Players lounge is gone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

KeithAFC wrote: »
    Isn't this the pub with the anti queen banner which went up?

That's the one. I wonder was the banner saved before they set the fire closed up for the night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭thegreengoblin

The crappy Celtic banner on the front of the kip didn't get the slightest of scorch marks on it, funnily enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

KeithM89 wrote: »
    Nothing that could be libelous.
    Its ok to speculate that a unicorn did it though.

According to the merald a rangers unicorn was spotted flying around just before the robbery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

KeithM89 wrote: »
    Nothing that could be libelous.
    Its ok to speculate that a unicorn did it though.

funnily enough my pet unicorn came home last night,all tense and jumpy and smelling of smoke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

was in that pub after the games in croker at the weekend. knew very little of its history. thought it was a grand pub. great band and wonderful atmosphere and not an inkling of any trouble. the owner presented a €5000 cheque to some charity, watched it on a big screen in the bar,the presentation was in the lounge which was jointed.
    went to the lounge later, was an example of how a pub should be built.
    sorry to see it go. hopefully it will return even better.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 919 ✭✭✭wicklowstevo

ropey spot alright ,it was a bit like the clonliff hse which is also a sh!t hole but in fairness you could get a savage pint in them both , WE ARE THE BOYS OF SUMMER HILL WE HAVE NEVER WORKED AND WE NEVER WILL !!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Kells...

ropey spot alright ,it was a bit like the clonliff hse which is also a sh!t hole but in fairness you could get a savage pint in them both , WE ARE THE BOYS OF SUMMER HILL WE HAVE NEVER WORKED AND WE NEVER WILL !!!!!

Lazy pricks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭thegreengoblin

washman3 wrote: »
    was in that pub after the games in croker at the weekend. knew very little of its history. thought it was a grand pub. great band and wonderful atmosphere and not an inkling of any trouble. the owner presented a €5000 cheque to some charity, watched it on a big screen in the bar,the presentation was in the lounge which was jointed.

Just out of interest, any idea what charity it was?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

The staff in the Player's Lounge aren't costing the state money it doesn't have.

The customers on the other hand..............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

NOW YOU'RE THE BOYS WHO DRAW THE DOLE BUT YOUR PUB IS GONE SO UP YOUR ****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Lazy pricks.

Actually the pub was in the Fairview/ballybough area,summerhill is a half mile up the road, FYI ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Kells...

I live in Ballybough fyi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 Extra Minty

Charity is the Thai Tims charity which is a orphanage in Thailand. Its for parentless kids and also children with Down Syndrome who are taken in nowhere else in Thailand. Its a great charity and fair play to all at the PL involved in the fundraising

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Anyone that actually set foot in the place wouldn't call it a "kip", couldn't be any further from the truth. Great atmosphere in there on Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

ColeTrain wrote: »
    Anyone that actually set foot in the place wouldn't call it a "kip", couldn't be any further from the truth. Great atmosphere in there on Sunday.

Did nobody tell them about the smoking ban ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

98FM are still running the players lounge as sponsors of their sports news today ! "Players lounge for all the big games live on our 40 plasma TV's.....":eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,147 ✭✭✭saintsaltynuts

Dont worry they're going to open up a new nightclub there soon and call it "Cinder's".And dont worry about suspects the Gardai arrested a clown outside laughing his fookin head off!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

I'd say this guy will have to find a new local.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

Hopefully it'll be back open soon. Always a good spot for a pre or post match pint being so close to Croke Park. Never witnessed any trouble or "scumbags" in there in the 15-20 times I was there.
    Agreed. Nice pub with a classy owner.

unfortunately i didnt catch the name of the charity, as a said was watching on a big screen in the bar. did see that normal large cardboard cheque used in presentations like this.
    one of the many Mayo fans might know,good few of them there on Sunday.

and an excellent pint of guinness too at a decent price. and a real bonus was not having to listen to the likes of the dickheads and ****heads that frequent the pubs around Lansdowne Rd. during rugby matches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭pebbles21

Was in there a few times ...grand pub so it was

Had a great smoking area ... someone correct me if im wrong but did the smoking area actually have a no smoking part in it?...

Vaguely remember the bouncer telling me i couldnt smoke in a certain part of the smoking area......or maybe i was just pi$$ed :o

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

Agreed. Nice pub with a classy owner.

Was a good gaff before the present crowd took over.

Sourest barmen in Dublin but (that's sayin sommat).

New owner seems a nice enough bloke...with a lot o class...loved his tastefull banner in advance of her Majesty's visit.

Showed his feminine side.........never mind ..I heard it said that they intend to rebuild in the replica of the H Blocks......

and an excellent pint of guinness too at a decent price. and a real bonus was not having to listen to the likes of the dickheads and ****heads that frequent the pubs around Lansdowne Rd. during rugby matches.

Yeah, D4 gets a lot of knobs coming up from the likes of Limerick when the rugger is on

Paparazzo wrote: »
    Yeah, D4 gets a lot of knobs coming up from the likes of Limerick when the rugger is on

and would probably be a sounder type of knob, and when they talk about "rugger" they usually know their stuff. they dont have to read Neillo,Wardy or Thorno first and repeat them word for word. :p

Love to see where you drink then, the PL wasn't a kip.

QFT.

As has been pointed out, i'd bet serious money that about 90% of the people here slating the place have never set foot in it. Quality pint, and one of the few places in Dublin where you're guaranteed a decent seat and a decent view of the telly when a match is on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Yep the Heiniken was excellent too and at €4 was a good price for Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭Randomer.

Living near by - the sooner the place is shut down, the better for the area. Scummy incidents sky rocketed due to that place, constant stream of v dodgy feckers due to it.

Far cry from the original Fairview inn going back over a decade ago. Used to be a pretty upstanding place with a lot of history. When they sold that place, all the well dodgy characters who were banned from everywhere else flooded to it with the new owner. Then it got shut down and reopened as the players lounge. Countless dodgy incidents involving that place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Randomer. wrote: »
    Living near by - the sooner the place is shut down, the better for the area. Scummy incidents sky rocketed due to that place, constant stream of v dodgy feckers due to it.

Far cry from the original Fairview inn going back over a decade ago. Used to be a pretty upstanding place with a lot of history. When they sold that place, all the well dodgy characters who were banned from everywhere else flooded to it with the new owner. Then it got shut down and reopened as the players lounge. Countless dodgy incidents involving that place.

Sure I bet you where also saying that about Barcode, that place is gone and you still have a problem. Well chap, I think you need to stop blaming the pubs and maybe have a look at the area you are living in.

QFT.

As has been pointed out, i'd bet serious money that about 90% of the people here slating the place have never set foot in it. Quality pint, and one of the few places in Dublin where you're guaranteed a decent seat and a decent view of the telly when a match is on.

I don't think people were saying the place wasn't nice inside, just that it had a lot of scumbags that drank in it.