Out of Control Children in Restaurants / Public Places

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

it's the only record I'll ever hold on boards. anyway, I stand by it. Nobody, absolutely nobody has any idea what it's like raising kids till you've done it yourself. it may be overused, but that doesn't mean it's not true.

Bollix tbh.

We are not talking about raising kids, we are talking about controlling kids in a public space, the example being given was two people who did absolutely nothing to control their two children.

With regard to this specific thread then anyone who has ever baby sat a niece, nephew or friends child and been in public with them has more than enough experience to comment.

You argument is just the usual rubbish that is rolled out during these threads, it's neither valid nor applicable to the discussion.

You said yourself that if your kids were acting up you would be trying to calm them down and keep them calm in those circumstances, i am unsure why you are going out of your way to defend those parents who don't give a ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

God. 3rd kid bashing thread on Boards in 2 days.

It is 100% the parents' fault here. young kids WILL get bored, and they WILL run around, especially if they're lads.
    Solution? Don't BRING them to places where peace and quiet are required. It's completely unreasonable.

It's like bringing a dog to a cat farm and expecting him not to flip out and go a bit crazy. Just doesn't work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

Plazaman wrote: »
    Can't see why one of the wait staff or managment didn't say something to the parents as it is in the interest of Health & Safety that the kids shouldn't be running beneath the feet of waiting staff unless the want to get a nice hot bowl of soup of the day over them (might have done the trick tbh).

My own experience of a little brat no so long ago where he was running around then came up to my table and proceeded to grab a handful of chips of a plate and run off again. Needless to say on his next run by the table a foot got in his way and he tripped nicely. Not proud of what I did and I was awaiting scorn from the other tables around me but just got smiles and one thumbs up from the other customers who got to eat the rest of their meals in peace as Mummy decided to gather up the brat and take him outside.

Sure you did. You're a hero:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭JoeyJJ

I'll vote on the not impossible to have children of any age behave properly in public and not unduly disturb others who have to right to enjoy their meals.

If I did anything stupid in public as a child I would hear about it and not do it again. My daughter is getting to know that now and it will be reinforced further as her childhood progresses.

Still have to test the cinema yet however was thinking of doing that soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

Bollix tbh.

We are not talking about raising kids, we are talking about controlling kids in a public space, the example being given was two people who did absolutely nothing to control their two children.

With regard to this specific thread then anyone who has ever baby sat a niece, nephew or friends child and been in public with them has more than enough experience to comment.

You argument is just the usual rubbish that is rolled out during these threads, it's neither valid nor applicable to the discussion.

Course it is. You're being silly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭JoeyJJ

It is 100% the parents' fault here. young kids WILL get bored, and they WILL run around, especially if they're lads.
    Solution? Don't BRING them to places where peace and quiet are required. It's completely unreasonable.

It's like bringing a dog to a cat farm and expecting him not to flip out and go a bit crazy. Just doesn't work.

Agree to a certain extent, bring your kids however prepare for the social situation correctly and do not take the piss by expecting the child to be fully cooperable for a extended period of time.

if you go to a hotel for dinner with kids, don't stay there half the day with the kids, depending on age keep the time reasonable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭EL_Loco

"How much for zee children?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭Tayla

My 5 year old is very well behaved 99% of the time, if we're out and he's misbehaving usually once told to stop then he does, however there has been one occasion in the past where he would not calm down no matter how hard I tried and at the end of the day seeing as I had to pay for the dinner, I was staying there until I was finished.

Kids can have off days just like adults can so please don't always presume that a bratty child is always like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

I was on a transatlantic flight once and there was a child crying incessantly with the parents making no attempt to stop the infant crying. So a stranger approached the mother to walk the child up and down the aisle. Within a minute the child was quite and falling asleep. Some parents haven't a clue and make no effort to learn how to be a good parent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 903 ✭✭✭bernardo mac

D1stant wrote: »
    LOL
    Neutered AND Banned? Doesnt the former kind of guarantee things?

Of course that should include adoption:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

Bollix tbh.

You said yourself that if your kids were acting up you would be trying to calm them down and keep them calm in those circumstances, i am unsure why you are going out of your way to defend those parents who don't give a ****.

Well, speaking as someone who has babysat normal, well-behaved children and wild, uncontrollable ones, I would think it depends quite heavily on what sort of tone the parent sets for behaviour in a public place.

I, and my siblings, were well-behaved because we knew the threats of no dessert, no bedtime story, no toy, watching a certain tv programme would be carried out. I've seen the same with friends' kids and nieces and nephews and cousins, etc. So many parents though try to control their kids with empty threats which are never carried out. So the kids don't have any understanding of the consequences of bad behaviour.

I'm not talking about a little moan when the food isn't brought out, or whining because little brother got more chips or whatever. It's the real running around like a lunatic that is not impossible to train if you bring enough stuff to distract the kids with. I'm always amazed by kids in restaurants who have nothing to play with and are expected to sit quietly. Give them some colouring, or bring a toy, or an iPhone to play games on even!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

D1stant wrote: »
    LOL
    Neutered AND Banned? Doesnt the former kind of guarantee things?

Adoption!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

Bollix tbh.

i'm sure when you have kids of your own you'll do what every parent in the history of the world has not managed to do - keep toddlers and small children from running around and be well behaved 100% of the time. all hail logical fallacy - who hasn't a f'ucking clue what he's on about.

and BTW, the only way to teach a child good behaviour in the long run can be to ignore a tantrum.

i'm not defending lazy parents who dont give a f'uck - i'm defending every parent who puts up with arrognant bulls'hit from the likes of you every time their 2 year old has a strop in public...something you think you could prevent with your spawn, best of luck with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Bullseye1 wrote: »
    I was on a transatlantic flight once and there was a child crying incessantly with the parents making no attempt to stop the infant crying. So a stranger approached the mother to walk the child up and down the aisle. Within a minute the child was quite and falling asleep. Some parents haven't a clue and make no effort to learn how to be a good parent.

he clearly drugged the child.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

mattjack wrote: »
    he clearly drugged the child.........

LOL. I know that the child's ears can pop on landing/taking off. It cannot be pleasant for the poor toodler.

Bullseye1 wrote: »

I wouldnt let any stranger near my children.................

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

Rule of thumb. I think I mentioned this in the other thread to.

Finish your meal early. Tell the manager that you are leaving due to the unruly children.......

They won't put up for it for long if they know its loosing them business.

Hence signs like "Children must be seated at all times". "Parents must not allow children to run around" etc.

Or if I owned my own establishment "Parents who do not keep their children under control will be asked to leave".

I'd have no problem alienating people that think the world revolves around their little ones.

Obviously parents need to take responsibility but the fact is that kids are indeed kids at times and that can be annoying for people in public places. My children are 4 and 2 aswell and we try our very very best to ensure they are well behaved in and not a nuisance when out and about - however - it doesn't always work like that. Lets say we go for a family meal and they sit still for a while and are generally good. We've ordered 2 steaks and kids meals, then one of them gets in a fowler over something stupid and wont stay quiet. For a parent, that's a choice between leaving without the meal but prob still paying or trying your best over what can sometimes be a bit of time calming them down...it's this period where 'people who dont have kids' get pissed off, but what's a parent to do!!

I know kids are kids, but I'm sick of parents who just expect others to put up with awful, annoying behaviour in public places. If I'm paying 50 quid for a meal in a nice restaurant, I'm not going to put up with children running around my table while the idiotic parents just smile. If your children can't behave, don't take them out to restaurants, full stop. My parents hardly ever went out to dinner when I was a kid, I don't remember it being an entitlement. Some young children have excellent manners and know how to behave appropriately in a restaurant. For those that don't, there's McDonald's or the local park for a picnic. I rarely get annoyed with kids acting up in places like the airport where it can't really be helped (providing the parents are making some effort to control them), but sometimes I wonder why the parents can't just go on child-friendly outings.

i'm sure when you have kids of your own you'll do what every parent in the history of the world has not managed to do - keep toddlers and small children from running around and be well behaved 100% of the time. all hail logical fallacy - who hasn't a f'ucking clue what he's on about.

Wow, i have never seen someone so spectacularly miss a point. Ever.

Well done.

Who is saying they need to behave 100% or the time, or even 1% of the time?

The issue is that the parents were doing absolutely nothing at all to control their kids.

I am also unsure as to why you are mentioning tantrums, from the description the kids were in great form and were just playing...the issue is that they were causing a hindrance to other diners and staff.

Did you even read the thread?

Pretty odd as you think i am the one who doesn't know what i am talking about...while you are the one who seems to be replying to a different thread.

You've rolled out the "you don't know what it's like until you are parents", now you are doing the old bringing stuff up that wasn't even being discussed.

What's next i wonder?

I'm also failing to see where my "arrogant bull****" is?

Admit it, you take this kind of thread personally even though it's not about you and now you are just sitting there with your feelings all hurt.

Poor baby.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭booboo88

Malari wrote: »
    Of course they can be trained to behave. What a load of crap! I'll admit not every child is well-behaved and some are extremely difficult, but the OP is talking about kids whose parents do nothing to even try to get them to behave appropriately in a restaurant.
    donalg1 wrote: »
    Course they can, i never behaved like that when i was younger because i knew my parents wouldnt let me. Maybe its the parents that can't be programmed to be parents
    i was the same, you soon learned you were never to do it again
    OneArt wrote: »
    When I was that age I would've been terrified to defy my parents in any way, because I knew that if we ran around screaming and shouting we wouldn't get any dessert :(. Then again it was South Africa and every child there is either well-behaved or fed to the crocodiles.

I used to work in a family restaurant as a waiter... Shoot me. Day shifts during the week were fine but come weekends or after school and it was nightmare city. And we never had enough crayons and paper for all the children there. The amount of times I nearly dropped hot food on a kid's head because they kept running into me... Argh!
    the boogey man was coming to get us, or no xmas pressies.

theres nothin worse in public places having unruly kids, or unruly adults, went for a swim the other day and a man in his 30's made more noise than the kids

booboo88 wrote: »
    i was the same, you soon learned you were never to do it again

the boogey man was coming to get us, or no xmas pressies.

theres nothin worse in public places having unruly kids, or unruly adults, went for a swim the other day and a man in his 30's made more noise than the kids

maybe he was being fed to a crocodile..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭donalg1

and BTW, the only way to teach a child good behaviour in the long run can be to ignore a tantrum.

i'm not defending lazy parents who dont give a f'uck - i'm defending every parent who puts up with arrognant bulls'hit from the likes of you every time their 2 year old has a strop in public...something you think you could prevent with your spawn, best of luck with that.

I can tell you now i will manage to have well behaved kids because i will take the time to raise them right and not just sit on my ass and watch them run amok

donalg1 wrote: »
    I can tell you now i will manage to have well behaved kids because i will take the time to raise them right and not just sit on my ass and watch them run amok

I used think that myself.........

I was having a drink in the Players last night..and my two set the place on fire...after tying up the manager..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

Obviously parents need to take responsibility
    The issue is that the parents were doing absolutely nothing at all to control their kids.

I think it's funny that thebigbiffo is getting so hysterical over your posts when you're both arguing the same thing: the issue here isn't just kids acting the maggot, it's the parents doing nothing.

I think it's fairly ridiculous to claim that people without kids have no right to an opinion on this. Most of us know people who have kids or raised kids, and we can see the rights and wrongs of people's behaviour when their kids are in public. If your kids are acting the maggot, the usual solution is to bring your kids outside. This works on two levels: you show respect to your fellow diners that you're actually doing something about the situation, and you can have a serious chat with your kid and let them know that their behaviour is definitely not going to be accepted. It works every time I've been out with my sister and her kids.

I think it's funny that thebigbiffo is getting so hysterical over your posts when you're both arguing the same thing

Well, Biffo didn't seem to read the OP so i am gonna assume he hasn't been reading my posts either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭chicken fingers

I agree fully. If you can't train your kids how to behave, stay in McDonalds.
    However, IF it happened that my kid or kids were being rambunctious and annoying you.
    And
    IF I caught you stick out your foot to trip my child (or a niece, godchild, etc).
    I would send them home with their mom immediately, and violently beat the living crap out of you where you sat.
    I'm not joking, and I know I am not alone in having both protective and violent streaks.

Presumably the original tale was just nonsense. But be well aware of this before you try to physically harm anybodies child. I know people who have killed others for similar actions. (Not Irish, and admittedly in countries where life is worth the price of a pint, but the fact standa)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

I agree fully. If you can't train your kids how to behave, stay in McDonalds.
    However, IF it happened that my kid or kids were being rambunctious and annoying you.
    And
    IF I caught you stick out your foot to trip my child (or a niece, godchild, etc).
    I would send them home with their mom immediately, and violently beat the living crap out of you where you sat.
    I'm not joking, and I know I am not alone in having both protective and violent streaks.

Presumably the original tale was just nonsense. But be well aware of this before you try to physically harm anybodies child. I know people who have killed others for similar actions. (Not Irish, and admittedly in countries where life is worth the price of a pint, but the fact standa)

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/crime/8600741/Father-smashed-wine-bottle-over-diners-head-in-Indian-restaurant-row.html

Waiters would want to watch out in case they get beaten to a pulp for accidentally spilling hot liquid on someone's tearaway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭looky loo

Saw this sign in a restaurant....'Unattended children will be given expressos and free puppies'....:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 229 ✭✭0O7

The problem with kids that age - as you may know if you had any, which i suspect you dont - is that they rarely sit still and can be very hard to get to do so. the fact is you can't lock kids up just because some people are annoyed by kids doing what kids do.

can they not pay for a babysitter instead of annoying everybody else??

afterall, they had the kids. if they insist on bringing the kids for one reason or another, can they not go to a suitable place where this kind of thing is ok, suck as mcdonnalds etc?

it can be very frustrating if people pay for a babysitter and head out for an evening meal / drink and some other ******* leaves their kids rome free like animals....