Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats the most horrible wake-up you've ever had?

• 03-07-2011 7:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

Whats the nastiest, scariest, most shocking etc. wake-up from your sleep you've ever had?

As far as nasty goes, it'd be last weekend, a day of BBQ and beer for a party at a friends house, didn't get to sleep til about 5am.

So, about 8 of us in all asleep in the front room of a house, some on couches some on floors. About 7am everyone is awoken by one of the guys just projectile vomiting all over the place. It literally went everywhere. All over someones clothes, in a girls handbag. Spattered all over the walls etc. A big pond of "chicken stew" that smelled of Heineken.

Luckily I was on the other side of the room and escaped any shrapnel. It was a nasty wake up based on the smell and quantity of the barf. Horrible. Thought the chap was dying initially as I was in a semi sleepy/drunken haze and everyone just woke up in shock not knowing what was up.

Everyone evacuated the room quickly and crashed out in the back garden.

What would be your most unpleasant awakening?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭Captain Slow IRL

Black eye, face cut, cut over eye (still have scar) and no memory of previous night!

I still don't know what happened to this day - everyone was too f*cked up to remember or wasn't around when I got destroyed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Lorrs33

Nothing hilarious like that!

I was woken up last year by the Gardai who were here to tell me my dad had been involved in a road accident. Not pleasant at all :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

I woke up at the bottom of a lake once..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

Phone calls at 3 in the morning are never good. Always going to be telling you a relative has died or is in the process of dying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

Not really the same kinda thing, but...
    April fools day when I still lived at home.
    My little brother dressed up in a scary evil joker mask and suit, and stood with his masked face tilted sideways, an inch away from my face, and then screamed like a girl as loudly as he could.
    I was terrified! :(

Also, there was a day when I was sleeping in my in-laws, and I woke up to find that my then 3 year old wasn't in the house, the back door was open, and his clothes were all in the back garden.
    Searched the house three times like a maniac.
    Finally the door bell rang and it was the woman next door holding my naked child's hand.
    Apparently he had climbed over their wall to play on their swings at 5am!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭effluent

Waking up beside Yore Ma!:pac:

Sorry I just had to say it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭katiebelle

Similar story to your own op. I brought my son into my bed last week because he was not feeling well. I awoke to find him projectile vomiting directly into my face. He was only inches from my face.

A good few years ago we got this rescue dog to look after for a while. My other dogs used to bolt upstairs and wake me in the mornings by licking my face. Well this feckin mutt came with them and jumped up on the bed and I awoke to find him ****ting on my pillow. He was gone out of the house within 20 mins !!!!!

When I was a teenager I awoke after a pretty hairy night out with a crushing pain in my chest. Even though I was still drunk I was pretty sure I was having a heart attack. Then I realized i was on the floor in a room covered in sleeping people and there was a guy standing on my chest. He had one foot on me and the other on the girl next to me. He was walking on everyone while getting to the doorway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Waking up hungover on a boiling day to my mother tell me we're going to the bog in a half hour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Woke up in some sort of head scanning machine (CAT scan maybe?) in Limerick city hospital before. Thought I was after being abducted by mother fukking aliens or something. Started trying to smash the thing up from the inside and the poor nurses had to grab a hold of one of my arms and pump me full of tranquilizers. When I came back around the next time I was in a bed somewhere with two Gardai standing in the room with me. Teachers whiskey and cocaine don't mix kids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Needler

Phone calls at 3 in the morning are never good. Always going to be telling you a relative has died or is in the process of dying.

I switch off my phone at night for that reason. It's not like i'll be able to stop them from dieing anyway

Now if I had some special skill that could keep these people alive I'd leave the phone on but until then its better to face the bad news after a good night's sleep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    Waking up hungover on a boiling day to my mother tell me we're going to the bog in a half hour.

This

Needler wrote: »

Now if I had some special skill that could keep these people alive I'd leave the phone on but until then its better to face the bad news after a good night's sleep

Would you not want to be with them as they were passing?? I was abroad when my mother died and it still kills me I was not with her when she died. I agree its one sucky awakening though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    This is such a rural childhood experience! I would have to agree with this one. I actually made a concerted effort to find a summer project that would involve being out of the house by 10am so that I could avoid the dreaded bog duty.

Cutting corn or silage was grand, anyone would be happy laying out on the bags of barley, or on the tractor listening to the radio, and thinking of those poor cnuts breaking their backs in the bog, happy in the knowledge that anything is better, to a kid's mind, than footing turf.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Woke on a Summers evening to a fireman climbing in my bedroom window saying "anyone ring for a stripper LOL" :o I had come back from a few afternoon beers with my friend, fallen asleep on my bed and locked my Sister out.. she called the fire brigade cause they couldn't wake me and thought something was wrong with me..

Went down to open the door in a confused haze and all the neighbours were standing at the end of the garden laughing at me.. Oh yeah, and I was in my bra and knickers.

Good times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Other than the waking up beside someone...

Geography feild trip. 2 or 3am teacher storms into the dorm, screaming place down accusing us of playing pranks and waking him up.

7am, wakes us up by hitting a metal bin off the metal bunks saying it was a misunderstanding and it was one of the other school groups.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭spagboll

years ago, while underage drinking, i fell off a wall, a very high wall and fractured my small toe, I was so drunk I didn't really feel the pain at the time.

A group of us then went back to a "free gaff", and were running around causing havoc in the large house.

I woke up in a bush outside the house, in only my jocks with a very sore foot.

I hobbled back into the house and found my mobile, multiple missed calls from "Home" and "Dad", I was supposed to have been home by 11pm, it was the afternoon the next day.

Rang the folks, they collected me, Fcked me out of it and drove me to the A&E.

Pounding headache, dehydrated etc waiting for about 5 hours until I saw a doctor.

jaysus hadn't thought about that incident in awhile
    I was put in cast, "for a minimum of 6 weeks", the night before we had been celebrating finishing school and starting our summer holidays, those of you that have experienced it will know that having a cast during the summer holidays as a young fella is horrific

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

xzanti wrote: »
    all the neighbours were standing at the end of the garden laughing at me.. Oh yeah, and I was in my bra and knickers.

Good times.
    Hope your bra and knickers were matching.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

Minus an eyebrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

I've three that I can remember

1) waking up to some noise in the kitchen of my student village apartment, thinking oh that must be the housemate. realising he was gone for the weekend I freaked out. tried to wake my boyfriend up. he wouldn't wake up. so I opened the door, which opens out to the kitchen, there's two people stealing stuff out of our fridge, they hear me, run off out the door.

our window had been broken previously from a ball, and hadn't been replaced yet, and so these drunken idiots decided to let themselves in to our apartment for a snoop, discovered a bottle of whisky then went to the fridge to find some more drinks. cunts

2) waking up a little earlier than usual for college one morning, reading a text from my dad, telling me it was time to go home. (my mother died later that day)

3) broke my ankle, had surgery, woke up in recovery, must've woken up too early because i just woke up and started screaming out in pain, the nurse looked at me, next thing i'm out again. morphine, i'm guessing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,070 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

Sleep Paralysis. Felt like a demon was in the room and it was the most scariest experience of my life. I couldn't move a muscle and only found out years later it was sleep paralysis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

A friend of mine woke up hanging upside down on a fence impaled, with dogs scratching his back, then got a kick of the owner of the house whos back garden he was in, oh and he was hanging there in a suit. Got arrested then afew months later got a 600 euro fine as the judge stood there laughing at his story. Left a nice scar on his leg too.

Mine wkaing up in a field at 7 a.m still very drunk still to this day dont know were that field was or how i got there, just walked to first road I saw and jumped in the first taxi i could get, all i know it was a fiar distance away cost me 50 euro in the taxi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

My first time at Oxegen in 2006, after literally drinking myself senseless the whole day friday in the lashing rain, I woke up in my tent still drunk and yet with the worst hangover imaginable, severly dehydrated and very close to having pneumonia from passing out in soaking wet clothes. The pain in my head and uncontrollable shivering is something I'll never forget.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Sleep Paralysis. Felt like a demon was in the room and it was the most scariest experience of my life. I couldn't move a muscle and only found out years later it was sleep paralysis.

Yeah, this too.. Horrible feeling.. aka "Old Hag Phenomina" http://paranormal.about.com/od/humanenigmas/a/Old-Hag-Syndrome.htm freaky stuff.. happens to me all the time.. mostly if I'm over tired.. You feel like your eyes are wide open sometimes and can see your bedroom etc around you but you're still fast asleep.. almost like a 'locked in' type syndrome thingy.. *shudder*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Waking up is not the scary part. Its the not being abble to move, or not being sure if your still sleeping or awake thats the part that freaks me out.

Have had a few incidents like that, takes ages to get back to sleep if at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭nicechick!

Black eye, face cut, cut over eye (still have scar) and no memory of previous night!

I still don't know what happened to this day - everyone was too f*cked up to remember or wasn't around when I got destroyed!

Ha I love it think we've all had one of those! scary stuff!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

My grandfather coming into my room at 8am one sunday morning (after a heavy night of booze saturday night) to get me to check my grandmothers pulse as she wouldn't wake up. Poor old dear had slipped away in the night. R.I.P.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭nicechick!

Whats the nastiest, scariest, most shocking etc. wake-up from your sleep you've ever had?

As far as nasty goes, it'd be last weekend, a day of BBQ and beer for a party at a friends house, didn't get to sleep til about 5am.

So, about 8 of us in all asleep in the front room of a house, some on couches some on floors. About 7am everyone is awoken by one of the guys just projectile vomiting all over the place. It literally went everywhere. All over someones clothes, in a girls handbag. Spattered all over the walls etc. A big pond of "chicken stew" that smelled of Heineken.

Luckily I was on the other side of the room and escaped any shrapnel. It was a nasty wake up based on the smell and quantity of the barf. Horrible. Thought the chap was dying initially as I was in a semi sleepy/drunken haze and everyone just woke up in shock not knowing what was up.

Everyone evacuated the room quickly and crashed out in the back garden.

What would be your most unpleasant awakening?

For me it was actually a bad dream I never remember my dreams ever!! but whatever reason this one will haunt me forever it was horrific I actually woke up crying the intensity of that emotion was so real and upsetting it still lies with me to this day and I never want to re-live that dream or experience it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

lucyfur09 wrote: »
    My grandfather coming into my room at 8am one sunday morning (after a heavy night of booze saturday night) to get me to check my grandmothers pulse as she wouldn't wake up. Poor old dear had slipped away in the night. R.I.P.

Jesus this was my nightmare for years as a kid staying in my grandparents every weekend.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

xzanti wrote: »
    Yeah, this too.. Horrible feeling.. aka "Old Hag Phenomina" http://paranormal.about.com/od/humanenigmas/a/Old-Hag-Syndrome.htm freaky stuff.. happens to me all the time.. mostly if I'm over tired.. You feel like your eyes are wide open sometimes and can see your bedroom etc around you but you're still fast asleep.. almost like a 'locked in' type syndrome thingy.. *shudder*

Yeah, I've had that experience a few times. My least favourite wake up, was being woken up in a bell tower with a hang over, then the loudest most annoying 80's music you can think of being played straight after.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Jesus this was my nightmare for years as a kid staying in my grandparents every weekend.
    I was 21 at the time so not too bad. Funny thing was my grandfather was 10 years older and always kinda sickly. My gran use to say it to me that she'd be in some morning to tell me he was gone. She died 12 years ago and my grandfather is now 91 and fitter than people half his age. Life is funny.

My god, i've a feeling this will be moved to the P.I. forum:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 427 ✭✭scotty_irish

living on the top floor. my neighbour banging on the flat door:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-glasgow-west-12401660

needless to say, i bought him a few pints!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭slaneylad

definately sleep paralysis scary ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

This thread contains the funniest wake up ever:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=56964355

It made me spit tea on my keyboard!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

One morning I was dreaming I was inside a hallway on the neighbouring street and Two girls, One African, One Irish, Ran into me and told me the Gardaí were looking for me so I came onto the street and had a look first for my neighbour and then as I approached my door I heard a load of knocking I was now awake it was the bloody Gardaí for real at 8 o' clock in the morning, I almost shat myself, The noise was unbearable but no way was I answering it, Its not the first time it happened either but its the dream that was strange.

It turns out they had 2 warrants as I got curious and answered the door the 3rd time he called that morning.

Another time I woke up and for that brief moment everything was grand till I stretched and opened my eyes and was in a dirty manky cell in Clonmel Garda station.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 701 ✭✭✭Cathaoirleach

Took a nap (pissed drunk) in the sun in the back arse of Connemara. Woke up serveral hours later after sundown with seroius sun burn, hundreds of midgy bites on my face and ticks all over my ass, all topped off with the most horrendous hangover. Never again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭NomdePlume

Maybe the time I puked liberally on my pillow and just rolled over, went into drunk coma-sleep, and forgot all about it until I woke up and rolled back...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Nemanja91

I hate waking up in the middle of the night to the phone ringing, always gives me a scare that something bad has happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭gloobag

I'll direct you to this post from a few years ago...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Its always when someone has died or you've broken up with some one. You finally get to sleep and wake up semi at peace and then the reality of what happens sinks in again.

It sucks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Shortly after watching Ringu (original Japanese version of The Ring) for the first time, I dreamt that I watched the cursed video from the film, and would therefore die in a week, per the film. The week passed by in the dream, and it felt like a full week too. The whole time I was scrambling to find a way to break the curse, and was getting nowhere and more and more desperate. And the dream felt completely realistic too.

Finally it got down to the last day and I was absolutely frantic. The time kept ticking away, and I remember it got down to my last minute and then towards the final seconds and then...

I woke up, still believing that I was about to die a horrible, horrible death within seconds and that it was a completely real situation. This lasted for about a minute, and I think I only realised it was a dream because I knew the time had passed and I was still alive. Only after did I realise that it was obviously a dream because I was in bed and not in Japan, and the film's not real.
    The relief after was amazing, but I had a weird sad, empty feeling with me for the rest of the day, as I had genuinely believed I'd die a horrible death, and I can still remember that feeling :(.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭NomdePlume

Its always when someone has died or you've broken up with some one. You finally get to sleep and wake up semi at peace and then the reality of what happens sinks in again.

It sucks.

Ah, this is true.
    You get that free moment of first waking, stretching, and then.... "Oh... ****" :(

Cool_CM wrote: »
    This thread contains the funniest wake up ever:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=56964355

It made me spit tea on my keyboard!

OMG I nearly peed myself laughing at that !!!! LOL Poor guy. He was lucky he got out of there when he did I think LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭Duddy

Awoke to these strange, almost animal-sounding noises. For a few minutes I passed it off as something outside, when I realised I could hear the echos inside the house. My father had died a few minutes previously: the sound was my mother sobbing/screeching. Horrific.

gloobag wrote: »
    I'll direct you to this post from a few years ago...

Hilarous LOL

I've had two really creepy ones but am only listing one here.

I had watched Mythbusters earlier in the day and they were testing how to get out a car when underwater, which most likely brought this on. So, I was the passenger in a car which crashed into a river. The car went under and as the water entered my nose I woke up in a fright. I still briefly had a feeling of water in my nose, it was horrible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Nothing major besides waking up beside a few of the fat birds I've rode after getting drunk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

Having one of those gorgeous snuggly dozy lie-ins, lazily open one eye and find myself eye-balling the biggest spider I have ever seen.

I did one of those horizontal to vertical in one jump moves....not a nice way to wake up. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭whatswhat

A Tannoy announcement at the airport at 4am. They had called my name twice and I slept through it. The third one was like "Final Call, get to the plane now or you will miss your flight"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭madmammy

waking up at 3am to find i was in premature labour 2 months early
    that wasn't so nice....good job i was already in the hospital

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭shantolog

The scariest wake-up I'd say would be waking up at 4:45am to my mother screaming her lungs out. When I got up out of bed smoke was billowing into my room, turns out the house was on fire, I'd say in less than 60 seconds it went from perfect visability to blackness. Scary stuff, Everyone got out fine though...

One of the more WTF moments was waking up in my boxers, horribly hungover and FREEZING on the third floor landing of a hotel I was staying in...I wasn't even staying on the third floor lol. I can only imagine what I thought I was doing:D