Tefl in South Korea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

Sorry I meant to say I was getting my degree notarised tomorrow, not apostilled

You can extend easily enough, it's what most people do.

If you come home then you'll have to do everything again, with the exception of the interview.

As for me, I extended for 6 months then came home and studied for my masters degree. Finished my masters and then went back out to my old school.

I only intended going back for one more year as I had a friend's wedding to come home for and little nieces and nephews to get to know....so that's all I did. I finished my contract, travelled for 6 weeks then came home, now I'm working full time in the area I studied in, so I'm happy enough!!

Which one of you is Tom, is going to Korea on friday and won a grand this morning on today fm?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

cloneslad wrote: »
    Which one of you is Tom, is going to Korea on friday and won a grand this morning on today fm?

That Cork dude was meant to be going over this week....! King of cork I think his name was?! I wonder.......:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭squeakyduck

Nice little lump sum going over! :) Lucky him! :)

Let's mug him

If you want you can get them to send me the check and I'll forward it on to you out there. I'd hate to think some unscrupulous member of your family may fail to send you the money you won.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 king of cork

Well, hell I wish I was Tom, that money would allow me to pay for some excess baggage to Korea: 20 kg's seems a bit stingy!

fill a laptop bag and a carry on suitcase too, they'll let you take 22 or 23kg too. Just be friendly at the check in counter.

Well, hell I wish I was Tom, that money would allow me to pay for some excess baggage to Korea: 20 kg's seems a bit stingy!

Who are you flying with? I'm with Ethiad and it's 23kg for checked baggage and 7kg carry on, plus your laptop/handbag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭JFitzgerald

Hi, I'm going teaching in Seoul on my own in September. I'm hoping to work in a public school which means I'll be the only Irish person in the school. I'd appreciate some meaningful advice on how to meet up with other Irish people in Seoul. I don't play camogie so that's not an option. Ta.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭Do_Lers

Hey it depends what your into really?

There are loads groups who organize weekend trips away for people here is the link to their facebook page,
    https://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=108698559171327 there called Discover Korea, there are a few others but Ive heard most good things about this crowd. (Adventure Korea is another)

Its worth checking out and a great was to meet people as there will be loads of people in the same boat as you. For the first couple of weeks it might be good to go on a weekend away if you make friends early on then you can have a bit of company discovering Korea.
    You may be surprised as more and more public schools now have more than 1 foreign teacher, when I arrived here I was one of 3 foreign teachers. I didnt even think to ask would i be the only foreigner, because it never happens. Since coming here I have met a number of public school teachers who are not the only foreigner.

There is meetups.com you can search for whatever you are into ie film photography whatever it is you will find a group who meet weekly to do stuff, I havent done this but know people who have and loved it.

Theres loads to do here and if sport is not your thing dont worry you will find something your into.

Best of luck with everything!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭hyperbaby

I finally got my placement location from EPIK.

Gwangju!
    It was my third choice. I'm not sure how I feel about this. I kinda had my heart set on Busan. Does anyone know anything about this city?

I feel a bit stupid about saying this but I really thought I would get my first or second choice so I put very little thought into choice 3, 4 and 5.

Anyway,
    http://www.eslplanet.co.kr/FAQ.aspx.htm?faqid=439
    http://www.eslplanet.co.kr/FAQ.aspx.htm?faqid=386

These links have put my mind at ease, a bit...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 net86

hyperbaby wrote: »

Gwangju!
    It was my third choice. I'm not sure how I feel about this. I kinda had my heart set on Busan. Does anyone know anything about this city?

I too am unsure about going to Gwangju - I have been offered a position at Gwangju and also Geoje island. Both schools sound really good but the areas are totally different. Gwangju sounds really good as a small city though so I still have no idea what to do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭JFitzgerald

Thanks a mill, Do Lers, really helpful info there. Yeah, i'm just looking for likeminded genuinely sociable* people to hang out with who like going for a few drinks and eats, to the cinema, seeing the sights, going for walks and travelling/weekends away etc. It never occurred to me that a public school would have more than one ESL teacher - the fact that they do has cheered me up no end.

(*not hermits/pining, lovelorn, thirtysomething, single females who fled to south korea to make some sort of statement to their crush/f*ckbuddy/ex back home. I met all that sort last year in Laos and Cambodia.)

net86 wrote: »
    I too am unsure about going to Gwangju - I have been offered a position at Gwangju and also Geoje island. Both schools sound really good but the areas are totally different. Gwangju sounds really good as a small city though so I still have no idea what to do

Did you apply through EPIK or other websites/agencies?
    I'm a bit nervous about Gwangju but the decision has been finalised now I guess.
    When are you going?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 JohnJoe1987

im going to the solicitor tomorrow to get my degree notarised. So is it just honours degree i get notarised or do i have to get my ordinary degree notarised as well?

Also the solicitor said that i must bring proof of residence and identification and to just bring my original degree as he said the notary makes the copies himself, is this the normal procedure?

One final question, how many copies should i get notarised?

Gwangju!

net86 wrote: »

A good friend of mine is from Gwangju, she loves the place, but then again, it is her home. I've been to the provincial area, but not the city. It's supposed to be quite nice, you could have a look around the city using daum maps...like google, but awesome for korea.

As for you net86 - take Geoje!! Nothing else needed to say to you.

im going to the solicitor tomorrow to get my degree notarised. So is it just honours degree i get notarised or do i have to get my ordinary degree notarised as well?

Also the solicitor said that i must bring proof of residence and identification and to just bring my original degree as he said the notary makes the copies himself, is this the normal procedure?

One final question, how many copies should i get notarised?

Just the honours.

I had my own copy, but if he wants to copy it himself, let him....unless he's going to charge a fortune for it.

One copy should be fine, don't send it off until you accept a job. Never send your recruiter your documents before signing a contract. A scanned copy will suffice, to show that you have them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 net86

Did you apply through EPIK or other websites/agencies?
    I'm a bit nervous about Gwangju but the decision has been finalised now I guess.
    When are you going?

No Ill be teaching at a Hagwon - jungchul. Going through Anna at Korea Global Connections
    I imagine I will choose Gwangju because although Geoje looks absolutely stunning i would worry that island fever would set in after a few months.
    I have read some good things about Gwangju but also some not so nice things. To be honest I still dont know which one I am going to choose - keep switching between one and the other
    I need to make my decision asap as both schools are looking for me to start on the 8th or 15th august. That said I dont know if i will have my visa in time as still waiting for my garda clearance thing.

When are you leaving?

@G86

Yep flying with Etihad also and it is 23kg plus the 7kg carry on but I'm struggling to get everything into the suitcase and gearbag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 JohnJoe1987

cloneslad wrote: »
    Just the honours.

I had my own copy, but if he wants to copy it himself, let him....unless he's going to charge a fortune for it.

One copy should be fine, don't send it off until you accept a job. Never send your recruiter your documents before signing a contract. A scanned copy will suffice, to show that you have them.

Thanks cloneslad for your help. I think I will get two copies done just to be safe

@G86

Yep flying with Etihad also and it is 23kg plus the 7kg carry on but I'm struggling to get everything into the suitcase and gearbag.

I haven't even tried to pack yet, buying a new suitcase tomorrow so going to try get the lightest one possible! When are you off?

Leaving on Sunday @ 9.am from Dublin, and after getting into Busan on Monday afternoon I actually have to go to the school to observe the current teacher in action! I really hope I can grab some zzz's on the flights over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭squeakyduck

I know this has been dealt with, I went back a few pages and I couldn't find anything.

Any recommendations on couriers? (ie good cheap price and gets there SUPER fast?)

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭dapto1

I know this has been dealt with, I went back a few pages and I couldn't find anything.

Any recommendations on couriers? (ie good cheap price and gets there SUPER fast?)

I used DHL, it was about 60 euro to get documents from my door in Kerry over to Korea. Arrived in like 2 or 3 days.

As said above, DHL, or fedex or someone like that. you aren't going to get it super cheap and quick.

The only way to make it cheaper is to send it over with someone else who's sending theres over to the same place, which cuts the cost in half.

dapto1 wrote: »
    I used DHL, it was about 60 euro to get documents from my door in Kerry over to Korea. Arrived in like 2 or 3 days.

+1.

Mine was there in 2 days with DHL. You're not going to get it much cheaper than €60, Fedex were charging more when I got a quote from them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Barra Lumiere

Hey folks just a bit of info for anyone interested in playing Gaelic Football in Busan. Laochra Busan GAA club was established last month here in Busan and we train every Saturday.

Here's a link to a feature about the club in Busan Haps
    http://busanhaps.com/article/gaelic-sports-club-opens-busan

We've lots of different nationalities playing Gaelic but it'd be great to get more Irish players on board. Here's a link to our FB if anyone's is interested.
    http://www.facebook.com/groups/185812254799949

If you know anyone who may be interested, please pass on the message. Thank you :)

Leaving on Sunday @ 9.am from Dublin, and after getting into Busan on Monday afternoon I actually have to go to the school to observe the current teacher in action! I really hope I can grab some zzz's on the flights over.

That's mental! I don't think I start til the day after I arrive, then I've shadowing for 3 days and then I'm off for a week :D

Edit: my scales is telling me that my packed suitcase (minus a few bits) is only 15kg... I seriously doubt it though! I'm going to get one of those wee luggage scales instead and see then!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

G86 wrote: »
    That's mental! I don't think I start til the day after I arrive, then I've shadowing for 3 days and then I'm off for a week :D

Edit: my scales is telling me that my packed suitcase (minus a few bits) is only 15kg... I seriously doubt it though! I'm going to get one of those wee luggage scales instead and see then!

Stand on the scales holding the bag. Then stand on the scales without the bag and subtract.

You won't get a true measurement if you put the bag on the scales. They're not wide enough to catch all the weight of a big rucksack/suitcase. Some of it will touch the ground.