Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Summer 1995

• 06-08-2011 11:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭

Now that was a long HOT Summer, A girl like you by Edwyn collins was the big song of the summer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

I knew there was some good ones, 94 was amazing to wasnt it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

Summer 1995?!

I can't even remember the weather today at 19:95!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭blahhh

I remember it well... great summer

made my communion that year :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

After an 81 year wait, Clare Hurlers beat Offaly to win the 1995 All Ireland Final :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

94-99 I just have one blur of memories of all decent enough summer days

06-08 + '11 I just have sharp and clear recollections of rain.

Its probably just my nostalgia I know the summers were hotter on average in the 90s werent they yeah?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

UP THE BANNER

I remember all the Clare supporters passing through our town in Tipp returning from the Championship games

Naturally we showered them with abuse :cool:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

blahhh wrote: »
    I remember it well... great summer

made my communion that year :P

Me too! Windows as we know it was unloaded upon the world that year too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

Probably because that time doesn't exist

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭concur4u?

ah i remember it well it was my first real summer of love and lsd :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

MrsD007 wrote: »
    After an 81 year wait, Clare Hurlers beat Offaly to win the 1995 All Ireland Final :)

There won't be cows milked in Clare for a week after this, Which commentator said that I'd love to know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Ricardo G

Ah summer 95, i spent my days masturbating.

Nothing left but a raw nerve come September:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

Summer 1995?!

Been reading clocks long, then? :D :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Eroticfishcake

Donahg wrote: »
    Now that was a long HOT Summer, A girl like you by Edwyn collins was the big song of the summer.

I hate hate hated that song...'96 was the best summer. Hellhole bus back from Oasis in Cork, straight to school for leaving cert results, then down to the shelters on the beach for classy beers before tomangoes :D

mikemac wrote: »
    UP THE BANNER

I remember all the Clare supporters passing through our town in Tipp returning from the Championship games

I seem to remember that we also had another good year in 1997, beating Tipp:p We had mighty craic in Killaloe/Ballina :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

ill never forget that summer, mtv on the telly at 8 in the morning playing in the summer time by mungo jerry and it roasting outside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭raveni

Ah I remember it well...no I don't, I was 4. Ye're all ould:P

Stinicker wrote: »
    There won't be cows milked in Clare for a week after this, Which commentator said that I'd love to know?
    Marty Morrissey said that after the 1992 Munster football final win over Kerry. My personal favourite was Anthony Daly. "In Clare we love our traditional music but we love our hurling too". Happy days :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

Probably because that time doesn't exist

My cats breath smells like cat food.

I hate hate hated that song...'96 was the best summer. Hellhole bus back from Oasis in Cork, straight to school for leaving cert results, then down to the shelters on the beach for classy beers before tomangoes :D

i was at the second nite truely dissapionted with oasis live a trip to the barbers after that lol and was it not 99?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I remember that summer, Batman Forever and Die Hard With a Vengeance in the cinema, Earthworm Jim and The Tick on Trouble all summer (remember Trouble?) No Doubt on the radio.

and I touched my first boob.

Boom Boom Boom was a hit during the Summer of '95

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

If I recall 95 correctly it was a heatwave. Stuck in an office without aircon in the city centre. Worst part was that any rain we had tended to fall on the weekends that summer.

This song was everywhere

Batman was the big summer blockbuster

Great song, terrible film. Well this was out a few months before summer

Bitchin cool ad :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

That... was the year of the Munich bother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

Oof, that was a hot summer. I was working as a lifeguard in Chicago and the pools and beaches were packed. Over 700 people died from the heat, it was that intense.

this was one of my favourites of the summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

95 was a great summer - the good weather seemed to go on and on. Great chart music too. Blur, Oasis, Supergrass... They all formed the soundtrack to a great year. God, I miss the 90s...

UP THE BANNER

Jaysus Mikemac, that is a great clip. Are you a closet Clare man??? Maybe you have dual citizenship ;):p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

krudler wrote: »
    I remember that summer, Batman Forever and Die Hard With a Vengeance in the cinema, Earthworm Jim and The Tick on Trouble all summer (remember Trouble?) No Doubt on the radio.

and I touched my first boob.

Are you sure Die Hard With a Vengeance came out that year? I remember seeing it in the cinema but it wasn't 1995. Coz I was going into secondary school then.

Haven't a clue what the summer was like. I think I went camping a lot.

provided the only U2 song I actually really like too

I hear this and instantly think of that summer

Boom Boom Boom was a hit during the Summer of '95

And nobody knew the lyrics and pre internet days it wasn't so easy to find out

Ian Dempsey started off:

Boom boom boom
    Castlebar is in Mayo, hey oh

And so it caught on

Jaysus Mikemac, that is a great clip. Are you a closet Clare man??? Maybe you have dual citizenship ;):p

Reported for personal abuse :mad:;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭Mr. Denton

Ah Summer 1995. I remember it well. My childhood heroes the Irish national football team were taking Harry's Fish N Chips Challenge instead of training and as a result turning a well-oiled almost-unbeatable team into a lethargic train-wreck limping from one shambolic result to the next.

Good times.

For three weeks, in June-July 1995, nearly 6,000 mostly young and part-time workers struck against Ireland's largest private sector employer, the firmly anti-union Dunnes Stores, over Sunday trading, zero-hours contracts, the proportion of full-time jobs and other issues.

provided the only U2 song I actually really like too

I hear this and instantly think of that summer

thats one of the only songs that i like from bonio and the lads

concur4u? wrote: »
    i was at the second nite truely dissapionted with oasis live a trip to the barbers after that lol and was it not 99?

Nope think that was Slane :confused:

Larianne wrote: »
    Are you sure Die Hard With a Vengeance came out that year? I remember seeing it in the cinema but it wasn't 1995. Coz I was going into secondary school then.

Haven't a clue what the summer was like. I think I went camping a lot.

yup :)

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0112864/

I remember when Sky movies used to have this trailer show where theyd show all the trailers and box office charts for new movies and I was seeing the trailer for Die Hard for weeks

pic quality is gash but that trailer is awesome :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Feck! They let anyone into a 15-rated film in Navan cinema so! :pac:

Robson & Jerome were in the UK charts in May/June 1995

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭MGMTea

Ahh Summer 95, I remember only too well, oh wait no I don't I was only 6 months old >:( I will never experience a good summer, I hate yiz all

MGMTea wrote: »
    Ahh Summer 95, I remember only too well, oh wait no I don't I was only 6 months old >:( I will never experience a good summer, I hate yiz all

It's got to be past your bedtime :p

Nope think that was Slane :confused:
    the prodigy and the bootleg beatles played aswell in pairc ui chomaigh i must be mixxed up damn them strawberrys played with my mind lol ;)

Originally Posted by MrsD007 Jaysus Mikemac, that is a great clip. Are you a closet Clare man??? Maybe you have dual citizenship

Reported for personal abuse :mad:;)

Hey Mikemac, in a previous life were you a Clare Hurling Selector and Scariff publican? :p;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭norris_minor

I recall cooking on a campsite outside the parc ui caoimh that year

'twer six sizzling sausages, seared by the sun! haha.. so many sausages on display! so many boys, burning their bangers.. It was a very good year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

I lived in France, so it was probably an even lovelier summer there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭ayeboy

Cracker of a summer. I used to cycle to work and get bogged down in the tar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

Clare lit up each summer of the 1990s from 1995 on, just as the four extraordinary Dublin-Meath matches did in the summer of 1991.

It was a brilliant time, captured wonderfully in this compilation Clare hurling video on YouTube.

It was great to be Irish in the late 1990s; the GAA was building a massive new state of the art Croke Park, the ceasefire was on and the economy was improving. There was enormous positivity. But Clare, the David of hurling, inspired every hurler and footballer - nay, every underdog - in the country. A while ago I heard a brilliant documentary, this one, on RTÉ Radio 1 and it brought so many of those memories back. My favourite is being in Cusack Park in Ennis watching Galway and Clare in the late 90s. The superb quality of the hurling, the emotion and passion of the crowd, the surge, the screams, the strangers offering me sandwiches as we screamed together, the wit and the songs made it all a hugely proud time to be Irish.

Hopefully in the next few years Dublin will be the new Clare.

Dionysus wrote: »
    Clare lit up each summer of the 1990s from 1995 on, just as the four extraordinary Dublin-Meath matches did in the summer of 1991.

It was a brilliant time, captured wonderfully in this compilation Clare hurling video on YouTube.

It was great to be Irish in the late 1990s; the GAA was building a massive new state of the art Croke Park, the ceasefire was on and the economy was improving. There was enormous positivity. But Clare, the David of hurling, inspired every hurler and footballer - nay, every underdog - in the country. A while ago I heard a brilliant documentary, this one, on RTÉ Radio 1 and it brought so many of those memories back. My favourite is being in Cusack Park in Ennis watching Galway and Clare in the late 90s. The superb quality of the hurling, the emotion and passion of the crowd, the surge, the screams, the strangers offering me sandwiches as we screamed together, the wit and the songs made it all a hugely proud time to be Irish.

Hopefully in the next few years Dublin will be the new Clare.
    I'm supporting the Dublin hurlers these days, it is wonderful what Anthony Daly and his players have achieved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,444 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

For three weeks, in June-July 1995, nearly 6,000 mostly young and part-time workers struck against Ireland's largest private sector employer, the firmly anti-union Dunnes Stores, over Sunday trading, zero-hours contracts, the proportion of full-time jobs and other issues.
    And for a time won. Closed an entire chain down for nearly three weeks and kept a modicum of rights for the workers in these stores for a few years..till the union backed down. Great time had on strike. Had feck all money but loads of public support and the three best weeks of weather in the last thirty years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭norris_minor

if we get any more used to these autumnal (viewed as wintry elsewhere) conditions as 'summer', we will be even more susceptible to skincancer if that's any more possible in the event the sun rears it's what will then be viewed as ugly head! I've heard many folk complain it's sticky when fresh and not even 20c! And no sun, of course..

For the record mid-teens is my ideal. quelle surprise!! ..just it's not nowhere near summer. Maybe a new iceage beckons for ye, descendants of marauding norwegians of yore!

And for a time won. Closed an entire chain down for nearly three weeks and kept a modicum of rights for the workers in these stores for a few years..till the union backed down.
    I remember the strike well, Dunnes only managed to keep one store opened in the Republic of Ireland and I'm ashamed to say that it was in my own county. The Ennis store remained open but the locals boycotted it for the three weeks.