Gardai Too Soft?

• 30-07-2011 09:43PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭

Are they? I have been in quite a few countries and I have come to realise our police force being friendly and all arnt much good. Not to their faults I stress, but to Irish law

Are they? I have been in quite a few countries and I have come to realise our police force being friendly and all arnt much good.

Not to their faults I stress, but to Irish law. Examples; Student protest in Dublin (I can see people already typing and dismissing my point oh well) where there were the few scumbags who decided to cause trouble by attacking our riot police, and I heard on the videos that were uplaoded, people who were being treated very well in my opinion (compared to what would happen in most other countries) asking the Gardai for their id numbers.

I mean ffs if you are throwing rocks at riot police what do you expect them to say thanks. Even so they didnt do much if any harm to the culprits. My second example; This will cause some upset.

But the "Shell Gas" in Mayo. We had people threatening workers lives, tieing themselves to vehicles and blocking roads etc. Now I understand quite a few of them had their reasons like some of the fishermen, locals etc They were in the right and they went about it the right and legal way.

But alot of people protesting werent even Irish and they had come form different parts of the world causing alot of trouble..These were the ones who caused the most problems the serious ones.

Now people say oh let them off or whatever, but THE FACT is how do other nations view us especially the way we handle these type of situation. Alot of them probably said " why should we go there look at all that hassle over f*cking gas".
    Not to drag it on but look at our economy we need to use our resources.

Anyway what if our police force had been alowed to handle thiis the way most europian countries are, Im sure it would have been alot different. To give you an example I was in Spain recently (Ibiza) and I saw the way the police local and guardia civil handled things.

Now from what I saw there was very little trouble if any when I was there. People were afraid to cause trouble. I mean there was only one incident the whole 2 weeks. A drunk man tried to fight with some people. The police local caught him by the neck dragged him up the street a bit. Pepper sprayed him and gave him a few digs. He left for good. And everone saw it and knew not to cause trouble.

This was the west end and I can imagine how much more dangerous it would be if there wasnt a police force like that. Thats just my two cents. Let me know what you think should the gardai have more rights when it comes to dealing with crime?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

needs moar paragraphs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭Kensington

Good christ, use paragraphs please! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭suspectdevice

"people were afraid"

what a stupid way to think

"people were afraid"

what a stupid way to think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 383 ✭✭HUNK

GAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHH MY EYES!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 644 ✭✭✭wolf moon

Are they?
    IMO they are waay too soft.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭looky loo

HUNK wrote: »
    GAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHH MY EYES!

Gaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhh...MY BRAIN......:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭SellingJuan

Sorry aboout that :

juan wrote:
    "Now from what I saw there was very little trouble if any when I was there. People were afraid to cause trouble. I mean there was only one incident the whole 2 weeks. A drunk man tried to fight with some people. The police local caught him by the neck dragged him up the street a bit. Pepper sprayed him and gave him a few digs. He left for good. And everone saw it and knew not to cause trouble"

this is totally unacceptable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,489 ✭✭✭iMax

Way too soft. Should be more like American cops ( complete with uniform adjustment) those guys command respect.

Tasering of some petty criminals wouldn't go amiss either. Might curl some petty crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Einhard

iMax wrote: »
    Way too soft. Should be more like American cops ( complete with uniform adjustment) those guys command respect.

Tasering of some petty criminals wouldn't go amiss either. Might curl some petty crime.

I don't understand how, whenever there's a discussion about crime in Ireland, or the police, some people always speak of the American system as something that we should emulate. And yet crime rates are far higher in America, and police shootings are a regular occurrence. I fail to see how shooting a cop dead is indicative of "respect". If anything, on empirical evidence alone, the US would be far better of emulating the Irish, or general European system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

iMax wrote: »

might even curtail some of the petty crime too.........

lol

internet law and order

problem is more fundamental here

we are crap parents in this country

torn between half assed religious bs and a holier than thou respect for the education system that is run by lazy people in the most part

lol

internet law and order

problem is more fundamental here

torn between half assed religious bs and a holier than thou respect for the education system that is run by lazy people in the most part

Judging by that post, I take it that the suspect device in question is your brain...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,152 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Well, firstly I'd ditch the "we" - there are decent parents in this country.

However the ones who fart out a child and then go boozing or shouting JacIN-TAAAAAAAA and letting their kids run wild around shopping centres and streets and car parks are the ones who are crap.

There should be an IQ and ethics - and a suitability test similar to adoption - before being allowed to have a child.

And child benefit should be for the first two children - MAXIMUM.

Liam Byrne wrote: »

There should be an IQ and ethics - and a suitability test similar to adoption - before being allowed to have a child.

Good idea comrade. And anyone who becomes pregnant without passing the test, faces compulsory abortion. Even better, sterilise the lot of them! That'll teach the Untermenshcen!

Nobody will even notice the crimes of the citizens, because they'll pale in comparison with the crimes of your state!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,489 ✭✭✭iMax

mattjack wrote: »
    might even curtail some of the petty crime too.........

Feckin iPhone autocorrect :D

Einhard wrote: »
    Nobody will even notice the crimes of the citizens, because they'll pale in comparison with the crimes of your state!

Hey - I don't want to have to implement a single idea or punishment that I've ever proposed.

If people didn't allow their children to be anti-social scum, and actually REARED them rather than just having them, then none of the things listed would be done.

However I'm sick to death of people not being held responsible for their own choices and actions.

As someone said to me today, the law only applies to law-abiding citizens.

The rest of the scum don't care what the law is - they'll do what they damn-well like.

As someone said to me today, the law only applies to law-abiding citizens.

Yup, it's only law-abiding citizens in our prisons...

Judging by that post, I take it that the suspect device in question is your brain...

no need to get personal

take it apart if you can

Well, firstly I'd ditch the "we" - there are decent parents in this country.

However the ones who fart out a child and then go boozing or shouting JacIN-TAAAAAAAA and letting their kids run wild around shopping centres and streets and car parks are the ones who are crap.

And child benefit should be for the first two children - MAXIMUM.

when did you escape from jurassic park?

are you the resident troll?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,109 ✭✭✭✭threeball

Yup, it's only law-abiding citizens in our prisons...

You're away with the fairies. The majority in prison have no respect for the prison sentence or the law that put them there. The only person it deters is the fella who got done for minor crimes or fines, who most likely never got in trouble before in his life.
    Theres fellas running around with over 100 convictions after their name. Those guys should never see the light of day again. 3 strikes, ten yrs, you might think twice next time. I'd have them breaking rocks from dawn till dust for the duration of their sentence. Prison is no detterent and the tact the guards take demands no respect.

The airy fairy bullsh*t has gone on long enough and we live in a country thats only suits the scum or the very wealthy. Everyone else just pays the bills.

threeball wrote: »
    You're away with the fairies. The majority in prison have no respect for the prison sentence or the law that put them there. The only person it deters is the fella who got done for minor crimes or fines, who most likely never got in trouble before in his life.
    Theres fellas running around with over 100 convictions after their name. Those guys should never see the light of day again. 3 strikes, ten yrs, you might think twice next time. I'd have them breaking rocks from dawn till dust for the duration of their sentence. Prison is no detterent and the tact the guards take demands no respect.

The airy fairy bullsh*t has gone on long enough and we live in a country thats only suits the scum or the very wealthy. Everyone else just pays the bills.

My point exactly, only phrased better.

when did you escape from jurassic park?

No idea what that's supposed to mean. What's wrong with wanting parents to actually do some PARENTING, instead of letting their sprogs run riot, shrugging their shoulders and saying "what can you do?" before they shuffle on in their PJs puffing on their fags and ignoring the little tyke that's just knocked the shop stock off the shelves or written all over the flyers ?

What's wrong with wanting parents to say "No - you can't go out walking the streets in a hoodie @ 10pm and chucking rocks at passing cars or getting cheap kicks out of deliberately forcing old ladies off the path and onto the roads, while spray-painting expensive public property with your pathetic ;Jimmy woz ere'" ?

What's wrong with saying "You're MY child, and MY responsibility, not the responsibility of Gardai or the state with some scumbag right to wreak havoc" ?

threeball wrote: »

so herr threeball, what would you propose?

No idea what that's supposed to mean. What's wrong with wanting parents to actually do some PARENTING, instead of letting their sprogs run riot, shrugging their shoulders and saying "what can you do?" before they shuffle on in their PJs puffing on their fags and ignoring the little tyke that's just knocked the shop stock off the shelves or written all over the flyers ?

maybe a period with vertebrae was too soon

you are more of a trilobite to be honest

mod: poster banned.

maybe a period with vertebrae was too soon

you are more of a trilobite to be honest

Lay off the pathetic personal crap.

There is NOTHING unreasonable in what I said above. If you think there is, post something worthwhile and we'll discuss it.

Looking up dictionary.com so you can copy and paste snide remarks is adding nothing to the discussion.

Do you not think that parents should actually do PARENTING ?

so herr threeball, what would you propose?

Jail for first time offenders should be fairly rudimentary with just a taste of what it will be like if you come back. Any one who commits 3 offences in 10 years automaticlly gets 10 years. Time should be spent doing labour. Not stuffing your face with creatine and hitting the weights room.

Also dole payments should be limited to draw down for one year
    after leaving education. At that stage any future dole available to you will be calculated as a percentage of your working life . Work 5yrs you're entitled to 1yrs dole, work 10yrs get 2 years dole etc. Don't work, you get nothing. Hardlines lines. Only exception would be genuinely medically unable.

Thats what I'd do Mein Freund

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,444 ✭✭✭Absurdum

Gardai aren't too soft, the judiciary are.

What's wrong with wanting parents to say "No - you can't go out walking the streets in a hoodie @ 10pm and chucking rocks at passing cars or getting cheap kicks out of deliberately forcing old ladies off the path and onto the roads, while spray-painting expensive public property with your pathetic ;Jimmy woz ere'" ?

What's wrong with saying "You're MY child, and MY responsibility, not the responsibility of Gardai or the state with some scumbag right to wreak havoc" ?

Good post, another area that needs sorting and its not that hard if people ignore the bleeding hearts that hold this country to ransom at every turn and actually run a country the caters firstly for the majority. Only then will the money and will be there to help those who can't help themselves and genuinely need it. Most of the above just want handouts

Lay off the pathetic personal crap.
    haha
    There is NOTHING unreasonable in what I said above.
    child benefit for the first two children only?
    If you think there is, post something worthwhile and we'll discuss it.
    look above. one proves the point
    Looking up dictionary.com so you can copy and paste snide remarks is adding nothing to the discussion.

no need. your posts are inspriation enough
    Do you not think that parents should actually do PARENTING ?
    sure, and I believe the people who care for the children in their formative years should take it seriously too

why not measure teachers on success? why not sack them if their class fails to meet the expected standard or if they haven't identified or highlighted the problems a child faces?

why not ask them to work regular hours and be measured the same as any other production or care facility?