What is the most outrageous piece of B**s***e you have ever heard?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭chloek

I promise you the best night of your life:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,433 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭latenia

From several different histrionic women, one or more from "I have cancer," "I was raped," "I'm pregnant" etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,077 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

Columbia wrote: »
    You should hear some of the stuff one of my friends comes out with.

The one which really sticks out for me is the time he told me all about how he's been a lifelong United fan, been to loads of important Champions League matches, knows Old Trafford like the back of his hand, was at Ryan Giggs' first match and Eric Cantona's last. Thing he doesn't seem to know is that I distinctly remember back in the early days of the friendship (5 years ago) he declared his hatred for football and had no idea who Steven Gerrard was.

edit: oh yeah, I've also posted about this girl several times on boards, but I had an ex-girlfriend who used to "get attacked" or be involved in near-fatal accidents every single time we fell out. It was all to get pity from me, and to my great shame it worked for several months.

That's just your typical United fan, he will be wearing a sky blue shirt in a couple of years:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭Shelli2

Well known waffler in my place of regular worship (pub), topped it all one night, when he tried to convince us he had a hoverboard like the one from 'Back to the Future', but it was to rare and precious to take out so no-one could see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,002 ✭✭✭bijapos

Theres this fella, (lets call him Joe) who often drinks in my local. His job involves him going to Liverpool for 3-4 days about 3 times a month. (This much is true). He claims when he is in Liverpool he is mates with Carragher, Gerrard and the others, goes out drinking with them, claimed that Reina offered to give him Spanish lessons and so on and on.

Either way last night I went to the pub for two quick ones before closing, where I met Mal, a mate. He said "Joe" was in earlier, had just got back from Liverpool and spent 20 mins saying himself and Gerrard were out on the tear in Liverpool on Saturday night and played some 5-a-side yesterday morning before he came back to Dublin. Mal let him talk, then told him that Gerrard has been in hospital for the last couple of days with a groin infection and is out of the squad for a few weeks. Showed him an article on the phone to confirm this.

Joe then says its all a smokescreen as Dalglish wants to dupe Ferguson, Wenger etc into believing he is injured.......etc etc etc, kept digging a bigger hole, then drank up and left, I hope thats the last we'll hear of him tbh.

Its pathetic when a bull****ter cant do a bit of basic research on thei crap story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

drinking acquaintance announced in local that cigarettes dont give you lung cancer...also my wife told me that she hadnt drank that much the night before....this after I found her asleep on the landing with a snackbox clutched to her chest in a "deadmans grip"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,183 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

ziggy23 wrote: »
    As a kid I was told if you picked chewing gum off the ground you'd grow a fox's tail:confused:

Stopped me doing it anyway!

What, stopped you growing a tail ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,244 ✭✭✭✭bnt

For industrial strength B**s***e, I haven't yet found anything to surpass the field of "Postmodernism". Have a read of this page, if you can, but I won't blame you if you skip to the notes at the end ... :rolleyes:

Government resting upon the will and universal suffrage of the people has no anchorage except in the people's intelligence.

— Grover Cleveland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭Injuryprone

pa1 wrote: »
    I was told in the pub tonight by a drunk fella that the best hurler he ever saw had one hand!
    I've heard a lot but can't recall it now!

Maybe he was talking about Evan MacNamara.......................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

Anything found on Match of the Day after an England game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Dan133269

bnt wrote: »
    For industrial strength B**s***e, I haven't yet found anything to surpass the field of "Postmodernism". Have a read of this page, if you can, but I won't blame you if you skip to the notes at the end ... :rolleyes:

Haha you hit the nail on the head there. Although I'm sure someone will come along telling us we just don't understand it's complexity.
    In college I wrote an essay on postmodernism, for which I got an A. I shared the essay with a friend, (not plagiarising, it was just in preparation for a written exam) and when I gave it to him, he was convinced I was playing a prank on him it was so ridiculous. He showed it to another friend who said the same thing :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 526 ✭✭✭7Sins

MLH1 wrote: »
    This being Ireland and all I have always been fascinated by pub chats and that about people being so full of s****, once meet a guy who claimed he could say mass from his time living with students priests in college.!!! yeah right!!

Sure anyone could do that :confused: isn't it the same sh*te everyweek :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

chloek wrote: »
    I promise you the best night of your life:rolleyes:

You misheard me.I said I promise you the best night of my life! :)
    This was also a lie. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

mikemac wrote: »
    There was the girl I brought home once and she said:
    "none of your fancy stuff, horse it in"

This girl gets around, I've been hearing that story all over Ireland

Also the one about Bono and Bruce Springsteen in Chapter One.
    Boy they must be there every eve because the amount of people I know whose friends asked Bono's "friend" (Bruce) to take a pic of them with Bono is just amazing.

Some bloke over in Celeb & Showbiz swears that was his girlfriend...funnily enough backed out posting the pics at the last minute :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭mjcom4d

Richie Kavanagh is Dead!!

I took it to be gospel, Heard it here in after hours and it was the greatest piece of bul/**** I ever heard made me look like a right ape and I lost €50 when someone decided to bet he was still alive.

There was a rumour going around a while ago that he died of a heart attack sprinting up the sugarloaf mountain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭chloek

Mega Chin wrote: »
    You misheard me.I said I promise you the best night of my life! :)
    This was also a lie. :(

looks like we were both disappointed :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

amdublin wrote: »
    mikemac wrote: »
    There was the girl I brought home once and she said:
    "none of your fancy stuff, horse it in"

This girl gets around, I've been hearing that story all over Ireland

Boy they must be there every eve because the amount of people I know whose friends asked Bono's "friend" (Bruce) to take a pic of them with Bono is just amazing.

Some bloke over in Celeb & Showbiz swears that was his girlfriend...funnily enough backed out posting the pics at the last minute :rolleyes:

Someone said that one in work recently. Something about a restaurant and asking Bruce for bono's autograph while outside smoking.

I wasn't really listening but time to pull the bull****ter up on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

My favourite one had to be the E party where this girl went into bedroom and was letting lads take shots riding her. Finally one of the lads gets his turn and goes in to find her doggy style.

He starts pounding and she turns around to reveal it's his sister. The guy jumps out a window and dies cause of it.

I nearly died from laugh when I heard it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 990 ✭✭✭some random drunk

I think we've all heard a story from someone who's friend's brother's cousin's neighbour is a foreigner who got a free car from the government because they were racially abused on the buses...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭endabob1

I know someone who claims to have dated Owen Wilson when she lived in LA (would explain why he tried to top himself though) & I know a bloke who claimed to be a pilot, having been up in a twin engine plane once.
    A mate of mine once claimed to have inherited a villa in Tuscany, when pressed about letting us use it he made up some story about it being delayed because of legalities in Italy, then when he was pushed about it again by some other mates a few months later he claimed to have given it to a charity. In his defence he does suffer quite badly from depression.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

My business teacher in fifth year telling us that we wouldn't ever have a recession as bad as the eighties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

Can't stand bullshitters. Why do they need to make up these things? And why not at least make it believable?

amdublin wrote: »
    That one actually happened. I asked Bruce earlier when we were hanging out. I'm good friends with him from when I used to be his drummer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 DelBoyCORCAIGH

Some guy told me he got off with a Spanish girl when he was 14 while on holiday's in Kerry and used a sock as contraception...

• Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 17,009 Mod ✭✭✭✭Toots

Some guy told me he got off with a Spanish girl when he was 14 while on holiday's in Kerry and used a sock as contraception...

Owwwwwww!!!! Jaysus imagine the friction burn you'd get off that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Someone said that one in work recently. Something about a restaurant and asking Bruce for bono's autograph while outside smoking.

I wasn't really listening but time to pull the bull****ter up on it.

Variation of the same theme.

Yep. Complete bullsh1t

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,331 ✭✭✭RichieC

Oh man I went to school with one of the biggest bullsh*t artists...

He literally never stopped lying, every single word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

A girl I used to know told me that when she was younger she was on the way to the pub with some friends, when crossing the road she got knocked down by a van. Half of her body was completely ruined with her face hanging down. But she decided to soldier on and go to the pub and ended up having a great night. Then she got plastic surgery so there's no marks anymore :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

RichieC wrote: »
    Oh man I went to school with one of the biggest bullsh*t artists...

He literally never stopped lying, every single word.

I think we all have/had a mate like that.

One of my mates is the kind of guy that no matter how great a story you have, he'll up it with a better made up one.