Major changes to welfare and training ahead...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

amacca wrote: »
    I think you have the wrong idea about what social welfare is for

(hint: its supposed to be a subsistence payment......not really for paying a mortgage with)

Well, without a home address can people actually avail of welfare?

I would have presumed paying accommodation is a fairly significant thing for most people.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 43,009 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

I don't buy that for one minute, at 20 he should be one year off a degree or at least have a diploma course done or 2/3yrs work experience and have some part time work at least.
    If he can't get a job at 20 or even start turning things around so he has a good job at 24 his dole should be done away with. No excuse for someone his age, if he's not prepared to educate himself well then he should be getting the boat not hanging on for a rise in the dole which I suspect is going to happen next.

What a load of tripe.

At 24, I've got 4 qualifications behind me, including a Masters Degree and a PGDE, making me a fully qualified English teacher. I've spent the last five years educating myself. But you're making that sound like I should be able to walk into a job based on that, which is pure nonsense. This is half of whats wrong with this country. People are stuck in the past.

You seem to be under the illusion that there's loads of good jobs out there for 24 year olds and that the only reason someone doesn't have one is laziness (or that's how your post is coming accross). It's damn well not. I've been sending my CV out to every school I can and have still only worked two days in the last year. I'd love to have a full time job, and I'd love to be able to take myself off the dole but I can't, and it annoys the hell out of me that you seem to place that blame on me.

As for the "Get a job or get out of the country" comment, can I please politly tell you to get your head out of your ass. I have no intentions of moving. My family and friends are here. My life is here. Even if I wanted to move abroad, where exactly am I going to get the money for that? As it is, I can barely afford to live at home, let alone branch out and look for a place abroad. I HATE HATE HATE how emigration has become a standard policy in Ireland.

You're aiming your anger at 20-24 year olds who have dedicated themselves to education and now can't find jobs because they aren't out there; at the people who should be held onto in this country at all means since they are the ones who will and can help rebuild this country. It shocks me how gungho people are about kicking the educated out of this country and how some seem to think that will help it in the long run....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,976 ✭✭✭amacca

mackg wrote: »
    Isn't the punishment for committing crime prision?

you would think so wouldn't you? but that would be naive of you (dont worry I was that soldier too)

No, you see it costs a lot to put a person in prison now and keep them there and our prisons are overpopulated as they are (also costs a lot to build new prisons)

....so...words like concurrent and suspended + programme have crept into our ahem "justice" system meaning if you commit crime you may not have to see the inside of a prison at all

(this also has some benefits for those that make their living out of those pesky criminals - not much point going to court if theres no anto/deco or shayo to judge/defend or prosecute is there - so letting a large percentage of those petty/not so petty ones out ensures repeat offences/repeat business)

for the minor/not so minor antisocial stuff I believe a lot of it could be solved by not giving people free money if they behave like layabout thugs - and call me crazy but I think the current environment might just be the right one to start phasing in something like this + hit the dole of parents of kids that are being let run wild...think it would surely weed out a good percentage of this crap - reduce the "burden" on the courts time etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Is keeping a roof over your head not part of that?

Keeping a reasonably sized roof over your head should be part of it.

After 12 months unemployment here in Germany you move onto what's called Hartz IV. To even get that, you have to use up all your assets. If the house you are in is over a certain size, you have to rent somewhere smaller or if you own it then you sell it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

What a load of tripe.

At 24, I've got 4 qualifications behind me, including a Masters Degree and a PGDE, making me a fully qualified English teacher. I've spent the last five years educating myself. But you're making that sound like I should be able to walk into a job based on that, which is pure nonsense. This is half of whats wrong with this country. People are stuck in the past.

You seem to be under the illusion that there's loads of good jobs out there for 24 year olds and that the only reason someone doesn't have one is laziness (or that's how your post is coming accross). It's damn well not. I've been sending my CV out to every school I can and have still only worked two days in the last year. I'd love to have a full time job, and I'd love to be able to take myself off the dole but I can't, and it annoys the hell out of me that you seem to place that blame on me.

As for the "Get a job or get out of the country" comment, can I please politly tell you to get your head out of your ass. I have no intentions of moving. My family and friends are here. My life is here. Even if I wanted to move abroad, where exactly am I going to get the money for that? As it is, I can barely afford to live at home, let alone branch out and look for a place abroad. I HATE HATE HATE how emigration has become a standard policy in Ireland.

You're aiming your anger at 20-24 year olds who have dedicated themselves to education and now can't find jobs because they aren't out there; at the people who should be held onto in this country at all means since they are the ones who will and can help rebuild this country. It shocks me how gungho people are about kicking the educated out of this country and how some seem to think that will help it in the long run....

Have you been applying for jobs that are not in your field of study. Like retail, low level admin etc?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

What a load of tripe.

Just out of curiosity, have you applied for any other jobs outside of teaching?

I would have presumed paying accommodation is a fairly significant thing for most people.

last time I checked people could have a home address without having a mortgage?

(hint 2: consider renting...a lot of people do it....I know they say its dead money, but look where that got us)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I don't buy that for one minute, at 20 he should be one year off a degree or at least have a diploma course done or 2/3yrs work experience and have some part time work at least.
    If he can't get a job at 20 or even start turning things around so he has a good job at 24 his dole should be done away with. No excuse for someone his age, if he's not prepared to educate himself well then he should be getting the boat not hanging on for a rise in the dole which I suspect is going to happen next.
    I don't know about the person in question's situation, but I'm on the dole at 20. It was either sign on or starve tbh, I don't particularly enjoy it. I left a dead end college course I hated after one year and to go back I'd need something like 10 grand, which I don't have. I have no experience so nobody is interested in giving me a job, and even though I'm dying to go back to college I don't get an ounce of help from the dole people until I'm 21. I'm stuck. €100 a week doesn't leave much for savings (which it shouldn't, that's not what the dole is for) and I can't even get a work placement or fás course because the people aren't interested in helping me.

Honestly I wish the government would bring in some kind of graduate tax which allowed students to pay fees back after they leave college and start working, but until then I'm a dole jockey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,182 ✭✭✭dvpower

At 24, I've got 4 qualifications behind me, including a Masters Degree and a PGDE, making me a fully qualified English teacher.
    But you're not a fully qualified English teacher; you're just fully qualified to become an English teacher in a market where there are very few openings for English teachers.

You have a number of choices.

You could go on the dole and wait 'till the market improves - this is a non runner; there is a requirement that you be actively seeking work (and not just in your own narrow specialism).
    You could look for a job in an other line of business. We do have an unemployment crisis, but I'd expect that a person with your qualifications should be able to find some work. If you can't find any work after a reasonable search, then wouldn't temporary emigration be the best solution all 'round?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,385 ✭✭✭monkeypants

Selling your house and renting instead is grand if you can get back the money that you paid for it. If you can't, then you end up with no roof over your head and a debt. I wouldn't consider that to be an improvement.

Just took a quick look on daft.ie and I don't see a huge drop in the rents being asked from the 2007 rates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

Doesn't need to be quoted in full again

A friend was telling me they are crying out for english teachers in south korea, good pay, see a bit of the world, already a large community of people about your age out there doing it so you wouldn't be completely alone. You might be a little over qualified but its better than nothing. I hear pay is around £1000 a week.

Phasers you could go abroad until you save enough money to get back into educaation.

last time I checked people could have a home address without having a mortgage?

(hint 2: consider renting...a lot of people do it....I know they say its dead money, but look where that got us)

Renting out my place would not cover my mortgage. Nowhere near it unfortunately. If I could do that, I would and wouldn't have the worry of losing my home over my head all the time.

And it is not a huge place, by the way. Very modest apartment.

It took me ages to get a tenant in to rent out the spare room. I'm not in Dublin or a big city - people wanting to rent have a huge choice and putting a room up for rent doesn't mean it is automatically filled. It can take months and months.

Just took a quick look on daft.ie and I don't see a huge drop in the rents being asked from the 2007 rates.

.... rent allowance being a large factor in that.

phasers wrote: »
    I don't know about the person in question's situation, but I'm on the dole at 20. It was either sign on or starve tbh, I don't particularly enjoy it. I left a dead end college course I hated after one year and to go back I'd need something like 10 grand, which I don't have. I have no experience so nobody is interested in giving me a job, and even though I'm dying to go back to college I don't get an ounce of help from the dole people until I'm 21. I'm stuck. €100 a week doesn't leave much for savings (which it shouldn't, that's not what the dole is for) and I can't even get a work placement or fás course because the people aren't interested in helping me.

Honestly I wish the government would bring in some kind of graduate tax which allowed students to pay fees back after they leave college and start working, but until then I'm a dole jockey.

They have that kind of payment plan in Australia for graduates. Once you start earning over a certain amount, you start paying it back. It is only a small amount each month taken directly out of your pay. I think it's a really good system and takes the pressure off those graduates struggling.

Social welfare will pay rent allowance or mortgage interest, not mortgage repayments.

Selling your house and renting instead is grand if you can get back the money that you paid for it. If you can't, then you end up with no roof over your head and a debt. I wouldn't consider that to be an improvement.

Granted, its a horrible situation...but in some senses when you take on a mortgage you are taking on the risk that you will not be able to pay it back ...and all that goes with that

it should never be the states function to bail you out if things go pear shaped with a decision like taking on a mortgage

then again....they should never have fcuked up the country so much that so many people had so many unsustainable jobs and now find themselves unable to pay their mortgage + overheated/over hyped the property market in the first place (or allowed this to happen to the extent it did)

although I'm all for personal responsibility and dealing with the consequences of ones actions/decisions maybe you have a point.....for a percentage of those unemployed and struggling to pay their mortgage

thing is...the money isnt there to support everyone struggling with a mortgage + how do you weed out the chancers and the ones who just plain made a horrible decision or over reached themselves from those genuine unfortunates that deserve a break (seems impossible to me)

(I know a girl who worked in spar and got a 300k mortgage with her partner - worked on the buildings - then took out credit union loan + used credit card to furnish house...two flatscreens etc before they moved in -> to me the consequences of that shouldnt be anyones but their own)

dvpower wrote: »
    Social welfare will pay rent allowance or mortgage interest, not mortgage repayments.

Thanks for that. I am not claiming rental assistance or anything like that at the moment as I have payment protection for a few months yet.

When that runs out, that is when I am in trouble. Keeping a tenant is obviously a priority at the moment but the last guy in lost his job and moved away. Getting in a new person took months and he is only here for 6 months.

It really isn't a case of just sitting on your ass all day for a lot of people in my position. I am sure there are plenty of people happy to just get rental assistance and live off welfare, but for others (who haven't been in this position before) it is a pretty scary reality thinking about what is going to happen down the line.

Renting out my place would not cover my mortgage. Nowhere near it unfortunately. If I could do that, I would and wouldn't have the worry of losing my home over my head all the time.

And it is not a huge place, by the way. Very modest apartment.

It took me ages to get a tenant in to rent out the spare room. I'm not in Dublin or a big city - people wanting to rent have a huge choice and putting a room up for rent doesn't mean it is automatically filled. It can take months and months.

I wasn't suggesting you rent out your place to someone else

I was suggesting that there are other ways to have a home address and thus claim social welfare than having to take out a mortgage....in response to your post that seemed to suggest you couldn't have a home address without having a mortgage

(as presumably you well know)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

mackg wrote: »

Phasers you could go abroad until you save enough money to get back into educaation.
    Is that a joke? How could I afford to go abroad?

I wasn't suggesting you rent out your place to someone else

I was suggesting that there are other ways to have a home address and thus claim social welfare than having to take out a mortgage....in response to your post that seemed to suggest you couldn't have a home address without having a mortgage

(as presumably you well know)

I wasn't suggesting anyone take out a mortgage? what? I was saying to those people that had a mortgage and lost their job and can't make their payments it is a case of losing their homes. All well and good if you can rent it out and it will cover it, but if you can't well, it isn't a great place to be.

Fortunately I still have time on my side and things may turn around. There are a lot of people in much worse situations. My home is not worth megabucks and obviously I want to keep it. Unfortunately if I don't get work I don't see how I can. Something I will have to deal with. And no, I didn't buy in the boom and over-spend. I bought in 2009 and it was, when I was working, very much within my means to pay for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

All this talk of an overhaul of the social welfare system is fair enough, we really need to make changes. But its not going to make a jot of difference in the jobs market, nobody seems to be pointing out that a few years ago we had full employment and now its at nearly 15%? This suggests that for the most part people want to work, there is just feck all work there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,702 ✭✭✭squod

Country needs jobs not a fuhken speech. Maybe if he took down some of the barriers to employment, high rents, rates and red tape we might achieve something.

What's absolutely sure is that we shouldn't have spent hundreds of billions bailing the likes of Anglo out. That little quear decided to blow our future on some dodgy deal. I think it's him who needs a pay-cut and some training.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

phasers wrote: »
    Is that a joke? How could I afford to go abroad?

I have friends who went to the UK looking for work. Looked for work through agencies and went over for interviews on ryanair flights, worked out for them, just throwing it out there no need to jump down my throat.

I wasn't suggesting anyone take out a mortgage? what? I was saying to those people that had a mortgage and lost their job and can't make their payments it is a case of losing their homes. All well and good if you can rent it out and it will cover it, but if you can't well, it isn't a great place to be.

And I was not suggesting that you suggested anyone should go out right now and take out a mortgage:confused:

why do you keep misinterpreting what I post?

see below

Quote:
    Originally Posted by amacca viewpost.gif

(hint: its supposed to be a subsistence payment......not really for paying a mortgage with)

your reply above would seem to suggest that the only way people can have a home address is by taking out a mortgage and buying themselves a home address (at least that is what it seemed to suggest to me)

I was merely pointing out that you can rent accommodation and still get social welfare........you were never forced into taking out that mortgage so to speak...it was at the end of the day your decision.

if the worst comes to the worst and you cant pay the mortgage you will still be able to rent a place to live wont you? and thus you will still be able to claim social welfare?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Divide and conquer.

The dole makes up 20% of the welfare bill afaics.
    Yet it makes up 99% of the chatter.

Almost the same amount is spent on illness/disability payments which seems surprisingly high.
    Figures obtained by the Sunday Independent on social welfare spending during 2010 reveal the astonishing scale of Ireland's expenditure on State benefits.

The figures contained in the Department of Social Protection's Statistical Information on Social Welfare Services 2010 document show that, in spite of an ongoing series of bitterly contested cutbacks, social welfare payments continue to be one of the few growth industries.

The document, which is currently being read with great interest by the troika -- European Commission, European Central Bank and International Monetary Fund -- reveals that the overall social welfare budget of €20.8bn (representing an increase of 1.5 per cent from 2009) now constitutes 33.4 per cent of all current government expenditure.

Such is the plethora of the more than 80 schemes which now come under the social welfare brief, actual dole payments to the unemployed, is just under 25 per cent of the total budget.

A further 22.1 per cent is spent on pensions, with the balance being taken up by an astonishing variety of payments from free travel to farm-assist payments.

The size and reach of the department means that simply administering the social welfare budget cost over €575m last year.

In spite of the apparent scale of the cost of administration, this was less than three per cent of the department's total budget.

Other major items of expenditure include single parent payments of €1.1bn -- whilst in spite of a swingeing series of cutbacks, 591,432 families and 1,124,0003 children receive just over €2.2bn in child benefit.

The figures for the department show the first indications of a country that is rapidly greying.

In 2001 the number of citizens in receipt of a pension from the State stood at 276,065. But by last year this had increased to 393,825.

The report also unveils an extraordinary increase over the last decade, particularly during the free-spending Cowen era, in the amount of people who are receiving social welfare payments and the cost of this to the Exchequer.

In 2001, 903,375 citizens received some form of social welfare and there were 1,460,574 beneficiaries of the social welfare system.

However, by last year this had escalated to 1,430,833 recipients and 2,179,428 beneficiaries.

During that same period of time, the social welfare budget increased from €7.842bn (or 6.7 per cent of GDP) in 2001 to €20.848bn which represents 13.5 per cent of GDP.

The overall breakdown of the social welfare expenditure is detailed below.

The percentage figures cited represent either increases and decreases on the 2009 figures.

Total budget: €20.848bn (approximately).

Older people -- €4,614,970,000 (+1 per cent); widows, widowers, one parent families -- €2,570,345,000 (-1.4 per cent); child benefit -- €2,650,751,000 (-7.9 per cent).

Illness and disability-- €3,469,550,000 (-1 per cent); employment supports -- €597,095,000 (+31.4 per cent); job-seekers supports -- €4,094,732,000 (Dole) (+9.5 per cent).

Supplementary welfare allowances -- €950,919,000 (-1.9 per cent); miscellaneous payments -- €1,324,101,000 (+8.4 per cent); administration -- €575,567,000 (-2.9 per cent).

A more detailed breakdown of the budget reveals an exponential growth in the amount of activities the Department of Social Protection now funds.

These include: deserted wives benefit -- €93,388,000; deserted wives allowance -- €5,020,000; one parent family payment -- €1,110,350,000; family income supplement -- €186,001,000.

Invalidity pension -- €640,007,000; illness benefit -- €942,386,000; farm assist -- €110,931,000; supplementary welfare -- €950,919,000.

Carers' allowance -- €501,822,000; carers benefit -- €26,305,000; respite care -- €128,114,000; household benefits and free travel -- €670,766,000.

The State also paid out €516,861,000 in rent supplements and a further €65,654 in mortgage interest payments to the unemployed.

Commenting on the publication of the report, however, the Minister for Social Protection Joan Burton said "supports administered by my department provide for the complex and multi-faceted needs of people at every stage of life''.

She added that these supports affirmed "the Government's commitment to the welfare of all those in need of support''.

- JOHN DRENNAN

http://www.independent.ie/opinion/columnists/john-drennan/john-drennan-a-third-of-governments-expenditure-now-goes-on-social-welfare-2829940.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭generalmental

if the worst comes to the worst and you cant pay the mortgage you will still be able to rent a place to live wont you? and thus you will still be able to claim social welfare?

But realistically who wants to do that. Majority of people who are on Unemployment Assistance would rather have a job a purpose, not just to scrounge off the welfare.

I want to make it clear not having a pop at you just stating an opinion

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 43,009 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

wild_cat wrote: »
    Have you been applying for jobs that are not in your field of study. Like retail, low level admin etc?
    Seanbeag1 wrote: »
    Just out of curiosity, have you applied for any other jobs outside of teaching?

I know I'm going to lose support with this post. I know I'm setting myself up for an attack here. But hey, screw it. Here goes.

I've applied for a few positions outside the teaching sector, for positions I think my qualifications would be handy. I've also been checking the job sites and the papers when I can to see if I can find a position which is "befitting", so to speak, my qualifications. Hell, I'd even be up for ones which I'd be slightly overqualified for. I'm finding the problem with those though are they don't want you unless you have experience. So you get stuck in this cycle where you can't get a job without experience and you can't get experience without a job.

But no. I've not applied for retail jobs. I'm presuming you mean stacking shelves or so forth. This is the part I'm going to get attacked for. People are going to say its elitist and that I feel a sense of entitlement and to an extent, thats true. But I see my friends who dropped out of college and uni after year one, and people who never even bothered working hard, and they are the people in stacking shelves and doing those jobs. With no offence intended but knowing the responses coming for this, I did not work my ass off for five years, sacrifice my social life and opt to be broke for years to end up doing the same job my unqualified friends do. I worked my ass off, got my qualifications and sacrificed so I would NOT have to be stuck in those dead end jobs. I did not spend those five years working my fingers to the bone in the education system to come out and go into jobs that my friends who couldn't be assed to do the same could get.

So yeah, there's a big target for people. Feel free to rip into that.
    But you're not a fully qualified English teacher; you're just fully qualified to become an English teacher in a market where there are very few openings for English teachers.

I don't understand where you're coming from tbh. I am a fully qualified English teacher. I'm not fully employed, but I am fully qualified. I have the certs and results to prove it, and as of five minutes ago, I have a letter from the teaching council telling me I can now pay my €90 annual fee to remain fully qualified and enabled to teach, should a job come along. I have all the training and qualifications to teach English. I just don't have the job.
    You have a number of choices.

You could go on the dole and wait 'till the market improves - this is a non runner; there is a requirement that you be actively seeking work (and not just in your own narrow specialism).
    You could look for a job in an other line of business. We do have an unemployment crisis, but I'd expect that a person with your qualifications should be able to find some work. If you can't find any work after a reasonable search, then wouldn't temporary emigration be the best solution all 'round?

See, I get where you're coming from. That post suggests that termporary emigration should be a last resort if I've searched and am desperate. And there's an arguement for that. My problem is two-fold...

1. I don't believe the majority of emigration occuring at the moment is "temporary". I think a lot of people are going to get the hell out of Ireland with a lot of negative feelings and will come back only for visits. They will establish lives outside of the country and never come back. The worst part of that is the government is pumping thousands upon thousands into people and then telling them to leave, wasting their investments.

2. It should be an absolutly last resort, but the truth is, it's not. For many people, it's the first and "easy" option. I know a lot of people who didn't even bother looking for jobs. They just left as soon as they could. That's a horrible aspect of our culture to be honest, and it frustrates me how readily accepted emigration is nowadays. At least it used to be mourned and resented. Now though, it's activly encouraged (as seen in this thread).

Again i say, I HATE the pro-emigration aspect of the Irish culture which is developing. I've got my friends and family here. I've got my life here. And I've no intentions of being forced out of my home.

You know what really gets me though? Why are the likes of me being targeted? Someone who has done everything right in terms of working hard and trying to achieve something? Meanwhile, I look in council estates and rough areas where people are making lifestyle choices to get pregnant asap in their young teens, grab a council house and live off benefits for the rest of their lives. Why is it that I am getting punished and hounded out of my country for reasons beyond my control, while people who actually make it their lives to abuse the system are left untouched? I know of one guy who I went to school with who dropped out at 16, had five kids by 20 and he has his own house, an amazing car and constantly is wearing brand new Nike clothes, all paid for by state benefits. But here I am, having worked hard to do things "right", and I'm being told to **** off out of the country or starve without any state support.

Yeah, there's that elitism again, I know....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I applied for loads of retail positions last year and I didn't get one call back, why would they want someone who hasn't worked in a shop since they were 17 anyway. I reckon you would be wasting time applying for menial jobs and sure pretty soon alot of them will be work for your welfare positions anyway.

And I was not suggesting that you suggested anyone should take out a mortgage:confused:

why do you keep misinterpreting what I post?

see below

Quote:
    Originally Posted by amacca viewpost.gif

your reply above would seem to suggest that the only way people can have a home address is by taking out a mortgage and buying themselves a home address (at least that is what it seemed to suggest to me)

I was merely pointing out that you can rent accommodation and still get social welfare........you were never forced into taking out that mortgage so to speak...it was at the end of the day your decision.

I know you don't need a mortgage to receive benefits. Why would rental assistance exist if you had to have a mortgage? That goews without saying

I am late-30s and made the decision to buy a home because I got my place at a knock-down price and my job was secure. it is not something I ran into blindly. Turns out the secure job was obviously not secure.

Yes, I can rent out my place (if I can get a tenant) but the rent would be approximately 400e less than what the mortgage calls for. I cannot make that up. The place will be sold at a big loss. That is my point. I obviously know you can get rental assistance through renting and claim SW so need need to quote and repeat the point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

You seem to be under the illusion that there's loads of good jobs out there for 24 year olds and that the only reason someone doesn't have one is laziness (or that's how your post is coming accross). It's damn well not. I've been sending my CV out to every school I can and have still only worked two days in the last year. I'd love to have a full time job, and I'd love to be able to take myself off the dole
    There are however some crap jobs going. I work horrible shifts at a boring menial job. I am young, educated and bright but this is the best I can get. No one owes you a good job in youre field of study, no one owes you diddley squat. Get real, get youre shoulder to the wheel with the rest of us drones.