Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Players lounge is gone

• 02-08-2011 8:02am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭

http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0802/playerslounge.html

Gardaí are investigating an armed robbery and a fire at The Players Lounge in Fairview, Dublin.

A gang of four men, one armed with a handgun, entered the premises shortly after 2am and tied up the manager.

They took a substantial amount of cash from the safe. A fire then broke out.

It is not clear whether it was accidental however gardaí are treating it as suspicious.

Extensive damage was caused to the lounge area of the pub.

The scene has been preserved for forensic examination.

Gardaí are appealing for witnesses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

**** no way. Go there every now and then lovely crowd of people.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Who in there right mind would dare rob that place, taking there life in there hands doing that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Dodgy crowd and a very shady owner, I'm not surprised.

Mind you, maybe it was the SAS, annoyed that they wouldn't serve the Queen a pint of plain there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Isn't this what is commonly known as "Crapping in your own nest"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭big_show

Cycled past it this morning, just a shell of a building left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Fire............. Stokes............ there's a joke in there somewhere.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

:D Maybe and its a maybe, there own pipes bombed :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Forest Master

I think it was Grundy productions - they're cracking down on every company who uses the "Neighbours" font.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,710 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

fire sale!

hmm smoked Guinness!

Maybe it was Pepsi. They heard there was an unusual amount of Coke flying out of there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭latenia

Must have been some serious scrilla in the safe after last weekend-the place would have been jammed with Celtards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

A tragic loss for Irish football.

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Either some one very very brave, or very very stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Kells...

irish-stew wrote: »
    Either some one very very brave, or very very stupid.

Was it you? :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 460 ✭✭four18

Mmmm. What goes around etc !

http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0514/pub.html

Good enough for him:D

Understatement of the year on todayfm on the fire.

Guards are treating incident as suspicious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭blaze1

Probobly refused to pay his protection money

blaze1 wrote: »

Might wanna change your username!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

blaze1 wrote: »

probally refused to pay himself protection money

On a bright note, at least their day certainly did come.

stovelid wrote: »
    On a bright note, at least their day certainly did come.

Which would make his "Tiocfaidh ár lá" tattoo terribly ironic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Skanger underworld Dublin forum much? ;)

mike65 wrote: »
    Skanger underworld Dublin forum much? ;)

Considering some of the stories have been reported nationwide, i'd say After Hours is an ok place to have it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

its bad news for dublin as it kept the lowest ebbs of society in one place. I hear they had a palestinian flag outside now a days :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭the bolt

some great detective work people,im suprized there is any unsolved crime in this country with all you lot.:rolleyes:

the bolt wrote: »
    some great detective work people,im suprized there is any unsolved crime in this country with all you lot.:rolleyes:

Ironically you sound like a sh*te crime-fighter!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 905 ✭✭✭FUNKY LOVER

Ah sure they get all their info from the heddled and the sunday world.

If its reporetd in there it must be true.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

If its reporetd in there it must be true.......

Well you 2 crazy cats seem to know it all.... enlighten us so..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Oh and as a second note, I would be sure most Boardsies dont buy papers, they get most of their news free on the internet.

There is a distinct distaste for NOTW / The Sun / The mirror and the Sunday World here so your points arent really very valid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 905 ✭✭✭FUNKY LOVER

listermint wrote: »
    Oh and as a second note, I would be sure most Boardsies dont buy papers, they get most of their news free on the internet.

There is a distinct distaste for NOTW / The Sun / The mirror and the Sunday World here so your points arent really very valid.

I dont know so i wont make a comment on it.

So you know that everyone on boards never buys any of those papers,wow you have some huge inside information about all boardsies there,where did you get all this:D

I <3 Rangers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Was it you who struck the pub?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Meanwhile at Buckingham Palace

i would prefare to wait and see what comes to light in the next day or two before coming to incredlous conclusions unlike some on here.im currious if it was any other bussiness in that area would the same posts have been left up here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭Tehachapi

i would prefare to wait and see what comes to light in the next day or two before coming to incredlous conclusions unlike some on here.im currious if it was any other bussiness in that area would the same posts have been left up here.

There's a few scenarios which are more probable than just an accidental fire, considering the owners history:

1. Revenge for threats made against other publicans
    2. Refusal to pay protection money
    3. Insurance job
    4. Sectarian idiots

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Ironically you sound like a sh*te crime-fighter!
    why bother with the astrix?

Beacuse the swear filter will block out the whole word otherwise.

Because *** **** **** *********

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

I last bought the Herald a decade ago because I was looking for a place to rent, and DAFT hadn't taken off yet. I've never bought the Sunday World. :rolleyes:

Still, it's amusing to be patronised. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭maxwell smart

Guess that rules out After Hours beers in there then....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Eh, what is the players lounge, somewhere the players go for a few post match beers after a game in Landsdowne Rd?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

jester77 wrote: »
    Eh, what is the players lounge, somewhere the players go for a few post match beers after a game in Landsdowne Rd?

No, it's a scroathole on the north side.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,058 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Tehachapi wrote: »
    There's a few scenarios which are more probable than just an accidental fire, considering the owners history:

1. Revenge for threats made against other publicans
    2. Refusal to pay protection money
    3. Insurance job
    4. Sectarian idiots

5. Maguire and Patterson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Pity about anyone working there with no jobs today.

Well dodgy pub non the less.
    http://www.broadsheet.ie/2011/08/02/live-from-the-players-lounge-fairview/

There were like 100 tellys in there I think? Some amount of damage if it was gutted.
    Good riddance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 678 ✭✭✭briano

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    No, it's a scroathole on the north side.;)

was a scrotehole

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

Some of the comments on here are disgusting, expected but disgusting none the less.

You're easily disgusted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

Does the queen have an alibi for her where abouts on the night in question?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Royal Seahawk

Hopefully it'll be back open soon. Always a good spot for a pre or post match pint being so close to Croke Park. Never witnessed any trouble or "scumbags" in there in the 15-20 times I was there.

Show Time wrote: »
    First thought i had as well. The place is to well known now so a nice little fire to start over.
    so what the guy goes out of his way to let people know where his bar is and just as its getting well known he burns in down only to move somewhere different and start the process all over again,yeah right i can see the logic.