Nanny state, might as well bring back the holy hour

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

o1s1n wrote: »
    The same as pubs. If I can buy drink in a bar I should be able to in a shop. The only distinction I see is that one makes publicans lots of money, the other doesn't.

The Monster Munch name died in Ireland when Walkers bought it. It all became about Mighty Munch at that point :)

Wouldnt publicans make even more money if they could sell "take out" booze

DWCommuter wrote: »
    A good idea. Let them have Christmas Day as it comes after/during a period where money is spent ad nauseum in the economy. Good Friday costs the state a fortune.

Why make the distinction?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Rabidlamb

orourkeda wrote: »

Something to do with On licence against Off licence.
    Although, most pubs I know sell tinnies under the counter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

Rabidlamb wrote: »
    The best one is the reduction in mg of the blood alcohol limit.
    Now it's 80 mg, stirling work, I see your 80 & propose 50, jolly good, wait we need more good press, I see your 50 & say we go for 40.

Well, we now have some of the safest roads in the EU, despite having many low-quality roads, so clearly the reduction in alcohol/Blood limit was an excellent idea. Of course, if you enjoy causing car crashes, I recommend you feck off somewhere a bit less lawful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,924 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

The money they would be making in take out could be lost in sales which would happen on premises.

If you were a publican would you rather people buying beer for cheap and taking it home or staying in your bar spending €4-5 a pop for a pint?

It's a reasonable suggestion. In a modern society it's becoming increasingly difficult to justify this kind of imposition.

However, if the good Friday closing rule were to be repealed, dont we also have to repeal the closure of pubs on christmas day?

Christmas day closing is fair enough so that staff can be with their families.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

My local offie is fully stocked and serves until 12.30PM, thank FK.

Occasionally if I am working late I fancy buying one or two cans on my way home to have in front of a movie. I don't see why this should be illegal.

I also don't see why I should have to 'stock up' a cache of different beers in my house on the off chance I want to drink one of them after 10PM.

It's completely and utterly spasticated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭smokedeels

Not everyone celebrates Christmas, I've worked it before (the money was great)

You'd find the staff and the customers.

Few people abstain from drinking on these days so I don't understand the need to close licenced premises.

o1s1n wrote: »
    The money they would be making in take out could be lost in sales which would happen on premises.

If you were a publican would you rather people buying beer for cheap and taking it home or staying in your bar spending €4-5 a pop for a pint?

Its difficult to know how it would work for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

But if they're not religious, why would they want to be with their families? And if they are religious, they'd want good friday off.

Christmas is a Catholic holiday. The idea is that if you respect Christmas as a Catholic holiday, you must respect the rest as a bundle. If you don't want Good Friday, you can't have Christmas.

EDIT: Actually, I'm starting to suspect you're a troll.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,032 ✭✭✭DWCommuter

Why make the distinction?

I didn't really. I was just being cooperative.

If I had my way, I'd allow opening all year round.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

Well, we now have some of the safest roads in the EU, despite having many low-quality roads, so clearly the reduction in alcohol/Blood limit was an excellent idea. Of course, if you enjoy causing car crashes, I recommend you feck off somewhere a bit less lawful.
    Correlation does not equal causation.

Not entirely, but there are far fewer accidents since eliminating using a mobile phone while driving and lowering the blood/alcohol limit, as well as increasing the number of motorways. The alcohol point has lowered it by a fair bit on it's own though, especially on back roads.

DWCommuter wrote: »
    I didn't really. I was just being cooperative.

If I had my way, I'd allow opening all year round.

Scoops all round

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I find that very hard to believe, I'm sure the new motorways make a statistical difference but many roads in Ireland haven't changed and with the CC's unrivalled skill at being able to bring every bump and pothole through onto any new surface they lay I don't know how Ireland could be in the top ten.

The only reason the UK is so safe is because their motorways are heavily policed you are always being watched.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭bastados

The Governments fruity dont ya know

ScumLord wrote: »
    I find that very hard to believe, I'm sure the new motorways make a statistical difference but many roads in Ireland haven't changed and with the CC's unrivalled skill at being able to bring every bump and pothole through onto any new surface they lay I don't know how Ireland could be in the top ten.

We're the sixth safest, actually.
    http://www.rsa.ie/Utility/News/20111/EU-Report-Confirms-Ireland-6th-Safest-Country-in-Europe/
    http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/republic-of-ireland/irish-roads-sixth-safest-in-eu-16014397.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

I agree with the smoking laws but should be able to buy alcohol whenever you want.

I just don't see how less people dying automatically means our roads are safer, I think that's a big leap to make. I haven't seen that many changes that could be seen as making Irish roads safer. Other than the motorways Irish roads are no safer than they've ever been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

how will op feel now,they are going to ban smoking in cars that should be fun eventhough i agree with the idea we cant stop people using phones what chance fags

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,849 ✭✭✭professore

Either ban alcohol completely or allow it to be sold at all times. The same goes for pub opening hours. Let the publicans decide when to open them. The current situation is nonsensical.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Needler

I'm forced to attend a house party every Good Friday

Jaysus I couldn't imagine a worse punishment :rolleyes:

Christmas is a Catholic holiday. The idea is that if you respect Christmas as a Catholic holiday, you must respect the rest as a bundle. If you don't want Good Friday, you can't have Christmas.

EDIT: Actually, I'm starting to suspect you're a troll.

I worded it poorly, it should be up to the publican.
    If they want to close any day of the week they should be let (probably can anyway considering many nowadays don't open until 4pm).
    What annoys me is a government who can prescribe certain days for archaic reasons ?.
    No, I've worded that badly aswell, I'm angry god damn it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭drdeadlift

Was over on Liverpool Friday night last,was having a few long island ice ts during the afternoon,cost 3 pound for two and they weren't weak!
    Anywhoo got yapping to the girl behind thew bar she laughed when i told her the closing times of pubs and nightclubs.
    The offo closing at ten doesn't bother me as i don't drink outside of the pub too often,i dont see the need for the offo shutting early.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Einhard

I just don't see how less people dying automatically means our roads are safer, I think that's a big leap to make. I haven't seen that many changes that could be seen as making Irish roads safer. Other than the motorways Irish roads are no safer than they've ever been.

Well, less people are dying on our roads. Far less. So something has to be happening. Motorways are one factor of course, but the roads they replaced were generally of the higher quality, had less accidents, so they shouldn't be over-estimated as a factor.

There have been many initiatives and policy changes over the past 15 years, all designed to reduce the carnage on our roads, and lo and behold, the carnage on our roads has been reduced. Lower blood/alcohol limits for drivers, penalty points on a range of offences, introduction of a traffic corps, extensive advertisement campaign, stricter policies regarding learner drivers, more Garda checkpoints...these are but some of the policies enacted by various governments over the past decade and a half, all designed to reduce fatalities on our roads. There are other factors including better roads, and even safer cars, but to deny any credit to government policy seems a bit unreasonable to be honest.

Einhard wrote: »
    Well, less people are dying on our roads. Far less. So something has to be happening. Motorways are one factor of course, but the roads they replaced were generally of the higher quality, had less accidents, so they shouldn't be over-estimated as a factor.

There have been many initiatives and policy changes over the past 15 years, all designed to reduce the carnage on our roads, and lo and behold, the carnage on our roads has been reduced. Lower blood/alcohol limits for drivers, penalty points on a range of offences, introduction of a traffic corps, extensive advertisement campaign, stricter policies regarding learner drivers, more Garda checkpoints...these are but some of the policies enacted by various governments over the past decade and a half, all designed to reduce fatalities on our roads. There are other factors including better roads, and even safer cars, but to deny any credit to government policy seems a bit unreasonable to be honest.
    It's not that I'm denying them any credit, deaths are down that's a fact. The problem I have is the statement "safer roads", in most cases around the country roads are the same, surfaces are bad and will stay bad due to the way they resurface. A road (main road) near me stayed close to un-drivable and only got fixed before the elections. I think the government once again is quick to pat itself on the back when it hasn't really fixed the problem.

Einhard wrote: »

Politicians love a good back slapping session over this success but I believe most of the reduction is down the NCAP rating & far better engineering of the cockpit.
    Crumple zones, plastic bumpers, airbags, there's your real answer.
    I have absolutely no facts to back this up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Einhard

It's not that I'm denying them any credit, deaths are down that's a fact. The problem I have is the statement "safer roads", in most cases around the country roads are the same, surfaces are bad and will stay bad due to the way they resurface. A road (main road) near me stayed close to un-drivable and only got fixed before the elections. I think the government once again is quick to pat itself on the back when it hasn't really fixed the problem.

It hasn't eliminated the problem, but deaths and injuries are down significantly on the roads, and I don't think it's entirely a coincidence that this came about after all these new policies and initiatives. Fine, roads near your place may be cack, but that doesn't take away from the reduction in injuries and fatalities, all of which cannot be attributed to a few new motor ways.
    Politicians love a good back slapping session over this success but I believe most of the reduction is down the NCAP rating & far better engineering of the cockpit.
    Crumple zones, plastic bumpers, airbags, there's your real answer.
    I have absolutely no facts to back this up.

Didn't governments introduce and back the NCAP rating though?

I don't understand why Irish people have such a problem actually giving credit, when it's due, to our politicians.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Seloth

Offy times should be restricted...And thats coming from a 19 y/o student!
    We are a booze culture and there would be far more anti-social violent behavior and accidents if they were open later.At most maybe push it too 11pm.

Pubs on the other hand,well the licencing laws with regard to "late bars" should be relaxed.As well as clubs.

Not all pubs and clubs should be allowed to extend times but they should exist.

As with regards to the good friday thing...Feckin hell lads its only one day a year get over it.