Do People Still Get Refused From Pubs/Clubs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Show Time wrote: »
    Call all you want man no skin off my a** what you want to believe.

Yea, I knew it was bullsh*t.. Why are you spoofing up a story ffs get a life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

FTA69 wrote: »
    Because the money isn't too bad and it's a steady job? In case you haven't noticed the jobs market isn't too fantastic at the moment. In a club I work in there's a laser technician working behind the bar, another barman who is doing a degree in pharmacy and a girl in the cloakroom who has a H Dip and a degree in English and Geography.

There are plenty of graduates (and by no means is that the definition of intelligence) and intelligent people working in the services industry. That isn't particularly news like.
    And some of them do a great job in the services industry with all the extra qualifications they have but a fair few of them seem to enjoy the old power trip a bit to much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

And some of them do a great job in the services industry with all the extra qualifications they have but a fair few of them seem to enjoy the old power trip a bit to much.

"A fair few"? I could nearly agree with that, there's plenty of nobs doing the job around town. But to be fair that's a far cry from your original assertion that all bouncers in Cork are "apes".

Yea, I knew it was bullsh*t.. Why are you spoofing up a story ffs get a life.
    I have no reason to tell you any more then i have to as i i do not wish to compromise my identity. If you don't want to believe it then no problem.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭paky

theres a good chance you wont get in if the bouncer is in the slightest way intimidated by you or your goods looks.

"A fair few"? I could nearly agree with that, there's plenty of nobs doing the job around town. But to be fair that's a far cry from your original assertion that all bouncers in Cork are "apes".
    To be honest in over twenty years of going out the ape bouncers are more prevalent in Cork then any where else.

I have no reason to tell you any more then i have to as i i do not wish to compromise my identity. If you don't want to believe it then no problem.

How could you compromise your ID unless it was just you, me and the other lad (and his family) at the event?.

Probably close to 90% of the stuff I'd read online I'd take with a pinch of salt, but when I see a blatant spoof and one which I can possibly refute I'll call it.

I don't get why people have to big themselves up like you just did, you were doing fine just below the radar and now look what you've done - and just to get a little 'big up' time lol.

To be honest in over twenty years of going out the ape bouncers are more prevalent in Cork then any where else.

Funnily enough I've never been refused anywhere since the age of 21, and never had any problem getting into places that were over 23s or over 25s.

How could you compromise your ID unless it was just you, me and the other lad (and his family) at the event?.

Probably close to 90% of the stuff I'd read online I'd take with a pinch of salt, but when I see a blatant spoof and one which I can possibly refute I'll call it.

I don't get why people have to big themselves up like you just did, you were doing fine just below the radar and now look what you've done - and just to get a little 'big up' time lol.
    Silversprings hotel was the event and it was that other s**t sport where two folks just beat the crap out of each other kickboxing.

Funnily enough I've never been refused anywhere since the age of 21, and never had any problem getting into places that were over 23s or over 25s.
    The one time i was stopped and when the bouncers realised he had to save face as i was sober he gave me the BS about non driners spending no money.

Silversprings hotel was the event and it was that other s**t sport where two folks just beat the crap out of each other kickboxing.

Siam Warriors and Cork Thai Muay Thai clubs, a sound and dedicated bunch of lads who also do a lot of youth work in the city. But I suppose a few of them have tattoos or shaven heads ergo they must be knuckle-dragging simpletons.

Isn't gas how you were the one banging on about evil discriminating bouncers and every second post you make highlights you for the one being an utter snob?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

close to 90%..? I thought it was more.

Sigh..
    A few months later in the event center i am involved in there was an MMA event when lo and behold who walks in the door but my door buddy and his family.

So make up your mind, was it MMA or Kickboxing now?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

A lot of bouncers are **** in fairness,well anyone i have had dealings with was a wanker,even though a few of my friends are bouncers i still tell them they are!

mattjack wrote: »
    close to 90%..? I thought it was more.

I'm lucky in so far as I know the majority of the people in the MMA and Self Defence & Martial Arts forum, and they're a good bunch mostly.

As a result, I can sniff out the spoofers fairly quickly.

Sigh..

So make up your mind, was it MMA or Kickboxing now?.

It was Muay Thai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭iCosmopolis

Got refused many years ago in town, when I was a very immature 18 yr, for being too drunk-fair point as I fell flat on my ass when I went to plead my case,so had to agree with him. But fair play, bouncer was a pleasant chap, as my mates had gone in already he helped me up and put me in a taxi :) Never got refused anywhere since, and I find now when I'm out that i see fewer people refused compared to few years ago. Some places are way too packed even.

A lot of bouncers are **** in fairness

No denying that, some of the greatest pricks I've known were bouncers..

Mostly they don't last in the game too long, believe it or not it takes a lot of intelligence, a lot of 'cop on and a lot of understanding (sometimes your a part time agony aunt too!) to last in the game.

Nearly twenty years in the game now.

There's hardly an argument I haven't had or excuse I haven't heard.

And in all that time violence still sicken's me, and up there among the worse is a glassing or bottling.

You'd have to witness it to believe it, and treat/tend to the injured party while the emergency services are on the way.

I'm lucky, I've only been bottled once. But most of my mates who've done the job for any length of time have been headbutted, glassed, bottled, stabbed, shot & the list goes on.

Why do I do it?.

I actually like it, I like the people I meet. I think I'm good at the job and as a result I earn good money from it - gone are the days it was cash in hand :mad:

I get on easily with people, and I've some fantastic memories from over the years. Some people after they get me talking say there's a book in me, I just wish I could articulate it and make a few bob :p

Happy days :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

I think the key point is you will only remember the tosser bouncers, The good ones you will either walk past and not notice or perhaps have a friendly chat with.

And in all that time violence still sicken's me, and up there among the worse is a glassing or bottling.

You'd have to witness it to believe it, and treat/tend to the injured party while the emergency services are on the way.

Unfortunately i have witnessed it many times down the years,its one of the scummiest things anyone can do.

I have CCTV and stills of a boards.ie member being glassed recently, he's only an occasional user but he's friends with a regular user of AH.

If you seen his assailant lurking, waiting for the lad to turn his back and waiting for a clear path to him you'd be disgusted, sickened.

Scaring someone like that is a horrible thing to do to anyone, scaring which they'll carry for life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

I have CCTV and stills of a boards.ie member being glassed recently, he's only an occasional user but he's friends with a regular user of AH.

If you seen his assailant lurking, waiting for the lad to turn his back and waiting for a clear path to him you'd be disgusted, sickened.

Scaring someone like that is a horrible thing to do to anyone, scaring which they'll carry for life.

Fcked up thing is,there's no heavy sentencing for that :mad:

We can only hope karma is a bitch.

I'm lucky in so far as I know the majority of the people in the MMA and Self Defence & Martial Arts forum, and they're a good bunch mostly.

As a result, I can sniff out the spoofers fairly quickly.
    The chap i had removed from the event was just up there watching and had nothing to do with any of the folks who organised it. God your as dense as two short planks all the same and thanks for proving my point on the low intelligence as what i posted first went right over your head.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 427 ✭✭scotty_irish

my shít test for a club is if i can't get in in runners i don't want to go there. f*cking hate pretentious places. for anyone who knows edinburgh, the cowgate is my place, always welcome. never george's street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

I hope the son of a b***h faces the full force of the courts. And you are spot on in that scaring a person for life is as low and scummy as you can get.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 427 ✭✭scotty_irish

my shít test for a club is if i can't get in in runners i don't want to go there. f*cking hate pretentious places. for anyone who knows edinburgh, the cowgate is my place, always welcome. never george's street.

I remember a few years ago in Australia we were going into a nightclub and a fella in front of me got stopped for wearing runners,he says to the bouncer "but you let the guy in ahead of me and he had runners on",and the bouncer says "yeah mate but yours are runner runnners" :D,i thought i was very funny anyway :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭SellingJuan

Bouncers are kinda like refs. You cant argue with them. They will not change their mind if you do. But you can be friendly no matter how much of a prick they are and negotiate with them