Nanny state, might as well bring back the holy hour

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

lol, two days out of 365 that people can't go to the pub and the amount of moaning done about it is unreal.

"I'm forced to go to a house party every Good Friday because i can't go one day without a beer".

Bless.

Yawn, change the f ucking record, this same old argument again. It's simply the principle of this absurd law, whether someone who wishes to purchase alcohol on December 25th or whichever date the paedophile protectors decree is Easter Sunday, is, quite frankly, none of the government's business, how could it be?! You can't truly believe that these measures were taken for the public good can you? No, they were created as a control measure, a bizarre reaction to falling pub revenues. But no, you carry right on there with your smug, superior, self-righteous, better than the rest of us, up your own a rse attitude.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

Seloth wrote: »
    Offy times should be restricted...And thats coming from a 19 y/o student!
    We are a booze culture and there would be far more anti-social violent behavior and accidents if they were open later.At most maybe push it too 11pm.

Pubs on the other hand,well the licencing laws with regard to "late bars" should be relaxed.As well as clubs.

Not all pubs and clubs should be allowed to extend times but they should exist.

As with regards to the good friday thing...Feckin hell lads its only one day a year get over it.

And how do you figure that?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

Caraville wrote: »
    True enough, but in fairness it's not like there's only a 2-hour window for people to buy booze in an off-licence. They're open from 10.30am to 10pm as far as I know (open at 12.30 I think on a Sunday) which is a good length of time to go shopping. I'd probably say they should be open to 11pm but I don't really see the need for them to be open later than that.
    There isn't really a desperate need for them to open later, but equally there isn't really a need for them to be closed so early.

It's a bit frustrating and pointless that if I arrive home at 10:01 and feel like having a can I can't just walk down to the shop and buy one. But, at 9:55 I can go in buy 5 bottles of whiskey and drink the lot.

It's pointless meddling and interference by the government, either to pander to the Joe Duffy brigade, or possibly even to help out the pub trade, and it's brought in under the guise of protecting people's health.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,385 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

Caraville wrote: »
    I wanted a bag of monster munch at 2am the other morning but the shop was closed. So I got over it and told myself next time the shop was open I'd stock up and not blame the government.

Is there a law threatening to close down the shop if they sell Monster Munch after 10?
    lol, two days out of 365 that people can't go to the pub and the amount of moaning done about it is unreal.

"I'm forced to go to a house party every Good Friday because i can't go one day without a beer".

Bless.

I hate this response that crops every time the issue of pubs closing on Good Friday is brought up. I for one don't drink every day (In fact I haven't drank in weeks) but should I wish to drink on that particular friday, I don't see why the government should stop me.
    Christmas is a Catholic holiday. The idea is that if you respect Christmas as a Catholic holiday, you must respect the rest as a bundle. If you don't want Good Friday, you can't have Christmas.

EDIT: Actually, I'm starting to suspect you're a troll.

Not exactly. I think this explains the roots of Christmas quite well. And even if none of that were the case, Christmas would still be a general Christian holiday, not a Catholic one.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,100 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Part of me would love to see prohibiton brought into Ireland and what would happen...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Rabidlamb

ixoy wrote: »
    Part of me would love to see prohibiton brought into Ireland and what would happen...

Ulster says yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

ixoy wrote: »
    Nothing we;d bend over and take it like we always do. Ireland really is a nation of pushovers. If the British hadn't got fed up with us we'd still be in the empire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Hannibal Smith

Rabidlamb wrote: »
    We put up with some crap from legislators which is intruding on our free will.
    If I feel like a bottle of wine at 11pm my local garage will serve me cause they know me.
    My local throws out the ashtrays after closing cause most of the late gang smoke.
    I'm forced to attend a house party every Good Friday cause the state takes the side of some god botherer's belief.

When will the government learn all this fringe nonsense is unenforceable & just an annoyance to peoples common sense.
    If you initiate silly laws people lose respect for the system & it undermines the credibility of justifiable legislation.
    Politicians need to think before they try to cater for every nanny state whim proposed by Mothers United Against Fun.

Wasn't the smoking ban an EU directive? :confused:

If you think it's bad here, try visiting Spain over the Easter weekend :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

Rabidlamb wrote: »
    The best one is the reduction in mg of the blood alcohol limit.
    Now it's 80 mg, stirling work, I see your 80 & propose 50, jolly good, wait we need more good press, I see your 50 & say we go for 40.

I'm sorry, but I don't see how anyone could argue with the blood alcohol limit for driving. It's there for safety.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,331 ✭✭✭RichieC

Seloth wrote: »
    Offy times should be restricted...And thats coming from a 19 y/o student!
    We are a booze culture and there would be far more anti-social violent behavior and accidents if they were open later.At most maybe push it too 11pm.

a 19 yo student that pulls sh*t out of his arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,382 ✭✭✭Motley Crue

smash wrote: »
    When will you learn to hit the off license before 10pm or smoke in a smoking area?

I don't agree with alcohol being sold after 10pm, I don't agree with people even smoking (it's your right, it's your choice, but I don't agree with it and that's my right) and I don't care if the pub's close on one day of the year...or two if you count Christmas, I mean come on, can't you go one Friday without having an alcoholic drink - maybe go to the cinema that night instead, stay home and spend time with the family, even attempt sexual relations with a loved one

My point is, that is not the actions of a nanny state, it's the actions of a Government attempting to be somewhat responsible. And a real nanny state is a place where you can't drink, by law, where it's illegal for your wife to walk by your side, where you can't vote, where military service is compulsory, where the army or a secret police have the right to come into your home and take everything if they don't like the look of you

Grow up, live in a real nanny state, and then tell me life is unfair in Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,331 ✭✭✭RichieC

I don't agree with alcohol being sold after 10pm, I don't agree with people even smoking (it's your right, it's your choice, but I don't agree with it and that's my right) and I don't care if the pub's close on one day of the year...or two if you count Christmas, I mean come on, can't you go one Friday without having an alcoholic drink - maybe go to the cinema that night instead, stay home and spend time with the family, even attempt sexual relations with a loved one

My point is, that is not the actions of a nanny state, it's the actions of a Government attempting to be somewhat responsible. And a real nanny state is a place where you can't drink, by law, where it's illegal for your wife to walk by your side, where you can't vote, where military service is compulsory, where the army or a secret police have the right to come into your home and take everything if they don't like the look of you

Grow up, live in a real nanny state, and then tell me life is unfair in Ireland

what you're describing there is a fascist state, not fking nanny state...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭ratmouse

Wasn't the smoking ban an EU directive? :confused:

No, it's not an EU law. It's Irish law and other countires followed our lead and introduced similar legislation for their own countires.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭patrickbrophy18

I think that any legislation that imposes limits on big revenue streams is for the birds. The Intoxicating Liquor Act of 2008 is an excellent example of such legislation. We are in a recession at the moment and the Department of Justice, Equality and Law Reform are more concerned about the power trip they get when they screw a nocturnal business into destitution on account of a minority of irresponsible twats. No government should be allowed to dictate when a business can and cannot stay open. As long as there is no black market behind closed doors, a business should be allowed to sell products where demand dictates.

While I do think that excessive alcohol consumption is a very big problem in this country, I think the wrong attitude is being taken to rectify it in the long run. Elsewhere in Europe, opening times for pubs and clubs alike is unlimited and people are properly educated about drink from as young as 16 which results in an appreciation of the history and taste of an alcoholic drink and not for it's effects. Also, if the limitation on access to alcoholic beverages has been lifted, it becomes less of an act of rebellion and taboo as it is currently and more of a pleasant experience. Furthermore, the peer pressure and mentality to get "the last drinks in/last orders" is eliminated leading to a more paced consumption of alcohol.

Additionally, the occurrence and likelihood of post-nightclub disorderly behavior is reduced as people will vacate nightclubs in smaller groups as opposed to releasing them all at the same point in time. It also makes it much easier on the guards to deal with disorderly behavior when it arises. Moreover, if this resulted in Dublin becoming more attractive to tourists and club goers, it could potentially lead to a huge boost in revenue for the exchequer. The fee for late licenses is also farcical due to their expensive nature. This should ideally be completely eradicated as keeping a club open for the pathetically small time that's in it would be less of a gamble. What have the government got to loose?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

... and yet other parts of the world survive with Sunday closing, half day Saturdays, shops closing in the afternoons for a couple of hours during the week.. for everything milk, bread, etc etc.

Alcohol is restricted slightly and yiz act like it's a catastrophe and nobody else suffers like we do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Christmas is a Catholic holiday.

Someone should tell the Prods ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,915 ✭✭✭worded

It only when you have been abroad and return back to Dublin that you realise all the BS rules.

Abroad I was at an outdoor swimming pool with high diving boards and two pubs serving freezing beer at 80 cent a pint on site! As soon as I got back I was reprimanded by a life guard for a tiny dive I did in a pool when I was getting in for the first dip of the hour.

Then theres those new big brother digital signs all over Dublin. Cyclists remember obey “ALL” the rules of the road. I was going to stand under them with my own sign “peasants behave”
    What about Bankers – obey “ALL” the rules and stop riding the country you have no shame you greedy b*stards.

Rules are there to keep all the little people in check IMO.

RichieC wrote: »
    what you're describing there is a fascist state, not fking nanny state...

Either way, the point remains that many people have it harder in other parts of the world, perhaps if we can agree to buy alcohol before 10pm, to not drink on a few evening's of the year and to smoke around only those who are comfortable with the practice everyone will be happy - to be so upset about these apparent "restrictions" is absurd, it's not as if everyone in Ireland is legally prohibited from drinking after 10pm at night nor is it as if everyone in Ireland has to be off the streets at that time. People get so upset over such tripe, and there are more important things to worry about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,032 ✭✭✭DWCommuter

prinz wrote: »
    ... and yet other parts of the world survive with Sunday closing, half day Saturdays, shops closing in the afternoons for a couple of hours during the week.. for everything milk, bread, etc etc.

I've never been to these unnamed backward places you speak of. Do tell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭AhSureTisGrand

The arguments in favour of these bullshít laws can be condensed into, "I don't give a damn, so neither should anyone else"

Explain that one to me. I'm a regular visitor to Spain.

Either way, the point remains that many people have it harder in other parts of the world, perhaps if we can agree to buy alcohol before 10pm, to not drink on a few evening's of the year and to smoke around only those who are comfortable with the practice everyone will be happy - to be so upset about these apparent "restrictions" is absurd, it's not as if everyone in Ireland is legally prohibited from drinking after 10pm at night nor is it as if everyone in Ireland has to be off the streets at that time. People get so upset over such tripe, and there are more important things to worry about.

You really do sound like the anti contraceptive brigade from 1970/80s Ireland.

"You can use the billings method."

"You can get a prescription for Condoms."

"Resist the temptation of the flesh."

FFS read what you just typed and take a long hard look at yourself.

While there are far more important things to worry about, we are entitled to question (without hollow and guilt driven opinion like yours) the fundamental rights to avail of alcohol at any time of the day.

Are you a member of the Knights of Columbanus?

DWCommuter wrote: »
    While there are far more important things to worry about, we are entitled to question (without hollow and guilt driven opinion like yours) the fundamental rights to avail of alcohol at any time of the day.

You are allowed question it, I'm just asking if you really feel that it's a problem that alcohol is not available for sale after 10pm at night, presumably you can go to the off license and stock up before that point, or make sure to buy some at the supermarket the week before...and if you don't have any alcohol in the house and it's 10.05 would you really care that much if you didn't have anything to drink? I would also assume if you wanted a drink that much you could go out to a pub or club at that point, they would open and serve until 3am....

I make sure that if I want a drink after 10pm in my house that there is enough drink present. I don't need to question the law in this case because I know that it is there to protect shopworkers, business owners, private citizens and myself - it is a law for my benefit. I am responsible enough to go out to a pub or club, or have a drink at home, and not cause any problems for anyone else and I am perfectly willing to accept that after 10pm I won't be able to buy drink in the shops. Questioning this kind of thing is, of course, you're absolute right...but it is also madness because there are so many things you can do to avoid any restriction on your enjoyment

If you put as much passion into your arguments here as into a campaign to help your local town/village/city there is no telling what you could achieve

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,622 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Christmas is a Catholic holiday. The idea is that if you respect Christmas as a Catholic holiday, you must respect the rest as a bundle. If you don't want Good Friday, you can't have Christmas.

EDIT: Actually, I'm starting to suspect you're a troll.

Christmas is not a catholic holiday, it's a Christian one.

December 25th is not a date celebrated only in Christianity.

I make sure that if I want a drink after 10pm in my house that there is enough drink present. I don't need to question the law in this case because I know that it is there to protect shopworkers, business owners, private citizens and myself - it is a law for my benefit

You seem to think you would be unable to behave this way if the State did not force you to

I apologise if I come across that way

Although I would imagine if this law wasn't in place there would be a bit more violence and drunken behaviour on streets at late hours, or at least the acceleration would be there to allow people to purchase alcohol coming out of clubs in 24 hour supermarkets, at petrol stations or such and to continue drinking long after sobering up time

I apologise if I come across that way

Although I would imagine if this law wasn't in place there would be a bit more violence and drunken behaviour on streets at late hours, or at least the acceleration would be there to allow people to purchase alcohol coming out of clubs in 24 hour supermarkets, at petrol stations or such and to continue drinking long after sobering up time

Then punish the violent behaviour, not the sale of alcohol. We can't go on making crimes out of things that in and of themselves are quite alright

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

December 25th is not a date celebrated only in Christianity.

Christmas is not a christian celebration, it was originally a pagan celebration. But i digress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Christmas is not a christian celebration, it was originally a pagan celebration. But i digress.

Your both wrong it is in fact a capitalist holiday.