Five Gardai will not be charged in shell to sea tape

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,540 ✭✭✭joseph brand

RichieC wrote: »
    Muphry's law.. ;)

Murphy's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

There's obviousley a few Gaurda hatin' fools coming to the surface in this tread.

Stop the hatin and get a life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

The fact is, no law was broken therefore why should they be punished?

What is being argued in this thread is taste basically. The comments were bad taste but I have heard worse. Some people think it funny others don't. And it was not a threat, as the women was not in the car with him.

Far worse is said everyday in any job I would suspect, the fact this went so far is because of where it happened.

Such a non-event in all honesty.... I would hardly expect everyone who said something distasteful to be dragged in front of the courts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

jonnny68 wrote: »
    Dear me there are some pretty warped people out there thinking this is funny, if i want a real laugh ill go to a comedy club or drinks with friends, i wont casually mention that ill be raping a woman.

Subject closed as far as im concerned.............

Johnny, you'll find that most people don't actually consider it to be funny, but can see that it was said in a non threatening way. An attempt at humour. An "in" joke.

I'm happy with the result of this. Although it's not over yet, as I don't think they have been disciplined yet.

I was listening to Matt Cooper earlier. He had Susan McKay on from the national womens council.

Matt read out a statement from a detective Garda, who recalled one of the protesters saying something like "she is not safe with ye, she could be raped by ye", and put it to the rep from the national womens council that the guards were joking afterwards (in the recording) at the ridiculousness of that statement, and that is why that word came in to the conversation. (most likely IMO too)

She said: "Even if the woman had expressed a fear of being in the car with the Gardai" and "I think it is a fair point, that if they were being manhandled, that there might well have been a fear of being with the guards" "if a woman mentioned rape in that context, that is a completely different thing".

Two sentences later she says rape isn't funny.

So, the national womens council say it is ok to scream fear of rape whenever it suits, but someone joking about that ridiculous scream is the scum of the earth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 229 ✭✭0O7

is that so, what the hell is this then

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IDbQYocpTKQ

are you people seriously deluded, watch this video, is it perfectly acceptable for a member of this countries police force or indeed anyone to come out with comments like this regardless if this was "having a laugh with your mates" or not,again i ask the question, if this was your mother,sister or partner what would your reaction be, ah it was only a private joke no harm meant:rolleyes: even if one of these women did happen to mention something about rape in the first instance she should be reprimanded although i still do not believe that unless someone can offer up some evidence then i will, but for a member of this counties police force to come out with something like this shows the mentality of some of them,small town, narrow minded sexist men who think they are above the law,im not suggesting every member of the Garda is like this,however there are some evidently who are!

My point is,regardless if your joking or not, comments like this is something you simply should not say especially in a professional capacity, i would never dream of saying anything like this even "having a laugh" it's pretty disgusting and speaks volumes about the person who said it.

meh, that video dosnt count, sure wasnt it proven that the video was edited???

nah, i know it was wrong to say it but not illegal, if a tree falls and nobody is around to hear it, does it make a sound???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,384 ✭✭✭gbee

And it was not a threat,

It was never a threat. The rape thought was planted by one of the arrested women. If she had not said it, IMO, IMHO, the guards would never have thought of it, let alone make a joke about it.

It was never a threat.

I have the missing bits "Jesus, did ye hear her shouting about being raped, Christ we're not even arresting her" "Yea, can you imagine her surprise if we went back and said we would rape her, HA HAAA HAAA haaaa!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

gbee wrote: »
    It was never a threat. The rape thought was planted by one of the arrested women. If she had not said it, IMO, IMHO, the guards would never have thought of it, let alone make a joke about it.

It was never a threat.

I have the missing bits "Jesus, did ye hear her shouting about being raped, Christ we're not even arresting her" "Yea, can you imagine her surprise if we went back and said we would rape her, HA HAAA HAAA haaaa!"

I agree,if that happened in the main street where i lived it wouldn't make the news.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 646 ✭✭✭end a eknny

What would they have charged them with?

Having a laugh?
    hardly. but its just aswell theres no law against stupidity

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 6,391 Mod ✭✭✭✭Macha

There was never any suggestion that there would be charges. What they wanted was disciplinary action against the Gardai in question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Macha wrote: »
    There was never any suggestion that there would be charges. What they wanted was disciplinary action against the Gardai in question.

What they actually wanted was revenge because they are not getting their way in Rossport. Plain and simple. How many of these tree-hugging crustys would remain there if their dole was stopped because they were preventing other people from working ?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 6,391 Mod ✭✭✭✭Macha

What they actually wanted was revenge because they are not getting their way in Rossport. Plain and simple. How many of these tree-hugging crustys would remain there if their dole was stopped because they were preventing other people from working ?
    I'm sorry. What part of your post actually refutes the evidence presented in the video tape of frontline gardai that frequently deal with rape victims joking about raping young women in their custody?

Oh that's right, none of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I'm sorry. What part of your post actually refutes the evidence presented in the video tape of frontline gardai that frequently deal with rape victims joking about raping young women in their custody?

Oh that's right, none of it.

You get me wrong as i have actually said on another thread that it was an awful stupid thing to say even in jest. But that is not what the thread is about. These women are no angels themselves and were very quick to complain and hold press conferences as well as post on U Tube. It suited their anti-Garda agenda and that of the protesters. They were also the first to mention the rape word too. Where are they today ? Keeping their heads down it seems and not hogging the media.

What do you mean "no angels"? And what does it have to do with them? NO woman should have to put up with that, regardless of who they are. Trying to talk about the protestors is a red herring and quite obviously trying to take attention of the important facts.

Oooh how dare they be quick to complain! What utter rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭amjon.

I refuse to believe it even more so because a police force like the PSNI (given their shameful human rights record since their inception) say so.

Regardless it's too late now and once again these Garda parasites have gotten away,another injustice.:rolleyes:

Yes, the damned PSNI and Gardai - we'd be so much better off without them:pac:

the unfortunate thing that this tape uncovered wasnt any crime, it was that a lot of gardai are arrogant, stupid, immature and believe they are untouchable (with some good reason)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

[QUOTE=elviscostello;73535773

I was listening to Matt Cooper earlier. [/QUOTE]

listened to the same interview. two things that annoyed me.

firstly, the original tape had the american girl in the background saying she didnt want to see the other girl arrested as she was not safe on her own with the gardai. the shell to sea rep on said the detective garda's statement was a lie (he confirmed this exchange between the girls and gardai). cooper should have pulled her up on it.

secondly, a phonecall into nui maynooth to ask why their academic research equipment (the camcorder) was being used by shell to sea protestors.

What do you mean "no angels"? And what does it have to do with them? NO woman should have to put up with that, regardless of who they are. Trying to talk about the protestors is a red herring and quite obviously trying to take attention of the important facts.

The comment was made as a joke in a private place out of earshot of those women who were the first to mention rape when they stood on top of a tractor disrupting traffic. Yes how dare them. Get over it. It was thrown out. No case to answer. Not a crime. Those are the important facts no matter how disappointed you and the women are. The red herrings are all to do with the doctored tape.

the unfortunate thing that this tape uncovered wasnt any crime, it was that a lot of gardai are arrogant, stupid, immature and believe they are untouchable (with some good reason)

I think you will find that only TWO of them joked. But it was in bad taste. Two is probably a lot to you Enda as usual when its Gardai.

The comment was made as a joke in a private place out of earshot of those women who were the first to mention rape when they stood on top of a tractor disrupting traffic. Yes how dare them. Get over it. It was thrown out. No case to answer. Not a crime. Those are the important facts no matter how disappointed you and the women are. The red herrings are all to do with the doctored tape.
    Doesn't matter that it was in private out of earshot. They were on duty with these women in their custody and they are frontline officers that deal with rape victims on a regular basis. It is NOT acceptable to joke about this kind of stuff. I don't joke about rape at work, my male friends don't joke about rape at work. It's not common, it's not normal and it's not acceptable for Gardai.

Yes there is a case to answer and you haven't come close to showing that there isn't one. The case hasn't been thrown out, despite the best efforts of the sub-editors. The two officers involved will still likely face disciplinary action and AGAIN I make the point that no one wanted or expected them to face charges.

And finally, you haven't given any evidence about the "doctored" tape or how it impacts on the case quite clearly because you have no understanding of the level of spin that's being put on this or what actually happened to the tape. Do you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

If the police are charged, I hope every protester that shouts "rape" when they're touched are charged too. At least the police do it in private as a joke, the protesters shout it in front of everyone and are actually serious

Doesn't matter that it was in private out of earshot. They were on duty with these women in their custody and they are frontline officers that deal with rape victims on a regular basis. It is NOT acceptable to joke about this kind of stuff. I don't joke about rape at work, my male friends don't joke about rape at work. It's not common, it's not normal and it's not acceptable for Gardai.

Yes there is a case to answer and you haven't come close to showing that there isn't one. The case hasn't been thrown out, despite the best efforts of the sub-editors. The two officers involved will still likely face disciplinary action and AGAIN I make the point that no one wanted or expected them to face charges.

And finally, you haven't given any evidence about the "doctored" tape or how it impacts on the case quite clearly because you have no understanding of the level of spin that's being put on this or what actually happened to the tape. Do you?

Get over it as you are not winning. The tape was doctored by the women's side according to Alan Shatter, read it on the news page. I already said they were wrong to joke about rape but these women were no angels as they were committing obstruction of the public road. Why are there no comments from them now about the tape ? The were very fast to comment before. Caught out it seems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,097 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

I'm surprised that it even go that far. If that was a scum-bag saying that he'd rape someone and it was caught on a stolen video camera, the case wouldn't even make it to court as the recording was illegal. You cannot record someone without their knowledge and permission. Simple law.

And just because some people don't joke about rape, doesn't mean everyone doesn't. God, i'm going straight to hell for the jokes i make. Doesn't mean i'm going to go out and do what i joke about.

And before the high horse brigade come along, get off it. We're not all perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

No woman should make light of rape like those women did.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

I think you will find that only TWO of them joked. But it was in bad taste. Two is probably a lot to you Enda as usual when its Gardai.
    two out of the two gardai that where present thats 100% of the gardai which would be 99% right

K-9 wrote: »
    No woman should make light of rape like those women did.
    who says they where joking maybe they knew the gardai or met them in coppers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,125 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

This was "faked" was it f**k, once again the Garda have come out of this and shown there is one law for joe soap and one law for them, i do not believe for one minute this tape was "faked" in my opinion they covered it up and brushed it under the carpet.:rolleyes:

Pllllleeeeeeeezzzzzze

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,097 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

If that was the case it would have been well publicized.

two out of the two gardai that where present thats 100% of the gardai which would be 99% right

Wrong yet again Enda there were five present so its 40%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Maybe.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭Duddy

I highly doubt those women actually thought the Gardai in question were capable of, wanted to, or were condoning rape. They heard a stupid joke between two people in private (that they'd probably have tittered or groaned at in their own company) and decided to use it against them.

It was a stupid tactic, taking focus of the main aim of their campaign and highlighting their highly inarticulate and undignified means of protesting. If the women themselves actually felt victimized by the Gardai (and fair enough, maybe they might have), they wouldn't have taken the whole ShelltoSea campaign on board too.

A childish tit-for-tat retaliation to being stopped from breaking the law.