Summer 1995

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

MrsD007 wrote: »
    Boom Boom Boom was a hit during the Summer of '95

And nobody knew the lyrics and pre internet days it wasn't so easy to find out

Ian Dempsey started off:

Boom boom boom
    Castlebar is in Mayo, hey oh

And so it caught on

Jaysus Mikemac, that is a great clip. Are you a closet Clare man??? Maybe you have dual citizenship ;):p

Reported for personal abuse :mad:;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭Mr. Denton

Ah Summer 1995. I remember it well. My childhood heroes the Irish national football team were taking Harry's Fish N Chips Challenge instead of training and as a result turning a well-oiled almost-unbeatable team into a lethargic train-wreck limping from one shambolic result to the next.

Good times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

For three weeks, in June-July 1995, nearly 6,000 mostly young and part-time workers struck against Ireland's largest private sector employer, the firmly anti-union Dunnes Stores, over Sunday trading, zero-hours contracts, the proportion of full-time jobs and other issues.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

krudler wrote: »
    provided the only U2 song I actually really like too

I hear this and instantly think of that summer

thats one of the only songs that i like from bonio and the lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Eroticfishcake

concur4u? wrote: »
    i was at the second nite truely dissapionted with oasis live a trip to the barbers after that lol and was it not 99?

Nope think that was Slane :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Larianne wrote: »
    Are you sure Die Hard With a Vengeance came out that year? I remember seeing it in the cinema but it wasn't 1995. Coz I was going into secondary school then.

Haven't a clue what the summer was like. I think I went camping a lot.

yup :)

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0112864/

I remember when Sky movies used to have this trailer show where theyd show all the trailers and box office charts for new movies and I was seeing the trailer for Die Hard for weeks

pic quality is gash but that trailer is awesome :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Feck! They let anyone into a 15-rated film in Navan cinema so! :pac:

Robson & Jerome were in the UK charts in May/June 1995

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭MGMTea

Ahh Summer 95, I remember only too well, oh wait no I don't I was only 6 months old >:( I will never experience a good summer, I hate yiz all

MGMTea wrote: »
    Ahh Summer 95, I remember only too well, oh wait no I don't I was only 6 months old >:( I will never experience a good summer, I hate yiz all

It's got to be past your bedtime :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭concur4u?

Nope think that was Slane :confused:
    the prodigy and the bootleg beatles played aswell in pairc ui chomaigh i must be mixxed up damn them strawberrys played with my mind lol ;)

Originally Posted by MrsD007 Jaysus Mikemac, that is a great clip. Are you a closet Clare man??? Maybe you have dual citizenship

mikemac wrote: »
    Reported for personal abuse :mad:;)

Hey Mikemac, in a previous life were you a Clare Hurling Selector and Scariff publican? :p;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭norris_minor

I recall cooking on a campsite outside the parc ui caoimh that year

'twer six sizzling sausages, seared by the sun! haha.. so many sausages on display! so many boys, burning their bangers.. It was a very good year!

I lived in France, so it was probably an even lovelier summer there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭ayeboy

Cracker of a summer. I used to cycle to work and get bogged down in the tar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

Clare lit up each summer of the 1990s from 1995 on, just as the four extraordinary Dublin-Meath matches did in the summer of 1991.

It was a brilliant time, captured wonderfully in this compilation Clare hurling video on YouTube.

It was great to be Irish in the late 1990s; the GAA was building a massive new state of the art Croke Park, the ceasefire was on and the economy was improving. There was enormous positivity. But Clare, the David of hurling, inspired every hurler and footballer - nay, every underdog - in the country. A while ago I heard a brilliant documentary, this one, on RTÉ Radio 1 and it brought so many of those memories back. My favourite is being in Cusack Park in Ennis watching Galway and Clare in the late 90s. The superb quality of the hurling, the emotion and passion of the crowd, the surge, the screams, the strangers offering me sandwiches as we screamed together, the wit and the songs made it all a hugely proud time to be Irish.

Hopefully in the next few years Dublin will be the new Clare.

Dionysus wrote: »
    Clare lit up each summer of the 1990s from 1995 on, just as the four extraordinary Dublin-Meath matches did in the summer of 1991.

It was a brilliant time, captured wonderfully in this compilation Clare hurling video on YouTube.

It was great to be Irish in the late 1990s; the GAA was building a massive new state of the art Croke Park, the ceasefire was on and the economy was improving. There was enormous positivity. But Clare, the David of hurling, inspired every hurler and footballer - nay, every underdog - in the country. A while ago I heard a brilliant documentary, this one, on RTÉ Radio 1 and it brought so many of those memories back. My favourite is being in Cusack Park in Ennis watching Galway and Clare in the late 90s. The superb quality of the hurling, the emotion and passion of the crowd, the surge, the screams, the strangers offering me sandwiches as we screamed together, the wit and the songs made it all a hugely proud time to be Irish.

Hopefully in the next few years Dublin will be the new Clare.
    I'm supporting the Dublin hurlers these days, it is wonderful what Anthony Daly and his players have achieved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,673 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

For three weeks, in June-July 1995, nearly 6,000 mostly young and part-time workers struck against Ireland's largest private sector employer, the firmly anti-union Dunnes Stores, over Sunday trading, zero-hours contracts, the proportion of full-time jobs and other issues.
    And for a time won. Closed an entire chain down for nearly three weeks and kept a modicum of rights for the workers in these stores for a few years..till the union backed down. Great time had on strike. Had feck all money but loads of public support and the three best weeks of weather in the last thirty years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭norris_minor

if we get any more used to these autumnal (viewed as wintry elsewhere) conditions as 'summer', we will be even more susceptible to skincancer if that's any more possible in the event the sun rears it's what will then be viewed as ugly head! I've heard many folk complain it's sticky when fresh and not even 20c! And no sun, of course..

For the record mid-teens is my ideal. quelle surprise!! ..just it's not nowhere near summer. Maybe a new iceage beckons for ye, descendants of marauding norwegians of yore!

And for a time won. Closed an entire chain down for nearly three weeks and kept a modicum of rights for the workers in these stores for a few years..till the union backed down.
    I remember the strike well, Dunnes only managed to keep one store opened in the Republic of Ireland and I'm ashamed to say that it was in my own county. The Ennis store remained open but the locals boycotted it for the three weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

I remember that summer, Batman Forever and Die Hard With a Vengeance in the cinema, Earthworm Jim and The Tick on Trouble all summer (remember Trouble?) No Doubt on the radio.

and I touched my first boob.

Pfft.... I touched my first boob when I was a few days old.

thanks mum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Summer 1995?!

I can't even remember the weather today at 19:95!

That's because it hasn't happened yet....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭vampire of kilmainham

never did stay in ireland for the summer allways went away foreign to where the summers were guarenteed to be hot even have my own place now in bulgaria headin over again this month for more sun dont reckon we'll be gettin much here and it is august now but sure it's usually the same here

I remember the strike well, Dunnes only managed to keep one store opened in the Republic of Ireland and I'm ashamed to say that it was in my own county. The Ennis store remained open but the locals boycotted it for the three weeks.

OH, the shame. We won't hold it against ye. Worked in a fairly militant store in Galway. Never forget the day the strike started. Locals jeered people from outside the area who crossed the picket line. By 1 o clock on the first day the store was deserted.

never did stay in ireland for the summer allways went away foreign to where the summers were guarenteed to be hot even have my own place now in bulgaria headin over again this month for more sun dont reckon we'll be gettin much here and it is august now but sure it's usually the same here

It's hard to read the boasting without punctuation :pac:

OH, the shame. We won't hold it against ye. Worked in a fairly militant store in Galway. Never forget the day the strike started. Locals jeered people from outside the area who crossed the picket line. By 1 o clock on the first day the store was deserted.
    I worked for Dunnes when I was a student but it was after the 95 strike. However, for a long time after the strike a lot of the locals would only go to the checkouts of staff wearing "Mandate" badges. It was very humilating for the people who had passed the picket and it caused a few problems for management :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

I've been reading through this thread and scratching my head trying to figure out why I remember 1996 more vividly as being a better summer.

Then I remembered I went on my first sun holiday in 1995 right in the middle of the heatwave :mad:.

I still got lots of the sun though, was only gone for two weeks, though I remember it was scorching hot for ages before we left, including the day of the flight, then when we arrived back it was mild and drizzling :mad:.

I remember being into tennis at the time, and I remember the outrage in the English press over Greg Rusedski representing Britain at Wimbledon, then how they suddenly loved him when he was beaten by Pete Sampras but managed to get a few points :rolleyes:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,943 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

slane 95 was REM.

that is one cracking tune!

I worked for Dunnes when I was a student but it was after the 95 strike. However, for a long time after the strike a lot of the locals would only go to the checkouts of staff wearing "Mandate" badges. It was very humilating for the people who had passed the picket and it caused a few problems for management :D.

Management in our store knew the lay of the land, so to speak and made a fairly tame effort to avert the strike.
    One or two workers crossed the picket line, but within a few months of returning to work, it was water under the bridge.
    The camaraderie in that store after the strike was the best I've felt in any workplace, ever. Made some good friends there and look back fondly whenever I pass the place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

i remember camping in redcross that summer, it was an amazing time to be 14