Asian scammers to bomb Gardai

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

The scammers are all wind and full of crap.
    I wouldn't lose sleep over anything they spout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,060 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

One of these people rang my sister (an utter technophobe). When she was explaining to me the conversation, I was relieved to hear that she refused to pay €120 for software to "remove the viruses from the event viewer". However, she did allow them remote access to her laptop for around 10 minutes :rolleyes:

In case nobody knows; exclamation points in the event viewer are not viruses, the task manager doesn't show a graph of how many viruses are in your computer and a computer taking longer than 10 seconds to boot up is not due to viruses!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭CorkMan

Robin Hood...we need some great Irish hacker to hack into the Indian's computer to get those bank details back and get the money back for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Why don't the guards give out their number so we can prank the **** outta them...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

CorkMan wrote: »
    Robin Hood...we need some great Irish hacker to hack into the Indian's computer to get those bank details back and get the money back for us.

Especially seeing as they are no flush with gold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,702 ✭✭✭squod

folan wrote: »
    Fraud + bomb threat = Guards might actually get interested in a case!

It'll take them years to investigate, never mind prosecute.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

One of my friends got hit with this scam about a year ago.

I managed to track down the guys responsible and forwarded all their details onto the Kolkatta police in India. I didn't get even a e-mail in response. India doesn't really care about this issue, and refuse to do anything about it.

I messaged one of the culprits on Facebook (on account of him posting the scam-domain on his facebook profile), and he just laughed it off. I told him I had passed on his photo, and address to the Kolkatta police.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

This is a good reason why Ireland should ban administration outsourcing to these countries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

How the hell did they get our details?when they ring they have your name and address and obviously your number.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

These clowns must have people here in Ireland gathering details etc for them, So I hope they get tracked down and deported.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,018 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

Supt McCarthy said his detectives had phoned the hackers to warn them that they knew what they were up to.

"The man on the end of the phone threatened to bomb our Garda station. These are ruthless people who will stop at nothing to get what they want. They are not ringing for the good of your health," he said.

Dear Supt.

Grow a pair ffs, these dudes are utter clowns. And ringing them back to tell them to 'Cop yerselves on will ya?' makes us all look bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

How the hell did they get our details?when they ring they have your name and address and obviously your number.

These things are all in a phonebook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

Noo wrote: »
    I had these people call me continuously one day, when i'd hang up they'd keep ringing back, even left messages on the answering machine when i didnt pick up! The stuff they were coming out with was hilarious. Cant wait for the next one so I can play along. Whats a computer?

Strange, they called me once and I told them to f--k off. I haven't heard from them since.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭jayteecork

Don't really feel sorry for anyone stupid enough to hand over their financial details to a Pakisatni over the phone.

jayteecork wrote: »
    Don't really feel sorry for anyone stupid enough to hand over their financial details to a Pakisatni over the phone.
    People particularly the elderly that have only recently got into using a PC and on-line banking are the ones these fcukers are targeting.

Younger people tend to be more PC illiterate and could either sort out the matter themselves or could smell a rat quick enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Tell em you have a Mac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,315 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Sometimes people need to learn things for themselves it seems.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,386 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

mike65 wrote: »
    Tell em you have a Mac
    What I did once was let the eejit witter on for ages, with me apparently in agreement, giving bogus numbers and settings then asking him did it matter it had an apple on the lid. The dribbler didn't even spot this as an issue.

A lot of India is a crooked as a fiddlers elbow. Corruption is woven through the place like letters in a stick of rock, so I'm not surprised informing the local plod achieved bugger all. They likely pay off the local plod.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

Love how India has a space program and an arsenal of nukes yet there's people genuinely starving to death there every day.

**** that country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,315 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Wibbs wrote: »
    What I did once was let the eejit witter on for ages, with me apparently in agreement, giving bogus numbers and settings then asking him did it matter it had an apple on the lid. The dribbler didn't even spot this as an issue.

A lot of India is a crooked as a fiddlers elbow. Corruption is woven through the place like letters in a stick of rock, so I'm not surprised informing the local plod achieved bugger all. They likely pay off the local plod.

Population of India is what, 300 times ours? Good luck finding 300 cases where a Bureau de Change next to a police station was used for money-laundering over there. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭vampire of kilmainham

mackg wrote: »
    Indians? Get the cowboys after them they sorted them out last time
    big difference they were native americans

I had one on the line for about 20 minutes while I slowly typed in all the instructions... well I was actually in the kitchen preparing dinner but what the hell, It's wasting their time that was the objective. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

big difference they were native americans

*Clap*
    *Clap*
    *Clap*

Thanks for sorting that out.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,073 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Called me yesterday Alrighty, and I let them ramble on before I asked for his name and number, saying my battery was about to die. He obliged.

When he asked when I would likely return the call, I told him id first have to report his call to the police. He repeatedly told me to f**** off before hanging up. Made my day :D

In the light what went on in Oslo these threatening Asian scumbags should be rounded up immediately and sent on the next boat. Locking them up only costs the tax payer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

In the light what went on in Oslo these threatening Asian scumbags should be rounded up immediately and sent on the next boat. Locking them up only costs the tax payer.

What do we care what it costs India to lock them up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Gardaí have issued a warning to computer users that they should immediately hang up the telephone on any person with an Indian or Pakistani accent offering to clear their computer of viruses — even if their caller ID shows they are phoning from an Irish number

Read more: http://www.examiner.ie/ireland/asian-scam-artists-threaten-to-bomb-garda-station-after-being-found-out-161895.html#ixzz1T15HaDrz

But if the caller has any other accent its genuine right ?
    In the light what went on in Oslo

Oh you mean Norwegian accents are a bit iffy too :rolleyes:
    A lot of India is a crooked as a fiddlers elbow.

They have Fianna Fail there too ?
    charlemont wrote: »
    These clowns must have people here in Ireland gathering details etc for them, So I hope they get tracked down and deported.

Because there is absolutly no way anyone outside Ireland could possibly have access to the Irish telephone directory

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

I thing some kind of Guantanimo bay set up is what's called for. A few years of torturing them on some dis-used Aran Island is the way to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭positron

jayteecork wrote: »
    Love how India has a space program and an arsenal of nukes yet there's people genuinely starving to death there every day.

**** that country.

lol, as compared to no space program and full of dole fraudsters? :rolleyes:

positron wrote: »
    lol, as compared to no space program and full of dole fraudsters? :rolleyes:

So you're comparing people on the dole to people literally starving to death?

GTFO.