Gardai acquitted....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Seanbeag1 wrote: »
    Retards? Surely the fact that he had so many previous convictions means that he was successfully prosecuted many times? If you have trouble understanding that then maybe it's not gardai that are the retards.

As for your comment on robberies, I'm sure you can do a better job. I'm sure you can look at a grainy CCTV image of a masked man and identify him straight away. Because the only real ways to solve robberies are to catch them in the act or depend on CCTV and witnesses, both of which are usually useless.

Try thinking before you type. And if you don't know anything about the subject then don't write about it. Otherwise you risk looking like an idiot.

Look, there are people here defending the alleged actions of the Gardai involved in the case, some of them Gardai themselves. They defend the actions and in the same breath go on about how much tax money is wasted on bringing scrotes like Gaffney to justice. Can you not see the irony there? How much tax money is wasted on Court cases like this one? Garda time is wasted also, and it damages the image of AGS. It doesn't help to turn people away from crime either.

It pisses me off to no end to see people defend or justify Gardai breaking the laws that they are supposed to uphold.. that is not justice.

And as for robberies, you don't think that 25% is an awfully low detection rate? That means that 75% of people who go out robbing tonight can sleep soundly in their beds without fear of ever getting caught.. getting roughed up on the other hand..!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

And as for robberies, you don't think that 25% is an awfully low detection rate? That means that 75% of people who go out robbing tonight can sleep soundly in their beds without fear of ever getting caught.. getting roughed up on the other hand..!

The real issue hear is that the other 25% will be charged, convicted and in most cases given a suspended sentence and will be back robbing next week.

I think 25% is pretty good. Its not like they rob places and leave a note saying who they are and where they live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

he may have being referring to the fact that if you report an incident like a robbery to the gardai the usual response is that nobodys available and they will send somebody out when the culprit has gone and is probably in an alley shooting up your money

They were always there when i needed them in fairness. I only needed to have words with one Garda in my time and found them helpful and courteous except for the one lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Look, there are people here defending the alleged actions of the Gardai involved in the case, some of them Gardai themselves. They defend the actions and in the same breath go on about how much tax money is wasted on bringing scrotes like Gaffney to justice. Can you not see the irony there? How much tax money is wasted on Court cases like this one? Garda time is wasted also, and it damages the image of AGS. It doesn't help to turn people away from crime either.

It pisses me off to no end to see people defend or justify Gardai breaking the laws that they are supposed to uphold.. that is not justice.

I am of the opinion that they are only as good as the people they serve. If they are not getting the information from the public then there is little chance of the criminal being caught. The criminals are very conscious of not leaving fingerprints and wear masks usually. I read that the Garda detection rate is on a par with most police forces.
    Many of you obviously had run-ins with Gardai and as such have agendas which you're posts do not disguise, its obvious from reading them.
    I would not like to see Gardai beating up anyone as we have the courts to decide the guilt or otherwise of an alleged offender, BUT that same rule of law is also there for the Gardai and in this case they have been found not guilty. Get over it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

I have read crap in my time, but that post beats the lot.

25% is a low detection rate, why?Ask yourself why.

Because ***** who witnessed events won't testify, that's why

Either because the goons who perpetrated the crime have intimidated the witnesses, or because the witnesses were implicated, or part of the culture themselves.

If people took a responsible attitude and instead of supporting and backing these ****, we would have more convictions.

Think about that ,my friend before you shoot off your mouth with that kind of rubbish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭seniorstaff

i think the jury were thinking that this individual with a long list of previous convictions was long overdue a good slapping, for once justice was served , not all this prisoners rights rubbish ,that we are so sick of listening to by the do gooders in our society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,964 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

OK, I read through the first 40/50 replies so apologies if this was already said..

This verdict was a disgrace.. regardless of whether the guy "deserved it" or not, the 4 gardai in question should have been sent down for their actions - illegal entry, false imprisonment, assault.. take your pick! What happens when the next guy really IS innocent?

More likely the jury aquitted them for fear of retaliation by them or their colleagues than a genuine belief in their innocence (jurors crying seems a bit out of place). Of course cheerleaders of our Keystone Cops brigade will no doubt dismiss this as paranoia, but there's too many reports of Garda misconduct, corruption and outright incompetence for them ALL to be made up.

I myself have had enough dealings with them over the years (my mother lives in an area where she's tormented by antisocial behaviour - actively aided and abetted by the local Garda station) to know that while there are some good Gardai who take the job and responsibilities seriously, there are far too many who think the badge makes them Dirty Harry and gives them free reign to abuse both their position and the public they are charged (and paid) to serve.

The unfortunate fact is that our police force is an unprofessional and amateur outfit with virtually no accountability (and don't talk to me about the Ombudsman - I rang them a few months back about something to get a recording telling me they weren't taking calls that day as they were too busy doing paperwork!) and there are far too many members who don't know the law, enforce it selectively, or are just lazy/incompetent to the point where (as usual) "it depends who you get" and in my opinion that's just not good enough for a job that can have such a lasting and damaging effect on other citizens!

Like so much else in this country (the political system, the HSE etc) the Gardai need a top to bottom clean out, but it'll never happen because Ireland runs on the "ah sure it'll be grand" approach to everything - which is why the only ones who do ultimately pay are the law-abiding, tax paying types that this bunch are supposed to protect!

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    OK, I read through the first 40/50 replies so apologies if this was already said..

This verdict was a disgrace.. regardless of whether the guy "deserved it" or not, the 4 gardai in question should have been sent down for their actions - illegal entry, false imprisonment, assault.. take your pick! What happens when the next guy really IS innocent?

More likely the jury aquitted them for fear of retaliation by them or their colleagues than a genuine belief in their innocence (jurors crying seems a bit out of place). Of course cheerleaders of our Keystone Cops brigade will no doubt dismiss this as paranoia, but there's too many reports of Garda misconduct, corruption and outright incompetence for them ALL to be made up.

I myself have had enough dealings with them over the years (my mother lives in an area where she's tormented by antisocial behaviour - actively aided and abetted by the local Garda station) to know that while there are some good Gardai who take the job and responsibilities seriously, there are far too many who think the badge makes them Dirty Harry and gives them free reign to abuse both their position and the public they are charged (and paid) to serve.

The unfortunate fact is that our police force is an unprofessional and amateur outfit with virtually no accountability (and don't talk to me about the Ombudsman - I rang them a few months back about something to get a recording telling me they weren't taking calls that day as they were too busy doing paperwork!) and there are far too many members who don't know the law, enforce it selectively, or are just lazy/incompetent to the point where (as usual) "it depends who you get" and in my opinion that's just not good enough for a job that can have such a lasting and damaging effect on other citizens!

Like so much else in this country (the political system, the HSE etc) the Gardai need a top to bottom clean out, but it'll never happen because Ireland runs on the "ah sure it'll be grand" approach to everything - which is why the only ones who do ultimately pay are the law-abiding, tax paying types that this bunch are supposed to protect!

Absolute rubbish.

You come across like a person with chips on both shoulders .

That's bulldust, plain and simple.

Absolute rubbish.

Feel free to point out whatever sections you disagree with and we can go from there.

"just cause" isn't really a good argument...

Like so much else in this country (the political system, the HSE etc) the Gardai need a top to bottom clean out, but it'll never happen because Ireland runs on the "ah sure it'll be grand" approach to everything - which is why the only ones who do ultimately pay are the law-abiding, tax paying types that this bunch are supposed to protect
    !

that will do for starters.

Have they laptops and computers in Mountjoy i wonder ?

Many of you obviously had run-ins with Gardai and as such have agendas which you're posts do not disguise, its obvious from reading them.

How come it's ok to criticise judges, politicians, hospitals and all other forms of public sector bodies, but the minute someone criticises the Gardai, they are automatically suspected by some to be criminals? Grow up ffs.

that will do for starters.
    How come it's ok to criticise judges, politicians, hospitals and all other forms of public sector bodies, but the minute someone criticises the Gardai, they are automatically suspected by some to be criminals? Grow up ffs.

@My name is URL: Completely agree but then this is AH I guess :rolleyes:

Anyhow, for the rest of ye, here's a post I made wayy back in 2007 in a thread started by someone who was extremely frustrated with the response from our boys n girls in blue (feel free to read on past post 102 too for more info)

Read that and then come back and tell me about our excuse for a police force.

Maybe its the outlandish comments and rubbish that spouted that causes it. Did you tell any of them to grow up or is it only people who disagree with you ?

@My name is URL: Completely agree but then this is AH I guess :rolleyes:

Anyhow, for the rest of ye, here's a post I made wayy back in 2007 in a thread started by someone who was extremely frustrated with the response from our boys n girls in blue (feel free to read on past post 102 too for more info)

Read that and then come back and tell me about our excuse for a police force.

So you're grandmother was good friends with ray. Says it all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

he may have being referring to the fact that if you report an incident like a robbery to the gardai the usual response is that nobodys available and they will send somebody out when the culprit has gone and is probably in an alley shooting up your money

You do know that Garda numbers have been cut? Do you actually know how many Gardaí cover your area, what population they cover and what size the district is?

You don't know me and have never met me in work. You have no right to call me a retard or a goon. This guys were found innocent after two trials yet you continue to call them guilty. Do you know how many times I've seen a scumbag being retried? Never.

As for the robbery detection rate. What you don't understand is that robbers tend to be repeat offenders. They might commit four robberies and be caught on the last one. That's four robberies caught but only one officially "detected" unless the guy admits to it.

I'll take justified and informed criticism any day. Calling me a retard does not fall under either for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭the bolt

Absolute rubbish.

and you sir come across as a fine upstanding young man,the kind this country needs more of.

You don't know me and have never met me in work. You have no right to call me a retard or a goon. This guys were found innocent after two trials yet you continue to call them guilty. Do you know how many times I've seen a scumbag being retried? Never.

I never called you or the Gardai as a whole retards or goons. I'm sorry if that's how it came across.

I was only referring to those people saying that the alleged actions of the Gardai was justified, and those suggesting that they should do it more often.. I shouldn't have used the word retard either way however.

And I never claimed that the people in this case were guilty, no more those saying 'he deserved what he got' or 'the Gardai were right to do it' are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

I'm sorry but cannot tar them all based on a few idiots.

I'm sorry your mother has to put up with such torment but there really is very little than can be done in such cases. The culprits can rarely be tied conclusively to the crime.

In my own area there was a spate of robberies recently, the Gardai knew the identities of the thieves but a lack of hard evidence prevented them from acting on this knowledge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

First off calm down a little. There is no need for the snippy 'grow up'.

Criticising is fine, generalising and tarring a whole group based on a few rotted apples is not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 JEINKINS12

The verdict reached by the Jury was based on all the evidence they heard, wheras you appear to have made up your mind 1. Based on your obvious loathing of Gardaí (and any part of the establishment). and/or 2. Following the case in the media. Either way you did not get the full picture and/or hear all the evidence. So that makes you an ill informed fool with an agenda.

Read that and then come back and tell me about our excuse for a police force.[/QUOTE]

Yes i read your post, just another anti Garda rant, BTW you do know that in 2007 the Garda radio system was utter **** and was being held together with sticking plasters and twine. They had been promised a new radio system for years. Also the rank and file Gardaí have never been supplied with mobile phones and they refused to use their personal mobile phones in an effort to force the upgrading of the radio system. This story was constantly repeated in the newspapers. So when the Sergeant told you the Gardaí were out in their cars with no radio he wasn't lying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

Ever think how much scrotes like this alleged victim cost the taxpayer?

In this instance, unfortunately, it seems that it was four taxpayers, funded by the taxpayer, who have cost the taxpayer. Btw, it is legal and judicial fees that make up the vast majority of the costs. Do you consider the lawyers on both sides scrotes? Or, is your vitriol reserved for people who you consider beneath you?

How much did the trial cost, how much did his activities resulting from 29 convictions cost,how much garda time taken up by people like this.

I would imagine an awful lot less than the Moriarty Tribunal, the Flood Tribunal, the bank bail-out etc. Need I go on?
    Is it wrongdoing you have a problem with? Or just illegality?

And yet we have the bleeding heart brigade, the champions of the so called 'repressed' the so called 'disadvantaged' the so called 'working class', ready to spring to the defence of these people and try to take the high moral ground.

I think it's you chief, trying to take the high moral ground.;)
    I haven't seen one post in this thread from either side of the argument, that has expressed any sympathy for Eoin Gaffney. Agenda much?:pac:

Working class my eye, most of them never have worked,never will work in legitimate outlets, and will never contribute anything to society, other than nefarious activities and will nurture a lifestyle of dependency with alarming sense of 'entitlement'.

And what would you consider a legitimate outlet? What would you consider "contributing to society" ? What would you consider a "nefarious activity? Can you even see me from up there?

Sean Fitzpatrick, Dermot Gleeson, Michael Fingleton, Bertie Aherne, Brian Cowen, Peter Sutherland Etc.

All good white-collar law-abiding citizens, and yet they'd leave young Gaffney in the ha'penny place when it comes to leaving elderly people in fear. Yes? He can only rob a few handbags. They've taken tens of thousands for their pensions and left them (and their families) in fear that they won't be able to stay in their nursing homes, but there's nothing wrong with that right?

Cos' it's all nice and legal, isn't that right buddy?;)

Have these 'keyboard activists' no cop on?

Indeed pal, Indeed.

Such a depressing thread. Btw, Flutt, you might fool a few gob****es but you don't fool me. I was working at the coalface with the guards while you were (are?) still in nappies. Why don't you post again how they spend their whole time eating KFC in their cars on taxpayers money buddy? Run with the hare and hunt with the hounds much?;)

If you'd ever done an honest day's graft in your life pal, you'd know that the majority of Guards use the local chipper,not KFC, 'cos it's a good source of information on what the local "scrotes" are up to. The same way, as they drop into the "old men" pubs at two in the morning for a cup of tea (used to be a pint) rather than the trendy pubs with passing trade and transient barstaff.

But I suppose one day you might grow up and understand that everything isn't black and white (except the puddin'). Alright Bro?;)

Such a depressing thread. Btw, Flutt, you might fool a few gob****es but you don't fool me. I was working at the coalface with the guards while you were (are?) still in nappies. Why don't you post again how they spend their whole time eating KFC in their cars on taxpayers money buddy? Run with the hare and hunt with the hounds much?;)

That kind of tells me the kind of person I am dealing with here.

If you'd ever done an honest day's graft in your life pal, you'd know that the majority of Guards use the local chipper,not KFC, 'cos it's a good source of information on what the local "scrotes" are up to. The same way, as they drop into the "old men" pubs at two in the morning for a cup of tea (used to be a pint) rather than the trendy pubs with passing trade and transient barstaff.

But I suppose one day you might grow up and understand that everything isn't black and white (except the puddin'). Alright Bro?;)

Well you have fooled me on that passage there, haven't a breeze what it's context is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,098 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

It was, but apology accepted. ;)

If you had read more than 40/50 posts, you would see consistently people stating that there were 2 trials, the first collapsed because the "injured party" was caught lieing, and the jury had to be disbanded because of this. The second trial went ahead, the jury heard evidence from both the prosecution and defence, and went on what they heard alone. They decided not-guilty, so in the eyes of the law there was no illegal entry, no false imprisonment, and no assault. It didn't happen in the eyes of the law. So the Gardai are innocent (go back through all the previous posts in relation to this).

Show me one case where the jury dismissed out of fear of the Gardai. One proven case. That is the most outrageous statement i have ever heard. That does not happen. It happens when the criminal intimidates jurors, thats well documented, but Gardai intimidating witnesses? Bull.

And i suppose people are supposed to turn into stone cold emotionless robots? These may be the same people who cry when watching someone die in Eastenders, they may be emotional people who cannot hide the emotions.

And no-one is saying that all allegations against Gardai are made up, a google search will show results of Gardai, or ex-gardai, being convicted for various incidents.

I think you have your beliefs backwards, there are bad apples in every walk of life, and indeed in the Gardai, but it's the majority who are hard-working and dedicated to the job. Just look at the serving member suicides, alot of which are because of their dedication to the job and frustration with the judicial system letting them down. It happens, but is rarely front page news. Depression is becoming rife in the force, because of extreme attitudes causing good Gardai to question why they're doing the job in the first place when all they're met with is negativity and abuse from the "public they are charged to serve".

The Gardai is recognised by Police Forces around the world as one of the best due to work practices and ability to serve the public and carry out their duties unarmed, the community policing unit, and an on-par detection rate. Developing countries base alot of their training on the training received by Gardai.

The GSOC are new, and are being inundated with complaint, some genuine, most by criminals who feel they've been hard done by. I'd love to see the stats of GSOC to see how many complaints made are genuine. When a Garda arrests someone these days a complaint in nearly expected in every case, because people seem to think that everything the Gardai do is breaking their rights, or that handcuffing is assault.

And i challenge you to learn every single point of law for the Gardai. You will never know it all, and when you think you know it all, most of it will have been changed because of the outcome of some case either here in ireland or in other country. The Gardai are usually the last to find out (remember the recent case of powers of Gardai to demand a GNIB card from immigrants was recently abolished). It's impossible to keep up to date with every aspect of every law. Simple as. Keep in mind that the majority of the force is now very junior and still learning, because the decisions of the Government have forced members with over 30 years service to retire before they wanted to.

You may get your top to bottom clean out sooner than you think, with recruitment stopped, older members retiring, numbers diminishing to crazy levels, added workloads for the ones left, no time to carry out this extra work load because Joe Public expects Gardai to be everywhere all the time, junior members quitting because it's just not worth it or is too much, there'll be very little of the force left.

And who would join now anyway? Reduced salary, nearly non-existent promotion prospects, a public attitude that has to be seen to be believed, the threat of GSOC having the powers to enter your private residence and search on the words of some criminal with a chip on his shoulder. People have absolutely no idea what it's like, and it's simple for you to sit there and type about how inadequate the force is, and your attitude (along with plenty of other factors) is forcing good members either out of the job or to stop caring. Maybe if people began to believe the Garda over the criminal until proven otherwise there might be a bit of respect shown in return.

Actually, why don't all you keyboard heros join up and show them how it's done? The Gardaí will be recruiting again in about 4 years...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭archer22

http://www.gardaombudsman.ie/GSOC/GSOC-Annual-Report-2010.pdf 4931 allegations of Garda misconduct...And regarding GSOC survey.."Overall the findings suggest that complaints to GSOC are not drawn generally from categories of social disadvantage".So contrary to Garda propaganda that it is "scrotes" that are making all the complaints,it is in fact the educated middle and upper class that make the majority of the complaints to GSOC.So in reality the complaints to GSOC are only the tip of the iceberg :eek:.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

archer22 wrote: »
    http://www.gardaombudsman.ie/GSOC/GSOC-Annual-Report-2010.pdf 4931 allegations of Garda misconduct...And regarding GSOC survey.."Overall the findings suggest that complaints to GSOC are not drawn generally from categories of social disadvantage".So contrary to Garda propaganda that it is "scrotes" that are making all the complaints,it is in fact the educated middle and upper class that make the majority of the complaints to GSOC.So in reality the complaints to GSOC are only the tip of the iceberg :eek:.

What Garda propoganda? Anyway from the same report 63% of complaints are from people who have come to Garda attention by either being arrested, investigated or prosecuted for driving offences. One third of complaints are deemed inadmissable without even needing to be investigated. If you look further at the figures under the admissabilty section then you will see that a lot more are found to be frivilous in one way or another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭archer22

What Garda propoganda? Anyway from the same report 63% of complaints are from people who have come to Garda attention by either being arrested, investigated or prosecuted for driving offences. One third of complaints are deemed inadmissable without even needing to be investigated. If you look further at the figures under the admissabilty section then you will see that a lot more are found to be frivilous in one way or another.
    Not bothering getting into a pointless argument with you..people can read it and judge for themselves as you are leaving out relevant facts.

Please tell me where I can find this 'Propaganda', where are the press releases for same and in what media are they published or disseminated??

The following is from that Annual Report of GSOC
    In 2010, GSOC received 2,258 complaints from members of the public, of which 722 were inadmissible. The complaints contained 4,931 allegations of misconduct by gardaí of which 1,087 were deemed inadmissible.