Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Out of Control Children in Restaurants / Public Places

• 02-08-2011 1:40pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭donalg1

One of my biggest pet peeves is parents who refuse to tell their children to sit down and stop running around screaming when they are in public places such as restaurants. Just the other day i was in a hotel having dinner and a table in the middle of the bar had two kids probably 4 and 2 and the two parents at it, now the whole time i was there the kids weren't sitting down at any stage they were in the middle of the floor chasing each other around and fighting over toys having great fun, getting in everyones way, especially the waiting staff who they ran into at least five times while they were carrying plates full of stuff. The parents just sat there eating and drinking and never once told them to sit down despite the fact that everyone in the place was getting really pi**ed off with the two little s***s!!

Just wondering if you were to say something would you say it to the children given that they are the annoying liitle brats or the parents for being too lazy and ret**ded to tell them to sit down and shut up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

The problem with kids that age - as you may know if you had any, which i suspect you dont - is that they rarely sit still and can be very hard to get to do so. the fact is you can't lock kids up just because some people are annoyed by kids doing what kids do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

feral childrens I tells ya, FERAL CHILDRENS!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

And you can't leave them in the hotel while you pop down for tapas wither.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭stephen_k

I would probably say nothing to either of them, just sit there tutting and eyerolling, then I would voice my displeasure with a very strongly worded thread in AH on Boards.ie......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 449 ✭✭Emiko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

donalg1 wrote: »
    One of my biggest pet peeves is parents who refuse to tell their children to sit down and stop running around screaming when they are in public places such as restaurants. Just the other day i was in a hotel having dinner and a table in the middle of the bar had two kids probably 4 and 2 and the two parents at it, now the whole time i was there the kids weren't sitting down at any stage they were in the middle of the floor chasing each other around and fighting over toys having great fun, getting in everyones way, especially the waiting staff who they ran into at least five times while they were carrying plates full of stuff. The parents just sat there eating and drinking and never once told them to sit down despite the fact that everyone in the place was getting really pi**ed off with the two little s***s!!

Just wondering if you were to say something would you say it to the children given that they are the annoying liitle brats or the parents for being too lazy and ret**ded to tell them to sit down and shut up.
    I take it you have no idea that kids have minds of their own and cannot be programmed to behave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭donalg1

The problem with kids that age is the parents have never disciplined them or have never even tried too. I dont have kids but i do have nieces and nephews and they never behave like that because they know if they do they would get in trouble, when they are in a restaurant or cafe they sit down and eat their food and you wouldnt know they were even there. There were a lot more kids in the place the other night too which were perfectly behaved its just these two were outta control and the parents werent at all bothered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

The problem with kids that age - as you may know if you had any, which i suspect you dont - is that they rarely sit still and can be very hard to get to do so. the fact is you can't lock kids up just because some people are annoyed by kids doing what kids do.

Jesus , the thread only got one post deep before we had the old "unless you have kids you don't know what it's like" response.

New record?

To be honest, folk who show absolutely no effort to control their kids get no respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭silly

Yeah, that kinda bugs me, I remember going to the cinema with my daughter a few yrs back, a movie she was dying to see, and there was a woman there, with a 4/5 yr old boy, who had no interest in the film and screamed throughout, she was physically holding him down as he was trying to get out of his seat. She was asked to keep him quiet but she couldn't, she should have just left instead of ruining it for the packed cinema.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

<insert angry parent rant with token "I bet you would think differently if you had children!" quote>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

Show Time wrote: »
    I take it you have no idea that kids have minds of their own and cannot be programmed to behave.

Of course they can be trained to behave. What a load of crap! I'll admit not every child is well-behaved and some are extremely difficult, but the OP is talking about kids whose parents do nothing to even try to get them to behave appropriately in a restaurant.

Course they can, i never behaved like that when i was younger because i knew my parents wouldnt let me. Maybe its the parents that can't be programmed to be parents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,602 ✭✭✭patmac

Give them a slap that will keep them quiet, (parents or the kids).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

I remember poll axing a kid one time in a bar, didn't see the little fecker ... honestly. Was going up to get a drink, don't know where he came out of but his head & my knee connected. The roars out of him and the mother just looks over at me and just smiles :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

I dont have kids but
    I'm not a racist but...

Seriously, I'm currently training my rambunctious 1 year old that when in Starbucks and the like to run up to laptop users (Mac users especially) and tip their skinny-choca-moco-frappe-latte-al-capuchino all over the keyboard.

Of course you yourself were a little angel at that age and sat there like you just OD'ed on Ritalin...or did you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

*Inserts the "Well as a parent" phrase*
    If i couldn't get one of my kids to behave within a few minutes, I would call it quits and ask for a doggybag.
    I would get no peace, and no one else around me would, what is the point in staying?
    I don't think this has ever happened to me though, thank god...and the fact that i don't go out much!

I'm not a racist but...

Seriously, I'm currently training my rambunctious 1 year old that when in Starbucks and the like to run up to laptop users (Mac users especially) and tip their skinny-choca-moco-frappe-latte-al-capuchino all over the keyboard.

Of course you yourself were a little angel at that age and sat there like you just OD'ed on Ritalin...or did you?

Yeah i did and plenty of other children do too. I suppose you are one of these parents then that let their children run riot in a restaurant and run into the waiting staff making them drop their tray onto the child and then you give out to the waiter for not being more careful?!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

being too lazy and ret**ded to tell them to sit down and shut up.

Yes, yes you were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,285 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Every chair, high-stool and seat should have a stick/paddle/2x4 discreetly located underneath. For obvious reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭mydearwatson

Bullshit.

If you can't make your child behave in a civilised manner - assuming there are no disabilities/disorders/whatever involved - it's your own failing as a parent.

It's one of your responsibilities as a parent to train your child to behave in a courteous civilised manner. If your child is acting like a little shit, and annoying other people, it's your own fault, so why not just take responsibility, admit you're being a crap parent, and actually do something about it, instead of pushing the blame onto the kids for "being kids". It's just downright lazy and irresponsible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Yeah i did and plenty of other children do too. I suppose you are one of these parents then that let their children run riot in a restaurant and run into the waiting staff making them drop their tray onto the child and then you give out to the waiter for not being more careful?!!

Well, how else are they going to burn off all the energy from the pre-meal chocolate bars and full-fat Coke?

By messing and running riot at home and not in public. The parents should be neutured and banned from ever having kids again if they cant manage to look after them properly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

By messing and running riot at home and not in public. The parents should be neutured and banned from ever having kids again if they cant manage to look after them properly

LOL
    Neutered AND Banned? Doesnt the former kind of guarantee things?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

There's a restaurant for letting your kids run wild, it's called McDonalds

D1stant wrote: »
    LOL

There is always the Auld Reversal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

There was a similar thread on this very subject a few months ago http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056275104 and when I read the following post, it really affected me and it taught me that you have to becareful when making judgements about people and their children.

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Certain complaints that have made here have been legitimate. Children running amok and going unsupervised in public places is not on. Screaming kids and the like should be removed if at all possible (cinemas, theaters, galleries etc) but sometimes it isn't of course possible to just removed yourself and a child from a situation (doctors or just queuing etc). Also, people bringing children to pubs and restaurants after 7pm should have a bit more cop on, or at the very least, be super aware and keep them on a far tighter leash than they would say if it were 2 or 3pm. As Snyper eluded to earlier, there is a big difference between complaining of children crying and making noise at the cinema at a 1pm screening, than there is of complaining of the same type of behavior at a late night screening. One is understandable, the other is not.

In saying all that, members of the public can be selfish, narcissistic, sour faced *****, who just will complain at the smallest of things regarding children and what they perceive to be 'bad parenting'. They are everywhere and they are a boil on the arse of humanity. I have been the carer of someone with autism (my sister) for almost 25 years now, since I was a child myself in fact and the kind of stuff that has been leveled at me by so called adults, has been nothing short of disgusting. Rolled eyes would be a Christmas present compared to the crap that we've dealt with while out in public places trying to live our lives. When I was younger I used to snap back, but you eventually get thick skinned, otherwise you'd be fighting with morons all day everyday.

You may think that my situation is different to that which is being discussed here, but it isn't and the reason for that is because people do not know that my sister has autism, as she looks just looks just like anybody else (as many kids/adults with autism do in fact). Even today, as a 33 year old, you would just think she was just an average 12 year old and so, throughout all my years of being in public places together, what I experience is precisely what parents of normal kids experience when they have a bad day with their "normal" unruly children in public, when other people react badly to them. Only difference is, with most parents that might be 2 or 3% of the time they go out, with myself (and most other parents/siblings of someone with autism) it's almost every single day and every single time that they leave the house.

Again, there are of course times when people have every right to expect some peace and quiet. They may very well have problems of their own to cope with and so when they go out, they should be entitled to expect to enjoy that time undisturbed by children screaming and acting up.

However, people who complain, throw dirty looks and make judgmental comments about other parents, just because they see a child scream or throw a tantrum in a shop, cinema etc, in my mind .. are just arseholes, get over yourselves. Okay, so your day has been interrupted by noise that you would prefer went away or hadn't happened, but that doesn't give you the right to be prissy or obnoxious about it. If an adult is clearly doing their best to take care of a kid, but that child is still being wild or unruly, bear in mind that there could very well be more to why that child is behaving that way, than meets the eye. That adult or sibling may have spent the last week stuck indoors, going through the same crap (sometimes literately) and this trip to the shop, cinema, cafe etc has been there only refuge in that time, their only chance to get outside the house and so the last thing that they need is someone making things harder for them, with their selfish, ignorant reactions and attitudes to those situations. Of course, a small dose of 'minding your own bloody business' would go a long way too.

Bullshit.

If you can't make your child behave in a civilised manner - assuming there are no disabilities/disorders/whatever involved - it's your own failing as a parent.

It's one of your responsibilities as a parent to train your child to behave in a courteous civilised manner. If your child is acting like a little shit, and annoying other people, it's your own fault, so why not just take responsibility, admit you're being a crap parent, and actually do something about it, instead of pushing the blame onto the kids for "being kids". It's just downright lazy and irresponsible.

Obviously parents need to take responsibility but the fact is that kids are indeed kids at times and that can be annoying for people in public places. My children are 4 and 2 aswell and we try our very very best to ensure they are well behaved in and not a nuisance when out and about - however - it doesn't always work like that. Lets say we go for a family meal and they sit still for a while and are generally good. We've ordered 2 steaks and kids meals, then one of them gets in a fowler over something stupid and wont stay quiet. For a parent, that's a choice between leaving without the meal but prob still paying or trying your best over what can sometimes be a bit of time calming them down...it's this period where 'people who dont have kids' get pissed off, but what's a parent to do!!
    Jesus , the thread only got one post deep before we had the old "unless you have kids you don't know what it's like" response.

New record?

To be honest, folk who show absolutely no effort to control their kids get no respect.

it's the only record I'll ever hold on boards. anyway, I stand by it. Nobody, absolutely nobody has any idea what it's like raising kids till you've done it yourself. it may be overused, but that doesn't mean it's not true.

MrsD007 wrote: »
    There was a similar thread on this very subject a few months ago http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056275104 and when I read the following post, it really affected me and it taught me that you have to becareful when making judgements about people and their children.

While i understand that sometimes its not that black and white, the situation i am referring to included two children, and even if they were autistic my main problem was with the parents who sat there and did nothing to stop their children shouting and screaming. Now i dont think these kids were autistic or had any reason for behaving in the way they were other than the parents werent bothered telling them to stop. It wasnt so much the noise but just the fact that they were smack bang in everyone's way and the waiting staff were flying around trying to their best in a very busy bar and the last thing they needed to be doing was dodging these two little brats. I do agree though that its not the childrens fault as they dont know any better but it is the parents fault and they are the ones that i direct most of my whispered abuse and dirty looks at!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

When I was that age I would've been terrified to defy my parents in any way, because I knew that if we ran around screaming and shouting we wouldn't get any dessert :(. Then again it was South Africa and every child there is either well-behaved or fed to the crocodiles.

I used to work in a family restaurant as a waiter... Shoot me. Day shifts during the week were fine but come weekends or after school and it was nightmare city. And we never had enough crayons and paper for all the children there. The amount of times I nearly dropped hot food on a kid's head because they kept running into me... Argh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Can't see why one of the wait staff or managment didn't say something to the parents as it is in the interest of Health & Safety that the kids shouldn't be running beneath the feet of waiting staff unless the want to get a nice hot bowl of soup of the day over them (might have done the trick tbh).

My own experience of a little brat no so long ago where he was running around then came up to my table and proceeded to grab a handful of chips of a plate and run off again. Needless to say on his next run by the table a foot got in his way and he tripped nicely. Not proud of what I did and I was awaiting scorn from the other tables around me but just got smiles and one thumbs up from the other customers who got to eat the rest of their meals in peace as Mummy decided to gather up the brat and take him outside.

it's the only record I'll ever hold on boards. anyway, I stand by it. Nobody, absolutely nobody has any idea what it's like raising kids till you've done it yourself. it may be overused, but that doesn't mean it's not true.

Bollix tbh.

We are not talking about raising kids, we are talking about controlling kids in a public space, the example being given was two people who did absolutely nothing to control their two children.

With regard to this specific thread then anyone who has ever baby sat a niece, nephew or friends child and been in public with them has more than enough experience to comment.

You argument is just the usual rubbish that is rolled out during these threads, it's neither valid nor applicable to the discussion.

You said yourself that if your kids were acting up you would be trying to calm them down and keep them calm in those circumstances, i am unsure why you are going out of your way to defend those parents who don't give a ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

God. 3rd kid bashing thread on Boards in 2 days.

It is 100% the parents' fault here. young kids WILL get bored, and they WILL run around, especially if they're lads.
    Solution? Don't BRING them to places where peace and quiet are required. It's completely unreasonable.

It's like bringing a dog to a cat farm and expecting him not to flip out and go a bit crazy. Just doesn't work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

Plazaman wrote: »
    Can't see why one of the wait staff or managment didn't say something to the parents as it is in the interest of Health & Safety that the kids shouldn't be running beneath the feet of waiting staff unless the want to get a nice hot bowl of soup of the day over them (might have done the trick tbh).

My own experience of a little brat no so long ago where he was running around then came up to my table and proceeded to grab a handful of chips of a plate and run off again. Needless to say on his next run by the table a foot got in his way and he tripped nicely. Not proud of what I did and I was awaiting scorn from the other tables around me but just got smiles and one thumbs up from the other customers who got to eat the rest of their meals in peace as Mummy decided to gather up the brat and take him outside.

Sure you did. You're a hero:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭JoeyJJ

I'll vote on the not impossible to have children of any age behave properly in public and not unduly disturb others who have to right to enjoy their meals.

If I did anything stupid in public as a child I would hear about it and not do it again. My daughter is getting to know that now and it will be reinforced further as her childhood progresses.

Still have to test the cinema yet however was thinking of doing that soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

Bollix tbh.

We are not talking about raising kids, we are talking about controlling kids in a public space, the example being given was two people who did absolutely nothing to control their two children.

With regard to this specific thread then anyone who has ever baby sat a niece, nephew or friends child and been in public with them has more than enough experience to comment.

You argument is just the usual rubbish that is rolled out during these threads, it's neither valid nor applicable to the discussion.

Course it is. You're being silly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭JoeyJJ

It is 100% the parents' fault here. young kids WILL get bored, and they WILL run around, especially if they're lads.
    Solution? Don't BRING them to places where peace and quiet are required. It's completely unreasonable.

It's like bringing a dog to a cat farm and expecting him not to flip out and go a bit crazy. Just doesn't work.

Agree to a certain extent, bring your kids however prepare for the social situation correctly and do not take the piss by expecting the child to be fully cooperable for a extended period of time.

if you go to a hotel for dinner with kids, don't stay there half the day with the kids, depending on age keep the time reasonable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭EL_Loco

"How much for zee children?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭Tayla

My 5 year old is very well behaved 99% of the time, if we're out and he's misbehaving usually once told to stop then he does, however there has been one occasion in the past where he would not calm down no matter how hard I tried and at the end of the day seeing as I had to pay for the dinner, I was staying there until I was finished.

Kids can have off days just like adults can so please don't always presume that a bratty child is always like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

I was on a transatlantic flight once and there was a child crying incessantly with the parents making no attempt to stop the infant crying. So a stranger approached the mother to walk the child up and down the aisle. Within a minute the child was quite and falling asleep. Some parents haven't a clue and make no effort to learn how to be a good parent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 903 ✭✭✭bernardo mac

LOL

Of course that should include adoption:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

Bollix tbh.

You said yourself that if your kids were acting up you would be trying to calm them down and keep them calm in those circumstances, i am unsure why you are going out of your way to defend those parents who don't give a ****.

Well, speaking as someone who has babysat normal, well-behaved children and wild, uncontrollable ones, I would think it depends quite heavily on what sort of tone the parent sets for behaviour in a public place.

I, and my siblings, were well-behaved because we knew the threats of no dessert, no bedtime story, no toy, watching a certain tv programme would be carried out. I've seen the same with friends' kids and nieces and nephews and cousins, etc. So many parents though try to control their kids with empty threats which are never carried out. So the kids don't have any understanding of the consequences of bad behaviour.

I'm not talking about a little moan when the food isn't brought out, or whining because little brother got more chips or whatever. It's the real running around like a lunatic that is not impossible to train if you bring enough stuff to distract the kids with. I'm always amazed by kids in restaurants who have nothing to play with and are expected to sit quietly. Give them some colouring, or bring a toy, or an iPhone to play games on even!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

LOL

Adoption!

Bollix tbh.

i'm sure when you have kids of your own you'll do what every parent in the history of the world has not managed to do - keep toddlers and small children from running around and be well behaved 100% of the time. all hail logical fallacy - who hasn't a f'ucking clue what he's on about.

and BTW, the only way to teach a child good behaviour in the long run can be to ignore a tantrum.

i'm not defending lazy parents who dont give a f'uck - i'm defending every parent who puts up with arrognant bulls'hit from the likes of you every time their 2 year old has a strop in public...something you think you could prevent with your spawn, best of luck with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Bullseye1 wrote: »
    I was on a transatlantic flight once and there was a child crying incessantly with the parents making no attempt to stop the infant crying. So a stranger approached the mother to walk the child up and down the aisle. Within a minute the child was quite and falling asleep. Some parents haven't a clue and make no effort to learn how to be a good parent.

he clearly drugged the child.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

mattjack wrote: »
    he clearly drugged the child.........

LOL. I know that the child's ears can pop on landing/taking off. It cannot be pleasant for the poor toodler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Bullseye1 wrote: »

I wouldnt let any stranger near my children.................

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

Rule of thumb. I think I mentioned this in the other thread to.

Finish your meal early. Tell the manager that you are leaving due to the unruly children.......

They won't put up for it for long if they know its loosing them business.

Hence signs like "Children must be seated at all times". "Parents must not allow children to run around" etc.

Or if I owned my own establishment "Parents who do not keep their children under control will be asked to leave".

I'd have no problem alienating people that think the world revolves around their little ones.

• Obviously parents need to take responsibility but the fact is that kids are indeed kids at times and that can be annoying for people in public places. My children are 4 and 2 aswell and we try our very very best to ensure they are well behaved in and not a nuisance when out and about - however - it doesn't always work like that. Lets say we go for a family meal and they sit still for a while and are generally good. We've ordered 2 steaks and kids meals, then one of them gets in a fowler over something stupid and wont stay quiet. For a parent, that's a choice between leaving without the meal but prob still paying or trying your best over what can sometimes be a bit of time calming them down...it's this period where 'people who dont have kids' get pissed off, but what's a parent to do!!

I know kids are kids, but I'm sick of parents who just expect others to put up with awful, annoying behaviour in public places. If I'm paying 50 quid for a meal in a nice restaurant, I'm not going to put up with children running around my table while the idiotic parents just smile. If your children can't behave, don't take them out to restaurants, full stop. My parents hardly ever went out to dinner when I was a kid, I don't remember it being an entitlement. Some young children have excellent manners and know how to behave appropriately in a restaurant. For those that don't, there's McDonald's or the local park for a picnic. I rarely get annoyed with kids acting up in places like the airport where it can't really be helped (providing the parents are making some effort to control them), but sometimes I wonder why the parents can't just go on child-friendly outings.

i'm sure when you have kids of your own you'll do what every parent in the history of the world has not managed to do - keep toddlers and small children from running around and be well behaved 100% of the time. all hail logical fallacy - who hasn't a f'ucking clue what he's on about.

Wow, i have never seen someone so spectacularly miss a point. Ever.

Well done.

Who is saying they need to behave 100% or the time, or even 1% of the time?

The issue is that the parents were doing absolutely nothing at all to control their kids.

I am also unsure as to why you are mentioning tantrums, from the description the kids were in great form and were just playing...the issue is that they were causing a hindrance to other diners and staff.

Did you even read the thread?

Pretty odd as you think i am the one who doesn't know what i am talking about...while you are the one who seems to be replying to a different thread.

You've rolled out the "you don't know what it's like until you are parents", now you are doing the old bringing stuff up that wasn't even being discussed.

What's next i wonder?

I'm also failing to see where my "arrogant bull****" is?

Admit it, you take this kind of thread personally even though it's not about you and now you are just sitting there with your feelings all hurt.

Poor baby.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭booboo88

Malari wrote: »
    Of course they can be trained to behave. What a load of crap! I'll admit not every child is well-behaved and some are extremely difficult, but the OP is talking about kids whose parents do nothing to even try to get them to behave appropriately in a restaurant.
    Course they can, i never behaved like that when i was younger because i knew my parents wouldnt let me. Maybe its the parents that can't be programmed to be parents
    i was the same, you soon learned you were never to do it again
    OneArt wrote: »
    When I was that age I would've been terrified to defy my parents in any way, because I knew that if we ran around screaming and shouting we wouldn't get any dessert :(. Then again it was South Africa and every child there is either well-behaved or fed to the crocodiles.

I used to work in a family restaurant as a waiter... Shoot me. Day shifts during the week were fine but come weekends or after school and it was nightmare city. And we never had enough crayons and paper for all the children there. The amount of times I nearly dropped hot food on a kid's head because they kept running into me... Argh!
    the boogey man was coming to get us, or no xmas pressies.

theres nothin worse in public places having unruly kids, or unruly adults, went for a swim the other day and a man in his 30's made more noise than the kids