Second lotto win "is only a top up"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,017 ✭✭✭✭yoyo

Why is it always a*sholes like this that win the lotto :( Remember reading years ago about some brain surgeon who won millions on the lotto and had a similar attitute, actually think he may have won more than once aswell :( :P

Nick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Dream home in Meath.

Contraction in terms.

Hopefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,786 ✭✭✭Monkeybonkers

tweedledee wrote: »
    Ahhh good ole Irish Greed is alive and well.:)

Ahhh, good ole Irish begrudgery is alive and well.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

harry21 wrote: »
    I always assumed if you won the lotto you would stop buying tickets. Maybe not if you won ... say 100k, but if its 6.5 million, why buy more???:confused:

Gambling is what it is.

Compulsive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

One of the most common phrases you'll hear from lotto winers worldwide is how they '' Plan to keep playing the lotto '' and there's no rule to say you cant have a second bite of the cherry , which is what gambling all about .The only difference really is after winning 6 million + , you're not going to be to worried if your six numbers dont come up again .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭Mr. Denton

yoyo wrote: »
    Why is it always a*sholes like this that win the lotto :( Remember reading years ago about some brain surgeon who won millions on the lotto and had a similar attitute, actually think he may have won more than once aswell :( :P

Nick

Well winning the Lotto isn't rocket science.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Mr. Denton wrote: »
    Indeeed , any fool can with it an ' a fool and his money can soon be parted ' .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

B&stards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 ReReginald

Oh now thats a paddlin.

To PI forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,017 ✭✭✭✭yoyo

Mr. Denton wrote: »

Well a brain surgeon isn't exactly a low payed job! And he won it twice aswell!

Nick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Einhard

What's so greedy bout it?

I agree that it's greedy to continue to play the lotto after you win 6 million euro. Let someone else win, for fcks sake, you don't need the money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,331 ✭✭✭RichieC

Begrudgers are scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Slutmonkey57b

They win 6.5 million and move ... to Meath. They use the money "to go on a big holiday".

The lottery is wasted on these ****ers, same as the moron from Limerick who won €120m and moved to ... just outside Limerick, or the couple who won €185m the other week and stated their ambitions included "going on holiday".

Give ME the €185 million, and I'll employ someone whose sole job is to book your annual holidays for you, you useless blinkered *****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭Radiotower

i do the lotto every week so lets say i win 6.5million and decide to keep it secret. Then I'm out with mates and they are going in to do the lotto and I'm with them I'll do it too - to keep my cover as a previous lotto winner. I dont need to do it but do it anyway so the lads aren't saying I'm a bit tight and not spending 4euro on the lotto. Not my fault my numbers come up again and win 500k - I'd just have to laugh it off saying it's just a top-up!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭paddydriver

Maybe they were down to their last million and they decided to sink it into their final hand... Shame they only got €500k:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

Unless they've already blown their previous winnings I don't understand why they would keep buying lotto tickets, it's like wasting money trying to get something you already have...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭kwestfan08

Off the cuff comment about extreme good fortune and the usual Irish begrudging crowd are out in force.

This kind of attitude annoys me. Its not like they fixed the lotto so they could win it again. They bought their ticket like everybody else and just got extremely lucky. I wish them the best of happiness with the money

kwestfan08 wrote: »
    Off the cuff comment about extreme good fortune and the usual Irish begrudging crowd are out in force.

This kind of attitude annoys me. Its not like they fixed the lotto so they could win it again. They bought their ticket like everybody else and just got extremely lucky. I wish them the best of happiness with the money

Why do you need to play the lotto when you already have 6 million? Would you not just be happy with that? Or at least donate the new winnings to charity or give it to someone who actually needs it? I get that we don't know the whole story but that 'jokey' comment still makes them sound like greedy twats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

Jammy Doggers!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

The lottery is only for poor people?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Ooh how amazing - cat-calls of "Begrudgery!"

No need to be begrudging or jealous of them - it's nice for them - but no need to bend over backwards to praise them either. "Fair play" implies there was an achievement - they got lucky, that's not an achievement. And there's no need for them to rub people's noses in it with such a stupid, tactless comment either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

a shure, it's all just a lottery as to who wins really, isn't it.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

WITCHES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

Yakult wrote: »
    WICTHES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Womens Institute Cultural Theology Hormonal Expression Service??? What's wicthes???:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

The lottery is wasted on these ****ers, same as the moron from Limerick who won €120m and moved to ... just outside Limerick, or the couple who won €185m the other week and stated their ambitions included "going on holiday".

I remember when the damn thing first started and one of the first winners announced they were buying a dishwasher :confused:

Granted the top prize was only IR£250,000 back in the day but thats still some bloody dishwasher.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Solnskaya wrote: »
    Womens Institute Cultural Theology Hormonal Expression Service??? What's wicthes???:confused:

goddamn, witches :P

Dudess wrote: »
    Ooh how amazing - cat-calls of "Begrudgery!"

No need to be begrudging or jealous of them - it's nice for them - but no need to bend over backwards to praise them either. "Fair play" implies there was an achievement - they got lucky, that's not an achievement. And there's no need for them to rub people's noses in it with such a stupid, tactless comment either.

Wow, angry lady.

To be honest, my attitude: neutral. I will always congratulate good fortune on those who have not wronged me. It is none of my concern what they do after.

I take an ill view of those who judge others acts which cause no harm to others again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Wow, angry lady.
    Wow, passive-aggressive dude. What's angry about it?
    To be honest, my attitude: neutral. I will always congratulate good fortune on those who have not wronged me. It is none of my concern what they do after.

I take an ill view of those who judge others acts which cause no harm to others again.
    Same here - how is it relevant? I'm referring to their comment which was in bad taste, and I also object to the tiresome "Begrudgery" accusations, when they're not even justified. But yeah, their win is nice for them.