Bertie Ahern to advise the Nigerians

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭drBill

SeaFields wrote: »
    Just saw this over in the politics forum....someone is trying to tell the Nigerian lads to keep the fcuk away from Bertie.

A warning from Ireland - Lagos Times

Fair play to that guy.

The text from the article:
    I am writing to you from Ireland, where I have read with dismay that our former Prime Minister, Mr Bertie Ahern, has been advising your Government on matters of fiscal policy.

As an admirer of your great country and friend to many of your expatriate citizens living here in Ireland, I find this news highly distressing. Mr Ahern is justly attributed with the lion’s share of the blame for Ireland’s economic collapse of the past two years. During his tenure as Irish Prime Minister, Mr Ahern adopted a fiscal policy so reckless it led to the Wall Street Journal dubbing Ireland ‘The Financial Wild West of Europe’. Mr Ahern’s Fianna Fail Government persisted in a course of unsustainable public sector spending; insisted on inflating a property bubble by granting tax cuts to developers – even long after it became clear there were more houses than people in Ireland; and generally acted with a level of financial prudence one would more normally associate with an inebriated patron of a Las Vegas casino.

Nigeria is a wonderful country full of great promise and potential. I fear, however, that if the Nigerian Government is taking advice from such proven failures as Mr Ahern that not only will this potential remain unrealised, but worse, Nigeria could end up in the same state of economic woe as Ireland.

I would urge you to inform your readers of the perils involved in taking advice from figures such as Mr Ahern. The fact that he charges such exorbitant fees for this advice speaks volumes not about the quality of the advice proffered, but rather of the man’s lack of scruples. To accept economic advice from Mr Ahern is akin to accepting advice on Human Rights from Pol Pot.

I sincerely hope the Nigerian people reject the ideas of Mr Ahern, the way every Irish citizen wishes they had done several years ago.

Sincerely,...
    And this comment has since been posted on the story:
    In addition to above, when it was clear things were headed for disaster Bertie still wouldn’t take any criticism, saying “I don’t know why people who engage in that [rational assessment of Ireland's upcoming economic headwinds] don’t commit suicide:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hfjGSfuSQpA
    Furthermore he was Minister for Finance whilst not having a bank account, and has been unable to secure a tax clearance certificate from the Irish Revenue; a document confirming a person’s tax affairs are in order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Looking at corruption levels in Nigeria, it appears Bertie and the Nigerian government will be well met.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Blobby George

Biggins wrote: »
    To this day HE (and his cronies, ever the present FF leader) are still in denial and unwilling to accepted what is now well recorded history in regard to they actually managed to destroy the areas you refer to!
    Strange. I heard Mary Hanafin on the radio this morning apologising for the mistakes they made in Government. Don't let that get in the way of another one of your rants though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Strange. I heard Mary Hanafin on the radio this morning apologising for the mistakes they made in Government. Don't let that get in the way of another one of your rants though.
    Did she apologise for her actual own mistakes?
    Its all too easy to apologise for others - especially too when they are not around!
    ("I'll tell you what - you say sorry for me and I'll say sorry for you - that way neither of us have admitted our own mistakes but it looks like we are saying sorry for past grievances - just not our own ha-ha!!! - but the PR might be good too!")

* Did she apologise for her her personal actions in relation to the stupid abandonment of compilation of school league tables so that schools could actually be discovered as which one's were dire?
    (there was a rumour - not confirmed - that the schools in her area at the time were some of the worst in the country - but that could be coincidence of course!)

* Did she apologise for her her personal connection in relation to bias towards private fee paying schools in her constituency when awarding building grants to them in 2005?

* Did she say personally she herself made GREVIOUS personal errors in being stupidly oblivious to the plight of parents of children with autism, and of taking a Thatcherite view, consistent with her decision to engage in a 68 day court battle with the parents who were attempting to obtain appropriate education for their children through the Applied Behavior Analysis (ABA) method?

* Did she personally apologetic for her role in her office abuse in relation to her personal assistant Peter O'Brien who was a candidate in the Dún Laoghaire electoral area?

* Did she personally say sorry for her yet again direct role in the matter of she again later used tax payer funded resources to promote O'Brien in correspondence to voters in the Dún Laoghaire constituency?

...And thats just the tip of the iceberg!

O' yes, lets give a general non-specific (it was all the other guys fault) apology for the sheep of this country, sure some of them will swallow it!

...Looks like they could be right!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 97 ✭✭SIR PEADO BAILOUT

sure bertie likes a pint and dats alroight wit me, go on ya chipper :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Ahern shares his economic wisdom with Nigerians

That phone call won't last more than twenty seconds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

You mean, "What do they think of this"?