Out of Control Children in Restaurants / Public Places

• Closed Accounts Posts: 229 ✭✭0O7

wild_cat wrote: »

I'd have no problem alienating people that think the world revolves around their little ones.

thats exactly what the problem is, people presume the world revolves around their kids....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

mattjack wrote: »
    I wouldnt let any stranger near my children.................

Neither would I but it does illustrate the quality of parenting in some quarters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭skregs

That's the thing with public places, they're public.

Nice and quiet at home in your gaff though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

looky loo wrote: »
    Saw this sign in a restaurant....'Unattended children will be given expressos and free puppies'....:)

:) a nice cheerful post.......howdy doo looky loo:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

the fact is you can't lock kids up just because some people are annoyed by kids doing what kids do.

I think you can.

:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭Odysseus

it's the only record I'll ever hold on boards. anyway, I stand by it. Nobody, absolutely nobody has any idea what it's like raising kids till you've done it yourself. it may be overused, but that doesn't mean it's not true.

It's one I can't agree with, I have no kids; however, I may need to do parenting skills with some clients. I hear this type of generalisation a lot in my area. For example, recovering addicts stating that only a person who has experience of addiction can really understand.

Thing is I also work with people who are suffering form a form of psychosis, severe criminals, sex offenders, do I need experience of those pathologies to understand them , basically no.

It may seem like a bit of a jump, but the generalisation of needing experience of something to really understand it; is the same. I have never been to war but due to some personal contacts I also do some work with former soldiers suffering from PTSD, once again I don't need experience of being in a battle situation to understand the impact it has on people.

Finally I do know that it can be difficult when you have ordered food; you are stuck in that position and just have to try your best. However, you work on it so they are better behaved over time.

If I was the OP I would have complained to the manager, I love to see kids run free and express themselves, but it is neither the correct time or place when your are in a public place where other people are there to have a discussion/socialise over a meal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

wild_cat wrote: »
    I'd have no problem alienating people that think the world revolves around their little ones.

Exactly.

Kids are kids. Kids can do what kids do...

Pfft.

Well I'm a crabby old man and I do what crabby old men do when my personal space is invaded.

:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭deaddonkey

The problem with kids that age - as you may know if you had any, which i suspect you dont - is that they rarely sit still and can be very hard to get to do so. the fact is you can't lock kids up just because some people are annoyed by kids doing what kids do.

Then if you can't control them stay home with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭looky loo

I dont have kids, but it seems a generational thing, all this let the kids be themselves etccccc.....we wouldnt dream of running around a restaurant as kids, our parents would leather our arses for us....but nowadays you're supposed to literally get down on your knees and ask a kid 'whats the matter honey' ffs....its gone beyond the beyonds....kids need discipline and guidance...and if you cant manage your kids when you are out then go to a parenting class.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 17,009 Mod ✭✭✭✭Toots

looky loo wrote: »
    Saw this sign in a restaurant....'Unattended children will be given expressos and free puppies'....:)

Awww, I wish I was an unattended child at that restaurant!!!!

Thinking back to my own childhood we were brought out to restaurants quite a bit, but 90% of the time we were as good as gold. My mum always had paper and crayons in her handbag when we went out, in case we got bored. If we started acting up, my parents just paid and left regardless of whereabouts in the meal we were, and jaysus we'd hear about it in the car on the way home. We really enjoyed going out (somehow my parents always picked a restaurant that served spaghetti) so the thought of having to leave early/ be put to bed early etc if we weren't good was enough to keep us behaved. I'm hoping the same approach works with my little one when he's born!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭looky loo

Toots* wrote: »

Thinking back to my own childhood we were brought out to restaurants quite a bit, but 90% of the time we were as good as gold. My mum always had paper and crayons in her handbag when we went out, in case we got bored. If we started acting up, my parents just paid and left regardless of whereabouts in the meal we were, and jaysus we'd hear about it in the car on the way home. We really enjoyed going out (somehow my parents always picked a restaurant that served spaghetti) so the thought of having to leave early/ be put to bed early etc if we weren't good was enough to keep us behaved. I'm hoping the same approach works with my little one when he's born!!

Blackmail worked well with us too.:)..best of luck with the pregnancy....:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

We went out on a Sunday for lunch quite a bit. I remember always being quiet. I think I was banned from having desert a few times and I knew i'd have to stay quiet or not get it. This was when I was seated and whining by the way. We wouldn't have gone out if we were running around the place. My parents would have been embarrassed by that.

My Dad also had this look. He didn't even have to say anything.. he just did this look at you and you shut up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

I have a toddler. When I go out with him (which is seldom) for something to eat, he is forced to sit still and I try to keep him from making too much noise but if he cannot behave, we leave! I am not the only person eating in a place so it is unfair to expect others to have to listen to him tantrums.

When I see other parents with badly behaved children, I blame the parents and I resent them for ruining my meal, when I am courteous to others!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Dont mind kids having a bit of craic and being rowdy as long as the parents try and make an effort. When the kid is roaring crying its time to leave though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

Would parents not think ahead, and if they're planning on bringing their kids to a restaurant bring them to the park for a game of football or something first... so they've burned off some of that 'running around the restaurant' energy!!

Then it would be easier to keep them seated!

Either that, or drug them :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Chorcai

Did anyone when they were younger get the "look" from either your mother or father - the "look" that ment you were in for a right hiding if you didn't sit down and shut up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭Nagikami

Chorcai wrote: »
    Did anyone when they were younger get the "look" from either your mother or father - the "look" that ment you were in for a right hiding if you didn't sit down and shut up.

Nope We just got flat out told that we were gonna get a smack if we didn't stop acting up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭Redonblonde

Nagikami wrote: »
    Nope We just got flat out told that we were gonna get a smack if we didn't stop acting up

And we actually got smacked...

I dont recall being brought anywhere public other than the supermarket until we were about 6 or 7. By that age we weren't so hyper, and so were quiet in restaurants, cinema etc. Also, we got a schmack or two for being bold which shut us up.

I agree with the oddity of parents not realising that kids have such short attention spans and then making them stay in a pub or cafe for literally hours. Then wondering why they are tugging at their sleeves and whining, and hopping around the place.

Friend of mine works in a cafe, day I visited her, a 2/ 3 year old who'd been there for hours and bored, so running around, was after wandering in behind the counter to watch my friend load the industrial dishwasher.

Where was her mom, making sure she wasn't getting burnt off the steam of it, or grabbing the sharp utensils from the counter, or pulling something onto herself?

Outside, smoking a fag, assuming my friend was going to watch her kid for her. Its. Not. Her. Responsibility. Its YOURS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭Nagikami

And we actually got smacked...

Well that happened too =D But only if we kept acting like little brats

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭chucken1

donalg1 wrote: »
    One of my biggest pet peeves is parents who refuse to tell their children to sit down and stop running around screaming when they are in public places such as restaurants. Just the other day i was in a hotel having dinner and a table in the middle of the bar had two kids probably 4 and 2 and the two parents at it, now the whole time i was there the kids weren't sitting down at any stage they were in the middle of the floor chasing each other around and fighting over toys having great fun, getting in everyones way, especially the waiting staff who they ran into at least five times while they were carrying plates full of stuff. The parents just sat there eating and drinking and never once told them to sit down despite the fact that everyone in the place was getting really pi**ed off with the two little s***s!!

Just wondering if you were to say something would you say it to the children given that they are the annoying liitle brats or the parents for being too lazy and ret**ded to tell them to sit down and shut up.

Well..considering it was a hotel bar in the day hmmmm. Maybe the family were staying there for a little holiday?
    Could you hear what the parents were saying to their children?
    You say the children were playing with toys..well dam it.what can I say if they were having fun!!

Would you suggest they lock them in their room and feed them scraps??

I mean seriously,parents do like to take their children with them as much as they can. Why cant you relax?? They're children :) not a disease.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭donalg1

chucken1 wrote: »
    Well..considering it was a hotel bar in the day hmmmm. Maybe the family were staying there for a little holiday?
    Could you hear what the parents were saying to their children?
    You say the children were playing with toys..well dam it.what can I say if they were having fun!!

Would you suggest they lock them in their room and feed them scraps??

I mean seriously,parents do like to take their children with them as much as they can. Why cant you relax?? They're children :) not a disease.

It was about half seven, and the parents werent saying anything to the children they were at one side of the table sitting in by the wall while the kids were at the other side between all the tables messing, not once did either parent tell them to sit down or move out of the way even though it was obvious to everyone in the place that they were being a nuisance and were annoying everyone else, although it was the parents i was more annoyed it, even though i was secretly hoping the children would get floored by a waiter and then run crying to mammy or daddy and therefore actually making them do something with their kids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭giant_midget

knacker parents = knacker kids...

normal parents = normal behaved kids...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭booboo88

oh sweet mothering jesus did we get a smack across the arse if we were outta line. like ur arse would be raw. i remember being dragged though the shoe part of dunnes for what felt like hours, if we didnt hush we werent getting maccy ds, which was a massive treat back in the day, we were quiet most of the time, but i have two brothers so we were bound to get noisy:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 mayhemnow

knacker parents = knacker kids...

normal parents = normal behaved kids...

Completely untrue, and a gross generalisation. Last Xmas was in a nice restaurant around 6.30pm, this isn't a restaurant you would think parents would bring kids to, no kiddie friendly cuisine, and the whoel ambience of the place just doesn't say "bring your kids". Anyway, parents (2 well dressed, well spoken peeps) come in with 2 small kids, who continue to jump around and scream for the evening, delightful I think not. There were seated in a recessed seating area, in complete view of restaurant, just the way the room was shaped. The highlight of my meal was when mammy decided to change one of the kid's nappies at the table. The smell wafted across the restaurant, there were 2 ladies sitting right by them, I thought they were going to get sick. I complained to manager who was great about it and spoke to them, but seriously, who does this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭ppink

Fair play to your Mum, thats whats called using your brain.

There is no way we would act up as kids when out as there would be too high a price to pay. One "behave yourself" was all it took!

There are the harder cases of autism or adhd but these are not every child.

OP if I were in your shoes I would not approach parents or kids but I would go to the hotel and tell them I would not be paying and leaving in less thna 5 minutes if they had not spoken with the parents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,197 ✭✭✭daenerysstormborn3

Same goes for kids in the cinema. A trip to the cinema is bloody expensive these days and yet you have parents willing to shell out probably in the region of €50 if not more to bring their little angels to see Harry Potter eventhough they know that the child is going to spend 50% of the film running around like a lunatic, 40% whinging about how bored they are and 10% actually sitting still and watching the film (until their popcorn runs out).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭donalg1

mayhemnow wrote: »
    Completely untrue, and a gross generalisation. Last Xmas was in a nice restaurant around 6.30pm, this isn't a restaurant you would think parents would bring kids to, no kiddie friendly cuisine, and the whoel ambience of the place just doesn't say "bring your kids". Anyway, parents (2 well dressed, well spoken peeps) come in with 2 small kids, who continue to jump around and scream for the evening, delightful I think not. There were seated in a recessed seating area, in complete view of restaurant, just the way the room was shaped. The highlight of my meal was when mammy decided to change one of the kid's nappies at the table. The smell wafted across the restaurant, there were 2 ladies sitting right by them, I thought they were going to get sick. I complained to manager who was great about it and spoke to them, but seriously, who does this?

Its always the well dressed posh people who seem to let their kids run riot, i dont know is it because they dont want to discipline their spoilt little fella or are they too posh to tell them to shut up, but they always seem to be the worst.

I would consider these to be Knacker Parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭tiny_penguin

Same goes for kids in the cinema. A trip to the cinema is bloody expensive these days and yet you have parents willing to shell out probably in the region of €50 if not more to bring their little angels to see Harry Potter eventhough they know that the child is going to spend 50% of the film running around like a lunatic, 40% whinging about how bored they are and 10% actually sitting still and watching the film (until their popcorn runs out).

Went to see Harry Potter a few weeks ago. A midweek evening show, 8:30 i think it started. And somebody had brought an baby into the film. While the baby only cried fully once and was brought out by the parent then - from where I was sitting you could hear the baby fussing and whinging throughout the movie. Was absolutley shocked as was friends i was with who are also parents. The evening show in the cinema is not an appropriate place for a baby - get a babysitter or dont go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭fearcruach

It's the attitude of a lot of parents that really bothers me. "Unless you have kids you wouldn't understand/they are just being kids."

WTF is that supposed to mean? There's a reason why we don't let kids vote, or drink, or drive. They don't always know whats best for them. Same when it comes to behaviour. Parents have to, y'know, parent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭AeoNGriM

Originally Posted by OutlawPete viewpost.gif
    Certain complaints that have made here have been legitimate. Children running amok and going unsupervised in public places is not on. Screaming kids and the like should be removed if at all possible (cinemas, theaters, galleries etc) but sometimes it isn't of course possible to just removed yourself and a child from a situation (doctors or just queuing etc). Also, people bringing children to pubs and restaurants after 7pm should have a bit more cop on, or at the very least, be super aware and keep them on a far tighter leash than they would say if it were 2 or 3pm. As Snyper eluded to earlier, there is a big difference between complaining of children crying and making noise at the cinema at a 1pm screening, than there is of complaining of the same type of behavior at a late night screening. One is understandable, the other is not.

In saying all that, members of the public can be selfish, narcissistic, sour faced *****, who just will complain at the smallest of things regarding children and what they perceive to be 'bad parenting'. They are everywhere and they are a boil on the arse of humanity. I have been the carer of someone with autism (my sister) for almost 25 years now, since I was a child myself in fact and the kind of stuff that has been leveled at me by so called adults, has been nothing short of disgusting. Rolled eyes would be a Christmas present compared to the crap that we've dealt with while out in public places trying to live our lives. When I was younger I used to snap back, but you eventually get thick skinned, otherwise you'd be fighting with morons all day everyday.

You may think that my situation is different to that which is being discussed here, but it isn't and the reason for that is because people do not know that my sister has autism, as she looks just looks just like anybody else (as many kids/adults with autism do in fact). Even today, as a 33 year old, you would just think she was just an average 12 year old and so, throughout all my years of being in public places together, what I experience is precisely what parents of normal kids experience when they have a bad day with their "normal" unruly children in public, when other people react badly to them. Only difference is, with most parents that might be 2 or 3% of the time they go out, with myself (and most other parents/siblings of someone with autism) it's almost every single day and every single time that they leave the house.

Again, there are of course times when people have every right to expect some peace and quiet. They may very well have problems of their own to cope with and so when they go out, they should be entitled to expect to enjoy that time undisturbed by children screaming and acting up.

However, people who complain, throw dirty looks and make judgmental comments about other parents, just because they see a child scream or throw a tantrum in a shop, cinema etc, in my mind .. are just arseholes, get over yourselves. Okay, so your day has been interrupted by noise that you would prefer went away or hadn't happened, but that doesn't give you the right to be prissy or obnoxious about it. If an adult is clearly doing their best to take care of a kid, but that child is still being wild or unruly, bear in mind that there could very well be more to why that child is behaving that way, than meets the eye. That adult or sibling may have spent the last week stuck indoors, going through the same crap (sometimes literately) and this trip to the shop, cinema, cafe etc has been there only refuge in that time, their only chance to get outside the house and so the last thing that they need is someone making things harder for them, with their selfish, ignorant reactions and attitudes to those situations. Of course, a small dose of 'minding your own bloody business' would go a long way too.

While I have the utmost sympathy for your sister and your situation and others all around the world in a similar situation, if your sister didn't have autism you wouldn't give the first fuuuuuu- about this.

Like Chris Reeve and paraplegics and Katie Price and whatever the hell her child has, you only care when it affects you and not before so don't sit there on your massively high horse and tell people to mind their own bloody business you hypocrite.