Five Gardai will not be charged in shell to sea tape

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭Finnbar01

jonnny68 wrote: »
    if someone threatened to rape your mother,sister or partner would you also consider it as "having a laugh"

They didn't threaten to rape anyone, they made a joke in private and not in the company of the protesters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 557 ✭✭✭Waestrel

I refuse to believe it even more so because a police force like the PSNI (given their shameful human rights record since their inception) say so.

Regardless it's too late now and once again these Garda parasites have gotten away,another injustice.:rolleyes:

the problem with conspiracy theories is that they explain everything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I refuse to believe it even more so because a police force like the PSNI (given their shameful human rights record since their inception) say so.

Regardless it's too late now and once again these Garda parasites have gotten away,another injustice.:rolleyes:

Build a bridge.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

They haven't "gotten away" with anything.

These women where found to have done something fishy with the "evidence" they had of this incident by an independant observer.

You are ignoring the facts because you seem to have a problem with the Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,895 ✭✭✭Gandalph

if someone threatened to rape your mother,sister or partner would you also consider it as "having a laugh"

Hallow threats are serious sh1t

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

Finnbar01 wrote: »
    They didn't threaten to rape anyone, they made a joke in private and not in the company of the protesters.

WTF:eek: did you actually hear the tape in question, the Garda in question (regardless whether or not they were in the company of the protesters) said he would rape the woman,of course they are not going to say something like that to the face of the protesters,the garda was caught red handed on tape saying this,and now they are saying the tape was "tampered with"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

WTF:eek: did you actually hear the tape in question, the Garda in question (regardless whether or not they were in the company of the protesters) said he would rape the woman,of course they are not going to say something like that to the face of the protesters,the garda was caught red handed on tape saying this,and now they are saying the tape was "tampered with"

They should be raped as punishment. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Tampered with by the people on the protesters side, not the Gardai. It was handled by an independent body and the gardai investigated by the Ombudsman for Gardai. What do you want ?

They haven't "gotten away" with anything.

These women where found to have done something fishy with the "evidence" they had of this incident by an independant observer.

You are ignoring the facts because you seem to have a problem with the Gardai.

your talking rubbish mate, i have no problem with the Garda in general, i do however have a problem when they can get away with so much which they have done over the years, this particular incident being just one of many, even worse the PSNI as being the "independent observer" given their track record.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Einhard

This was "faked" was it f**k, once again the Garda have come out of this and shown there is one law for joe soap and one law for them, i do not believe for one minute this tape was "faked" in my opinion they covered it up and brushed it under the carpet.:rolleyes:

The Garda aren't running the investigation though, the Garda Ombudsman is. It's an entirely independent body, and has already brought numerous prosecutions against members of the force. By all means though, don't let the facts get in the way of an uninformed rant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,082 ✭✭✭sheesh

what shameful human rights record does the psni have?

Einhard wrote: »
    The Garda aren't running the investigation though, the Garda Ombudsman is. It's an entirely independent body, and has already brought numerous prosecutions against members of the force. By all means though, don't let the facts get in the way of an uninformed rant!

Not an "uninformed rant" whatsoever, so the Garda Ombudsman carried out an investigation,independent body my ar*e and you believe that rubbish do you, without even looking into this i would bet any amount of money these "numerous prosecutions" you speak of would be in the vast MINORITY compared to the few that have been prosecuted.

Do you believe everything that is written in the media, do you believe everything the Government,etc,etc,etc come out with,Ireland is rotten to the core from top to bottom, the amount of lies,corruption and deceit,etc is astounding and anyone who thinks otherwise is a bigger fool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

Can you explain what you think happened?

I don't know how anybody in there right mind knowing the details would think that the Gardai really did anything particularly bad.

sheesh wrote: »
    what shameful human rights record does the psni have?

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=PSNI+shameful+human+rights+record

your talking rubbish mate, i have no problem with the Garda in general, i do however have a problem when they can get away with so much which they have done over the years, this particular incident being just one of many, even worse the PSNI as being the "independent observer" given their track record.

I'm not even going to bother arguing with you anymore.

The facts are there and you're just ignoring them and making up your own version of the truth based on absolutely nothing, just like every other conspiracy theorist does.

This thread comes up as the first result you clown.

Ray Palmer wrote: »
    Can you explain what you think happened?

I don't know how anybody in there right mind knowing the details would think that the Gardai really did anything particularly bad.

caught on video tape a member of the Garda was talking to a colleague and in the context of that conversation said "maybe ill rape her" or words very similar to that effect.

It's not an offence where the Garda in question should be sent to jail for this (obviously), the Garda however should've been reprimanded and suspended without pay and made to apologise to the woman in question,instead he was confined to "desk duties" for a period of time and now they have concluded that this evidence was "tampered with":rolleyes:

anyway ive a pain in my boll*x with all of this going around in circles so ill leave it at that.

i noticed that actually :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭Finnbar01

Yes I did listen to the tape but you obviously didn't. You claimed they threatened to rape them. They made a silly joke in private and not in front of the protesters. People make crude jokes all the time.

Incidentally, it was reported that one of the protesters accussed one of the gardaí of rape in his presence. If this is true, do you think she should be charged with making a false allegation? The protesters milked it for what it was worth and all on the back of genuine rape victims. That says a lot more about the mindset of these protesters and their supporters than it does about the gardaí involved.

I'm not even going to bother arguing with you anymore.

The facts are there and you're just ignoring them and making up your own version of the truth based on absolutely nothing, just like every other conspiracy theorist does.

ditto.........
    on you go then

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Jonnny68, ironic that you're demanding justice by ignoring all the evidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,037 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I think the tampering might refer to the fact that the beginning of the tape was not presented to gardai / media at the outset.
    The first part of the tape clearly showed that the protestors refused to travel in certain cars with gardai saying they would rape them etc.
    This is clearly where the garda jokes came from.

Listening to the recording without this first part made the gardai seem alittle odd to be joking about such a subject but considering the earlier accusations by the protestors, it is clear how the converation arose and is not so strange imo.

Not an "uninformed rant" whatsoever, so the Garda Ombudsman carried out an investigation,independent body my ar*e and you believe that rubbish do you, without even looking into this i would bet any amount of money these "numerous prosecutions" you speak of would be in the vast MINORITY compared to the few that have been prosecuted.

Do you believe everything that is written in the media, do you believe everything the Government,etc,etc,etc come out with,Ireland is rotten to the core from top to bottom, the amount of lies,corruption and deceit,etc is astounding and anyone who thinks otherwise is a bigger fool.

What a load of bollox! People like you make me cringe. No two ways about it. You come out with a load of sh!t, when the errors in your argument are pointed out, you just close your eyes and rant away anyway. Nobody has called the impartiality of the Garda Ombudsman into question- indeed, the body has come in from heavy criticism here on boards, and elsewhere, for bringing prosecutions against members of the force. You have no evidence to support your claim that the GO is not fully independent, and yet you insist on it anyway. Were the Garda to operate in that type of manner, you'd be the first to cry foul, yet it seems that evidence and the like are only for other people eh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

mickdw wrote: »
    I think the tampering might refer to the fact that the beginning of the tape was not presented to gardai / media at the outset.
    The first part of the tape clearly showed that the protestors refused to travel in certain cars with gardai saying they would rape them etc.

Listening to the recording without this first part made the gardai seem alittle odd to be joking about such a subject but considering the earlier accusations by the protestors, it is clear how the converation arose and is not so strange imo.

There were videos of protesters being taken down off a tractor. Any women that were touched shouted "rape".

Brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

WTF:eek: did you actually hear the tape in question, the Garda in question (regardless whether or not they were in the company of the protesters) said he would rape the woman,
    No he didn't.
    caught on video tape a member of the Garda was talking to a colleague and in the context of that conversation said "maybe ill rape her" or words very similar to that effect.
    You can't take a verbal sentence as intent, isn't 90% of communication non verbal? What we're missing visually is him doing this.... :rolleyes:

Your getting upset over nothing, I'm shocked that I'm the one defending the guards here but the fact is this is a non issue, the guards did nothing but make a joke, in private, lead on by the comments of the people accusing them of wrongdoing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,059 ✭✭✭Uriel.

Paparazzo wrote: »
    mickdw wrote: »

There were videos of protesters being taken down off a tractor. Any women that were touched shouted "rape".

Those women that shouted rape should be immediately charged with making false accusations.

That'll learn them crusties to stay the fnuck at home and not waste everyone's time and money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,778 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

Glad to hear nothing was done to those lads who were having a private laugh among themselves.

Pity lots of money was wasted on an investigation.

Pity lots of money is still being wasted giving the crusty layabouts welfare payments aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

It's not an offence where the Garda in question should be sent to jail for this (obviously), the Garda however should've been reprimanded and suspended without pay and made to apologise to the woman in question,instead he was confined to "desk duties" for a period of time and now they have concluded that this evidence was "tampered with":rolleyes:

anyway ive a pain in my boll*x with all of this going around in circles so ill leave it at that.
    LOL you obviously missed the key pieces of the actual story. They weren't making any threats and made silly jokes after being called rapists by the woman in question. The tampering of the tape was most likely the woman removing their comments but it was caught by other footage.