Are the gardai beating the sh1t out of people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭deisedave

hondasam wrote: »
    same as every profession really.

Exactly but in other professions you dont have the chance to attack someone and get away with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 953 ✭✭✭hearny

Tehachapi wrote: »
    Do you think because of the abuse they put up with from the public, gives them permission to assault people?

I have a relative who is a psychiatrist and he often gets attacked, assaulted, bitten, etc by complete psychos and drug addicts. Would he be justified in beating them up too?

No, according to the logic he is allowed to beat anyone up, not just the people who assault him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

gsxr1 wrote: »
    As a man who lives in Derry and goes over the border to Donegal most weekends, I will tell ya. The Garda and brutes. They seem to think its right to punch and beat people. Even cover-up the odd murder.

Dont get fooled by BS.

The Garda are every bit as bad as the RUC. Boggers on a buzzzzz

As somebody from Donegal who knows the type of Derry Muckers who they deal with, they don't beat the Derry Muckers and in breds half enough. Personal experience and all that. They scurry over the border quick enough and cry to the Queen.

The DLA is the Derry Living Allowance after all, the Queen's head doesn't matter when it's on a pound.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭PARKHEAD67

MrsD007 wrote: »
    It goes without saying that there are obviously good and bad in every profession and in every walk of life. TBH, I have had very little experience or interaction with members of an Garda Siochana but on the occasions that our paths have crossed (I was injured in two separate road traffic accidents) the Gardai I met were very professional and incredibly helpful.

I remember one time when my husband was away for a weekend at a rugby match in Cardiff and during that weekend two gardai arrived at my door. I almost fainted when I answered the door to be confronted by two Gardai. I became very upset and before they could open their mouths, I said "Did he have an accident, where is he, is he dead?"... Turns out that the Gardai were in the wrong area and they were calling about about something fairly trival. They knew I got an awful shock so they insisted on making me tea :o
    But your hubbys a guard!!They get a bad press alright..some of the scumbags they deal with are not worth talking about

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

K-9 wrote: »
    As somebody from Donegal who knows the type of Derry Muckers who they deal with, they don't beat the Derry Muckers and in breds half enough. Personal experience and all that. They scurry over the border quick enough and cry to the Queen.

The DLA is the Derry Living Allowance after all, the Queen's head doesn't matter when it's on a pound.

WOW, You sure showed us..http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zRvrDKW1Wqg

deisedave wrote: »
    Exactly but in other professions you dont have the chance to attack someone and get away with it.
    But as a guard your always likely to meet the dregs of society.Would you fancy going into a house-party in a halting site at 2am? to calm the lads down???

professional boxers:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

PARKHEAD67 wrote: »
    But your hubbys a guard!!They get a bad press alright..some of the scumbags they deal with are not worth talking about
    Parkhead - you're definitely mixing me up with someone else. My husband is definitely NOT a member of an Garda Siochana.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭deisedave

professional boxers:D

Unless your David Haye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

charlemont wrote: »

Nah, I just laugh at the Republican Derry warriors who run for the Queen's protection.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

MrsD007 wrote: »
    Parkhead - you're definitely mixing me up with someone else. My husband is definitely NOT a member of an Garda Siochana.
    Sorry;).Someone else from the Clare forum so.Apologies:)

Unless your David Haye
    Hes a professional talkbox:D.He aint no boxer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Sorry;).Someone else from the Clare forum so.Apologies:)
    No problem at all Parkhead ;):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Tehachapi wrote: »
    Do you think because of the abuse they put up with from the public, gives them permission to assault people?

I have a relative who is a psychiatrist and he often gets attacked, assaulted, bitten, etc by complete psychos and drug addicts. Would he be justified in beating them up too?

No i don't and i never said that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

But as a guard your always likely to meet the dregs of society.Would you fancy going into a house-party in a halting site at 2am? to calm the lads down???

You do mean trailer-party, don't you? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Friend of mine is a garda in a ****e part of Dublin,one night some scrote headbutted a female colleague of his while he was being arrested, so they put him in the back of the van and taught him a bit of respect before he made it to the station.

I've no problem with that at all,little cúnt deserved all he got.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

??? Please elaborate . Mr Donegal DLA? Lets see your your links to the relation between the amount of disabled people in Co. Derry to the amount of people on the dole ( even in the massive all Ireland BOOM) in Donegal. And please search for the Garda reports on murder cover ups while you are at at.

It makes me sick at the ignorance that K9 has when they use uneducated phrases like
    They scurry over the border quick enough and cry to the Queen.
    The big republican that he is.

I have visited the beautiful county of Donegal many times. Twice to be greeted by some lowlife with a bottle in hand( and not a fist. coward) at the relation at where im from.

I know our Coppers are **** heads. Thanks for the backup . Brother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Its usually members of the skanger community that get a good ol'fashioned hiding, so meh. They dont jsut go around beating random people up.

Ah sure then it's fine... until you find yourself in a cell getting hopped off by a member of the force for something trivial, yet you are percieved to be "a member of the skanger community". No man is above the law, they are there to uphold it not to abuse their positions to enforce their own law.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

A mate of mine is a dick when he's drunk he's not violent just a dick and he looses all sense of fear. However he's the furthers thing from a scumbag you could get. He was locked and being a dick and he got arrested under the public order act. So I followed the van up to the cop station and you could hear him getting bet. No previous no violence they just kicked the suit out of him cos ge wouldn't shut up. Next morning he was released without charge and he was black and blue from the kicking he got. I asked the Garda the seargent and other Garda that were around for their names or numbers and they point blank refused to give them I waited out side all night for a super or someone in control to come in but he was released at the beginning of the next shift with no excuses just told to leave. I told him it was a life lesson but seriously there was no need the man is 5'6" and weighs about 8 stone and this was back when Garda were big lads.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,854 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

so they put him in the back of the van and taught him a bit of respect before he made it to the station.

I've no problem with that at all,little cúnt deserved all he got.

Taught respect? Don't hit us because we'll beat you up...yeah I'm missing where learning respect comes in there..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

He headbutted a woman ffs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

Tigger wrote: »
    A mate of mine is a dick when he's drunk he's not violent just a dick and he looses all sense of fear. However he's the furthers thing from a scumbag you could get. He was locked and being a dick and he got arrested under the public order act. So I followed the van up to the cop station and you could hear him getting bet. No previous no violence they just kicked the suit out of him cos ge wouldn't shut up. Next morning he was released without charge and he was black and blue from the kicking he got. I asked the Garda the seargent and other Garda that were around for their names or numbers and they point blank refused to give them I waited out side all night for a super or someone in control to come in but he was released at the beginning of the next shift with no excuses just told to leave. I told him it was a life lesson but seriously there was no need the man is 5'6" and weighs about 8 stone and this was back when Garda were big lads.
    What was his public order offence to say he went for a spin in the paddy wagon?

Failing to obey the instructions of a Garda Ie: go home.

Hardly relevant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Sad that some people dont care if the garda beat people who are "skangers". Its that attitude which lets them get away with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

He headbutted a woman ffs!
    So? She's a garda, that comes with the job.

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    Sad that some people dont care if the garda beat people who are "skangers". Its that attitude which lets them get away with it.

Yeah I agree . If society wants corporal punishment broungh in then it should he handed down by the judiciary not some judge dred fantasist

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

The Gardai are the biggest scumbags in Ireland.

This is probably untrue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,096 ✭✭✭Liamario

I hope the gardai do beat some of the prisoners. That's all some of them understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Sure what would you expect from a pig only a grunt. The fact is that in many urban areas a lot of cops view any and all from working class areas as inherent scum, plebs that need to be treated with derision and disdain as they are all simply straining to run out of their estates and rob decent rich folk. It's not surprising really, considering none of them are from working class areas in Irish cities and get indoctrinated to the gills in Templemore.

Anyone who thinks the cops are incapable of beating the sh*t out of someone over something trivial are living in cloud cuckoo loud, this lark has been ongoing for years like, and it's not just "skangers" who are on the receiving end of it.