Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cinema - Walking into another movie after yours has finished.

• 01-08-2011 11:33pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 27

Does anyone regularly do this? Ever gotten caught?

For anybody working in cinemas, do you catch people doing this regularly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

so you want to steal everyones ideas and put them on tipsbymark and pass them off as your own :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭joshrogan

No, my video camera only has enough memory for one movie so I have to leave everytime it is full.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Yeah I did it once recently. Got caught too. It was sooo embarrasing. They just stood over me with this look of disgust on their faces and then asked what was I doing wasting my time at a Captain America screening?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

I did it once in Cineworld. Wouldnt recommend it. They're watching like hawks. Then you got that awkward moment where you pretend to have tickets but lost them blah blah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

I've done it a few times, works best if there's an upstairs in the cinema as there aren't generally many workers around. I used to hide in the bathroom til all the people from the first had left and then walk into the next one as the crowd was coming.

That makes me sound like such a scabby bastard :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Did it when I was a teenager,think I saw Ocean's 12 and then snuck into Meet The Focker's for some reason.

It was during the day in Liffey Valley so was fairly easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭robman60

I got into Avatar for free but I had to go out and pay then because I didn't have the bloody glasses. It was so simple, I literally walked straight by the workers.

I hadn't seen any other film before going in though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭GaryMunster

I worked in omniplex for 3 years. You always see people doing it and the guilt on some peoples faces is hilarious, might kick normal people out depending on my mood but I ALWAYS kicked knackers out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

I don't think I've the required ass stamina to watch 2 movies in a row.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

No way I'd spend that much time in a cinema! I'd have gotten rickets by the time I came out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

but I ALWAYS kicked knackers out.

Did you get that's discrimination remark :pac: ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

I can barely sit thru one movie never mind two.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

My local cinema only has one screen :mad:

Did you get that's discrimination remark :pac: ?

era f**k em, nothing but pests the whole time I was there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

My local cinema only has one screen :mad:

WTF that is pathetic Hahahaha. Where do you live? Craggy Island?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Keno 92 wrote: »
    AND they have bingo in it three nights a week:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

I doubt it's that difficult to do really.

your taking the piss?! where are you from?

Says the person from the metropolis of Waterford. Were they handing out City Status for coupons or something?:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

Degag wrote: »
    Says the person from the metropolis of Waterford. Were they handing out City Status for coupons or something?:pac:

Pffft, Dubliners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

Omg man that is sad. I actually feel a bit bad for ya :/

cocoshovel wrote: »
    Pffft, Dubliners.
    Long way away from Dublin i'm afraid!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

Omg man that is sad. I actually feel a bit bad for ya :/

There isn't even a cinema in my county...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Did it once years ago. Went to see that DREADFUL Guy Ritchie movie Revolver. It was so bad we felt cheated so we decided we'd sneak into another movie about to start.

We sat down, pleased as punch we hadn't been caught.

It was Revolver again. Ball*cks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

Degag wrote: »

What exactly does the necessary size of a town to become a city have to do with cinemas? There's a 9 screen cinema here in Arklow ffs, so wherever yer man is from must be pretty bloody rural to only have a lone screen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

I've always wanted to try this, but my friends are such bloody do-gooders that I don't think they'd do it with me, and I wouldn't have the balls to do it on my own (although I'd probably be less likely to get caught if I was on my own, but who wants to go to a film on their own?).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,361 ✭✭✭mgmt

I do it lots of times with my gf. Easy to do in the Savoy upstairs and UGC in Dublin.

What exactly does the necessary size of a town to become a city have to do with cinemas? There's a 9 screen cinema here in Arklow ffs, so wherever yer man is from must be pretty bloody rural to only have a lone screen.
    Dunno, ask Keno.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭sumsar

a few years ago i went to the cinemas with some mates we went and watched lars and the real girl.... 30 minutes into the film i just had to leave.... but because i payed and wanted to see a movie i walked into a different film and watched it

didnt get caught thank god but the second film wasnt much better.. it starred keanu reeves :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭The Scientician

I don't think I've the required ass stamina to watch 2 movies in a row.

I spend 20 hours a day on the internet so I probably could, except I never leave the house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

I spend 20 hours a day on the internet

Lightweight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭stiffler123

Ya I've done it a couple of times. I always make sure the "free movie" has been out for a few weeks though to minimize my chance of being caught.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Never do it because there's rarely ever more than 1 decent film on. They're all crap!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

my friend used to do this all the time get 2 or 3 in. seems simple to do, never any staff around.

Four movies on a Saturday is my personal record.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Four movies on a Saturday is my personal record.

How's your nutsack btw?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Did this regularly a number of years back with two mates until we got caught, staff were more annoyed about the bags of food and cans we smuggled in. :p

I'm surprised cinemas don't cash in on this and offer all day passes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Forest Master

What sort of a loser is even arsed doing this? 1 movie is enough. And you probably missed the start too - makes no sense. It's as if they're doing it just because it's free, when it's pretty-much pointless and the movie is probably sh*te.
    It's like being offered a Centra roll after you've had a nice meal, and trying to cram it in just because it's free. Bums.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭LJD10

did it once years ago back in my student days....we went to see Scooby Doo :o and it was so bad we left after 5 mins and sneaked into see Resident Evil

Not sure which one makes me more of a loser, going to see Scooby Doo or sneaking into another film :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

Yeah. Once went to three movies in a row. Then Cineworld introduced allocated seating :mad:

What sort of a loser is even arsed doing this? 1 movie is enough. And you probably missed the start too - makes no sense. It's as if they're doing it just because it's free, when it's pretty-much pointless and the movie is probably sh*te.
    It's like being offered a Centra roll after you've had a nice meal, and trying to cram it in just because it's free. Bums.

What? You're a loser if you want to watch one movie after another?

"And the movie is probably sh*te". And your food analogy makes no sense! it's nothing like that at all! What the hell are you on about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I can't do this, I don't go to filthy multiplexes anymore.

Sometimes I go into Cineworld and ask what's showing in Screen 2 though, I love that little guy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Jet Black

Went to see the beverly hillbillies in my local that only had two screens,but it wasn't well signposted were it was so we just went into one and sat down. Film started and it was true lies:) Thought feck it. Got about half way in before we were kicked out. We were probably the only two to buy tickets to the hillbillies so thats how we got caught:-(

Got to see the best scene with jamie lee anyway:-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭du Maurier

I've always wanted to try this, but my friends are such bloody do-gooders that I don't think they'd do it with me, and I wouldn't have the balls to do it on my own (although I'd probably be less likely to get caught if I was on my own, but who wants to go to a film on their own?).

I do, quite a bit, and I would imagine many do too. It's not like you get in there, the film kicks off and then you start chatting. They're not really needed once the film starts so no reason why someone wouldn't go to the cinema on their own.

du Maurier wrote: »
    I do, quite a bit, and I would imagine many do too. It's not like you get in there, the film kicks off and then you start chatting. They're not really needed once the film starts so no reason why someone wouldn't go to the cinema on their own.

I could never go to the cinema on my own. It'd be weird. But mainly because I love to enjoy movies with others. Sure I watch movies at home on my own but much prefer to watch with other people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Aoifey! wrote: »
    I've done it a few times, works best if there's an upstairs in the cinema as there aren't generally many workers around. I used to hide in the bathroom til all the people from the first had left and then walk into the next one as the crowd was coming.

That makes me sound like such a scabby bastard :o

At least you end up paying a decent price...per movie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

Bourne Ultimantum followed by Transformers 1,(the only good one) which my brother had gone to see, only missed the first two minutes!

Nice Combo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

No way I'd spend that much time in a cinema! I'd have gotten rickets by the time I came out.

Are you saying tickets in a Scooby Doo voice, and if so, why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Dunjohn

"Rickets" is actually a thing.

/buzzkill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Oh.

I liked it better when I thought it was an impromptu mid sentence scooby doo impression.