Are the gardai beating the sh1t out of people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

deisedave wrote: »
    I meant I have never been arrested, I live next to a busy night club so when I am sitting in my sitting room, (like now for example) If a fight breaks out or anything happens I can pretty much see it from my front window. You seem to want to defend the force to the last, there is good guards but way to many bad ones. Your wrong if you thing my opinion is wrong:rolleyes:

Do you actually have any idea what a guard has to go through on a daily basis? Somehow i doubt it. All you've done is tar every single guard with the same brush. I'm sure you would be all smiles and joy at 3 in the morning dealing with some little scrote who can't handle his beer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Merch

generally I have found them to not be knowledgeable of laws, some impolite, some aggressive, while I have come across some friendly and helpful, I feel the majority are not that way.

I wouldnt rely on my own opinion, know few people from the UK and it came up in a discussion once, the outcome of which was the gardai are mostly un helpful, unfriendly, unprofessional and not aware of just a few acts of law under which they are allowed to operate, that is compared to their UK colleagues, although not saying they are not faultless. I have come across some quite decent friendly ones myself, but I think how they are perceived is not all that good, no smoke without fire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭deisedave

super-rush wrote: »
    Do you actually have any idea what a guard has to go through on a daily basis? Somehow i doubt it. All you've done is tar every single guard with the same brush. I'm sure you would be all smiles and joy at 3 in the morning dealing with some little scrote who can't handle his beer.

For the last time I dont think every guard is bad, I just think the ones that are dont get weeded out and are not held accountable, I know what the guards go through from day to day. I could not imagine how it feels to knock at doors and tell people there relative is dead, But that is part of the job unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,291 ✭✭✭dresden8

Summary death sentences are not within the remit of the Gardai. No matter how much our nutjobs desire it.

Merch wrote: »
    generally I have found them to not be knowledgeable of laws, some impolite, some aggressive, while I have come across some friendly and helpful, I feel the majority are not that way.

I wouldnt rely on my own opinion, know few people from the UK and it came up in a discussion once, the outcome of which was the gardai are mostly un helpful, unfriendly, unprofessional and not aware of just a few acts of law under which they are allowed to operate, that is compared to their UK colleagues, although not saying they are not faultless. I have come across some quite decent friendly ones myself, but I think how they are perceived is not all that good, no smoke without fire.

If I was you I'd run and hide :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Innocence is bliss.
    Want the truth, You cant handle the truth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

you haven't a clue about AGS, some young guard probably female gave you a ticket and you are here bitching about them all been impolite, useless etc.

you are funny tbh.

hondasam wrote: »
    you haven't a clue about AGS, some young guard probably female gave you a ticket and you are here bitching about them all been impolite, useless etc.

you are funny tbh.

Why would her being female make a difference:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 953 ✭✭✭hearny

You can probably tell the social class of most people after posting in this thread by their views.

I hadn't realised until now how many ignorant people are on this site.

To all the people who posted about justice and they deserve it you better hope you don't get arrested for something you either did or didn't do.

I personally had to visit a family member in a cell after being beaten up by the guards for no reason.

They broke his friends jaw and it was all over something that nether of them did although it was someone in their group, and even then it was a very minor offence.

We couldn't get a solicitor on the day but they denied him a doctor and told me nothing but lies. The guard that brought me into see him wouldn't even look me in the eye.

Obviously not all guards beat people up for no reason but some do and others seem to ignore it.

All the people giving out about guard bashing can all moan about this then thank each other to stroke your egos but you're not really posting that many good experiences you have with the guards so do you actually have any experience to support your views.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Merch

? run and hide?? in here, what the backlash? :)
    Isnt this a forum for discussion? or is that just for people who agree with each other?? dissenters can go and shoite I suppose :)

hearny wrote: »
    You can probably tell the social class of most people after posting in this thread by their views.

To all the people who posted about justice and they deserve it you better hope you don't get arrested for something you either did or didn't do.

I personally had to visit a family member in a cell after being beaten up by the guards for no reason.

They broke his friends jaw and it was all over something that nether of them did although it was someone in their group, and even then it was a very minor offence.

We couldn't get a solicitor on the day but they denied him a doctor and told me nothing but lies. The guard that brought me into see him wouldn't even look me in the eye.

Obviously not all guards beat people up for no reason but some do and others seem to ignore it.

All the people giving out about guard bashing can all moan about this then thank each other to stroke your egos but you're not really posting that many good experiences you have with the guards so do you actually have any experience to support your views.

Our lovely gardai, they would never:rolleyes:

Why would her being female make a difference:confused:

someone with a chip on their shoulder as big as yours, female garda stopping you would be to much for you to handle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Storminateacup

Yeah - I've got no beef with the gardai. Think most of them do their jobs to the best of their ability, ect.

But there's no doubt in my mind that they do dole out a couple of slaps, in order to remind whoever needs it who's boss.

It's happened to my brother before -- and it's happened to a good friend of mine, when he was 17. He was visibily marked and when there was a complaint lodged with the Garda ombudsman, the superintendent was bending over backwards for his parents to "sort it at local level".

The same guard waited to have my friend cuffed before assaulting him, however refused to continue assault once the cuffs were off.

Assault is assault -- no matter who does it. I'd expect a scumbag to be charged with assaulting another, just as I would expect a member of an Garda siochana to be charged following an assault on another.

someone with a chip on their shoulder as big as yours, female garda stopping you would be to much for you to handle.

Why I like women with power :D But seriously I really have no problem with them, if i did I would admit it, I dont have enough personal runnings in with them but there is no point me trying to argue with some people here seem to want to just debate for the sake of debating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Its usually members of the skanger community that get a good ol'fashioned hiding, so meh. They dont jsut go around beating random people up.

No doubt the elements of society that you yourself would give a bit of a kicking if you weren't, you know....a vagina.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

I was arrested many moons ago. I was put in the back of the squad car and brought to the station. My details were taken and i was put in a cell for the night. At some point in the night i needed a drink of water so i politely asked for one and the guard on duty brought me one. At 7am i was released and told that i would be hearing from them soon. Seemed to me that because i was polite and cooperated with them they done the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭PARKHEAD67

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    With certain sections of society, yes they are in general.

Of course not all Garda are like that.
    Some of the bastards they deal with dont even deserve court, not to mind some bollix lawyer(paid for by the taxpayer).Gardai do their jobs.If some nackball with 32 previous convictions gets a couple of slaps off em-all the better:).Some of em have to deal with some scummy *****.And a couple of sly elbows that go astray are most welcome in my mind.:DThe gardai are dealing with the same scum over and over again.But when it comes to court.......we all know what happens.

Why I like women with power :D But seriously I really have no problem with them, if i did I would admit it, I dont have enough personal runnings in with them but there is no point me trying to argue with some people here seem to want to just debate for the sake of debating

you talking about yourself I assume.

Yeah - I've got no beef with the gardai. Think most of them do their jobs to the best of their ability, ect.

But there's no doubt in my mind that they do dole out a couple of slaps, in order to remind whoever needs it who's boss.

It's happened to my brother before -- and it's happened to a good friend of mine, when he was 17. He was visibily marked and when there was a complaint lodged with the Garda ombudsman, the superintendent was bending over backwards for his parents to "sort it at local level".

The same guard waited to have my friend cuffed before assaulting him, however refused to continue assault once the cuffs were off.

Assault is assault -- no matter who does it. I'd expect a scumbag to be charged with assaulting another, just as I would expect a member of an Garda siochana to be charged following an assault on another.

Well some people here seem to think the **** they put up with gives them the right to carry on like that.

The same people who are giving out about generalisations in the argument against them seem to think its ok for the guards to make generalisations about young males.

you talking about yourself I assume.

I think the gardai have there fair share of bad apples, if you think different your just naive. Thats not to say they are all bad, we all know they have a difficult job but no one forced them so sign up for it.

I'm not naive. It's like any job you have no idea what's involved until you start doing it. yes of course there are some bad people in AGS but there are more good people.

I was arrested many moons ago. I was put in the back of the squad car and brought to the station. My details were taken and i was put in a cell for the night. At some point in the night i needed a drink of water so i politely asked for one and the guard on duty brought me one. At 7am i was released and told that i would be hearing from them soon. Seemed to me that because i was polite and cooperated with them they done the same.

That's fair enough you got a decent chap, I have met one too in all fairness but I was very polite in dealing with them and they treated me like an idiot, giving me false information and making false claims.

I would love to be able to say all of my dealings with them were positive but all bar one were ignorant and condescending.

I'm not naive. It's like any job you have no idea what't involved until you start doing it. yes of course there are some bad people in AGS but there are more good people.

Now we are getting some where, yes there is more good than bad but there should be way more action taken against the bad apples, but alot of it is covered up.

how do you know it's covered up ?

They look out for each other, if you know any guards personally ask them and see what they say.

The problem is they all stick together, even the ones that can seem friendly and helpful. They are being tarred with the same brush as the bad ones by their failure to react or report incidents.

Like the quote says all that is required for evil to triumph is that good men do nothing. I'm not suggesting they are evil before ye start but you get my point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

As a man who lives in Derry and goes over the border to Donegal most weekends, I will tell ya. The Garda and brutes. They seem to think its right to punch and beat people. Even cover-up the odd murder.

Dont get fooled by BS.

The Garda are every bit as bad as the RUC. Boggers on a buzzzzz

The problem is they all stick together, even the ones that can seem friendly and helpful. They are being tarred with the same brush as the bad ones by their failure to react or report incidents.

Like the quote says all that is required for evil to triumph is that good men do nothing. I'm not suggesting they are evil before ye start but you get my point.

I agree with you mate, but on the other side they attacked someone where I live Manor street Waterford and 3 of them assaulted the person and they were caught because a ban garda who was there reported the incident. I turned out the guards tried to tamper with the cctv and all. So if she had not reported the incident, they would of got away with it.

They look out for each other, if you know any guards personally ask them and see what they say.

same as every profession really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭Tehachapi

Do you think because of the abuse they put up with from the public, gives them permission to assault people?

I have a relative who is a psychiatrist and he often gets attacked, assaulted, bitten, etc by complete psychos and drug addicts. Would he be justified in beating them up too?