Young Travellers on Horses

• 12-07-2011 11:53AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

Was just driving along a main road around an hour ago and saw two very young travellers on a cart with a horse. They looked no younger than 10 or 11. They were whipping the life out of the horse. They must have leathered the poor animal 12-15 times, trying to force it to move at top speed. I was absolutely disgusted. I pulled in around 50 yards ahead if them and stopped them. I gave them a bollicking of the highest order and explained to them how much torture they were putting the horse through.

At first they were acting as if they didn't care, giving a bit of cheek but they eventually agreed to stop whipping the horse constantly.

I am not starting this thread with the intention of traveller bashing but to find out the laws regarding children on a horse and cart. It surely can't be legal but I often see it and nothing seems to be done about it.

It's a disgrace. Not only is it animal cruelty, it's also dangerous for children so young to be allowed roam main roads in this fashion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭Kazzehh

IIRC they need to be 16 years old and are licenced by the carraige office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

I was just thinking about this the other day, for most vehicle drawn trailers you need a certificate of road worthiness. Is this the case for horse drawn carts and Sulky Racers. The cops are cracking down a lot on learner drivers but these races and non indicating carts are as much of a nuisance and there is no guarantee of the animal being fairly treated either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

There should be a licensing system brought in (if there isn't one already) for the horse and carriage operators (tourist rides, wedding carriages etc).

Anyone else riding a horse and trap/cart on the main roads, especially kids, without a license for it should have the cart and horse confiscated on the spot. It's ridiculously dangerous for other road users, themselves and the animals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Seen them race and crash the horse & trap on the outer ring road in waterford last year. Poor horse was in bits from it. Genuinely hope the fcukers were shot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Animal abuse is animal abuse. Of course it isn't legal.. but then, when has that ever stopped some travellers from disregarding the law?

You could always report them but don't count on anything being done

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

OP, I don't think the words TRAVELLER and LEGAL exactly go hand in hand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,895 ✭✭✭Gandalph

Most travellers treat the horses like **** and shouldnt be premitted to have any, especially in the city centre. Makes me sick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

*Bash traveller children for hitting horse*

Claims not to be bashing travellers but asking about the laws regarding children and horses.

*proceeds to ask question as if the traveller bashing hadn't been said*

Conflicting message engenders cognitive dissonace in readers.

http://www.gifbin.com/982581

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭dee.

Where I live, travellers don't have to follow the law. Guards/animal welfare/etc don't want to get involved in anything with them. There's a field behind my house and they always leave their horses/ponies in there, the animals are all obviously unhealthy and not being cared for, then they come along and start beating them and laughing about it. It breaks my heart.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

Nothing disgusts me more to see anyone running a horse at high speed on tarmac.

Be it the hunt or someone with a trap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

dee. wrote: »
    Where I live, travellers don't have to follow the law. Guards/animal welfare/etc don't want to get involved in anything with them. There's a field behind my house and they always leave their horses/ponies in there, the animals are all obviously unhealthy and not being cared for, then they come along and start beating them and laughing about it. It breaks my heart.

You'd be afraid to say something as well.....

I know I would. I questioned something before and was met with

"Are you the gaurds? Are you the guards?... Well get the **** away then".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

If you moan about travellers doing what travellers do this guy comes and annoys ye http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5219/5509170014_ca84655f7a.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

If you moan about travellers doing what travellers do this guy comes and annoys ye http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5219/5509170014_ca84655f7a.jpg

****ing Colin Farrell, what's his problem.

*Bash traveller children for hitting horse*

If I said I'd just seen my neighbour kicking his dog around the street would that be Dub bashing?
    Claims not to be bashing travellers but asking about the laws regarding children and horses.

Laws that apply to everyone. Where is the traveller bashing in that question?
    *proceeds to ask question as if the traveller bashing hadn't been said*

Which part of it was traveller bashing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭dee.

wild_cat wrote: »
    You'd be afraid to say something as well.....

I know I would. I questioned something before and was met with

"Are you the gaurds? Are you the guards?... Well get the **** away then".

Oh I really would be. It breaks my heart but they know where I live and I'm sure they'd have no problem making my life a living hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Animal abuse is animal abuse.

Ah cmon, its part of their culture.

It's also part of our culture too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭few cans?

Jesus i am so sick of these stupid do gooders going on about 'traveller bashing'.
    There would be no bashing in the first place if they just abided by laws like the rest of us.
    Discrimination my fcuking ar5e. If Joe Blogz mistreats an animal he's a heartless bastard and thats grand. IF i call Johnny Traveller a heartless bastard than im a traveller basher?
    It is plain fact that many (not all) travellers have no regard for the law. And why would they? law is afriad of them! and its people who sit on their high horses going on about discrimination who make it harder for everyone else! its easy to sit in the leafy suburbs of dublin and talk about discrimination but try living in an area where thievary is rampant! My parents are on watch every night from them, trying to come in and steal things from their yard. It is nothing to do with bashing travellers. Its particular people doing particular things!

So can we please continue discussion without any of these good samaritans (who have probably never encountered a member of the travelling community at all in their life) talking absolute sh1te. Its time people started telling things as it is

prinz wrote: »
    If I said I'd just seen my neighbour kicking his dog around the street would that be Dub bashing?

If you'd have underscored the fact that he was a Dub and repeatedly used emotive language to magnify how the dog was abused (Whipped, leathered, forced) and made it patently clear that you weren't a Dub?

Why then yes, I think it could oh-so-easily be viewed as a bit of Dub bashing.
    Laws that apply to everyone. Where is the traveller bashing in that question?

There is no traveller bashing in that question. I never claimed there was.

If you'd have underscored the fact that he was a Dub....

Dear lord.
    and repeatedly used emotive language to magnify how the dog was abused (Whipped, leathered, forced)....

LOL. Yes how dare some use 'emotive' language.
    and made it patently clear that you weren't a Dub?....

Did the OP make it patently clear that they aren't a traveller themselves? I don't see it, perhaps you could point that bit out?
    Why then yes, I think it could oh-so-easily be viewed as a bit of Dub bashing..

Straws, no good for clutching.

few cans? wrote: »
    So can we please continue discussion without any of these good samaritans (who have probably never encountered a member of the travelling community at all in their life) talking absolute sh1te. Its time people started telling things as it is

I've worked with Travellers in the past so have some first hand experience of the problems which surround the Travelling community.

God knows what type of violence those children have been exposed to. Domestic violence is a considerable problem in the travelling community.

Dear lord.

LOL. Yes how dare some use 'emotive' language.

Did the OP make it patently clear that they aren't a traveller themselves? I don't see it, perhaps you could point that bit out?

Straws, no good for clutching.

If you couldn't have predicted the reception of this thread in AH then I seriously question your judgement.

You want this to be about you and me and I'm flattered and all but no.. just no.

God knows what type of violence those children have been exposed to. Domestic violence is a considerable problem in the travelling community.

..and? All the more reason to crack down on them abusing animals. You don't sit by and watch someone abuse an animal because they might have been abused themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

I've worked with Travellers in the past so have some first hand experience of the problems which surround the Travelling community.

That doesn't make it alright for them to beat their horses too.

If you couldn't have predicted the reception of this thread in AH then I seriously question your judgement..

The thread was doing alright before your addition.
    You want this to be about you and me and I'm flattered and all but no.. just no.

You made it about yourself when you made some pre-emptive remarks and made accusations about other posters.

The thread was doing alright before your addition.

You made it about yourself when you made some pre-emptive remarks and made accusations about other posters.

Ssshh now, there there.

That doesn't make it alright for them to beat their horses too.

I agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

What has that got to do with someone questioning the legality of a couple of young lads out on the road with a horse?

It's a very valid question.

I think it is extremely dangerous, regardless of what age the person is.

The OP could go back and edit out every occurence of the word traveller, and we'll still all know who they are talking about, because nobody else feels the need use a horse like that anyomore. Further to that, nobody else would get away with it either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭few cans?

yet more problems. Its as if your saying 'ah sure baytin your children is something the travellers do so its not their fault if they grow up to be thugs'
    i dont care if your a traveller or royalty this is simply not on. everyone bleeds the same way.

What has that got to do with someone questioning the legality of a couple of young lads out on the road with a horse?

Really? Are you really oblivious to the tone in the OP?
    I think it is extremely dangerous, regardless of what age the person is.

Me too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭Green Back

Surely if that cycle of violence is to be broken it needs to be highlighted.
    People who show violent tendencies to animals are also more disposed to violence against humans.