NEED to buy this guy a drink!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 seeyounextweek

sent a mail to the email u gave me thanks!!!

1 of my friends says its nerdjitsu haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,742 ✭✭✭Faolchu

sent a mail to the email u gave me thanks!!!

no problem, hope you find out who he is. he deserves a few beers for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Whos that???

He only comes out at Halloween.... so the legend goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

107 views on ucd and 2986 in this thread and no1 nos him
    No text speak pleeeeeease

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

There seems to be enormous amount of stories about little skangers acting the prick. Sounds like we need to double the number of guards in Dublin and build a new juvenile prison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

charlemont wrote: »
    Brilliant story, The two girls should have giving the bloke a threesome as a reward.

A good deed is it's own reward....but a threesome is an even better one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

Seanachai wrote: »
    Been on my knees in that situation few years ago being kicked and punched , hair pulled out at the roots. Adrenaline is an amazing thing , the animal survival instinct kicks in plus some people are just a lot stronger than they look. You find a gap in the crowd and use one of them for leverage.

Adrenaline is a powerful thing but I don't think it would be too far off the mark to suspect a fair amount of exagerration took place in the recounting judging by the posts. If you are lying on the ground and someone takes a running kick, striking your head you don't get up and beat the hell out of them. You simply don't get up. You're lucky if you're not taken to hospital. The force generated from a standing kick to a prone object on the ground is very strong; a running kick would be game over in any sort of fight unless it was a total miskick.

Fair play for the lad simply for having the guts to step in regardless of how it turned out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭Ah nuts

Darn, Kick Ass moves to ireland. Must re think my criminal tendencies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

Could all those giving out about what the OP didn't do tell us about the occasions when they've intervened successfully?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 929 ✭✭✭TheCardHolder

LOL for sure! he didn't even try and chat them up or look for credit. he helped her up and walked her to her friend and just walked away. we were just gobstopped.

I for some reason read this and thought, why would he look for phone credit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭Johnny Bitte

Prob best he stays anon.
    Knowing this country if he was identified the scumbags would sue him for GBH and win.

Well done brother, keep up the good work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,791 ✭✭✭up for anything

not really goin to hit them with my heels. and yeah we shud have tried somethin bt we were just all in shock.

That's pretty weak! :rolleyes:

ETA: Just read Kevin Duffy's comment. I won't bore you with tales of derring do but I've intervened on a number of occasions and never had to lift a hand or foot which is a good thing considering I'm less than five foot and not very weighty. Sometimes just by sticking my nose in it's stopped whatever is going on and usually when bystanders see a woman asking what the hell is going on, they actually back me up. I've never been physically touched in any of these situations but have had verbal abuse heaped on me but who gives a toss about that. The least the OP could have done was called the gardaí.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭Statistician

Ginger Ninja.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭Eever

I've never been physically touched in any of these situations but have had verbal abuse heaped on me but who gives a toss about that.

On this occassion being a woman would not have helped. The scummers were already kicking women wearing heels in the first place, and when one woman tried to stand up for her friend, she got slammed up against a wall. Being a woman wouldn't have given you a free pass to intervene without a finger being laid on you in this particular situation as the OP has made it clear that the lads were already being physically abusive towards women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Eever wrote: »
    Being a woman wouldn't have given you a free pass to intervene without a finger being laid on you in this particular situation....

Either would being male.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

Seanachai wrote: »
    Been on my knees in that situation few years ago being kicked and punched , hair pulled out at the roots. Adrenaline is an amazing thing , the animal survival instinct kicks in plus some people are just a lot stronger than they look. You find a gap in the crowd and use one of them for leverage.

So have I. I was headbutted and just got a flash of pain in my face and fell back, then I took a kicking on the ground while destroyed in blood. I managed to get up and shove yer man away after a bit but there was no way I was fit to fight and I would have a certain amount of training, I'm also by no means a pigeon but you can't take knocks like that with out a lot of training.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

That's pretty weak! :rolleyes:

ETA: Just read Kevin Duffy's comment question.

FYP, but would I be right in saying you weren't one of the people criticising the OP? That's who I asked the question of. Fair play for having the brass to help.

sum1 on boards thinks it sounds like a guy she nos and his name plus a second name is on the site u linked me before! ders no pictures though. the person only new the first name but it matches. the SCI FI email nvr mailed me back.

i found him! thank u so much to paperclip! thanks for ur help too evry1 else!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭Damie

Jesus, before Biko has a hernia, will you open up MS Word and type your reply in there then just cut and paste;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭willow tree

yay, OP. let us know how he is.
    and what Damie said:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,742 ✭✭✭Faolchu

the SCI FI email nvr mailed me back.

they may not activley monitor the address, remember these guys are students so they check their mail a few times/once a day or maybe teh person that monitors the address is on Holiday.

there's not much more you can do except maybe go to UCD and check the Club/Soc notice board to see when this particular soc is meeting again and turn up to see if the guy is there.

chances are if he was weraing a top that had UCD Sci Fi Soc then he's a member of that soc, no real point wearing it unless he's homeless and got it in a charity shop or something

just saw you found him.

Guy if you're on here and reading this fair play to you for what you did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

OP, you should've called Todd over, he would've sorted 'em.

[4 minutes in]

I've intervened in a couple of fights in college but both times got dragged out by mates before I could get my head kicked in, lucky for me to be honest. In retrospect they weren't fights that needed intervening (i.e. they were just drunken fights), I'd like to think I'd happily step in if someone actually needed help but who knows how I'd act in those situations. Everyone likes to think they'll turn into Bruce Lee but 99% of us (yes, you included) won't do jack shit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

That guy was a good guy, glad you found him.

My late brother helped guys in two situations like that. One was when he was outside a nightclub having a cigarette. There was a drunk guy lying on the path, and some scumbags start beating the **** out of him. My brother ask the bouncers to help, they told him to fup off, so he jumped in himself. They gave him a good kicking too but luckily some other people stepped in a saved the two of them. Can't believe the number of the scumbags on the streets starting fights for nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,484 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

You should of given the ledgebag a Gobstopper!

:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,950 ✭✭✭nkay1985

Are you going to get him that pint?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,702 ✭✭✭squod

nkay1985 wrote: »
    Are you going to get him that pint?

I'd say she wants him to give her one.

Pint that is ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,067 ✭✭✭Ficheall

You seem to be forgetting that he's a ginger...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭mikehunts

Man you cannot do anything in this country without someone finding you. Fair play though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭bigneacy

Keno 92 wrote: »
    My god, a crime fighting nerd....

We're all doomed.