Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Discussion Thread 2009-2011

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

Ah Tom you really do brighten up the place with your reviews!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Get the ball rolling. I'll send the comments on to the county board.

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Sack-davy-fitzgerald/126589294096137

Get the ball rolling for what exactly? Sacking your manager 10 days before an All-Ireland quarter-final? Come off it. Davy only signed a 1 year deal last November, they're reviewing his position once our Championship is over and logic suggests he won't be getting a new deal.

We have to get the best replacement possible when he does go and we're not going to find that person mid-way through the summer. Your effort would be much better served getting behind Davy and the lads then making non-sensical Facebook pages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭deiseach

I'm looking forward to tomkelly99's take on getting to Thurles on Sunday week. Down the motorway? Via Fethard and Killenaule? Fuelling the Datsun with a feed of pints at Ikes And Mikes? Stay tuned!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭Deise Hurler

I hear Chuck on WLR this morning giving out about the playing of club matchs and player burnout. Chuck would be better off concentrating on getting the best minor players in the county onto the panel and on the pitch for saturday week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭DeiseX

Chuck would be better off concentrating on getting the best minor players in the county onto the panel and on the pitch for saturday week.

Very bizarre statement that!! If this statement is just based on the Minor's performance on sunday then its a bit silly! From the 3 Minor Championship games I have seen this season this panel has a great deal of strength and depth.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Deise Tom

deise_girl wrote: »
    Anyone know if its true that the minor goalie Paddy Cooke broke his wrist playing yesterday?
    Massive loss if he did, hes some keeper..

Some player according to chuck is in a cast. A bit rich however blaming playing hurling for the injury. could just as easily have happened at training or at home, in the street or anyplace else.

I hear Chuck on WLR this morning giving out about the playing of club matchs and player burnout. Chuck would be better off concentrating on getting the best minor players in the county onto the panel and on the pitch for saturday week.
    Bit disappointing to read that. It's all very well protecting the Minor panel - an illusory notion, as Deise Tom says you could get injured at home by a bottle of salad cream - but what about the other Under-18's who are just itching every week to have a robust game of sport? If they don't get that you can be only too sure the local soccer club would be delighted to have them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

deiseach wrote: »
    Bit disappointing to read that. It's all very well protecting the Minor panel - an illusory notion, as Deise Tom says you could get injured at home by a bottle of salad cream - but what about the other Under-18's who are just itching every week to have a robust game of sport? If they don't get that you can be only too sure the local soccer club would be delighted to have them

To be fair to Chuck it's possible he's juts gotten ahead of himself, that he's disappointed with Sunday and that this hasn't helped. Emotions over come everybody at times.

It's a fair point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 anawfulbogey

Daysha wrote: »
    Get the ball rolling for what exactly? Sacking your manager 10 days before an All-Ireland quarter-final? Come off it. Davy only signed a 1 year deal last November, they're reviewing his position once our Championship is over and logic suggests he won't be getting a new deal.

We have to get the best replacement possible when he does go and we're not going to find that person mid-way through the summer. Your effort would be much better served getting behind Davy and the lads then making non-sensical Facebook pages.

Get behind Davy me hole. I'll never attend another game as long as he's in charge. Twas a disgrace that he was ever appointed and then re-appointed. Just shows you what a joke of a set up there is in the county. No-one wanted him near the place but he was pushed on through. At this stage you couldnt be any way confident he'd get our best 15 players on the pitch never mind what 'tactics' he'll try and make them carry out when they're there.

Our best chance to beat Galway would be by getting rid of him pronto and just have someone in who'll pick our best players for the game. If we get anything out of it it'll be down to the players trying to prove a point rather than any act of genius from the angry midget.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Get behind Davy me hole. I'll never attend another game as long as he's in charge.

And how exactly will that help anything, look I fully understand your frustration, We went through the same thing with Babs, I mean we played Wexford in an AI QF with Brendan Cummins, Shane McGrath and Eoin Kelly on the bench :eek: but I still never even contemplated not going because the players deserve more and Waterfrod hurling will be there long after Davy is gone, and also this may very well be Tony Brownes last game do you really want to miss an oppurtunity to acknowledge on of the Deises greatest servants??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭lovelypoint

Daysha wrote: »

Yes. Too late now to do anything about the management situation before the Galway game. There was possibly a very brief window of opportunity in the 24 hours after the game to give Davy the bullet and get in a decent caretaker with intercounty experience, but that window is long gone now, and bemoaning Davy before the Galway game will get us nowhere.

Even Stephen Frampton, a vocal critic of Davy, could not agree when interviewed on RTE on Monday that there was any opportunity to change the management situation, with only two weeks to our next championship game.

Only option now, in my mind, is to make the best of the situation before the Galway game, and in the unlikely situation we get past them, I believe then the situation should then very much be re-opened, in my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Get the ball rolling. I'll send the comments on to the county board.

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Sack-davy-fitzgerald/126589294096137

Childish rubbish tbh.

He'll be gone in the Summer anyway. Nobody of any importance will give a sh*t what a few facebook warriors think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭deisebhoy17

The dust has kind of settled since Sunday and I can get a clearer picture of things in my head now.

Id just like to make the following observations.
    1. Davy Fitz is gone at the end of the season, there is no doubt about that. Whether we beat Galway or not its definetly the end of the road for him but there is certainly nothing to be gained by getting rid of him now. Pride is at stake and I think we will bounce back against Galway and put up a good showing. If we were to get an interim man in for the Galway game it would shatter things completely and another capitulation could be on the cards so we just need to let them all get on with it now.

2. Hindsight is a great thing and tbf if the county board knew this kind of a hammering was on the cards they would not have reappointed him. I dont think anyone in Waterford predicted this kind of a hammering, and tbh I can kind of see where the CB's point of view came from giving Davy an extra year (not saying I agreed with it). For starters there were no other viable candidates. Davy came to the interview with a full plan in place for the coming year, with all his backroom team on board. The only other people who went forward were Eddie O'Connor, who had no plan or no backroom team, Michael Ryan who was up to his eyes with De la Salle at the time, and Jim Greene with no plan or backroom team & is gone too old for the job imo. It was always going to be the obvious choice and unless the county board sacked him before his contract was up he was always going to be back for another year. Besides, After the Munster final win last year and then falling short against Tipp in the semi final the feeling was that we were a 'work in progress' and were 'nearly there'. In fact it has turned out to be quiet the opposite, we are in fact on the slide and were slightly punching above our weight in the process. It all came to a head against Tipp on Sunday and while we are better than that, we were not as good as some other results have shown either. I think we will find our true level against Galway.

3. The priority now is to bounce back against Galway and then look to rebuild after that. I wouldnt write off our chances completely but its looking ominous based on the showing from both teams the weekend. If we did win you'd have to say youd fear for these kids against KK in the semi final and another hammering could be detrimental to the progress of our young players. There are experienced players sitting on the bench looking in but the management seem hell bent on pushing them out and throwing the younger lads to the slaughter and if thats the route were taking then were better off out of the championship this year anyway. If the county board have any common sense they should start thinking ahead to next season already and thinking about the right man to take us forward because it needs to start now. Our future is at stake and theres no time to waste. Someone of the Donal O'Grady mould who's shrewd, knows whats needed to compete and will treat his players and team in the proper way.
    Whatever about our management, the reality is that we are in transition. The older guys who have gone and the young lads coming in are not ready to take there places just yet. The priority now is making sure we have the right management team to take things forward and to remain competitive in the meantime. We should learn from the mistakes made in Wexford, Clare and Offaly in recent years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,512 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

who is there to take over after Davy.???

Jim Greene, Babs Keating, Michael Ryan, Nicky Cashin.

Would love a big name to take over but theres no money to do that. A man like John Allen, Jimmy Barry Murphy or Nicky English.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

I don't think there is really any point in that discussion now. We won't know who the potential candidates are for a while. Big names don't become became names from when they're born, if ya get me. Sure, Cody was a former hurler with Kilkenny when he took over but nobody was saying 'This guy is a genius, he's going to win 7 all-irelands in the next 13 years.'

The one thing I think should be done is an individual commitee be set up to suggest potential appointments and give their opinion on who is the best for the job. This panel should comprise of people who know their stuff, recently retired hurlers would be a good place to start in terms of getting people who can identify the tyoe of manager who would be most beneficial to the team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

We don't need any kind of touchline genius, just someone who'll put as much store in stickwork and sharpness as they do in physical fitness and someone who'll play players in their best positions.

Get behind Davy me hole. I'll never attend another game as long as he's in charge. Twas a disgrace that he was ever appointed and then re-appointed. Just shows you what a joke of a set up there is in the county. No-one wanted him near the place but he was pushed on through. At this stage you couldnt be any way confident he'd get our best 15 players on the pitch never mind what 'tactics' he'll try and make them carry out when they're there.

Our best chance to beat Galway would be by getting rid of him pronto and just have someone in who'll pick our best players for the game. If we get anything out of it it'll be down to the players trying to prove a point rather than any act of genius from the angry midget.

Getting rid of Davy right now would not solve anything. If it was to be done, it should have been done straight after the game on Sunday, an emergency meeting of the officers could have been called, and a temperary replacement put in place at Monday Night's County Board meeting. As much as i want to see Davy gone, its too late now, stick with him for the next game or two and them every club in the county will have to ensure that they are united that he does not get back in again, regardless of what praise he gets from some members on the board.

I don't think there is really any point in that discussion now. We won't know who the potential candidates are for a while. Big names don't become became names from when they're born, if ya get me. Sure, Cody was a former hurler with Kilkenny when he took over but nobody was saying 'This guy is a genius, he's going to win 7 all-irelands in the next 13 years.'

The one thing I think should be done is an individual commitee be set up to suggest potential appointments and give their opinion on who is the best for the job. This panel should comprise of people who know their stuff, recently retired hurlers would be a good place to start in terms of getting people who can identify the tyoe of manager who would be most beneficial to the team.

In a way, isnt this what happens. Clubs will have to take the rolls serious this time. They have to give the next appointment lots of thought. It is no good for them throwing names here and there. The last thing we want right now is a similar situation to what happened in Limerick when they asked for clubs to nominate someone for the 2009 championship and something like 12 different names came in and they went for Justin which was a disaster. The Clubs will have to go out and indentify people who may be interested, approach them and get their permission to allow them to be put forward to interview, making sure that they have a backroom team etc in mind as well. There is no point putting in someone who does not have things planned out what they want to achieve and how they will go about it. They are not going to be able to do it on their own. Every club should have a responsibility to do this, not just a hand fist of them.

Lads, don't be burying Davy yet. We could win the All-Ireland.

I'll get my coat . . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭Hslaw

I'll get my coat . . .

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭enoughtaken

This is my first time ever posting here. i would like to throw my two pence worth in. This post is regarding the hurling section of the county. Football problems and there is alot are for another day. I've seldom missed a championship, league, crystal league in the past 30 years. I been there from the 5-31 humilation in 82 to the utter shambles last sunday. From 98 to 07 we played with style and believe, we may have conceaded 3-16 but we would score 3-19. From 08 to now we have played negative hurling with crazy and insane game plans. To get one major game plan so wrong might be forgiven but then two and now three NO NOT ACCEPTABLE. I made a decision last year not to purchase my season ticket for this year and not go to any league match because senior management had proven to me that they were incapable of managing our hurlers. i reneged on that decision twice this year in the league and from the evidence i saw it just confirmed what i had already concluded. i would like to make three points:-
    1. Positives
    our underage structure is excellent. we are competing and winning in Tony Forristel and Munster Minor and u21. Great credit has to go to our coaches and the delevopement squad structure
    2. Senior Management
    What went on last sunday was a total shambles. Our players didn't deserve that. How can Management stand over that game plan. Mr Fitz's heading in the star the following morning "we'll see now what waterford are made off" .It's management who should have been alone in training the following morning. There is no point in dismissing Mr Fitz and his 25 backroom team now. Leave them finish out this campaign. We had Kelly Proper and Noel Hunt on the bench this year. Bernard Dunne the last two years. (you would have thought he should have went for Keith Barry) My only hope is that this management team hasn't done serious damage to our senior hurlers. The next manager has to be correctly picked so rushing it now is to no advantage.
    3. County Board
    The County Board has to take responsibility for what has gone on. They have allowed this management shambles to unfold under there watch. These are the guys that publicly endorsed Mr Fitz last year and then went on to interview 4 other canidates for the position (Turkeys/ Christmas here) Untill club delegates get the b-lls to tackle couny board this wont change.
    Conclusion
    We need to go down the Limerick route and appoint 5 independant individuals to get us a proper manager

In a way, it's probably true enough that it is too early for discussions of future management, although as noted it is important the decision makers and influencers behind the scenes realise the process/ planning to get in a a new man/ team starts now. The Limerick approach which resulted in Donal O'Grady being appointed, is the way to go

My own two cents are that we need several things;

- a top notch defensive coach
    - someone to bring on the lads stickwork
    - an attacking coach in the mould of Eamon O'Shea
    - an experienced tactician
    - a top notch organiser to manage all the minutae around team affairs

Obviously these all don't need to be the one person, nor is there anything stopping individuals on the appointed management team filling several of these roles, and now that I've said that, I will try leave it at that. :)

I'll get my coat . . .

Paddy Power will take anything you have to offer @ 66 to 1, if you're feeling so brave ;)

flahavaj wrote: »
    We don't need any kind of touchline genius, just someone who'll put as much store in stickwork and sharpness as they do in physical fitness and someone who'll play players in their best positions.

Things look desperate now, but the bar needs to be set higher. I think the most valuable lesson we can all learn are the dangers of hiring good coaches that prove to be limited managers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

. The Limerick approach which resulted in Donal O'Grady being appointed, is the way to go

I hardly think J P is going to give Waterford County Board a sh*t load of money aswell :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Cake Man

IMO I'd really like to see someone like John Allen get the job. Proven track record, a quiet man who puts his head down and gets on with the job (and effectively too) and someone who I think would do a good job addressing those points made by lovelypoint above. There's plenty of good young players coming through and it seems we have gotten our underage act together the last few years so that may make the position a bit more attractive.
    Only problem is I just don't think he'd be interested and probably isn't available. He's been out of the game a few years and is probably happy enough doing TV work with TG4. No harm in asking if he'd be interested though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭carter10

While Davy has a lot to answer for I think we are deluding ourselves laying all the blame at his feet. How often have we gone out and made a show of ourselves now? 82 83 84 89 93 08 11. More than any other county our team has not turned up when expected, last Sunday was just another in a long list of disasters.
    Look at the minors last sun, didn't turn up either and spent the entire first half admiring Clare. For the first 21 minutes of that game the minor management "team" watched 3 half forwards being destroyed by 4 half backs who set up attack after attack, they did nothing to counteract this...depressing stuff.
    All this talk of good youngsters coming up...what exactly have we achieved underage in the last 3 years? A win at home against Tipp u21, a win at home against Tipp Cork and Limerick in minor and 1 munster title against Tipp. While that was a welcome title the same team went on to be well bet by Galway. We are not producing any more talent than Tipp KK Limerick and Dublin and much less talent than Clare. I fear for the future of the senoir team tbh.
    People above have mentioned getting in coaches for this and that but until our losing mentality changes we are at nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

carter10 wrote: »
    While Davy has a lot to answer for I think we are deluding ourselves laying all the blame at his feet. How often have we gone out and made a show of ourselves now? 82 83 84 89 93 08 11. More than any other county our team has not turned up when expected, last Sunday was just another in a long list of disasters.
    Look at the minors last sun, didn't turn up either and spent the entire first half admiring Clare. For the first 21 minutes of that game the minor management "team" watched 3 half forwards being destroyed by 4 half backs who set up attack after attack, they did nothing to counteract this...depressing stuff.
    All this talk of good youngsters coming up...what exactly have we achieved underage in the last 3 years? A win at home against Tipp u21, a win at home against Tipp Cork and Limerick in minor and 1 munster title against Tipp. While that was a welcome title the same team went on to be well bet by Galway. We are not producing any more talent than Tipp KK Limerick and Dublin and much less talent than Clare. I fear for the future of the senoir team tbh.
    People above have mentioned getting in coaches for this and that but until our losing mentality changes we are at nothing.
    So thats twice in the last 18 years and both under Davys watch?

carter10 wrote: »

Dont forget the night Davy brought the team to Dublin for a game the following day and took them all to see his friend in a boxing ring. The list goes on and on.