Whats the most horrible wake-up you've ever had?

12346»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭teol

sarah-bear wrote: »
    Waking up to my drunken boyfriend with his lad in his hand about to take a leak on my face.....so drunk he didn't even know where he was!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,923 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

I once woke up to the sound of glass breaking.
    It sounded like my front door and right away I knew it was an intruder as I heard footsteps and both my housemates were away backpacking around South America.
    The first place the intruder went was the toilet and I couldn't believe it but he was actually going for a piss! I picked up my phone and called the Gards and explained what was going on.
    I then searched the room for some kind of a weapon and all I could find was an old Acoustic guitar.
    I left my bedroom and shouted into the bathroom to the intruder to GTFO. I heard some shuffling and a voice said:
    "Who are you?"
    "Who am I?, I'm the person who lives here and is gonna kick the **** out of you unless you come out of the jacks!"
    Then a slurred voice replied "But this is my house, who are you?"
    He then stuck his head around the door and I noticed it was a neighbour of mine pissed out of his head.

And then he said something that cracked me up, with the most sincere face he said "what are you doing with the guitar, are you gonna do a song"

I called the Gards back and told them not to bother calling, false alarm. We actually became friends after this incident.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

spagboll wrote: »
    years ago, while underage drinking, i fell off a wall, a very high wall and fractured my small toe, I was so drunk I didn't really feel the pain at the time.

A group of us then went back to a "free gaff", and were running around causing havoc in the large house.

I woke up in a bush outside the house, in only my jocks with a very sore foot.

I hobbled back into the house and found my mobile, multiple missed calls from "Home" and "Dad", I was supposed to have been home by 11pm, it was the afternoon the next day.

Rang the folks, they collected me, Fcked me out of it and drove me to the A&E.

Pounding headache, dehydrated etc waiting for about 5 hours until I saw a doctor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Sleep paralysis too, nearly started crying. Could open my eyes and tried to reach for me phone but my arm just wouldn't move, closed my eyes to try to go back to sleep, but that made me feel worse for some reason.

Cramp in my leg when I was hammered was a bad one too, attempted to get out of bed to walk it off, but I fell over straight away.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,000 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Sleep paralysis is no fun alright.
    Especially not the hallucinogenic post vodka redbull kind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭elaney

Was staying at my sisters flat. We were out for a few. I was sleeping on the couch while She went off to the night club. About three in the morning was
    awoken by a strange smell. When i went into the kitchen found a saucepan of oil on the cooker and no sign of my sister. Found her upstairs
    asleep in bed. She never cooks any more after a night out thank God.:)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,589 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭merengueca

Asleep in the house on my own, woke to a massive crash and the sound of voices and people walking around.
    I knew I was being robbed, but as a girl on my own in the house I thought it will be best if I just pretend to be asleep and wait til they've gone. Cue a few minutes literally shaking in fear.
    Next thing heard the scumbags come up stairs.

4 blokes in hoodies and facemasks, one carrying a crowbar, standing over my bed screaming for me to give them the drugs!!!! Another terrifying few minutes til the got the picture that I wasn't a drug dealer. They ran down stairs and I called the police - first thing the control operator asked was why were they looking for drugs at my house. Never mind that I was a young woman who was stood in a house on my own having just had 4 physcos breaking into my house and bedroom!!!!

Turns out the house I'd bought, in a fairly resectable area, had reviously been owned by a dealer. No one thought to update the scum with their new address.

Got to be honest, screwed me up for quite a while that event and have quite a particulars about security and such now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭teol

Something similar happened to me but far less scary. The Garda Drugs squad raided the house I was renting when I was asleep. They broke the door and were in full tactical gear. Woke up to them restraining me. Turns out a drug dealer had rented the place before me and had a arrest warrent out for him. Same thing happened a couple of months later as the police didn't update their records :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭Hangballlouie

I woke up on the floor of some Japanese family's rec room, and they would NOT stop screaming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭carlybabe1

I have a few:

when I was small, woke up with all my family around me lookin down at me in the bed and screamin at me not to move, didnt know wat the f*ck was happenin, nearly opened my bowels there and then. Turns out lads were playin golf on the green outside and put the golfball through my bedroom window, i had the smashed glass all around my head and the ball had clocked me on the head into the bargain :rolleyes:

was goin out with, well lets just call it a "sanity challenged" bloke, we had a row, he took an "overdose" :rolleyes::rolleyes:
    I woke up the next morning to a god-awful smell, no sign of him. When i lifted the duvet there was a big load of runny shlte in the bed, i mean it was everywhere :eek:
    Iswear to god i nearly puked, found the cheeky cnut asleep in the spare bedroom :mad:
    turns out he'd taken all my evening primrose oil ....tlt

by far the worst was
    a few months after my son died, i was dozing in the bed (was early mornin) when my then 5 yr old daughter stood at the bedroom door and said "look mam look, hes not really dead, hes beside you look" :(
    I can still remember the flood of relief when consciousness was just rousing and I was thinking thank f*ck....it was just an awful dream....only to realise that she in fact was still asleep and dreaming....I still remember the pain in my chest as I realised my nightmare was a waking one:(
    Felt like my heart breaking all over again....
    she was devastated when she woke up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,923 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

carlybabe1 wrote: »
    a few months after my son died, i was dozing in the bed (was early mornin) when my then 5 yr old daughter stood at the bedroom door and said "look mam look, hes not really dead, hes beside you look" :(
    I can still remember the flood of relief when consciousness was just rousing and I was thinking thank f*ck....it was just an awful dream....only to realise that she in fact was still asleep and dreaming....I still remember the pain in my chest as I realised my nightmare was a waking one:(
    Felt like my heart breaking all over again....
    she was devastated when she woke up

My God that's awful sad. AH makes me forget there's real stories out there and not just funny/embarrassing ones.

Take care Carlybabe.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,397 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

7am, I'd been asleep for about an hour after a night shift. House alarm goes off (by accident - wife mistyped code a couple of times). I woke up half way down the stairs. The dog was howling. I was howling. I don't remember howling, but I was mostly asleep at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Sierra 117

The worst wake up is when I woke up to find that my arm had gone completely numb. I couldn't move it at all. Since I was still in a post-wake up haze, I panicked. Thankfully after a minute I could move it again.

Scared the life out of me, to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭paperclip2

One of those 5am calls from my mother saying my 18 year old brother had been in a car accident and was on the way to Beaumont with serious head injuries. I was living in Drumcondra so ran out the door into a taxi and was there when the ambulance arrived. He was conscious but out of it. No idea where he was or what had happened. The back of his head looked absolutely mashed. I was able to talk to him for a while before they took him for a scan where he had a seizure so they sedated him.
    He was in a coma for two weeks which were dreadfully scary. But he came out of it quite well with a lot of rehab. Lost most of his hearing but his cognitive functions were good. He was able to get on things and did an electricians apprenticeship.
    Ten years later he was coming home from work on a crappy January evening when a van ran into the car he was in and that was it. Ruptured aorta, no chance. But a least we had him for ten years more that we might have had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

Sierra 117 wrote: »
    The worst wake up is when I woke up to find that my arm had gone completely numb. I couldn't move it at all. Since I was still in a post-wake up haze, I panicked. Thankfully after a minute I could move it again.

Scared the life out of me, to be honest.

That happened to me, my arm was completely dead and resting on the bedside table. Didn't know what was going on, and when I went to move my arm, it crashed down into my face. Freaky:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Sierra 117

Freaky is right, especially the way the arm just flops around when you move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭moco

When I was 21 I moved to London on my own and my friend had set up a house-share for me with 2 middle-aged scottish men (she didn't know them, found it in the paper).

Anyway..2 weeks in I suddenly woke up at 5 in the morning with this ginger bloke standing at the side of my bed, leaning over me. He had nothing on only a way too short t shirt that came to around his belly button. I nearly had a heart attack, but couldn't even get a scream out. Then he just turned and walked out. I'll never forget the sight of that white arse wobbling away. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Borat_Sagdiyev

Few very sad stories in here :(

Not really my own one but anyway. I grew up a farmer's son and I got up one morning late for the school bus. The bus came every school morning at exactly 08.20. I got up around 08.18, looked out the window and saw the bus coming up the road. Got dressed asap and grabbed the schoolbag. I sprinted down the hall and there was some yolk propped up in the middle of the hall which I tried to hurdle. I got over it but kicked it on the way over. I was ok and made the bus.

I got home later on that evening and my mother told me about earlier on that morning. She said that they both woke to a loud bang in the hall followed by pounding footsteps. My mother had a fair idea what it was, that I was late for work. Dad, on the other hand, had been dreaming - he was having a nightmare where our cows had broken out from where they were and they had made their way into the house. He leaped out of the bed ready to attack them. Mom, of course, burst into laughter, and stayed laughing once he explained it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭Buddinplant

Whats the nastiest, scariest, most shocking etc. wake-up from your sleep you've ever had?

As far as nasty goes, it'd be last weekend, a day of BBQ and beer for a party at a friends house, didn't get to sleep til about 5am.

So, about 8 of us in all asleep in the front room of a house, some on couches some on floors. About 7am everyone is awoken by one of the guys just projectile vomiting all over the place. It literally went everywhere. All over someones clothes, in a girls handbag. Spattered all over the walls etc. A big pond of "chicken stew" that smelled of Heineken.

Luckily I was on the other side of the room and escaped any shrapnel. It was a nasty wake up based on the smell and quantity of the barf. Horrible. Thought the chap was dying initially as I was in a semi sleepy/drunken haze and everyone just woke up in shock not knowing what was up.

Everyone evacuated the room quickly and crashed out in the back garden.

What would be your most unpleasant awakening?

i'm hoping this wasnt my house, havent gone into the sitting room since housemates had party... but entire gaff was hospital clean... ( i was far away from the madness lol )

and my story would be waking up in my sisters room one christmas, with one of the girls puking from the top bunk onto the wooden floor where it splashed all over me who was sleeping on the floor... couldnt sleep on the floor again... still convinced you can smell it all these years later :P