Why don't smokers regard cig' butts as litter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Knasher wrote: »
    You can get little metal airtight containers that you can put the fag butts into.

Yes, I'm basing this totally off the loading sceen of Metal Gear Solid 3.

Yep, got one for my mother a few years back (hated the smell in the car when she put them out in the ashtray).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,508 ✭✭✭Lemag

latenia wrote: »
    We pay over €1 billion a year in excise duty with nothing in return except cancer and heart disease
    And the rest of us pay how many billion a year to treat your cancer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,746 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Fine, at worst they are slightly less annoying than chewing gum on footpaths. I don't smoke too often anymore but when I do I do get rid properly.
    Actually, what you assume to be chewing gum on the footpath is apparently the remains of a cigarette filter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭aligator_am

Maybe if that shower of retards in Dublin City Council decide to put back all the bins they uprooted for the Kenyan and the German then us smokers will have somewhere to put our smokebutts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Lemag wrote: »

Our taxes pay for your healthcare. Newsflash - non-smokers die too. A lot of non-smokers get cancer too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

Non Smokers contribute nothing to the environment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Indeed, because non-smokers don't get ill from anything self induced, all smokers get cancer and no smokers pay taxes.

Given the hefty tax on cigarettes i am reasonably sure that most people who would end up from a form of cancer caused by their smoking would probably have paid plenty of tax themselves.

If you have any other arse backwards points to make please feel free.

Our taxes pay for your healthcare. Newsflash - non-smokers die too. A lot of non-smokers get cancer too.
    My point was every bit as valid as the rtrd'd point to which I was responding. I never mentioned non-smokers, btw.
    Indeed, because non-smokers don't get ill from anything self induced, all smokers get cancer and no smokers pay taxes.
    Your point? Non smokers can get ill from n number of self induced illnesses (all of which would be off topic regarding this thread). Smokers can get ill from n number of self induced illnesses + lung cancer.
    Given the hefty tax on cigarettes i am reasonably sure that most people who would end up from a form of cancer caused by their smoking would probably have paid plenty of tax themselves.
    The post to which I responded inferred that this tax should be for the privilage of being free to throw ones fag butts wherever one wanted.
    If you have any other arse backwards points to make please feel free.
    Nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

...that we normally die early from, saving the tax-payer a lot on state pensions.

Of course, non-smokers never get cancer and live forever!

Seriously...go ask any actuary about how it works. Surprise yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭NoDice

I actually can't believe that there are already arguments about cancer treatment bills & "keeping the economy afloat" because we pay high taxes on cigs & that smokers provide jobs for people (cleaning) by throwing cigs on the floor. FFS.

A point I have to make - a bin won't go up in flames if you out the cig BEFORE throwing it in with all the paper and other flammable shit. Come on like. Why are people using this as an excuse? You wouldn't walk into a petrol station and throw a lit match on the ground, why would you try putting a lit cigarette into a bin? And then try to justify the fact you're littering by saying "Weeeeell, I don't want to set the bin on fire!!".

latenia wrote: »
    We pay over €1 billion a year in excise duty with nothing in return except cancer and heart disease so I think this little misdemeanour is allowable.

...that we normally die early from, saving the tax-payer a lot on state pensions.

Of course, non-smokers never get cancer and live forever!

Seriously...go ask any actuary about how it works. Surprise yourself.
    I never brought mortality in to it. Nor did I mention non-smokers. As you were responding to my post you'd do well to get a better handle on 'relevance' and 'context'. Especially if you want to be considered a good writer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

Some smokers are complete morons. Before the smoking ban, I was stood outside an upstairs cafe in town. Notice something falling into my daughter's pram. It was a glowing fag butt, landed inches from her face:mad:. Stormed up the stairs into the cafe like a lunatic, and went over to the tables by the window, asking very loudly, who had flicked a fag butt out the window, into my child's pram. Very shifty looking bunch of young lads sat at one table, wouldn't even look at me. Ashtray on the table, no excuse for it. Was delighted when they were asked to leave the place, by the Manager, who'd come over to see what was going on.
    People who flick their fag butts out of car windows drive me mental as well. It's so ignorant, especially when people are walking in the street. They don't even consider they might hit someone with it. Smoking in cars is sick anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 999 ✭✭✭dev100

Tayla wrote: »
    Eh I would be very surprised if anyone would pay a fine like that, there would be no proof for a start

From what I ve been told is usually the offender will get fine in post and if its the case they have littered well more than likely they will pay the fine without a fuss . If they dont pay up it goes to court where the witness has to stand up and give a statement ....

I know of a case where I live, a person witnessed a car owner dumping butts out of ashtray while stationary and went to the offender asked him politely to pick up his rubbish . He laughed at her . Ended up a while later in court paying a nice fine:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭wonton

brb, going for a smoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

Nor did I mention non-smokers.

Except when you bring up the cost of cancer caused by smoking you're referring to non-smokers implicitly. Otherwise you'd have nothing to compare it to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

Alter-Ego wrote: »
    She probably doesn't even think about it. Its just a bad habit that you get into. Not excusable though.

But if you think that's bad, I have a mate who used to flick his ashes on the floor when ever he came over. He was told to stop it or GTFO.

it helps the carpet grow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

As the title says. Im sure most smokers wouldnt throw (other) litter about so why do a vast majority of the beggers chuck their cig butts on the ground?
    Well?
    I try not to smoke on the street as i am well aware that the butt is a bit of rubbish. Also by not smoking on the street it cuts down on the chance of some shamhead asking me for a cigarette.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I smoke when I'm walking about but I always quench me ciggie on the nearest bin.

It's no different than chucking your empty crisp packet on the ground when you're done with it.

Anyways, this smoker / anti-smoker argument is old hat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭Tayla

dev100 wrote: »
    From what I ve been told is usually the offender will get fine in post and if its the case they have littered well more than likely they will pay the fine without a fuss . If they dont pay up it goes to court where the witness has to stand up and give a statement ....

I don't smoke (anymore) but if I threw something out the window of my car, (which I don't but if I did )and I received a fine in the post then no way in hell would I pay that fine, no way and surely you are never going to be found guilty of it if you have to go to court because someone reported you, fair enough if a guard or litter warden personally saw you do it, but if some randomer reported you (by telephone) and you got brought to court and denied it then they couldn't possibly fine you.
    dev100 wrote: »
    I know of a case where I live, a person witnessed a car owner dumping butts out of ashtray while stationary and went to the offender asked him politely to pick up his rubbish . He laughed at her . Ended up a while later in court paying a nice fine:)

I do believe you but there might have been a bit more to it, like maybe the witness would have had to make a garda statement or something?? Even then I still don't see how that would be fair when it is your word against theirs and for all the judge or guards know you could be someone with a grudge against the person you're accusing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭dazed+confused

As a smoker myself, I think its A disgrace, to think all of the new laws introduced to try to wipe us out, flicking a cigarette butt when just finished smoking your latest coffin nail (some people say) is the completion act,

it is one of the last few connections we have to the Irishness of the past, trying to take this away from us is a human rights violation,

if this was an native American tradition there would be people crawling from every corner to shout, scream, chain themselves to stuff,

but nooooooooo not in good ould Ireland, lets get rid of our heritage with closed eyes.

I am so annoyed right now, when will the Irish pull together and save what little we have left.

Eh..... Smoking is a Native American tradition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

73Cat wrote: »
    Some smokers are complete morons. Before the smoking ban, I was stood outside an upstairs cafe in town...
    Indeed. However, the majority of non smokers who use the phrase "i was stood" are morons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭Chairman Meow

As the title says. Im sure most smokers wouldnt throw (other) litter about so why do a vast majority of the beggers chuck their cig butts on the ground?
    Well?

Probably the same reason they dont see a problem with blowing smoke in your face if you happen to be standing near one, or stinking so heinously of cigarettes that youre forced to hold your nose if one sits next to you on a bus, i.e, theyre ignorant c*nts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,647 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

There were way fewer butts thrown on the road or gangs of smokers crowding doorways when we were permitted to smoke indoors.
    Give us designated (and dignified) smoking pubs, clubs or other social areanas and you'll see a fall in the (ciggy related) street litter. :)

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭JoePie

A few years ago, a friend of mine thought he had it stubbed out and threw the end in the bin. We were waiting for a bus so we weren't going anywhere, the bin started to smoke and then a few licks of flames. We ran to the next bus stop in case we got in trouble for setting the bin on fire. Been too terrified to throw ends into actual bins since, unless I'm in a house and I'll run the end under the tap first.

I will use an ashtray on top of a bin or on a wall though. However, in a lot of parts of Dublin, you'll either have too many bins or no bins.
    Probably the same reason they dont see a problem with blowing smoke in your face if you happen to be standing near one, or stinking so heinously of cigarettes that youre forced to hold your nose if one sits next to you on a bus, i.e, theyre ignorant c*nts.

This. I hate this attitude. Unless I'm the biggest bellend in the World, I won't directly go out of my way to blow smoke in someone's face. I'll always move away from a bus stop or whatever because I know people don't like this. Fair enough. But if they still give out to me about it, I tell them I don't control the wind, so deal with it.

And there's nothing stopping you gettting up and moving elsewhere if someone sits beside you reeking of smoke. I hope you're not one of these lads who don't brush their teeth and have their breath stinking of sh*te all day.

or stinking so heinously of cigarettes that youre forced to hold your nose if one sits next to you on a bus, i.e, theyre ignorant c*nts.
    I hate when this happens, and it's not just smokers either. The bus route I usually get when in Galway goes past a gym and those ignorant feckers often reek of sweat. If any of them sit beside I'm either forced to hold my breath or tell them how ignorant they are for not smelling pleasing when in a public place. Even worse is those who just came from the chipper smelling of greasy chips, what if I'm on a diet and don't want to have to smell that? Their ignorance is astonishing.

And don't get me started on seeing ugly people walking on the street! Are people nowadays completely oblivious as to how they offend other people's senses?!?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭Chairman Meow

JoePie wrote: »

And there's nothing stopping you gettting up and moving elsewhere if someone sits beside you reeking of smoke. I hope you're not one of these lads who don't brush their teeth and have their breath stinking of sh*te all day.

Yeah there generally is something stopping me getting up and moving and thats cause if someone has to sit next to you it usually means most of the seats are taken. And generally if i forget to brush my teeth in the morning or put on deodorant ill be so paranoid ill active avoid directly talking at someone in case they get death breath, cause i dont like it when people do it to me, so i actively go out of my way not to do it to others.
    I hate when this happens, and it's not just smokers either. The bus route I usually get when in Galway goes past a gym and those ignorant feckers often reek of sweat. If any of them sit beside I'm either forced to hold my breath or tell them how ignorant they are for not smelling pleasing when in a public place. Even worse is those who just came from the chipper smelling of greasy chips, what if I'm on a diet and don't want to have to smell that? Their ignorance is astonishing.

And don't get me started on seeing ugly people walking on the street! Are people nowadays completely oblivious as to how they offend other people's senses?!?!

Yeah, that makes no sense at all. Ugly people are ugly naturally, if someone smells sweaty its gross but again maybe they have a problem with it, if someone smells of chips, fine, i like chips. If someone smells like a week old ashtray and insists on sitting as close to you as possible and breathing on you, thats just ****ing disgusting. If i thought the person sitting next to me was holding thier nose cause i smelt so bad, id go ****ing stand somewhere else out of sheer embarrasment.

I truly am sorry not everybody smells to your liking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭JoePie

You know that busses generally have standing room too, right?
    People smell of worse things than ashtrays, fella. If it really bothered you that much, you could go do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Eh..... Smoking is a Native American tradition.

Ture, but they never smoked nicotine, just tobacco. And the used pipes, so they never threw a butt on the ground. Ok, history lesson over, go out and play :D.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,144 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

a vast majority of the beggers chuck their cig butts on the ground
    Now that's what I call a sweeping generalization.