Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Asian scammers to bomb Gardai

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

Indians? Get the cowboys after them they sorted them out last time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Added a Proper Link and quoted the article.

Full text
    FRAUDSTERS ARE PHONING people in Ireland and claiming to be working for Microsoft Windows in an attempt to access their bank accounts.

And the Irish Examiner reports today that one group of Asian scam artists threatened to bomb a garda station after they were discovered.

The article by Sean O’Riordan reveals that gardaí are warning people that they should hang up immediately if they receive a call from a person with an Indian or Pakistani accent offering to clear viruses off their computer.

They said that these scam artists may call from an Irish number, often with an 061 area code.

Superintendent Pat McCarthy told the paper that his detectives contacted one group of hackers about their activity, and that the man they spoke with threatened to bomb the garda station.

Any person who receives a suspicious call is asked to contact their local garda station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭Gandalph

durka durka ALLLLAAA!!!

Gardaí have issued a warning to computer users that they should immediately hang up the telephone on any person with an Indian or Pakistani accent offering to clear their computer of viruses — even if their caller ID shows they are phoning from an Irish number.

The warning was issued after gardaí in North Cork received numerous complaints about the hackers, who claimed to be working for Microsoft Windows.

They were ringing Irish telephones from an 061 number, which made unsuspecting people think they were genuine.

The hackers try to trick the computer user into downloading what they say is an anti-virus program, free of charge. However, the program searches for personal details such as bank account numbers which the hackers can use to clean out accounts.

Superintendent Pat McCarthy, who is leading the garda investigation, said the Computer Crime Unit at Garda Headquarters in Dublin was endeavouring to shut down that and other Irish numbers that the hackers were using.

The fraudsters are using low-cost internet telephone calling technology similar to Skype to connect to their Irish base number, from which they make the calls.

Supt McCarthy said his detectives had phoned the hackers to warn them that they knew what they were up to.

"The man on the end of the phone threatened to bomb our Garda station. These are ruthless people who will stop at nothing to get what they want. They are not ringing for the good of your health," he said.

It is believed the hackers are making thousands of calls to Irish computer users every day in an effort to break into their bank accounts.

"There will be computer users out there who will think these people are genuine, but they are not. If people get these calls they should hang up straight away and ring their local Garda station.

"Under no circumstances should they download anything from them," Supt McCarthy added.

Read more: http://examiner.ie/ireland/asian-scam-artists-threaten-to-bomb-garda-station-after-being-found-out-161895.html#ixzz1SouBbt6z

That's the full story from the examiner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

We're in a pretty bad state of affairs if as a country we fear these guys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭folan

Fraud + bomb threat = Guards might actually get interested in a case!

NothingMan wrote: »
    We're in a pretty bad state of affairs if as a country we fear these guys.

Anyone but them:eek:

*hides*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭irelandspurs

Paki rambo innit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,199 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

There might be something proper done now to try stop this!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Get the IRA to call them back and scam them, then threaten their police force. Order is restored.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭RoyalMarine

this has been going on for months. shame its only now that the guards decide to try and do something.

A very simple solution is for people to educate themselves about computers and the practices of organisations within the IT industry.

Most computer users don't have a clue about how they work and rely on experienced people to perform even the most menial configurations. This is not the case with drivers for example, who are required to know how to read the dashboard and diagnose simple problems with their piece of technology.

Everyone should know that Microsoft: a) can't have your contact details just from you buying their product, b) would never ask for any financial details, c) would not ring you unsolicited.

They simply don't take the time to learn about what they're using and that's why they get scammed. Why should we rely on the Gardaí to waste their time on this when all people have to do is become a little more privy?

A very simple solution is for people to educate themselves about computers and the practices of organisations within the IT industry.

So you want to tell everyone we just ask what the problem is then google the answer? Do you know how many people on boards work in IT? Do want to put us all out of a job?

So it is better that people keep themselves ignorant and in the dark about some basic concepts of IT?

Surely a professional would not have a threat to their job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

this has been going on for months. shame its only now that the guards decide to try and do something.

What would you like them to do? Invade Pakistan?

Yes. That is my intention. Good job, sleuth. I work in IT as well and I absolutely hate the fact that people don't bother learning how to use their computers correctly. The world is now utterly dependent on them and the Internet, and for so many people to be entirely ignorant of how they work is absurd.

WindSock wrote: »
    So it is better that people keep themselves ignorant and in the dark about some basic concepts of IT?

Yes. That is my intention. Good job, sleuth. I work in IT as well and I absolutely hate the fact that people don't bother learning how to use their computers correctly. The world is now utterly dependent on them and the Internet, and for so many people to be entirely ignorant of how they work is absurd.

Wow, and I thought After Hours would take my light hearted comment as the joke it was meant as. Way too many serious people in the IT industry it appears. Perhaps they only hired me as the comic relief, and apparently I'm even failing at that :(.

Ah. Sometimes there are so many dumbass comments in AH you forget that people might be joking...

I'm sorry, I didn't realise you were joking.

Friends? :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

I hate that everyone uses a toilet, turns on a light, drives a car etc etc and then they have the cheek to moan and bitch when a tradesperson over charges them. Learn the basics people of every single thing you are involved in.

Moot point is moot.

Ah. Sometimes there are so many dumbass comments in AH you forget that people might be joking...

Friends? :o

Aww, I can't be mad at you guys. You're too damn sexy. *group hug*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

The article by Sean O’Riordan reveals that gardaí are warning people that they should hang up immediately if they receive a call from a person with an Indian or Pakistani accent offering to clear viruses off their computer.

Such a ridiculous way of giving the public advice. If someone can set up a scam they can put on a different accent, "don't ever give your bank account or credit card details to anyone who calls your phone" would be better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Such a ridiculous way of giving the public advice. If someone can set up a scam they can put on a different accent, "don't ever give your bank account or credit card details to anyone who calls your phone" would be better.

That's already been done to death, especially by the banks. People don't listen.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

Friends?

What? NO ! This is AH ! ENTERTAIN ME DAMMIT! FIGHT! I WANT TO SEE SOME ****slapping! NOW!!!

Oh you!

*drops hand*

Oh you!

*drops hand*

STRANGER DANGER. STRANGER DANGER.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Sarcasm detector broken? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭Noo

I had these people call me continuously one day, when i'd hang up they'd keep ringing back, even left messages on the answering machine when i didnt pick up! The stuff they were coming out with was hilarious. Cant wait for the next one so I can play along. Whats a computer?

the_syco wrote: »
    Sarcasm detector broken? :pac:

Yes.

Do they call mobile or landlines?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

lol, these dudes can't even run a phone scam properly...if they tried to build a bomb they'd end up blowing their fingers off.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

The scammers are all wind and full of crap.
    I wouldn't lose sleep over anything they spout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,709 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

One of these people rang my sister (an utter technophobe). When she was explaining to me the conversation, I was relieved to hear that she refused to pay €120 for software to "remove the viruses from the event viewer". However, she did allow them remote access to her laptop for around 10 minutes :rolleyes:

In case nobody knows; exclamation points in the event viewer are not viruses, the task manager doesn't show a graph of how many viruses are in your computer and a computer taking longer than 10 seconds to boot up is not due to viruses!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭CorkMan

Robin Hood...we need some great Irish hacker to hack into the Indian's computer to get those bank details back and get the money back for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Why don't the guards give out their number so we can prank the **** outta them...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

CorkMan wrote: »
    Robin Hood...we need some great Irish hacker to hack into the Indian's computer to get those bank details back and get the money back for us.

Especially seeing as they are no flush with gold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

folan wrote: »
    Fraud + bomb threat = Guards might actually get interested in a case!

It'll take them years to investigate, never mind prosecute.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

One of my friends got hit with this scam about a year ago.

I managed to track down the guys responsible and forwarded all their details onto the Kolkatta police in India. I didn't get even a e-mail in response. India doesn't really care about this issue, and refuse to do anything about it.

I messaged one of the culprits on Facebook (on account of him posting the scam-domain on his facebook profile), and he just laughed it off. I told him I had passed on his photo, and address to the Kolkatta police.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

This is a good reason why Ireland should ban administration outsourcing to these countries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

How the hell did they get our details?when they ring they have your name and address and obviously your number.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

These clowns must have people here in Ireland gathering details etc for them, So I hope they get tracked down and deported.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

Supt McCarthy said his detectives had phoned the hackers to warn them that they knew what they were up to.

"The man on the end of the phone threatened to bomb our Garda station. These are ruthless people who will stop at nothing to get what they want. They are not ringing for the good of your health," he said.

Dear Supt.

Grow a pair ffs, these dudes are utter clowns. And ringing them back to tell them to 'Cop yerselves on will ya?' makes us all look bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

How the hell did they get our details?when they ring they have your name and address and obviously your number.

These things are all in a phonebook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

Noo wrote: »
    I had these people call me continuously one day, when i'd hang up they'd keep ringing back, even left messages on the answering machine when i didnt pick up! The stuff they were coming out with was hilarious. Cant wait for the next one so I can play along. Whats a computer?

Strange, they called me once and I told them to f--k off. I haven't heard from them since.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭jayteecork

Don't really feel sorry for anyone stupid enough to hand over their financial details to a Pakisatni over the phone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

jayteecork wrote: »
    Don't really feel sorry for anyone stupid enough to hand over their financial details to a Pakisatni over the phone.
    People particularly the elderly that have only recently got into using a PC and on-line banking are the ones these fcukers are targeting.

Younger people tend to be more PC illiterate and could either sort out the matter themselves or could smell a rat quick enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Tell em you have a Mac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Sometimes people need to learn things for themselves it seems.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,218 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

mike65 wrote: »
    Tell em you have a Mac
    What I did once was let the eejit witter on for ages, with me apparently in agreement, giving bogus numbers and settings then asking him did it matter it had an apple on the lid. The dribbler didn't even spot this as an issue.

A lot of India is a crooked as a fiddlers elbow. Corruption is woven through the place like letters in a stick of rock, so I'm not surprised informing the local plod achieved bugger all. They likely pay off the local plod.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭jayteecork

Love how India has a space program and an arsenal of nukes yet there's people genuinely starving to death there every day.

**** that country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Wibbs wrote: »
    What I did once was let the eejit witter on for ages, with me apparently in agreement, giving bogus numbers and settings then asking him did it matter it had an apple on the lid. The dribbler didn't even spot this as an issue.

A lot of India is a crooked as a fiddlers elbow. Corruption is woven through the place like letters in a stick of rock, so I'm not surprised informing the local plod achieved bugger all. They likely pay off the local plod.

Population of India is what, 300 times ours? Good luck finding 300 cases where a Bureau de Change next to a police station was used for money-laundering over there. :pac: