Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Eircom apprenticeship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭evosteo

made an absolute balls of the logical reasoning, i jus couldnt get my head around it:mad:

rest were grand though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 Watching

evosteo wrote: »
    made an absolute balls of the logical reasoning, i jus couldnt get my head around it:mad:

rest were grand though

Same here mate, just guessed them all. Couldn't figure it out. Done well enough though.

Watching wrote: »
    Same here mate, just guessed them all. Couldn't figure it out. Done well enough though.

im nearly sure the example for it was wrong too, i didnt think the explanation for it was great. i sat looking at the 1st one for about 3 mins trying to figure out how i got the example right. it was a fecking disaster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 Watching

im nearly sure the example for it was wrong too, i didnt think the explanation for it was great. i sat looking at the 1st one for about 3 mins trying to figure out how i got the example right. it was a fecking disaster

I was exactly the same. Couldn't find any consistancy with the right answers. Could easily be a trick topic. Some people will sit there and try to figure it out and get **** all of it finished, others will guess and finish it all? Could give them an insight to the type of person you are when it comes to solving problems. Probably unlikely, but you never know ;)

good point, think i attempted 5 or 6. there didnt seem to be a given amount that had to be completed. jus answer one after another

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭brotherrabbit

the clue is in the name. and yes there is correct solutions to all of them. the test shows logic for non logical thinkers. you can be gr8 at the instructions and maths but be crap at logic and vis versa. I have seen that exact format a few times in different tests and applications.
    its a pain in the a**e but when ya work out the pattern you sorted. as i said some people will find that part easier than others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭murphthesmurf

I found the logic and doing the shapes etc much easier than the maths. I'm 36 so haven't done some of those calculations for 20 yrs :eek:
    The maths section for me was a disaster, I was only getting through a couple of questions before the time was running out. I'm not bad at maths, but its just been that long since I've done some of it.
    No phone call for me yet either :( . I'll be gutted if I don't even get a call, surely I wasn't that bad. Think I'm gonna be considered too old though. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭deaglan169

They're calling people for at least another week, I wouldn't worry. Who invited you to BT? Out of interest? :pac:

BT were recruiting about 2 months ago came across it on nijobfinder.co.uk, applied not expecting anything back, its a full day at their main exchange hub in antrim, were you meet other apprentices and are put into groups to do some simple exercises i suppose, also mentioned to bring boots as part of it involves climbing a pole

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 bobtwigs

hi all, glad to hear i wasn't the only one baffled by that one, i couldn't get my head around it either. I didnt find the rest to bad. although some od the 3d shapes were tricky.i completed it last night so im looking forward to getting some feed back soon. i completed a telecomunications and cable jointing course when i was 18 or 19 and worked with my father who was a sub contracter for eircom for a little while i hope this might stand to me a bit as im 27 now and am worried they will be looking for recent school leavers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 bighiggy

Hi everyone, i recently completed this aptitude test myself. Im did very well in most test however i know i got 2 wrong in the logic, and also found a few of the spatial questions a bit tricky. FYI, the 'phone interview' isn't quite what it sounds. The obvious assumption would be that this interview is for shortlisting, which is true, but more importantly this is an 'phone lie detector test' I kid you not. Alot of people don't seem to be aware of this. Insurance companies and similar business's use them for obvious reasons. Can anyone give us a hint of what questions where asked on the phone?

in hindsight, having a set of log tables to hand would have been ideal for people who hadnt touched maths questions in a while.

afaik as they are state tables they can be used in any test?

open to correction:rolleyes:

the clue is in the name. and yes there is correct solutions to all of them. the test shows logic for non logical thinkers. you can be gr8 at the instructions and maths but be crap at logic and vis versa. I have seen that exact format a few times in different tests and applications.
    its a pain in the a**e but when ya work out the pattern you sorted. as i said some people will find that part easier than others.

did you find out what the patten was with the shapes and numbers ???????

was thinking about it all night and day today. i get fustrated when i cant figure something out:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 bighiggy

was thinking about it all night and day today. i get fustrated when i cant figure something out:mad:
    I was just halfway through explaining when i realised my explanation is no better than the one they give you, i think you can find examples and explainations if you search on google. Dont worry it took most people a few mins to get the head around it including myself..

Has anyone been in for an interview, how did it go?
    Also, has anyone done the Bus Eireann or ESB aptitude test?
    Exact same test for ESB :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭brotherrabbit

sadly i cant remember how exactly i did it but it was the 1st shape is transformed into the last one..so to get from 1 to 4 you pass 4 positions including the orig,,soumtin lke that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,849 ✭✭✭horse7

just got this back Thank you for applying for the eircom Apprenticeship 2011.

We have reviewed your application and can advise you that you are eligible for the next stage in the assessment process. This involves online aptitude tests and a short questionnaire evaluating some of your preferred behaviours.

In order to access the assessments you must go to the website below and insert the login ID along with some personal details. it doesnt say what date this has to be done by, any ideas. i didnt want to open the page without brushing up on my maths.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 713 ✭✭✭newuser89

i got email earlier saying the period for assesments has ben extended to thursday midnight.and that you can expect responce within 2weeks of that.get log tables, was my mistake ha.

i did the test late last night, got a phone call at half 6 jus before i left for training from a chap with a country accent saying i had been shortlisted and to organise a phone interview which ill be doing on thursday morning with a girl.

shall see what happens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 348 ✭✭ifElseThen

G=Green, B=blue, R=Red, Y=yellow

a) g b r y

goes to

b) b r y g

To get from a to b what pattern is needed...

The numbers represent the order in a)

Options: 3412 2341 1234

In this case you'd need 2341

For the double ones, you had to work backwards...And the pen and paper came in handy then!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 348 ✭✭ifElseThen

If I had the means to put myself through college, I would do it no problem. I don't have my parents around to pay for it though, unlike the majority of graduates that had the bank of Mum & Dad paying the fees, which is the sole reason why I don't have the education. I was one of the most intelligent pupils that my school has ever seen (Head teachers words, not mine), but I now have no choice but to apply for things like this to further my education.

You're 21. Free 3rd level education is still here, granted the capitation fee is steeper now than a few years ago.
    If you left school at 18, 3 years ago the capitation fee was about 900 quid.
    For the last few decade, you didnt need a bank of Parents to go to college.
    I come from what's easily the roughest part of Dublin, got a weekend job during college, took out bank loans to pay the cap fees that I paid back from the weekend job, and got a degree.
    A credit union loan of 1k a year to pay the capitation fees is a good investment in your future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭ormondprop

I applied myself and did the apptitude test last monday, got a call today to set up a phone interview, anyone know what sort of questions will be asked in the interview

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭HoggyRS

Made a balls of the aptitude test! Era we'll see what happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭deaglan169

by the sounds of it i think unless you got a phone call shortly after taking the test i dont think the rest of us will hear back, i think their hand picking those with best results

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭ormondprop

I don't know about that, i got my call 9 days after doing my tests, and i did them early monday so was probably one of the first out of thousands to do them, so i reckon everyone is still in with a shot, i wish i knew what sort of questions will be asked in the interview though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 713 ✭✭✭newuser89

theres a lot of different scenarios they could be doing lads.they might already have idea of who they want for proper interview and the people there phoneing could be some of the ones that are bordering the proper interview.i wouldnt pay attention to anything thats happening with everyone else. the application process still aint closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭osullic

I got the following email yesterday:
    Thank you for applying for eircom's Apprenticeship 2011 and for completing the online assessments. Due to the huge level of interest in the Apprentice Programme, the closing date for completing assessments has been extended until Thursday July 28th (midnight). Once we have reviewed all applications we will get back to you as soon as possible. We expect that to be within 2 weeks of the extended closing date.

If you have any questions in the meantime please don't hesitate to call or email using the details below. We'd like to thank you for your interest in eircom's Apprentice Programme.

Best regards,

Apprentice Recruitment Team

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭BlubberyGiraffe

Applied Yesterday and got a call today to sort out a phone interview for tomorrow. Bit nervous, did a ton of research on the company and just gonna hope that I can go on about my experience and stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭axiom

got that emai yesterday aswell ... suppose if i dont get a call today I'll be getting a nice PFO email

just finished the phone interview, seemed to go grand. was talking for about 15 minutes, questions about teamwork and how you ever dealt with difficult customers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭Kromdar

Have the phone interview today, should be fun. the aptitude tests were similar to ones i had done before, and i passed them so no biggy. maptq/cut-e GMBH seem to be the company running them, and as both the ones i applied for were apprenticeships, it might be worth remembering / figuring out the difficult ones if you intend on applying for other apprenticeships with big companies [the other one i applied for was with aer lingus].

Kudos to IfElseThen, he pretty much told you how its done. i don't think i could have described the logic test that simply to someome :rolleyes:

also at all the degree-bashers out there, you think we could get a job in what we did the degree in? if there's 5 jobs in ie/uk/europe for 30 graduates, and you're the one who got a 2.2 or a pass, there isn't a hope. and i'll be damned if i'm movin to oz or usa for a job. so there :P