Gardai Too Soft?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,402 ✭✭✭HarryPotter41

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Well, firstly I'd ditch the "we" - there are decent parents in this country.

However the ones who fart out a child and then go boozing or shouting JacIN-TAAAAAAAA and letting their kids run wild around shopping centres and streets and car parks are the ones who are crap.

There should be an IQ and ethics - and a suitability test similar to adoption - before being allowed to have a child.

And child benefit should be for the first two children - MAXIMUM.

Some of the greatest little B******ds I have ever came across came from well educated, well heeled families so am kinda missing your whole point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

ok I hope this isn't considered back-seat modding - but we're getting severly off-topic.

This thread is supposed to be about the Gardai (and their use or lack of use of force) ....now its turned into a debate about the prison system, the legal system, scumbags, little scumbags, parenting, social welfare scroungers .....

Jaysus this is all AH threads into one !!! ..... quick someone say "yore ma" and we're sorted !!

carry on.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,329 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

And there I was reading the thread title thinking it was written by a nurse on a night out in Coppers and finding a cop in need of Viagra.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,125 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,915 ✭✭✭worded

Einhard wrote: »
    I don't understand how, whenever there's a discussion about crime in Ireland, or the police, some people always speak of the American system as something that we should emulate. And yet crime rates are far higher in America, and police shootings are a regular occurrence. I fail to see how shooting a cop dead is indicative of "respect". If anything, on empirical evidence alone, the US would be far better of emulating the Irish, or general European system.

USA : Ireland / Europe - Are the crime rates higher as a ratio of the population though?

My folks like Spain as there is usually few problems there as the police deal with thugs quickly, sometimes on the spot. Thugs deserve what they get.

I saw an Irish scum thief caught red handed robbing from a building site. He was sat on by a builder until the police arrived. When the Guard arrived Mr scummer was all .......... eh guard this and guard that (sucking up to the guard). Some pepper spray and a kick up the hole is what he should have got there and then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭SellingJuan

threeball wrote: »

The airy fairy bullsh*t has gone on long enough and we live in a country thats only suits the scum or the very wealthy. Everyone else just pays the bills.

You are dead on there. I couldnt of put it better myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,109 ✭✭✭✭threeball

worded wrote: »
    USA : Ireland / Europe - Are the crime rates higher as a ratio of the population though?

My folks like Spain as there is usually few problems there as the police deal with thugs quickly, sometimes on the spot. Thugs deserve what they get.

I saw an Irish scum thief caught red handed robbing from a building site. He was sat on by a builder until the police arrived. When the Guard arrived Mr scummer was all .......... eh guard this and guard that (sucking up to the guard). Some pepper spray and a kick up the hole is what he should have got there and then.

Its a wonder the builder wasn't done for assault

If it was in Ireland he would of. Its madness the carry on here.

And there I was reading the thread title thinking it was written by a nurse on a night out in Coppers and finding a cop in need of Viagra.
    Hahahaha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

this is totally unacceptable
    I agree. At the very least they should have hospitalised him. Him being able to leave under his own steam is a disgrace. Good for you in pointing out just what we all think about softy cops. Like yourself, I think we should superglue a baton in their hands on the day they leave templemore and instruct them that if they dont wear it down to a butt within six months, they're fired. And no cheating by beating walls and stuff. Good for you in not being afraid to support a good firm hand, I for one applaud you, even if your username is a bit dodgy, bringing to mind people with beards skulking in public places with unlicenced pyrotechnics.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

suspectdevice banned.

Mods too soft?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Einhard

You're away with the fairies. The majority in prison have no respect for the prison sentence or the law that put them there.

Liam Byrne said:
    the law only applies to law-abiding citizens.

The fact that there are people in prison is pretty strong evidence that the law doesn't just apply to law-abiding citizens. If that were the case, then the law breakers wouldn't be in prison, would they? In agreeing with Liam, and then referencing prisoners, you're contradicting yourself in the one breath. His original point is factually incorrect, and in trying to support him, you've shown why. I'm not sure if having a grasp of logic is away with the fairies, but if so, then guilty as charged. Where do i report for my flogging and hard labour?

Theres fellas running around with over 100 convictions after their name. Those guys should never see the light of day again. 3 strikes, ten yrs, you might think twice next time. I'd have them breaking rocks from dawn till dust for the duration of their sentence. Prison is no detterent and the tact the guards take demands no respect.

The thing is, there isn't really any deterrent to those raised in criminality. None that has been proven to be effective anyway. Lengthy sentences, the prospect of the capital penalty, and all the general sexual nastiness that occurs in US prisons hasn't had any impact on recidivism. Nor had the abysmal conditions in 19th century prisons. Indeed, modern Europe and Ireland have lower rates of criminality than either the US, or the 19th century world, so, just looking at things on the evidence, the latter are hardly models to be holding up for emulation.

I think there is a case to be made for longer sentences, but what you're proposing is based only on reflexive gut reaction. It's an emotional response, and I'd rather not base our justice system on gut reactions to an exaggerated state of moral decline.
    The airy fairy bullsh*t has gone on long enough and we live in a country thats only suits the scum or the very wealthy. Everyone else just pays the bills.

Talk about exaggeration. We have one of the lowest rates of serious crime in the world, and one of the highest standards of living in the world. Both yourself and Liam are completely over-reacting in your portrayal of Ireland as some sort of dystopian hellhole.

No idea what that's supposed to mean. What's wrong with wanting parents to actually do some PARENTING, instead of letting their sprogs run riot, shrugging their shoulders and saying "what can you do?" before they shuffle on in their PJs puffing on their fags and ignoring the little tyke that's just knocked the shop stock off the shelves or written all over the flyers ?

What's wrong with wanting parents to say "No - you can't go out walking the streets in a hoodie @ 10pm and chucking rocks at passing cars or getting cheap kicks out of deliberately forcing old ladies off the path and onto the roads, while spray-painting expensive public property with your pathetic ;Jimmy woz ere'" ?

What's wrong with saying "You're MY child, and MY responsibility, not the responsibility of Gardai or the state with some scumbag right to wreak havoc" ?
    Lay off the pathetic personal crap.

There is NOTHING unreasonable in what I said above. If you think there is, post something worthwhile and we'll discuss it.

Looking up dictionary.com so you can copy and paste snide remarks is adding nothing to the discussion.

Do you not think that parents should actually do PARENTING ?

I've nothing against any of the above. I do however, have major issues with your idea that prospective parents should have to pass state sanctioned tests. That idea would have been controversial in Nazi Germany FFS.
    Jail for first time offenders should be fairly rudimentary with just a taste of what it will be like if you come back. Any one who commits 3 offences in 10 years automaticlly gets 10 years. Time should be spent doing labour. Not stuffing your face with creatine and hitting the weights room.

That seems fair enough at first glance, until one thinks about it a bit. How about if one thrice fails to pay one's tv licence? Off to prison for a decade? I had quite a successful relative who, unfortunately, had a form of kleptomania. She didn't rob because she couldn't afford things, but out of compulsion. She was always mortified afterwards, and generally returned the item(s), or returned herself to pay for them. She was quite a frail lady, and everyone understood her condition so charges were never pressed. However, in your brutal reality, had charges been pressed thrice, she'd be spending a decade doing hard labour with hardened criminals. Not only would that have destroyed her, and us, her family, and be grossly unjust, but removing her from society would deprive the tax payer of the revenue she generated as part of her job.

Broad brush solutions like those you advocate appeal to emotion rather than logic. They make people feel like something is being done, when in reality, nothing gets better, and society as a whole suffers. I've no problem with long sentences for people who commit serious crimes, but the idea of 10 years inside for 3 potentially minor offences is obscene, and has nothing to do with justice.
    Also dole payments should be limited to draw down for one year
    after leaving education. At that stage any future dole available to you will be calculated as a percentage of your working life . Work 5yrs you're entitled to 1yrs dole, work 10yrs get 2 years dole etc. Don't work, you get nothing. Hardlines lines. Only exception would be genuinely medically unable.

Another reflex idea, which on closer scrutiny, falls apart entirely. This recession has been ongoing for at least three years. Unemployment has steadily risen to almost 15%. Many good people have been on the dole for several years, with large numbers of school leavers among them. There are scroungers of course, but most people on the dole want to work, but can't- there's simply not enough jobs. Your knee jerk reaction would penalise the decent majority on the dole. How is that fair or equitable? How could someone leaving college or school in 2008 possibly expect to get 5 years of work in the current economic circumstances? They couldn't is the answer- yet you have no problem screwing them over.

Apart from that though, your desire to reduce crime and penalise people on the dole conflict with one another. How do you expect the tens of thousands who you'd boot off the dole to survive? By eating grass? Their children? To die? People will do desperate things to survive, and if you remove all legitimate income from a person, then he'll have no choice but to turn to crime to survive. Then when caught, they'll have to be incarcerated, which costs the state even more. So, once again, your proposals fall down like a house of cards. Away with the fairies indeed...
    Thats what I'd do Mein Freund

Well if we want irrational, contradictory policies introduced, without any thought or analysis of their consequences, we'll know where to turn...
    Good post, another area that needs sorting and its not that hard if people ignore the bleeding hearts that hold this country to ransom at every turn and actually run a country the caters firstly for the majority. Only then will the money and will be there to help those who can't help themselves and genuinely need it. Most of the above just want handouts

Why do you assume you're in the majority? If the referendum to abolish capital punishment is anything to go by, us "bleeding hearts" are in the majority in this country.
    worded wrote: »

The homicide rate in the US was 6.5 per 100k people in 2004. In Western Europe, it was 1.5. So the murder rate in the US, which apparently we should all emulate, is over 4 times that of Western Europe, who are apparently nothing but "bleeding hearts", "do-gooders" etc. Well it seems to me that the hard ass yanks are 4 times more likely to be murdered than us weakling Euro types, so I'm happy to continue with our general policies.

Statistically, Spain is slightly more safe than Ireland- going by homicide alone. In the past four years of the last decade for which there are records, Ireland's average rate per 100k is 1.5; Spain's is 1.06. There's a slight difference, but it is very small, and certain not cause for all the hysteria that's evident on boards, and in the tabloid media. Indeed, both Canada and New Zealand have higher murder rates this decade, at 1.62 and 1.76 respectively. Ireland's, in contrast, is 1.25. Somewhat ironic considering Liam Byrne's lauding of the Canadian system as "tough but fair", and the country itself as a better place than Ireland for raising kids. All been equal, those kids are more likely to be murdered in Canada than the Ireland he so despairs for...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_intentional_homicide_rate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭Pdfile

Are they? I have been in quite a few countries and I have come to realise our police force being friendly and all arnt much good. Not to their faults I stress, but to Irish law

Are they? I have been in quite a few countries and I have come to realise our police force being friendly and all arnt much good.

Not to their faults I stress, but to Irish law. Examples; Student protest in Dublin (I can see people already typing and dismissing my point oh well) where there were the few scumbags who decided to cause trouble by attacking our riot police, and I heard on the videos that were uplaoded, people who were being treated very well in my opinion (compared to what would happen in most other countries) asking the Gardai for their id numbers.

I mean ffs if you are throwing rocks at riot police what do you expect them to say thanks. Even so they didnt do much if any harm to the culprits. My second example; This will cause some upset.

But the "Shell Gas" in Mayo. We had people threatening workers lives, tieing themselves to vehicles and blocking roads etc. Now I understand quite a few of them had their reasons like some of the fishermen, locals etc They were in the right and they went about it the right and legal way.

But alot of people protesting werent even Irish and they had come form different parts of the world causing alot of trouble..These were the ones who caused the most problems the serious ones.

Now people say oh let them off or whatever, but THE FACT is how do other nations view us especially the way we handle these type of situation. Alot of them probably said " why should we go there look at all that hassle over f*cking gas".
    Not to drag it on but look at our economy we need to use our resources.

Anyway what if our police force had been alowed to handle thiis the way most europian countries are, Im sure it would have been alot different. To give you an example I was in Spain recently (Ibiza) and I saw the way the police local and guardia civil handled things.

Now from what I saw there was very little trouble if any when I was there. People were afraid to cause trouble. I mean there was only one incident the whole 2 weeks. A drunk man tried to fight with some people. The police local caught him by the neck dragged him up the street a bit. Pepper sprayed him and gave him a few digs. He left for good. And everone saw it and knew not to cause trouble.

This was the west end and I can imagine how much more dangerous it would be if there wasnt a police force like that. Thats just my two cents. Let me know what you think should the gardai have more rights when it comes to dealing with crime?

You clearl have never been arrested so... :rolleyes:

Liam Byrne said:

The homicide rate in the US was 6.5 per 100k people in 2004. In Western Europe, it was 1.5. So the murder rate in the US, which apparently we should all emulate, is over 4 times that of Western Europe, who are apparently nothing but "bleeding hearts", "do-gooders" etc. Well it seems to me that the hard ass yanks are 4 times more likely to be murdered than us weakling Euro types, so I'm happy to continue with our general policies.

"Western Europe". See that does affect the figures. Your comparing Western Europe to all of the US.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

Statistically, Spain is slightly more safe than Ireland- going by homicide alone. In the past four years of the last decade for which there are records, Ireland's average rate per 100k is 1.5; Spain's is 1.06. There's a slight difference, but it is very small, and certain not cause for all the hysteria that's evident on boards, and in the tabloid media.

But what the statistics don't pick up is that the kind of low-level social disorder that exists in Ireland and England and grinds on the nerves of local people is virtually non-existent in Spain (with the partial exception of parts of Barcelona around Las Ramblas). There aren't packs of ten year olds running amok on Gran Via at midnight (in comparison to O'Connell Street), junkies haven't taken over the river promenade in even smaller cities like Bilbao the way they have in Dublin, and in any city center, the police are a visible and firm presence. They may look bored and indifferent, but they do not tolerate a lot of guff - from children or adults.

If you are not willing to directly confront scumbags, then you have no business being a police officer; it's easy to clear tourists off of the grass on St Stephen's Green, but why does it seem damn near impossible to clear heroin dealers, junkies and scumbags from the Quays and DART stations in the city center?

As an aside, most Spanish police officers (the local ones anyway) are extremely fit, they don't shuffle about, their uniforms aren't hanging off of them, and they project an air of authority. This is something that I have always found oddly lacking among many Gardai.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭SuperInfinity

The OP is the reason why the government have so much power.

The absolutely sickening naivety and ignorance of the OP's post makes me want to hurl.

It's okay for a government to use violence against its own people and to try to enforce people to give up their land and be put in danger but when the people try to use any type of force at all in protest they should be thrown to the dogs.

OP you are a pushover, easily manipulated into doing you out of almost all your freedom, a brainless syncophant to big daddy government, people like you make me sick.
    As an aside, most Spanish police officers (the local ones anyway) are extremely fit, they don't shuffle about, their uniforms aren't hanging off of them, and they project an air of authority. This is something that I have always found oddly lacking among many Gardai.

These are ridiculous generatizations and anecdotes, there are a lot of gardai with their heads up their arses as well. I suggest you quit talking about things you know little or nothing about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

i would think leaving the police to admin beatings would leave to more resentment and violence from the criminals/general public.

Only an Irish person would to be trampled on and for his fellow countrymen to be trampled on by police. Every other country in the world people are extremely wary of giving the police too much power, but this OP would much rather we be under the big government's foot. These guys are like people from the middle ages or something. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

These are ridiculous generatizations and anecdotes, there are a lot of gardai with their heads up their arses as well. I suggest you quit talking about things you know little or nothing about.

LOL, did you even read my post, or were you so blinded by self-righteous indignation that you made a typo?

Get over yourself, dude.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Well, firstly I'd ditch the "we" - there are decent parents in this country.

However the ones who fart out a child and then go boozing or shouting JacIN-TAAAAAAAA and letting their kids run wild around shopping centres and streets and car parks are the ones who are crap.

There should be an IQ and ethics - and a suitability test similar to adoption - before being allowed to have a child.

And child benefit should be for the first two children - MAXIMUM.

The only way you'll get these types of parents to actively discipline and look after their kids is by hitting them where it hurts - their pocket.

How about a 15% cut in their social welfare payments the first time their child is arrested. This cut to last for period of 1 year. Reinstated if no further offences. If further offences during the 1 year period then the cut is extended by another year with the possibility of a 1%-5% further cut on top.

For the second time a child is arrested/charged and convicted after this year (if no offences take place)? A 20% cut in all social welfare payments. Again this can be extended.

Etc/Etc

This to be used for every child a parent has. So if you have two toe-rag kids causing problems you could lose up to 30% of your dole payments a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭FGR

Sigh.

A judiciary that's leniant and a legal system that's rife with ridiculous loopholes allows the criminal element to take advantage of crime with little (if no) fear of facing proper punishment.

I shake my head when I hear about people 'getting away with it' due to some minor technicality in a court case. The most prominent being a Garda omitting to mention that a given road is a 'public place' whilst giving evidence in Road Traffic Matters. The solicitor would know it's a public road, the Judge could probably even be living on the road; but the case will still be struck out as the Guard accidentally omitted it as he was too busy crossing every other T and dotting every other I.

...I always ask myself when the Solicitor raises this point..why won't the judge simply turn and ask the Guard to clarify the matter?

Even then. Shouldn't it be the solicitor's role to clarify it in order to prove to the judge that it may not have been a public place? Not the loophole that the case be struck out due to the Guard omitting to say it.

Thornton Hall seriously needs to be built. Legal aid needs to be curbed and the loopholes in law need to be closed. A factor of Common Sense needs to be added to our system founded upon Common Law. These factors alone will finally allow the justice system to work here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

im surprised no judge ever turned to the lawyer and told them to shut up with the "my client had a hard upbringing,on drugs and trying to turn his life around by doing a course" type stories.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

Too soft!!! Too stupid judging by my last encounter ! jasus how the **** some of these twats pass!!!!!!......and might i add i said SOME!

im surprised no judge ever turned to the lawyer and told them to shut up with the "my client had a hard upbringing,on drugs and trying to turn his life around by doing a course" type stories.

Yeah, and you just know the "client" was probably in fact a vicious school bully and petty thief back then also, god knows how many kids' lives he ruined.

What I meant above though is that gardai can't be harassing the ordinary public, and they do do that sometimes you know.

The OP is the reason why the government have so much power.

The absolutely sickening naivety and ignorance of the OP's post makes me want to hurl.

It's okay for a government to use violence against its own people and to try to enforce people to give up their land and be put in danger but when the people try to use any type of force at all in protest they should be thrown to the dogs.

OP you are a pushover, easily manipulated into doing you out of almost all your freedom, a brainless syncophant to big daddy government, people like you make me sick.

So you condone the violence that thugs and criminals cause. So you are advocating on behalf of these total and utter scumbags that bring our society down.

The way you say "It's okay for a government to use violence against its own people and to try to enforce people to give up their land and be put in danger". Are you the kind of person who objects to a motorway being built because people are forced to give up their land in these situations aswell to better or infrastructure, and you will be the same person complaing about the lack of facilities in our country.

"OP you are a pushover, easily manipulated into doing you out of almost all your freedom, a brainless syncophant to big daddy government, people like you make me sick"

This tells me how ignorant you are to the matter. Im guessing you would rather live in anarchy. I dont see how you go from our police force being too soft to me being brainless syncophant to big daddy government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

iMax wrote: »
    Way too soft. Should be more like American cops ( complete with uniform adjustment) those guys command respect.

Tasering of some petty criminals wouldn't go amiss either. Might curl some petty crime.

lol, funniest thing i have read on boards.ie to date.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Storminateacup

There was nothing soft about the guard I met in a club in Dublin sunday night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭deisedave

PCPhoto wrote: »
    ok I hope this isn't considered back-seat modding - but we're getting severly off-topic.

This thread is supposed to be about the Gardai (and their use or lack of use of force) ....now its turned into a debate about the prison system, the legal system, scumbags, little scumbags, parenting, social welfare scroungers .....

Jaysus this is all AH threads into one !!! ..... quick someone say "yore ma" and we're sorted !!

carry on.....
    Your ma :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭Theta

I used to think, "Yeah I'd love to have hard as nails cops like in the US where they don't take **** and the law is the law" but then I realised that the system of more cops more laws more cops generally goes OTT and the cops end out being to powerful for there own good. For instance last week a man was beaten to death by 8 cops in the US after being tasered 3 times.

The are there to protect us but we shouldn't need to be protected from them.

I think the major failing in Ireland is the justice system and antiquated criminal law.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭CorkMan

iMax wrote: »
    Way too soft. Should be more like American cops ( complete with uniform adjustment) those guys command respect.

Tasering of some petty criminals wouldn't go amiss either. Might curl some petty crime.

You'd have to pay em more to use the tasers though...