Survey reveals a 44% pay gap between public and private sector

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭SBWife

There's no logic that definitively says those on increments are the best performers, you yourself suggested
    practically no-one gets a low enough rating to merit not getting their increment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,625 ✭✭✭fliball123

Itchianus wrote: »
    Sorry could you expand on this a bit?

Are you saying there should be no salary scales at all then, or what?

And I should continue to be forever paid 20k a year less than my longer serving colleagues who are arguably less qualified and less IT literate than me?

If you haven't read my previous posts on this thread could you please maybe have a look at them, and maybe address some of my points, preferably with something more specific than "increments should be stopped", or a suggestion for how you would adjust the pay structure to try to retain any high skilled and well qualified staff in a PS without increments.

No not forever but until this 18billion is closed it should definately be stopped..

You always have the option of moving to a job that pays better?

The fact is your pay should be adjusted downwards if anything....

If a highly skilled and well qualified staff member wants to quit..Go for it..There would be no shortage of people who could do the same job for less.

The ps needs to be incentivised using the stick as the dangling the carrot is not working

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭Itchianus

fliball123 wrote: »
    No not forever but until this 18billion is closed it should definately be stopped..

You always have the option of moving to a job that pays better?

The fact is your pay should be adjusted downwards if anything....

If a highly skilled and well qualified staff member wants to quit..Go for it..There would be no shortage of people who could do the same job for less.

The ps needs to be incentivised using the stick as the dangling the carrot is not working

So, a race to the bottom is your solution. Classy.

I do indeed have the option of moving to a job that pays better, thanks for pointing that out! And I may do that depending on what happens in future.

You aren't really addressing the concerns I've raised though - if the PS doesn't offer a package commensurate with the private sector at a given level, then you won't be able to hire and retain people with the requisite skills or capability to do these jobs, certainly not in the long term.

Your focus is very much short term - it is generally agreed that the greatest asset of any large organisation is it's people, and you seem to have no regard whatsoever for this fact, that you won't ever get efficient public services if govt depts are staffed with people who are only there til they can find a better paying private sector job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,308 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Would you all not be better off discussing why we are paying the debts of gamblers who don't even live here ?
    You mean why didn't the public sector do their job and put in proper regulations?

So, a race to the bottom is your solution. Classy.

I do indeed have the option of moving to a job that pays better, thanks for pointing that out! And I may do that depending on what happens in future.

You aren't really addressing the concerns I've raised though - if the PS doesn't offer a package commensurate with the private sector at a given level, then you won't be able to hire and retain people with the requisite skills or capability to do these jobs, certainly not in the long term.

Your focus is very much short term - it is generally agreed that the greatest asset of any large organisation is it's people, and you seem to have no regard whatsoever for this fact, that you won't ever get efficient public services if govt depts are staffed with people who are only there til they can find a better paying private sector job.

What are you on about the PS is overpaid in comparison to the private sector as pointed out by the CSO...As I say if someone doing a specialist job such as yourself IT there are jobs in the private sector which may or may not pay you more..But threre will be at least 100 graduates or people on the dole who would be able to do your job after a months training and paying less...How is that short sited..Short sited is not addressing the 18 billion deficit using mechanisms under the govs control one of those mechanisms is PS pay..All increments should be stopped now...As for people being its greatest asset ... People usually get to a stage in their job when they think they can not be replaced...That is until they are...As I say stop the increments feel free to leave this will save us a fortune on giving out redundancies and penions contributions and there will be a young buck waiting in the wings to do it for much lesser wage than you .... You say a race to the bottom I say getting bang for my buck as a tax payer..

SBWife wrote: »
    There's no logic that definitively says those on increments are the best performers, you yourself suggested
    practically no-one gets a low enough rating to merit not getting their increment.

The fact that they are the ones who have most recently come through competitive recruitment / promotion processes would suggest that, on average, these people have at least in the relatively recent past, outperformed their colleagues.

I'd gladly hear your counterargument to my logic, I'm not saying I'm right, but it makes sense to me!

Now maybe you could actually address the rest of my numerous points?

if govt depts are staffed with people who are only there til they can find a better paying private sector job.

You said it yourself that there are other advantages to working for the government - security, better holiday package, a defined benefit pension plan, flextime (in certain roles). People value these things differently those that put a higher value on the above (normally those that are financially more risk averse) will work for the Government and those who put a higher value pay but are willing to take more personal risk in terms of security and pensions etc. will work in the private sector.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

As I say if someone doing a specialist job such as yourself IT there are jobs in the private sector which may or may not pay you more..But threre will be at least 100 graduates or people on the dole who would be able to do your job after a months training and paying less..

At least in the case of IT this is unlikely to be true.

The more nuanced posters here would say that many, but not all, PS jobs are straightforward and could be easily done by someone else, but of course you don't do nuance or logic. But other posts are both skilled and needed and there is no advantage to driving these people out. The IT people, for instance, are needed to automate processes so that less clerks are needed. Having the accountants in the Revenue leave and instead help people avoid tax will not not reduce the deficit.

The fact that they are the ones who have most recently come through competitive recruitment / promotion processes would suggest that, on average, these people have at least in the relatively recent past, outperformed their colleagues.

I'd gladly hear your counterargument to my logic, I'm not saying I'm right, but it makes sense to me!

Now maybe you could actually address the rest of my numerous points?

Actually they outperformed their former colleagues and the people who didn't get the job, depending on how many were recruited/promoted at a given time they may have under-performed versus the rest of the group. There has to be a cut off somewhere. As Jack Welsh would say there's always a bottom 5%.

ardmacha wrote: »
    At least in the case of IT this is unlikely to be true.

The more nuanced posters here would say that many PS jobs are straightforward and could be easily done by someone else, but of course you don't do nuance or logic. But other posts are both skilled and needed and there is no advantage to driving these people out. The IT people, for instance, are needed to automate processes so that less clerks are needed. Having the accountants in the Revenue leave and instead help people avoid tax will not not reduce the deficit.

Ardmacha with the exception of possibly programming...IT processes can be documented and then a person trained up by someone else doing the same job for a month and the job can be done..Programming is the one area were you need to be able to adapt and you cannot process that...But things such as backups, Data retention, Data entry, DBAs, and other such areas there are graduates who would be able to do that as I say.....Stop the increment and lets see how many public servants leave?? I would bet there wouldnt any more than 100

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,127 ✭✭✭RichardAnd

Ardmacha with the exception of possibly programming...IT processes can be documented and then a person trained up by someone else doing the same job for a month and the job can be done..Programming is the one area were you need to be able to adapt and you cannot process that...But things such as backups, Data retention, Data entry, DBAs, and other such areas there are graduates who would be able to do that as I say.....Stop the increment and lets see how many public servants leave?? I would bet there wouldnt any more than 100

You clearly have no idea how IT systems work or what such roles involve. Installing and configuring a server isn't programming but I can tell you that it's only easy to someone with considerable experience. A DBA is a person responcible for very important and often sensitive data, if he messes up then he could destroy a whole data base. Jobs for graduates, I think not.

RichardAnd wrote: »
    You clearly have no idea how IT systems work or what such roles involve. Installing and configuring a server isn't programming but I can tell you that it's only easy to someone with considerable experience. A DBA is a person responcible for very important and often sensitive data, if he messes up then he could destroy a whole data base. Jobs for graduates, I think not.

Did I say it was and I work in IT my point is if the current IT infrastructure is documented and you have a graduate and given a months training by someone doing the job..They would be able to do most things IT based as I said the only job with in the IT remit that would not fall under this Document - Training based approach is programming.

Install any server you have to follow a set of steps..which should be documented anyone who has a degree in an IT related field and has an average IQ should be able to complete this easily. As for a DBA once again techniques such as back up , data entry, synchonising etc should be all documented and with a months training to a graduate they would have no problem.....As I said before people think they are irreplaceable until they are..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,157 ✭✭✭srsly78

Clicking next, next, next is not that difficult :pac: IT janitor jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭The_Thing

If it were as simple as what fliball123 and others seem to believe it to be there'd be no need for IT professionals to use the likes of Q & A sites like http://serverfault.com/, http://stackoverflow.com/, or http://superuser.com/

As an example. even people such as Jon Skeet, a Google engineer based in London and author of 'C# In Depth' has questions he asks on StackOverflow.

The_Thing wrote: »

If it were as simple as what fliball123 and others seem to believe it to be there'd be no need for IT professionals to use the likes of Q & A sites like http://serverfault.com/, http://stackoverflow.com/, or http://superuser.com/

As an example. even people such as Jon Skeet, a Google engineer based in London and author of 'C# In Depth' has questions he asks on StackOverflow.

As I pointed out already Programming is one area in IT that I would aggree you would need to pay a premium or outsource it to the private sector..But backing up ..DBA and other day to day sys admin IT jobs could be done by a Computer Science Degree graduate or simular experience with a months training by a person already doing the job.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,127 ✭✭✭RichardAnd

As I pointed out already Programming is one area in IT that I would aggree you would need to pay a premium or outsource it to the private sector..But backing up ..DBA and other day to day sys admin IT jobs could be done by a Computer Science Degree graduate or simular experience with a months training by a person already doing the job.......

Some IT jobs could be done by virtually anyone but you're just throwing them out in such a manner that suggests you don't know what the involve. Just because the job title of DBA contains the word "administrator" does not in the least mean it is anything like what that word is generally taken to mean.

It might also shock you to know that programming isn't the paradigm of IT you think it is. Some basic programs could be written by first year computer science students and be perfectly usable. In short, you haven't a clue what you're on about.

I'm sorry for jumping on your back here and I mean no insult but I am sick of people posting here on things they really don't understand...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭The_Thing

As I pointed out already Programming is one area in IT that I would aggree you would need to pay a premium or outsource it to the private sector

I don't agree on the need for outsourcing.

We've had a very capable programmer in our IT dept who wrote a videogame in C++ \ OpenGL for his final year project and he wasn't on great money while he was with us. He's since gone on to work for a games developer in England.

What is your area of speciality within IT, fliball123?

Some IT jobs could be done by virtually anyone but you're just throwing them out in such a manner that suggests you don't know what the involve. Just because the job title of DBA contains the word "administrator" does not in the least mean it is anything like what that word is generally taken to mean.

It might also shock you to know that programming isn't the paradigm of IT you think it is. Some basic programs could be written by first year computer science students and be perfectly usable. In short, you haven't a clue what you're on about.

I'm sorry for jumping on your back here and I mean no insult but I am sick of people posting here on things they really don't understand...

Would you stop I am over IT administrators in my company with DBAs and the likes reporting in to me and when the lads were looking for pay rises over the last number of years infact they all got a 15% pay cut and I past on what was said to me by my boss..If you dont like it we will get Graduates in. Our company deals with server rebuilds, Virtualisation, clusters and Databases to name but a few technologies that we deal in..So dont tell me I dont know what I am doing because I have been doing it successully for the last number of years...A number of lads left we employed graduates had them trained for a month and made sure that anyone leaving documented their day to day responsibilities..In effect we cut out wage cost by 1/10th which meant the paycuts stopped...As for your DBA I know this is a Database Admin..My whole point going back on this is that if people in the PS should not think that they are not replaceable as they are

The_Thing wrote: »
    I don't agree on the need for outsourcing.

We've had a very capable programmer in our IT dept who wrote a videogame in C++ \ OpenGL for his final year project and he wasn't on great money while he was with us. He's since gone on to work for a games developer in England.

What is your area of speciality within IT, fliball123?

i would be a floater..Do some programming, seting up clusters, Setting up Virtualisation, server rebuilds Unix and windows...a jack of all trades been in the sector for 20years now...

And you appear to think that your IT methodology can be applied to all jobs everywhere. Do tell me how the following public sector workers can be replaced by some graduate with a month's training (and I'd love to see how these jobs can be documented):

Garda, nurse, customs officer, tax inspector...

And I suppose you could draw up a document that would allow a raw grad to walk in the door and be doing your job as well as you and for less money within a month?

And you appear to think that your IT methodology can be applied to all jobs everywhere. Do tell me how the following public sector workers can be replaced by some graduate with a month's training (and I'd love to see how these jobs can be documented):

Garda, nurse, customs officer, tax inspector...

And I suppose you could draw up a document that would allow a raw grad to walk in the door and be doing your job as well as you and for less money within a month?

Well a guard has how much training in Templemore?? So thats how long it is to replace them.

Nurse loads of student nurses coming out of college at present..

Remember everyone in the ps started somewhere...and lets be clear its not exactly doing a great job now is it..My references were for IT and admin based I thought that would of been pretty clear but some people need it spelt out in black and white.

I have my job documented there are many facets and I reckon a grad with mayb 6 months to a year would be able to do the job I do...Its up to my boss to see if I am worth the cash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,229 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

EXPLAIN?

Do I seriously need to?

Wages in private sector go up then the cost of goods and services go up and the cost of public sector wages go up so they can afford goods and services...

Do I seriously need to?

Wages in private sector go up then the cost of goods and services go up and the cost of public sector wages go up so they can afford goods and services...

really so what are we the theory that disproves the rule..The private sector have been coming down in wages..Have you not noticed that or have you buried your head in the sand and yet the other 2 are going up

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Its always IT people who complain about public sector pay and the reason is this....they're scared shiitless of an increase in corporation tax and a consequent exporting of thier jobs overseas to cheaper countries.

I FOR ONE WILL NOT BE SORRY TO SEE THEM GO..THE it SECTOR HAS SPAWNED UNBELEIVABLE ARROGANCE,GREED AND STUPIDITY.

Degsy wrote: »
    Its always IT people who complain about public sector pay and the reason is this....they're scared shiitless of an increase in corporation tax and a consequent exporting of thier jobs overseas to cheaper countries.

I FOR ONE WILL NOT BE SORRY TO SEE THEM GO..THE it SECTOR HAS SPAWNED UNBELEIVABLE ARROGANCE,GREED AND STUPIDITY.

I'm not an IT person and I've huge issues with the pay and organisation of the public sector.

And anyone who would be not be sorry to see a huge outflow of jobs from this country at this time is IMHO a bloody idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,630 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

the_syco wrote: »
    You mean why didn't the public sector do their job and put in proper regulations?

Are you really saying it was the public sectors fault there was no proper regulation the ones who do that is called the goverment and its the top civil servants who have those cosy contracts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭Nijmegen

And the odd wealth creating job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,308 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

scary wrote: »
    I work in the private sector and i get a pay rise every year and a bonus and my wife works in the public sector and her wages are decreasing every year, there are thousands like this in Ireland.
    This whole public sector better off than private sector isn't as black and white as its made out.
    What is this "pay rise" you speak of? Me, nor anyone I know that works in the private sector have gotten one of these "pay rises" in the last couple of years. I know of a few who from the private sector who no longer have a job. Due to these new taxes, my take-home pay has gone down recently.

Black and white it is not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,630 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Hang on if you get more money for doing the same job (Gross Pay) its a pay increment...You guys have such double standards..When people in the private sector say that your Pension levy is a contribution to a defined benefit ..The argument is that its a pay cut..We get paid less....So using the logic of your ilk..This is a payrise..how ever you want to dress it up it costs 1/4 of billion more every year for the tax payer

Actually the pension levy has been called a pay cut by the previous goverment and this goverment a number of times when they had to show that the money does not go into our pension but into paying of the debt not going into the public sector pension kitty. And if you read my post you would have seen I said I am getting up to what my maxium wage should be. I have no problem with having only 1 pay level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,157 ✭✭✭srsly78

Down with fat-cat librarians that spend all day on boards :P