Cinema - Walking into another movie after yours has finished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Forest Master

MrStuffins wrote: »
    And how exactly does watching 2 movies make you a loser?

It doesn't. Sneaking into a 2nd movie makes you a loser & a bum.
    No, it's nothing like food. You eat food to sustain your body. To keep yourself alive.

Eh, people eat for fun too.
    Movies are entertainment. When one is over you don't get "Full".
    You get mentally full - where you've had enough. It doesn't have to be physically full, yeah?
    Your analogy also assumes that the 2nd part of the food, the roll, is of lower quality than the fine meal. How does this have to be the case?

It is lower quality, because you didn't pick the 2nd movie - it just happened to be on when you snuck in.

Just because you fail to grasp my simple analogy, doesn't make it invalid. I've just explained 4 points of it to you above. It's really very simple - surprised you can't grasp it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,646 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

It doesn't. Sneaking into a 2nd movie makes you a loser & a bum.

Not at all.

Eh, people eat for fun too.

At no point has anyone ever needed to watch movies in order to survive! :rolleyes:

You get mentally full - where you've had enough. It doesn't have to be physically full, yeah?

Only if you've the mental capacity of a goldfish. Yeah?

It is lower quality, because you didn't pick the 2nd movie - it just happened to be on when you snuck in.

This is not necessarily true. Before you've seen both movies and before you've made your choice, you have NO idea which movie is the superior in you, the viewer's, opinion. Again, astonishing that I should have to explain this to you
    Just because you fail to grasp my simple analogy, doesn't make it invalid. I've just explained 4 points of it to you above. It's really very simple - surprised you can't grasp it.

No, that doesn't make it invalid. The fact it's a sh*te analogy makes it invalid. You could've had thousands of other analogies, but not many would've made sense as you're talking out of your arse.

Movies are not food!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

Used to do it before I got a cineworld card. During the week and early there's no one checking tickets so once you buy one you're grand.

Movies are not food!

Which is why it's an ANALOGY.

This was a reference to your analogy. Amazed that I have to explain THIS to you too.

Not amazed that this was the only part of my post you could attack though. Well done!

This was a reference to your analogy. Amazed that I have to explain THIS to you too.

Not amazed that this was the only part of my post you could attack though. Well done!
    You're just freaked because your band's playing is sloppy, so you're taking it out on me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭engrish?

Am I the only person in the world who hates the cinema? I'd much rather sit at home and watch a movie.....

You're just freaked because your band's playing is sloppy, so you're taking it out on me.

We're only sloppy on the second tune, we're normally full after one song.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

du Maurier wrote: »
    I do, quite a bit, and I would imagine many do too. It's not like you get in there, the film kicks off and then you start chatting. They're not really needed once the film starts so no reason why someone wouldn't go to the cinema on their own.

I like sharing the experience with others though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭CorkMan

Not exactly skipping from one movie to another, but I did sneak into a movie once.

It was The Passion Of Christ, I dressed up as an aul' wan with a hood over me, etc. I snuck in no problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

What about a 3 hour film? Would you walk out of Schindler's List after 90min because you are "full"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭milehip1

There isn't even a cinema in my county...

Ahh good old Roscommon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭Epicness

ziedth wrote: »
    What about a 3 hour film? Would you walk out of Schindler's List after 90min because you are "full"

that's cute

milehip1 wrote: »
    Ahh good old Roscommon

There isn't even a cinema in my COUNTRY!

I'm appealing to The Emperor to build one but he is too busy tending to his vegetables and keeping the southern part of the country from falling away...

CorkMan wrote: »

I'm appealing to The Emperor to build one but he is too busy tending to his vegetables and keeping the southern part of the country from falling away...

where the hell do you live?

East off the coast of Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

What exactly does the necessary size of a town to become a city have to do with cinemas? There's a 9 screen cinema here in Arklow ffs, so wherever yer man is from must be pretty bloody rural to only have a lone screen.

Not like there were cinemas everywhere in Wicklow before the Bridgewater opened (think there might even have been a period where the county had none), so it's hardly the most unbelievable story that there might be just a one screen cinema somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,801 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

I spend 20 hours a day on the internet so I probably could, except I never leave the house.
    Jaysus, get a life!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

Not like there were cinemas everywhere in Wicklow before the Bridgewater opened (think there might even have been a period where the county had none), so it's hardly the most unbelievable story that there might be just a one screen cinema somewhere.

Well.. There were cinemas in Arklow, Wicklow, Greystones and Bray 3 or 4 years before Bridgewater (all with two or more screens), but only one survived up until Bridgewater opened (The Cineplex), but closed down not long after. A one screener is pretty miserable for any town, regardless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Someone told me onetime that in many cinemas in the US once someone buys a ticket for one screen it entitles them to stay there all day if they dont mind watching the same film over and over again.

Not sure how true this is. Presumably it is not the case in places with allocated seating or where its a expected to be a popular film/full house :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

Rockall is off the west coast :)
    EDIT: Unless the Isle of Man has an Emperor...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,813 ✭✭✭TPD

My local cinema only has one screen :mad:
    AND they have bingo in it three nights a week:(

Buncrana?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Doublechinlolz

THFC wrote: »
    Jaysus, get a life!

It says gullible on the ceiling!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭eirn

Worked in a cinema for a couple of years when I was a student, ya would occassionaly see people 'screen hop', can't say as I was ever bothered enough to try n stop em...
    One very well spoken, well dressed woman came in with a few kids but didn't buy a ticket for herself, said she was just going to settle them n come back out in a minute. Saw her slink out a couple of hours later, cheeap!

Wouldn't try and sneak in to another film now, as there's cctv everywhere in the lobby of my local cinema, I'd be mortified if I was caught!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭Bonavox

Way to resort to petty insults, your argument is so superior to MrStuffins. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭Firefox11

Used to do it donkeys years ago....but then again i was a cheapskate student with nothing better to do at the time. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭x_Ellie_x

I've done that once. I was up in Liffey Valley with the girls from my old job. None of us liked the film that was playing so we got up and went into another one. We got away with it. It was a Wednesday night so they only had the minimum amount of staff on and due to the way the cinema is laid out it's pretty easy to get away with it.

In a make believe world?
    Rockall is off the west coast :)
    EDIT: Unless the Isle of Man has an Emperor...

Maybe its Tory island, they have a king!
    MarkD09 wrote: »
    It says gullible on the ceiling!

now what the hell are you going on about? that dont make a lick of sense!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

Well.. There were cinemas in Arklow, Wicklow, Greystones and Bray 3 or 4 years before Bridgewater (all with two or more screens), but only one survived up until Bridgewater opened (The Cineplex), but closed down not long after. A one screener is pretty miserable for any town, regardless.

I know the above, I was just unsure whether the Cineplex was just before or just after the Bridgewater opened. I did spend the first 24 years of my life in Wicklow. My point is that there are plenty of places with terrible cinema situations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Doublechinlolz

now what the hell are you going on about? that dont make a lick of sense!

Im saying they're gullible