Five Gardai will not be charged in shell to sea tape

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭ilovelamp2000

Does the 68 refer to Johnny's IQ ?

Even if the tape was tampered with there was nothing other than bad humour on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,487 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Does the 68 refer to Johnny's IQ ?

You're really overstating things there man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

jonnny68 wrote: »
    and that makes all the difference does it:rolleyes: if you heard a tape of someone talking and threatening to rape your mother,sister or partner what would your reaction be,would you just put it down to someone "having a laugh"

I seriously cannot believe some peoples opinions relating to this.

The women shouldn't have made light of rape in the first place. The hypocritical stuff after that painted them in a bad light for me.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,082 ✭✭✭sheesh

https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/113116/168742.jpg

first link was to this thread.

the only bad ones were from a website called therepublicannetwork

and the only other one was a blogspot blog none of these are reputable sources of information

were you thinking about the RUC? it was a similar organisation and had a very bad human rights against catholics i somehowe doubt this organisation would be helping a southern government.

your argument does not stack up :cool:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭knird evol

Did the PSNI ever catch up with that guy Liam Adams?

There was some allegations of abuse or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

knird evol wrote: »
    Did the PSNI ever catch up with that guy Liam Adams?

There was some allegations of abuse or something?

Yep, he's contesting extradition I think, case was on during the week.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 229 ✭✭0O7

if someone threatened to rape your mother,sister or partner would you also consider it as "having a laugh"

but they didnt threaten to rape anybody???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,831 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Could you not point to a specific page rather than using a specific sentence in a search engine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

0O7 wrote: »
    but they didnt threaten to rape anybody???

is that so, what the hell is this then

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IDbQYocpTKQ

"Give me your name and address or ill rape you"

are you people seriously deluded, watch this video, is it perfectly acceptable for a member of this countries police force or indeed anyone to come out with comments like this regardless if this was "having a laugh with your mates" or not,again i ask the question, if this was your mother,sister or partner what would your reaction be, ah it was only a private joke no harm meant:rolleyes: even if one of these women did happen to mention something about rape in the first instance she should be reprimanded although i still do not believe that unless someone can offer up some evidence then i will, but for a member of this counties police force to come out with something like this shows the mentality of some of them,small town, narrow minded sexist men who think they are above the law,im not suggesting every member of the Garda is like this,however there are some evidently who are!

My point is,regardless if your joking or not, comments like this is something you simply should not say especially in a professional capacity, i would never dream of saying anything like this even "having a laugh" it's pretty disgusting and speaks volumes about the person who said it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,242 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

will they ever just send the watercannons and 'robocop' down there to go and blast all those ignorant nut job hippies out of it.

seriously all of those shell2sea nutters should be locked up at this stage, they all sponge off the dole anyway so sponging in prison would make no odds to them ,

if there werent laws against it id bulldoze their entire campsite while they slept

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭angelfire9

is that so, what the hell is this then

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IDbQYocpTKQ

are you people seriously deluded, watch this video, is it perfectly acceptable for a member of this countries police force or indeed anyone to come out with comments like this regardless if this was "having a laugh with your mates" or not,again i ask the question, if this was your mother,sister or partner what would your reaction be, ah it was only a private joke no harm meant:rolleyes: even if one of these women did happen to mention something about rape in the first instance she should be reprimanded although i still do not believe that unless someone can offer up some evidence then i will, but for a member of this counties police force to come out with something like this shows the mentality of some of them,small town, narrow minded sexist men who think they are above the law,im not suggesting every member of the Garda is like this,however there are some evidently who are!

My point is,regardless if your joking or not, comments like this is something you simply should not say especially in a professional capacity, i would never dream of saying anything like this even "having a laugh" it's pretty disgusting and speaks volumes about the person who said it.

That youtube clip is obviously edited there are massive gaps in the sound, plus at the start of it the Garda is telling one of the women to let go her grip of him
    Interestingly the video taped footage of the ENTIRE incident is not on youtube
    Funny that :rolleyes:

angelfire9 wrote: »
    That youtube clip is obviously edited there are massive gaps in the sound, plus at the start of it the Garda is telling one of the women to let go her grip of him
    Interestingly the video taped footage of the ENTIRE incident is not on youtube
    Funny that :rolleyes:
    yes of course it is mate..........jesus wept:rolleyes:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,723 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

yes of course it is mate..........jesus wept:rolleyes:

Well when the tape first emerged there was a 20min or so clip on youtube. This was the basis of the Shell2Sea's argument. For the full clip to now not be on youtube now negates their argument as you can take any comment out of context and use it to mean what ever you want.

The joke by the Garda was stupid and juvenile. It was not in the slightest bit an indication that is what he was going to do i.e. rape the girl in question.

This also in my opinion paints Shell2Sea in a further bad light. The reason the Gardai were in Mayo in the first place was to deal with them breaking the law. Now they want the Garda in question to be punished, not committing a crime but for making a thick childish joke is ridiculous!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,331 ✭✭✭RichieC

Good.

CatFromHue wrote: »
    Well when the tape first emerged there was a 20min or so clip on youtube. This was the basis of the Shell2Sea's argument. For the full clip to now not be on youtube now negates their argument as you can take any comment out of context and use it to mean what ever you want.

The joke by the Garda was stupid and juvenile. It was not in the slightest bit an indication that is what he was going to do i.e. rape the girl in question.

This also in my opinion paints Shell2Sea in a further bad light. The reason the Gardai were in Mayo in the first place was to deal with them breaking the law. Now they want the Garda in question to be punished, not committing a crime but for making a thick childish joke is ridiculous!

Fair enough at least you have acknowledged that the Garda in question was wrong, personally i find it pretty revolting and sick and shows the Garda up for what he is,there are unfortunately others like him too but as i previously said i wouldn't tar them all with the same brush,however what grates me is that they seem to be immune from prosecution a lot of the time,not relevant to this subject but the link i posted earlier about this 26 year old man caught with a cocaine factory in his house to the value of €138,000 got a 5 year suspended sentence,his father and grandfather before him happened to be Garda,coincidence or not, if this was anyone else they would be sentenced to 10+ years straight off no question so the question must be asked how come this man didn't go straight down?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,540 ✭✭✭joseph brand

Fair enough at least you have acknowledged that the Garda in question was wrong, personally i find it pretty revolting and sick and shows the Garda up for what he is,there are unfortunately others like him too but as i previously said i wouldn't tar them all with the same brush,however what grates me is that they seem to be immune from prosecution a lot of the time,not relevant to this subject but the link i posted earlier about this 26 year old man caught with a cocaine factory in his house to the value of €138,00 got a 5 year suspended sentence,his father and grandfather before him happened to be Garda,coincidence or not, if this was anyone else they would be sentenced to 10+ years straight off no question so the question must be asked how come this man didn't go straight down?

Banter between guys in work and running a cocaine factory are the same thing?? Totally irrelevant.

If people could be sacked for talking filth in work, with their colleagues, there'd be a lot more people on the dole.

Next step, the 'Thought Police'.

Banter between guys in work and running a cocaine factory are the same thing?? Totally irrelevant.

If people could be sacked for talking filth in work, with their colleagues, there'd be a lot more people on the dole.

read my post again mate i clearly said it wasn't relevant to this subject, there's talking "filth" and a member of the law mentioning "raping a woman" im sure if this was a female member of your family you would not be pleased to hear this eh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,384 ✭✭✭gbee

I for one am pleased.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭brimal

I lol'd when listening to the tape.

Bunch of lads dicking around - no big deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭gowley

Poor old Johnny 68 wanted blood and didn't get it. Looks like he was the subject of something sniffy himself.
    haha hes got a grudge against the gaurds alright.

Dear me there are some pretty warped people out there thinking this is funny, if i want a real laugh ill go to a comedy club or drinks with friends, i wont casually mention that ill be raping a woman.

Subject closed as far as im concerned.............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

The problem is being caught doing it. I doubt there are many professional jobs where no disciplinary action would be taken if you were overheard by, or it was brought to your bosses attention that you were making jokes about raping one of your clients/customers.

I personally don't think they should be fired, or even suspended, but it's foolish to say that they done nothing wrong. You'd get an infraction or a ban for making a rape joke in AH!

gowley wrote: »
    haha hes got a grudge against the gaurds alright.

you can't even spell guards properly and you are talking nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,540 ✭✭✭joseph brand

you can even spell guards properly and you are talking nonsense.

Can't. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭gowley

Dear me there are some pretty warped people out there thinking this is funny, if i want a real laugh ill go to a comedy club or drinks with friends, i wont casually mention that ill be raping a woman.

thank god you can go back to protesting with all the other shell to sea nutjobs now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

anyway ive a pain in my boll*x with all of this going around in circles so ill leave it at that.

This is the second time you have "left" this thread, see ya soon I suppose?
    you can't even spell guards properly and you are talking nonsense.

You aren't someone who can lecture people on proper use of the English language.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,402 ✭✭✭HarryPotter41

and that makes all the difference does it:rolleyes: if you heard a tape of someone talking and threatening to rape your mother,sister or partner what would your reaction be,would you just put it down to someone "having a laugh"

I seriously cannot believe some peoples opinions relating to this.

Strangely, the woman who was so upset by the talk of rape in the car by the Gardai was nowhere near as upset when she was on top of the the tractor using the word herself when she told the Gardai they would have to rape her to get her down. Must only upset her when other people use the word.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,331 ✭✭✭RichieC

Can't. :P

Muphry's law.. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Again ? For real this time ?
    Take a chill pill Johnny, you deserve it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

The problem is being caught doing it. I doubt there are many professional jobs where no disciplinary action would be taken if you were overheard by, or it was brought to your bosses attention that you were making jokes about raping one of your clients/customers.

I personally don't think they should be fired, or even suspended, but it's foolish to say that they done nothing wrong. You'd get an infraction or a ban for making a rape joke in AH!

A.H. is hardly a private car and among you're mates. Bad comparison.