police", the victim in the other case had no previous convictions and was not prior to this, "known to the police." That is a fact.

My hypothesis on the jury's decision in the Dublin case is based upon my assessment of the evidence adduced before the court in that trial and the decision I would have come to had I been on that jury. I have no way of knowing the rationale of the jury and nor do you, but I did hear all the evidence they heard and you did not as far as I know.

Who is disputing the fact that they were found not guilty?

With all due respect I'd go with the jury of 12 and not you, or is it a case of "everyone else was out of step except our Johnny".

Bosco boy wrote: »
    With all due respect I'd go with the jury of 12 and not you, or is it a case of "everyone else was out of step except our Johnny".

Not at all. I am not asking you to trust me over the jury, I am just using this forum to express my view on the verdict and when people ask why I disagree I am providing my reasons.

I'll still go with the jury, thanks anyway