Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Discussion Thread 2009-2011

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Deise Tom

6am or 9am, stupid to be dragging them off training the morning after that. Leave them have a lie-in and recover physically and mentally.

Could not agree more. What it suggests to me is that Davy is looking for an excuse for the defeat, saying now that there is hard training or what ever to be done. That bloody thing should have been done long ago, and with the past few weeks it should all have been about stick work and making sure he kept the players sharp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭egpower

Deise Tom wrote: »
    Could not agree more. What it suggests to me is that Davy is looking for an excuse for the defeat, saying now that there is hard training or what ever to be done. That bloody thing should have been done long ago, and with the past few weeks it should all have been about stick work and making sure he kept the players sharp.

I think that's the problem Tom - there is shag all stick work being done. Anyone watch them training regularly ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Psychedelic

For all the physical training they looked a lot less fitter than Tipp. Their skills need improving, basic stuff like lifting the ball from the ground (when not under pressure) you would see some of our players making mistakes or just slow to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭egpower

For all the physical training they looked a lot less fitter than Tipp. Their skills need improving, basic stuff like lifting the ball from the ground (when not under pressure) you would see some of our players making mistakes or just slow to do it.

That's interesting.. I was chatting to Len Gaynor this morning and asked him what he thought was the biggest factor in the match. He thought Tipp were much fitter that us too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 POGG

lads we shudnt of been ther in the first place..we robbed limerick,a DIVISION 2 TEAM in the semis who were the better than us...davy hasnt got the experience to guide us. until we learn to defend we'l win f-all.....we need a strong solid full back line before we, start from the back. clinton shoulnt b tested during matches if we're good.....why do ye think kilkenny have only1 goal keeper all star awards in the last 18yrs??? cos nothing gets past the last line, tactically management dont have a clue, what other team in the country would put e mcgrath at no 10 against prob the best no 5 in the land AND j maher on lar ...doomed before the ball was even thrown in!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

POGG wrote: »
    lads we shudnt of been ther in the first place..we robbed limerick,a DIVISION 2 TEAM in the semis who were the better than us...davy hasnt got the experience to guide us. until we learn to defend we'l win f-all.....we need a strong solid full back line before we, start from the back. clinton shoulnt b tested during matches if we're good.....why do ye think kilkenny have only1 goal keeper all star awards in the last 18yrs??? cos nothing gets past the last line, tactically management dont have a clue, what other team in the country would put e mcgrath at no 10 against prob the best no 5 in the land AND j maher on lar ...doomed before the ball was even thrown in!!

Limerick are not a Division 2 team tbf, the team that got relegated bore no resemblence to the team that played Waterford.

The reason KK have only one GK allstar in 18 years is because Donal Og, Brendan Cummins, Davey Fitz and Damien Fitzhenry are four of the greatest GK's in the history of the game and all happened to be around at the same time.

Fully agree with you on the Eoin McGrath and Jerome Maher placement it was comical and the two selectors must be just yes men for Davy, cos it couldnt be possible that three seperate brains agreed that was the best line-up, I have read a few interviews with one of the selectors in question and he doesnt strike me as the brightest chap in the world. How were the selectors appointed did Davy handpick them or were they appointed by the county board?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,513 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

few scenarios for you. which would you perfer

1. We lose to Galway in the qf after putting in a brave performance.

2. We beat Galway in the qf and get destroyed in Semi final by Kilkenny.

3. We beat Galway, we then do a miricle and beat Kilkenny in the semi final and then in the final Tipp hammer us out the gate yet again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

PTH2009 wrote: »

3. We beat Galway, we then do a miricle and beat Kilkenny in the semi final and then in the final Tipp hammer us out the gate yet again.

Option 3 please :p ..................oh wait I dont think that question was aimed at me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭Hslaw

option 1 i think would be the best route

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭carter10

Still find it difficult to even discuss the match so Ill focus on another aspect of the day- the stadium- what a disgrace and a disaster waiting to happen in the tunnel under the covered stand. There could very easily be a crush there which would result in the loss of life- does the place fulfil safety guidelines for venues? I very much doubt it.
    Also spent an hour and a half sitting in the car outside the ground after the match- not moving at all. The place is a shambles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭Hslaw

the whole place is like something out of communist Russia a dirty concrete stadium ugly place

egpower wrote: »
    I think that's the problem Tom - there is shag all stick work being done. Anyone watch them training regularly ?

Davy in the maximum of three games he has left with Waterford can redeem himself somebit if he allowed the players to go out and show us what they can do, and in training do a hell of a lot of stick work and ditch all them bloody cones and markers that we see all over the field for warm ups etc.

PTH2009 wrote: »

The first please.

The second could have a serious effect in the long term and the last just wont happen.

The minors have home advantage against Kilkenny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Cake Man

If the players trained at 9 yesterday morning, would the majority of them not have work no? Just a thought.

Delighted with that minor draw, the lads are unbeaten this (and last) season in Walsh park so it's a big advantage to us.

Give me no. 3. Keeping the unbeaten record v Galway, knocking that other shower out of the championship in God knows how long and the younger lads getting an AI final under the belt sound good to me tbh! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

Yeah I ws going over those three scenarios myself last night and was thinking the safest one, in terms of potential psychological damage, is the first but, as a fan, I find it hard to wish against reaching an All-Ireland semi-final.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

carter10 wrote: »
    Still find it difficult to even discuss the match so Ill focus on another aspect of the day- the stadium- what a disgrace and a disaster waiting to happen in the tunnel under the covered stand. There could very easily be a crush there which would result in the loss of life- does the place fulfil safety guidelines for venues? I very much doubt it.
    Also spent an hour and a half sitting in the car outside the ground after the match- not moving at all. The place is a shambles

That's a good point. The place isn't fit to hold matches yet it's used and at the same time the GAA try and prevent people running onto the pitch to celebrate or that babys must occupy a seat in Croke Park (which means dolling out 80 euro for them) on all-ireland final day. The perfect example of them twisting things to suit themselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭liogairmhordain

just watching it again on setanta; it's half time....
    times of tipp's four goal burst
    2nd goal - 31:31
    3rd goal - 33:02
    4th goal - 35:08
    5th goal - 36:42

interestingly waterford tried to do the clever thing and slow things down after goals 2 and 3. browne took about 30 seconds to take a sideline after the second goal and brick went down to get his hand strapped after the third one. in both cases tipp got a goal anyway, almost immediately after the game restarted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭cornerboy

On Sunday evening, Waterford forward Richie Foley tweeted that nobody died and that Waterford would be back.

Read more: http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/deise-begin-recovery-process-160804.html#ixzz1Rv4IeRuU

Well this is one man who died a few times....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,422 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

cornerboy wrote: »
    On Sunday evening, Waterford forward Richie Foley tweeted that nobody died and that Waterford would be back.

Read more: http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/deise-begin-recovery-process-160804.html#ixzz1Rv4IeRuU

Well this is one man who died a few times....

Well the fact the 'training' seems to be more of a meeting and everyone given a chance to air feelings etc is encouraging. But one still has to fear the Galway game greatly and its impossible to go into it with any level of confidence.

I wonder what the Waterford crowd will be like numbers wise? Very small I's imagine. I'll be there anyway, but I know of a lot of regular match goers who are saying they arent gonna bother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭doz

KevIRL wrote: »
    I wonder what the Waterford crowd will be like numbers wise? Very small I's imagine. I'll be there anyway, but I know of a lot of regular match goers who are saying they arent gonna bother.

We had a great turnout on Sunday in fairness, and it was such a shame that it coincided with such a shambles. Our travelling support has been in noticeable decline the past 3 years but it would be great to see a good turnout on Sunday week. The lads need it and they deserve it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭liogairmhordain

Does anyone happen to know who won the toss before last Sunday's senior match?
    Watching the minor match it was obvious the wind was going to have a major impact on the game.
    I'd hate to think Waterford won the toss and let Tipp have the benefit of the wind from the start.
    In fairness to Tipp, once it was obvious the full-back line's confidence was shot they just lofted everything up into the breeze and let Corbett et al do the rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭lovelypoint

Does anyone happen to know who won the toss before last Sunday's senior match?
    Watching the minor match it was obvious the wind was going to have a major impact on the game.
    I'd hate to think Waterford won the toss and let Tipp have the benefit of the wind from the start.
    In fairness to Tipp, once it was obvious the full-back line's confidence was shot they just lofted everything up into the breeze and let Corbett et al do the rest.

I believe thats what happened, according to the RTE commentary. Waterford won the toss and elected to play into the breeze, which I found a bit unusual, given the gameplan would undoubted have been to prevent Tipp from getting any serious foothold in the game in the first half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,422 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

I believe thats what happened, according to the RTE commentary. Waterford won the toss and elected to play into the breeze, which I found a bit unusual, given the gameplan would undoubted have been to prevent Tipp from getting any serious foothold in the game in the first half.

Welcome. Very nice post on AFR the other night after the match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭lovelypoint

KevIRL wrote: »
    Welcome. Very nice post on AFR the other night after the match

Lol, cheers. I have to say it took a lot to muster any sort of spirit to post so soon after the match on Sunday, but feel it was definitely good for the soul not to have been at the game, which I owe the flu a debt of gratitude for :)

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

Anyone know if its true that the minor goalie Paddy Cooke broke his wrist playing yesterday?
    Massive loss if he did, hes some keeper..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 tomkelly99

Meself and Mrs.Kelly went to the match above in Cork.The traffic was grand.We only got stuck in Kilmeaden,Lemybrien,Dungarvan,Grange,Kinsalebeg,the Youghal bypass,Killeagh,Castlemartyr,the Midleton dual carriageway,the Dunkettle roundabout,the Mahon junction,Blackrock and a bit of difficulty parking.Other than that it was plain sailing.Cork is a great venue for the game.Frank Murphy always organises it so that it's dry whenever there is a big game on there.I wish he'd organise the seats in the uncovered stand though.I think they were designed for Corks thriving midget colony.I'd Tom Coffey from the Bachelors in Trouble sticking his knees into my back for the whole game.It was mildly frustrating,if not entirely unerotic.He was talking all the way through the game.I thought he was watching basketball for a while.He knows nothing about hurling.He should be a selector for the team really.

I was very happy with the game. Other than the beating we got and the fact that we were outclassed in every position on the field, I think we got our tactics and gameplan absolutely spot on. Davy is good like that,he's clever,much like a fox.He probably planned all this.He's after fooling all the experts into thinking we're clueless.But we're not.We're smart out.We're waiting in the long grass now for everyone.It just happens that the grass around us is very very long.

I thought it was a big call out of Davy to play a brick at full back. I mean,a brick having to mark Lar Corvette or Eoin Kelly or John Whatshisname? A brick is way too small.A concrete block wall might have done the job.But a solitary brick? No no Davy,never going to work.
    It was very smart of Davy to name Noel Hunt and Kelly Proper in the subs.Kelly Proper is full of running.Noel Hunt is full of brains.Together they're a lethal combination.

If Tipp hadn't got all them goals the game would have gone to a replay.Bill Clinton Hennessy was very unlucky for all the goals.What people don't know is that Bill Clinton has a rare condition that means he falls over at completely random times.He's on tablets for it and everything.But he got his tablets mixed up on Saturday night before he went to bed and he took Solpadeine by mistake.So it just so happened that the seven times Tipp shot at goal,he fell over due to his medical condition.He would have stopped them otherwise.It was very unfortunate timing.I saw it happen to him once before,in a junior hurling game with Ardmore.He left in 23 goals that day against the Geraldines.Being hinest and on balance,I thought we deserved to win it,but Tipp deserved to win it too.

Galway are next.I think they are very beatable.I mean,they have Ger Canning playing full forward for them.Ger Canning is useless.He is a terrible commentator and just as poor as a hurler.He had one good game once and now everyone makes out that he's Leonardo da Vinci or Donatello or one of the other turtles.He's very average.We'll win handy.But we need everyone to keep the faith.This Waterford team is only as good as its weakest link.And by Jesus,I'm not going to be that weakest link.So I'm going,I'm bringing the family and as many people as I can fit in the Datsun.And everyone should do the same.Except Chris Doran.He can stay and lock up the public toilets down the quay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭Deise Hurler

Ye, its true. Broken wrist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 McBurgermacs

Tomkelly99 what a hero. In stitches laughing here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 anawfulbogey

Get the ball rolling. I'll send the comments on to the county board.

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Sack-davy-fitzgerald/126589294096137