Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second lotto win "is only a top up"

• 23-07-2011 10:42am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/500k-only-a-top-up-say-two-time-lottery-winners-161999.html
    One lucky couple have just scooped their second National Lottery win in five years.

However, while many of us could get lost in daydreams about winning €500,000, this couple, who have never gone public, were much more nonchalant: "Sure it’s only a top-up," they smiled.

Back in 2006, you see, the lucky couple won over €6.5 million.

The couple, who retired after the first win and moved from Dublin to a dream home in Co Meath, were already planning a big holiday to Australia later this year.

Now they have a bit more spending money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 435 ✭✭tweedledee

Ahhh good ole Irish Greed is alive and well.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

I would guess (hope) that they're only saying that out of half-embarrassment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 TheNardDawg

Best of luck to them, I hope they do it several times over....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

jammy bastards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭harry21

I always assumed if you won the lotto you would stop buying tickets. Maybe not if you won ... say 100k, but if its 6.5 million, why buy more???:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

only a top up? only a pair of cnuts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I have to say winning that much the first time would mean I'd never darken a lotto machine ever again, that people continue to do it is weird, if they like to have speculative flutter do it on the horses at least that's fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I like the cut of their jib :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

If I actually won the lotto I'd be far more inclined to buy tickets because I'd assume there was more of a chance there there really is.

How are they greedy? They just won the lotto twice, good for them, and their comment was pretty funny tbh. Plus it's five years since the first time, they've probably bought an expensive house or two, holiday home, ultra-yacht, few cars, I'd say they needed the top-up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,454 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Why are they still even doing the lotto?

Anyway, if it's 'only a top up' to them then maybe they should think about donating it to charity! Do you really need to top up 6 million?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

this thread makes me feel bad and OP should feel bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

reminds me of Kent Brockman appearing on the news after he won the lottery "and the winning numbers of this weeks *snigger* "jackpot" are..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭mikehunts

I wonder was it the same numbers:confused:

They made a joke about it, prob a bit embarrassed to have won it again, will ye all relax!

And people enjoy the thrill of betting/gambling, if I won €6.5 million on the horses today (impossible I know) I would still watch and continue to bet on horse racing.

I wouldn't mind having their luck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

If I actually won the lotto I'd be far more inclined to buy tickets because I'd assume there was more of a chance there there really is.

That'd be an incorrect assumption. In fact, most people would think the opposite ("lightning never strikes twice" theory), but they'd be wrong too.

There's the exact same chance.

Before the first win, there was less of a chance of winning twice, but once that win happened the odds were back to being the same.

Example :

The odds of calling a heads-or-tails correctly are 50/50, i.e. 2/1 (2 possibilities, one call)
    The odds of calling TWO FLIPS - in advance - are 4/1 (4 possibilities, one call)
    But once the first flip is over and done with, the odds are again 2/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Dream home in Meath.

Contradiction in terms.

I know the actual odds, which is why now I think I'd never ever ever win. If I did pick up a ticket and win I'd think it was possible. Not exactly logical, but f*ck logic, I'd be rich.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭weemcd

Anyone who wins the lottery, continues to do the lottery after, and wins again, is an elite level cúnt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭Musicman2006

kfallon wrote: »
    I like the cut of their jib :D

Thanks, whats a jib?

Google!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭weemcd

^ Promote that man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

I wonder were they trying to be funny maybe? :rolleyes:

Still though, as people said, why would you still do the lotto?
    Maybe they got their butler to do it.

Yes, with the candlestick in the conservatory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

I demand a public apology

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Fair play to them. Their good fortune has given them and their families a better life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,988 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Fecking pox bottles.

sollar wrote: »
    I demand a public apology

I'm sorry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    Why are they still even doing the lotto?

Why not?
    ceadaoin. wrote: »
    Anyway, if it's 'only a top up' to them then maybe they should think about donating it to charity!

I don't see why they should consider anything like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭123balltv

trocaire should hack into their mega flat screen tellys
    and constantly play those starving kid ads make them feel really guilty

I feel jealous but as they say if your not in you cant win :)

Good old Irish begrudgery at play!

Some people are just compulsive gamblers, chances are they would have till been playing if they hadn't won a penny, even if it meant skipping lunch!

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 11,017 Mod ✭✭✭✭yoyo

Why is it always a*sholes like this that win the lotto :( Remember reading years ago about some brain surgeon who won millions on the lotto and had a similar attitute, actually think he may have won more than once aswell :( :P

Nick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Dream home in Meath.

Contraction in terms.

Hopefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,786 ✭✭✭Monkeybonkers

tweedledee wrote: »

Ahhh, good ole Irish begrudgery is alive and well.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

harry21 wrote: »
    I always assumed if you won the lotto you would stop buying tickets. Maybe not if you won ... say 100k, but if its 6.5 million, why buy more???:confused:

Gambling is what it is.

Compulsive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

One of the most common phrases you'll hear from lotto winers worldwide is how they '' Plan to keep playing the lotto '' and there's no rule to say you cant have a second bite of the cherry , which is what gambling all about .The only difference really is after winning 6 million + , you're not going to be to worried if your six numbers dont come up again .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭Mr. Denton

yoyo wrote: »
    Why is it always a*sholes like this that win the lotto :( Remember reading years ago about some brain surgeon who won millions on the lotto and had a similar attitute, actually think he may have won more than once aswell :( :P

Nick

Well winning the Lotto isn't rocket science.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Mr. Denton wrote: »
    Indeeed , any fool can with it an ' a fool and his money can soon be parted ' .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

B&stards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 ReReginald

Oh now thats a paddlin.

To PI forum.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 11,017 Mod ✭✭✭✭yoyo

Mr. Denton wrote: »

Well a brain surgeon isn't exactly a low payed job! And he won it twice aswell!

Nick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

What's so greedy bout it?

• I agree that it's greedy to continue to play the lotto after you win 6 million euro. Let someone else win, for fcks sake, you don't need the money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Begrudgers are scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Slutmonkey57b

They win 6.5 million and move ... to Meath. They use the money "to go on a big holiday".

The lottery is wasted on these ****ers, same as the moron from Limerick who won €120m and moved to ... just outside Limerick, or the couple who won €185m the other week and stated their ambitions included "going on holiday".

Give ME the €185 million, and I'll employ someone whose sole job is to book your annual holidays for you, you useless blinkered *****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭Radiotower

i do the lotto every week so lets say i win 6.5million and decide to keep it secret. Then I'm out with mates and they are going in to do the lotto and I'm with them I'll do it too - to keep my cover as a previous lotto winner. I dont need to do it but do it anyway so the lads aren't saying I'm a bit tight and not spending 4euro on the lotto. Not my fault my numbers come up again and win 500k - I'd just have to laugh it off saying it's just a top-up!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭paddydriver

Maybe they were down to their last million and they decided to sink it into their final hand... Shame they only got €500k:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

Unless they've already blown their previous winnings I don't understand why they would keep buying lotto tickets, it's like wasting money trying to get something you already have...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭kwestfan08

Off the cuff comment about extreme good fortune and the usual Irish begrudging crowd are out in force.

This kind of attitude annoys me. Its not like they fixed the lotto so they could win it again. They bought their ticket like everybody else and just got extremely lucky. I wish them the best of happiness with the money

• kwestfan08 wrote: »
    Off the cuff comment about extreme good fortune and the usual Irish begrudging crowd are out in force.

This kind of attitude annoys me. Its not like they fixed the lotto so they could win it again. They bought their ticket like everybody else and just got extremely lucky. I wish them the best of happiness with the money

Why do you need to play the lotto when you already have 6 million? Would you not just be happy with that? Or at least donate the new winnings to charity or give it to someone who actually needs it? I get that we don't know the whole story but that 'jokey' comment still makes them sound like greedy twats.