Tefl in South Korea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭RadioClash

net86 wrote: »
    No Ill be teaching at a Hagwon - jungchul.

Did a year a year at a Jungchul in Daejeon. It'll occur to you very early on that you're going to need a lot of supplementary materials for your class. Their 'curriculum' is mind numbingly boring, and is the exact opposite of what's considered best practice for second language acquisition. A lot will depend on your boss and how flexible he/she is with introducing new ideas and learning methods into the classroom.

I'm sure you've heard the old American proverb; "There's more than one way to skin a cat". Well the Korean equivalent is "There's only one way to skin this here cat, and I shall not deviate from it despite empirical evidence that it's completely wrong". I had to fight my corner for several weeks to freshen up my classes and introduce different materials/activities for the purpose of getting my students motivated and actually learning.

Not trying to be too negative, but forewarned is forearmed (and as a lot of people have mentioned, a lot will depend on how your boss/manager decides to run the school)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭hyperbaby

net86 wrote: »
    No Ill be teaching at a Hagwon - jungchul. Going through Anna at Korea Global Connections
    I imagine I will choose Gwangju because although Geoje looks absolutely stunning i would worry that island fever would set in after a few months.
    I have read some good things about Gwangju but also some not so nice things. To be honest I still dont know which one I am going to choose - keep switching between one and the other
    I need to make my decision asap as both schools are looking for me to start on the 8th or 15th august. That said I dont know if i will have my visa in time as still waiting for my garda clearance thing.

When are you leaving?

Have you decided yet?

I'm leaving on the 17th of August to be there on the 18th of August.
    I haven't booked my flights yet though.

Has anyone here taught high school students in Korea?
    What level were they at or did it depend on different factors?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

kraggy wrote: »
    Stand on the scales holding the bag. Then stand on the scales without the bag and subtract.

Yup that's what I did.

Anyone know what the craic is with ordering the veggie option with Ethiad? I know it's better to order when you're booking, but my school booked my flights so I didn't get the chance. I wonder if you can mention it at check in? I can bring my own food anyways, but it'd be nice to have something yummy mid flight!:)

Are you flying with Ethiad, yeah?
    How long is the stopover?

hyperbaby wrote: »
    Are you flying with Ethiad, yeah?
    How long is the stopover?

Aye, 2.5hours - it's grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 Mentalists

I'm heading to Korea in August or September. I have no idea when I will return. I am aware of the 90 day limit. Either way, under current circumstances, I would prefer to purchase a one way ticket. Will this lead to problems for me entering the country? Do I have to have a return ticket in order to be allowed enter the country?
    If you know please help as I cannot find any answers on the internet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭cassi

Mentalists wrote: »
    I'm heading to Korea in August or September. I have no idea when I will return. I am aware of the 90 day limit. Either way, under current circumstances, I would prefer to purchase a one way ticket. Will this lead to problems for me entering the country? Do I have to have a return ticket in order to be allowed enter the country?

If your travelling one way without a visa you may get stopped. You would be stopped at dublin airport or where ever your flying FROM! I know of someone who was stopped and had to buy a return but then I have also heard of people not getting stopped!

Offically you need a return or a ticket onwards, it largely depends on the person checking and they can be very picky.

Hope that helps anybit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

you could also prebook the 'beetle' (ferry from busan to fukuoka in japan) print it out and show it to them and say that's your onward travel. This ticket only has to be paid for a few weeks in advance, so in theory you could book it for one or 2 months after arriving, but have it printed out to show it as a ticket, then just cancel your ticket when you get to Korea.

In saying that, I would strongly advise you not to overstay your 90 day limit, it's not worth it. Also if you want to teach legally, you'll most likely have to fly back to Ireland to get your visa sorted (if it's your 1st visa), though sometimes this may be waived and you'll be allowed do your interview in Japan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭guitarzero

Whats the dating scene like, as in dating Korean women, do they take well to foreigners? Is their English good? I'll stop there...;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 Mentalists

cloneslad wrote: »
    you could also prebook the 'beetle' (ferry from busan to fukuoka in japan) print it out and show it to them and say that's your onward travel. This ticket only has to be paid for a few weeks in advance, so in theory you could book it for one or 2 months after arriving, but have it printed out to show it as a ticket, then just cancel your ticket when you get to Korea.

In saying that, I would strongly advise you not to overstay your 90 day limit, it's not worth it. Also if you want to teach legally, you'll most likely have to fly back to Ireland to get your visa sorted (if it's your 1st visa), though sometimes this may be waived and you'll be allowed do your interview in Japan.

So the onward ticket appears to be the way forward. Thanks for the advice.

The 90days I believe can be resolved by heading to Japan for a few days and returning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 987 ✭✭✭ekevosu

cloneslad wrote: »

So the onward ticket appears to be the way forward. Thanks for the advice.

The 90days I believe can be resolved by heading to Japan for a few days and returning

I've travelled there on a one way ticket a few times without any trouble. If questioned you could just tell them you are going to tour around Korea and then travel on from there to another country but haven't decided how long you will travel there for yet.

Don't overstay the 90 days or teach without a visa as there are fines, deportation etc but it's fine to leave and come back in for a holiday over 90 days. You can book a return flight and get a visa extension at the end of the 90 days up to a certain amount of days, possibly a few weeks, I can't remember.

For a first time E2 you will need to come home and do an interview. However if you get a job for a public school and get a letter of appointment, EPIK etc, then you don't even need to leave the country to get a visa even if it's your first time.

Airlines try to pull this stunt trying to get you to buy another ticket. A certain airline once were refusing to print my boarding pass as I didn't have an onward ticket telling me I would be denied entry. I politely informed them that they weren't Korean immigration and that there surely must be a waiver I could sign (airlines are usually responsible to bring you back from whence you came if you are not let in for some reason). They then grudgingly produced the paper which I signed and then gave me the boarding pass. Of course I sailed through immigration no hassle.

I have had this situation with a couple of different airlines going to various places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭cassi

RadioClash wrote: »
    Airlines try to pull this stunt trying to get you to buy another ticket. A certain airline once were refusing to print my boarding pass as I didn't have an onward ticket telling me I would be denied entry. I politely informed them that they weren't Korean immigration and that there surely must be a waiver I could sign (airlines are usually responsible to bring you back from whence you came if you are not let in for some reason). They then grudgingly produced the paper which I signed and then gave me the boarding pass. Of course I sailed through immigration no hassle.

I have had this situation with a couple of different airlines going to various places.

Yeah, its really a win some lose some situation. But it is the airlines responsibility to check visas, return or onward travel etc, not the country of arrivals immigration. I didnt know there was a waiver you could sign though! Some countries arent strick with immigration as they know people will move on, but since Koreas not really a holiday destination and most young people are going there to teach, they can be funny about things like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭dapto1

Notice of Appointment on its way... Getting close now!

cassi wrote: »
    Yeah, its really a win some lose some situation. But it is the airlines responsibility to check visas, return or onward travel etc, not the country of arrivals immigration. I didnt know there was a waiver you could sign though! Some countries arent strick with immigration as they know people will move on, but since Koreas not really a holiday destination and most young people are going there to teach, they can be funny about things like this.

Never had a problem with immigration anywhere because of a one way ticket, least of all Korea. I even flew into the US on a one way with minimal fuss. Of course it helped that I never fly in with the intention of overstaying or breaking the terms of my visa/visa waiver, so I'm up front with immi wherever I go and they generally appreciate that rather than uneasiness.

The only time I ever got hassle was at a land crossing going to Singapore from Malaysia. Then again, I did look like a degenerate bum, having grown an unkempt beard from 5 months of backpacking.

Again I find it's airlines that have this problem, either being over cautious covering their asses if you don't get in, or misleading you trying to sell you another ticket at great cost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 king of cork

Nearly finished my first week in Busan at a Jungchul Academy. Yes be warned about the curriculum, it might get a little boring after a few months. It seems to be geared more to the korean teachers at the school, I have no idea who wrote it but god it's confusing to a native English speaker.

If anyone is coming over soon, well I have to tell you that it's ***** hot! And humid. Rainy season is over I think. Pack appropriately!

As for Ethihad airlines, well I thought it was a fairly cramped cabin space compared to other long-haul airlines. I could not eat a lot of the food because it it was woeful. By the way they are quite strict about baggage weight when you check in at Dublin airport, I had to take 3 kgs out and give it to my sister to take home. I also had to remove 3 kgs from my carry on but I put it back in after it was weighed! The weight I was carrying with me made movement around Abu Dabhi and Busan Airports rather tiring.

But anyway all that nervous tension before leaving is now gone! The Korean people are very friendly and helpful. It is going to be an interesting year.

I would definitely recommend learning some basic Korean phrases.

Anyeong haseo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 net86

Have you decided yet?

I'm leaving on the 17th of August to be there on the 18th of August.
    I haven't booked my flights yet though.

Has anyone here taught high school students in Korea?
    What level were they at or did it depend on different factors?

Hey - yes i chose to go to Geoje :) - really looking forward to it now. Sent off my documents yesterday so just have to wait for them to come through. The job is starting on the 15th August and they are booking my flights for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭squeakyduck

:eek: I sent my documents on Tuesday and now they are only in Singapore :eek: They told me that they would DEFINATELY be in Korea by now. Time is of the essence with these documents. :(

Nearly finished my first week in Busan at a Jungchul Academy. Yes be warned about the curriculum, it might get a little boring after a few months. It seems to be geared more to the korean teachers at the school, I have no idea who wrote it but god it's confusing to a native English speaker.

If anyone is coming over soon, well I have to tell you that it's ***** hot! And humid. Rainy season is over I think. Pack appropriately!

As for Ethihad airlines, well I thought it was a fairly cramped cabin space compared to other long-haul airlines. I could not eat a lot of the food because it it was woeful. By the way they are quite strict about baggage weight when you check in at Dublin airport, I had to take 3 kgs out and give it to my sister to take home. I also had to remove 3 kgs from my carry on but I put it back in after it was weighed! The weight I was carrying with me made movement around Abu Dabhi and Busan Airports rather tiring.

But anyway all that nervous tension before leaving is now gone! The Korean people are very friendly and helpful. It is going to be an interesting year.

I would definitely recommend learning some basic Korean phrases.

Anyeong haseo.

Thanks for your post.

I'm itching to get there now but the next few weeks are going to be mental trying to organise things.

I heard August in Busan is scorching.

What was your baggage allowance, 23kgs?

What age group are you teaching?

Best of luck in Geoje net86!

Just found out yesterday that I have to do a course for EPIK, a 17 hour online course with two tests before I leave. As if I didn't have enough stuff to do already.
    Has anyone completed it this year or previous years?
    Is it pretty straight forward or a pain in the ass?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 king of cork

@hyperbaby

Etihads baggage allownace is 23kgs and 7 kgs carry on plus a laptop.If you want to bring more it's 32 euros per kg!

I teach at a hagwon so I 'teach' elementary school to middle school( 6 to 13 approx). Classroom management skills are vital as you can imagine so try to come up with a few ideas to keep a class in order or to keep them interested. Some classes are studious and cooperative but others are chaotic. Hopefuly, since you are at a public school you will get help from your Korean co-teachers when things get a bit crazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 987 ✭✭✭ekevosu

Just found out yesterday that I have to do a course for EPIK, a 17 hour online course with two tests before I leave. As if I didn't have enough stuff to do already.
    Has anyone completed it this year or previous years?
    Is it pretty straight forward or a pain in the ass?

First few are a pain in the ass but some of the other lessons are quite useful. [SNIP] You have to watch each lesson for 15 minutes. Doesn't mean you have to watch it though, just have it on the screen for 15 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

ekevosu wrote: »
    First few are a pain in the ass but some of the other lessons are quite useful. [SNIP] You have to watch each lesson for 15 minutes. Doesn't mean you have to watch it though, just have it on the screen for 15 minutes.

It is against the charter to help with assignments. What I have edited from your post most definitely falls under that. Please do not do it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭Choccie Lover

Hey, does anyone have any hotel or guesthouse recommendations for Busan? Cheers:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 fitzy.

I know this is a teaching thread, but hopefully someone here might be able to answer my question. I am hopefully moving to Korea soon to work as an engineer, the Korean company I am going working for said that they would apply for my visa and get back in touch with me once it’s granted. However they weren’t able to tell me how long they expect the process to take.

Anyone here have experience with this type of work visa/process? How long should I expect to be waiting for the visa to come through? Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,438 ✭✭✭livinginkorea

Hey, does anyone have any hotel or guesthouse recommendations for Busan? Cheers:D

There are loads of love motels in every city/town in Korea because they have a different 'day-time' purpose (many Koreans still live with their parents even after they marry). Anyway, try near the bus/subway station or near the beach. I imagine that Busan has a large amount of hotels especially around the summer. They are cheap too with air conditioners, TV, usually a computer, mini-fridge etc.
    Hope this helps.

fitzy. wrote: »
    I know this is a teaching thread, but hopefully someone here might be able to answer my question. I am hopefully moving to Korea soon to work as an engineer, the Korean company I am going working for said that they would apply for my visa and get back in touch with me once it’s granted. However they weren’t able to tell me how long they expect the process to take.

Anyone here have experience with this type of work visa/process? How long should I expect to be waiting for the visa to come through? Thanks.

I imagine that the process would be shorter than the teaching visa because you will not be working with kids. You could ask on Dave ESL or http://www.afek.info/forum/open-forums which has a good few members who are not teachers/educators.

ekevosu wrote: »

Interesting..video lecturers or sample co-teaching lessons? Must be a recent invention.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 560 ✭✭✭virmilitaris

fitzy. wrote: »

I expect it's one of the C-visas. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_South_Korean_visas#C_visas

No idea on the waiting time. Can't imagine it'd be too long. A month at the most from immigrations end judging by what I know of other non-teaching visas.