Euro-Millions

• 11-07-2011 02:48PM
    Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

I know it's been done to death at this stage here in AH, but the Euromillions is approaching 200 million. An individual winner could potentially wipe their hole with €500 notes for life. So what would ye do with that sort of cash?

I'd disappear to a private island for a few years until I get bored and come back. Then I'd possibly indulge myself in a classic car collection. That doesn't include the BYOB parties I'd throw :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

I'd wipe my hole with fivers and then lodge them to the bank to pay my car loan with it's ridiculous interest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

I'd jump on a private jet to Vegas and I would leave until I was utterly disgusted with myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,291 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Tis capped at 185mil

There's already a thread somewhere in AH

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

Well you could drink the interest on that sort of money and blast it with píss if yore ma isn't quite doing it for ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,209 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

I'd invest it all in the banks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

Honestly? I'd build a mutha****in' Batcave and save mutha****in' lives!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

I'd invest it all in the banks.

At that rate, you'd probably end up owning 2 or 3 of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭UsernameInUse

I'd go to Africa and bribe officials in government to allow extensive trade agreements with the world so that the people can live in somewhat acceptable conditions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

Prize Bonds !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

cookers and hoke !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

Skunkle wrote: »
    I'd jump on a private jet to Vegas and I wouldn't leave until I was utterly disgusted with myself.

You wouldn't even leave the jet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭McBauer

I'd buy the the Force India Formula 1 team. Bring Eddie Jordan in as team boss. Give the cars a yellow make-over. Bring back the Jordan team name. Give Adrian Sutil the sack. Hire Adam Carroll. And then spend 8 months of the year each year travelling to some of the world's most glamouous locations for Grand Prix. Lovely Jubbly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭Wossack

spend it all on lottery tickets

McBauer wrote: »
    I'd buy the the Force India Formula 1 team. Bring Eddie Jordan in as team boss. Give the cars a yellow make-over. Bring back the Jordan team name. Give Adrian Sutil the sack. Hire Adam Carroll. And then spend 8 months of the year each year travelling to some of the world's most glamouous locations for Grand Prix. Lovely Jubbly.

Yes, and of course after that 8 months it'll all be gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I'm a sucker for the begging letters and sob stories.
    Send me to Lourdes/world leading hospital/holiday before I die :(

I'd need a secretary or I'd be writing cheques all over the place

mikemac wrote: »

Dear Mikemac,

I am a Nigerian prince who needs a deposit in order to...........

McBauer wrote: »

Not yellow, green!

Look gorgeous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭McBauer

Not yellow, green!

Look gorgeous

True. The green 191 was a gorgeous car. But yellow just became tradition. And the Jordan 199 was a beauty too.

http://images-mediawiki-sites.thefullwiki.org/08/3/3/3/1691300399540812.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭Ah nuts

So am I, but at least if I won I could pay a journalist to write these letters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I'd probably wipe me hole with those as well as the €500 notes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭Gilda Fortune

I would build a huge oppulant mansion from solid gold. and fashion gold suits for myself and my partner. i would also buy my home town and lord around it.

Don't forget the armour-plated limo, to protect yourself from the begrudging peasants and their ample supplies of concrete blocks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭Gilda Fortune

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Don't forget the armour-plated limo, to protect yourself from the begrudging peasants and their ample supplies of concrete blocks.
    You sound like a thinker - your the kind of man i could do with in my utopian gold society. I would start you off on 100k a year to be my vice president. Your first project to erect as many statues of me around my town as possible.

I've a lot of relations including first cousins I've not seen in years and years

Oh if I win they'll be around clapping my on the back with one hand and congratulating me......and their other hand out in front of me

Missing relations in your family? Don't ask the gardaí, just announce you've won the euromillions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

An individual winner could potentially wipe their hole with €500 notes for life.
    ...and that still be used as legal tender???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭careca11

I honestly wouldn't know where to start with €185million , Like who could you trust, where would you put the money , every single lawyer, Accountant etc would be out to screw you

I'd probably give about €50m various Charities ,
    Take care of my family/friends

I've done the whole Vegas (over rated IMO), round the world trips etc

( I'd perhaps emigrate to Bali ) Build a big house , Adopt a couple of kids , and make sure that those kids plus my son, want, for absolutely nothing the rest of their lives.

as a hobby I'd buy Dundalk football with the goal being to become the first Irish team to rest the group stages of the champions league .
    also buy endless amounts of lego and Model trains ,subbuteo , and build to my hearts content (and would have an exhibition of all the model's made)

...and that still be used as legal tender???

Definately. Just wipe it off on someone and hand it in, who'll know any different. To be honest, I'd love nothing more than to annoy people with that sort of money. Pay for small amounts with large notes and large amounts with 1 cent coins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

I'd have a ****

I've a lot of relations including first cousins I've not seen in years and years

Oh if I win they'll be around clapping my on the back with one hand and congratulating me......and their other hand out in front of me

Missing relations in your family? Don't ask the gardaí, just announce you've won the euromillions

..and you'll have more friends than you ever thought possible, including me.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

It's capped at €185m

At this stage, all of the "extra" profits start spilling down to the lower tier. So this is probably the best time to play as you are more likely to land a bigger prize for a 5 + 1 ticket. In fact, the odds of winning the 5 + 1 are better than the Irish lotto, and the prize fund is bigger at the moment.

You still haven't a fncking hope of getting 5 + 1, of course.